DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Weller et al. (US 2004/0228794).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Weller et al. teaches “therapeutic agent carrier compositions
that include a therapeutic agent carrier comprised of a stimulus sensitive gel or fibrin, or combinations thereof, and a therapeutic agent.” Para. [0016]. To this end, Weller et al. teaches a synthesis of poly(lactic acid-co-glycolic acid) (PEG-g-PLGA) using stannous octoate as a catalyst. See Example 8, para. [0154]. The therapeutic agent may include an aqueous insoluble such as 90-yttrium phosphate (current claim 8-10). See para. [0021]. Further, “the radioactive therapeutic agent includes radioisotope insoluble salt particles that have an average diameter of from about 0.3 to about 3 µm.” Para. [0057]. Weller et al. also teaches that “substantially all particle being substantially spherical in shape.” Para. [0063].
Weller et al. does not expressly teach “wherein the thermogel contains less than 65 ppm stannous octanoate” or “wherein the YPO-4 particle concentration is in the range of 3 mg/ml to 100 mg/ml” (current claim 12). However, where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. Here, in addition to teaching ytrrium phosphate particles of the same size and shape as claimed, Weller et al. also teaches that “the higher the Y3+ concentration the greater the average.” This suggest that concentration is a result effective variable. Accordingly, because the same size and shape are taught by Weller et al., then Weller et al. implicitly teaches the claimed concentration. In any event, “[w]hen the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Weller et al. teaches “21-25% of PEG-g-PLGA aqueous solutions may be particularly useful injectable formulations for drug delivery.” Para. [0146].
Regarding claim 3, Weller et al. teaches pH between about 1 to about 7. See para. [0061].
Regarding claim 4, Weller et al. does not expressly teach “wherein the thermogel is substantially free of water molecules and oxygen molecules” However, where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weller et al. (US 2004/0228794) as applied to claims ) 1-4, 6, 8-10 and 12 is above, and further in view of Delaney Jr. et al. (US 2021/0060183).
Teaching of Weller et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claim 15, Weller et al. does not teach “wherein the functional group is selected from the group consisting of apatite, sodalit, iodide, hydride, and combinations thereof.”
Delaney Jr. et al. relates to bioerodible injectable hydrogels. See para. [0003]. In this regard, Delaney Jr. et al. teaches multi-armed polymer wherein polymer arms comprise a reactive end group and a branched end group comprising covalently attached diagnostic and/or therapeutic groups. See para. [0006]. “In some embodiment, the covalently attached diagnostic and/or therapeutic groups are radiocontrast groups or are radioactive groups.” Para. [0007]. “[T]he radiocontrast groups comprise a monocyclic or multicyclic aromatic structure that comprises a plurality of radiopaque functional groups ( e.g., iodine groups) and a plurality of
hydrophilic functional groups.” Para. [0008]. The radiocontrast agents render the polymer visible under x-ray or suitable for radiation therapy. See para. [0044].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Weller et al. and Delaney Jr. et al. and arrive at the claimed invention. In this regard, it is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, e.g., In re Linder, 457 F.2d 506, 507 (CCPA 1972); see also In re Dial, 326 F.2d 430,432 (CCPA 1964). It would have been obvious to incorporate the functional group such as iodine so as either render the polymers visible under x-ray or suitable for radiation therapy as taught by Delaney Jr. et al.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-17 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,201,703. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,703. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to radioactive yttrium phosphate suspensions comprising the same radioactive metal phosphate particles having the same particle size and shape and overlapping concentrations and thermogel.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,491,269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to radioactive yttrium phosphate suspensions comprising the same radioactive metal phosphate particles having the same particle size and shape and overlapping concentrations.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,521,452 (“the ‘452 patent”) in view of in view of Hunter et al. (US 2003/0144570).
Regarding claims 1-17, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to radioactive phosphate suspensions comprising the same radioactive metal phosphate particles having the same particle size and shape and overlapping concentrations.
Regarding claim 18, the difference between this claim and claim 1 of the ‘452 patent is that claim 18 specifies a metal phosphate particle as being palladium.
Hunter et al. teaches that implanted radioactive sources having low energy and/or short-half-lives, such as radioactive iodine and palladium (e.g., Pd103) (current claim 19), are used. See para. [0216].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed subject matter of the ‘452 patent with Hunter et al. and arrive at the claimed invention. In this regard, it is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, e.g., In re Linder, 457 F.2d 506, 507 (CCPA 1972); see also In re Dial, 326 F.2d 430,432 (CCPA 1964). It would have been obvious to incorporate radioactive palladium as taught by Hunter et al.
Conclusion
/ROBERT S CABRAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618