This communication is in response to application No. 18/974,159; Vehicle Front Body Structure, filed on 12/09/2024 and amended on 9/16/2025. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 5-20 have been added by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5 should read; “and that has lateral end parts”. The lateral end parts belong to the singular, cross member not the plural, side frames.
Claim 1, line 7 should read; “the suspension cross member comprises lateral end parts rising upwards”
Claim 1, line 9 should read; “coupled to the lateral end parts”
Claim 11, line 5 should read; “and that has lateral end parts”
Claim 11, lines 6-7 should read; “the suspension cross member comprises lateral end parts rising upwards”
Claim 11, line 9 should read; “coupled to the lateral end parts”
Claim 20 should depend from claim 11, rather than claim 1. This appears to be a typo, as otherwise, claim 20 is a substantial duplicate of claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 20150061272 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses;
A vehicle front body structure comprising:
a lateral pair of front side frames (front side frames 11; Fig. 1, 2, Paragraph 119) that extend in a longitudinal direction of a vehicle body;
a suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23; Fig. 1, 2, 4) that extends in a vehicle-widthwise direction of the vehicle body below the lateral pair of front side frames and that have lateral end parts (attachment arms 25) coupled to middle parts, in the longitudinal direction of a vehicle body, of the lateral pair of front side frames respectively, the suspension cross member comprises a lateral end part rising upward; (Paragraph 120 and fig. 1 illustrate the side frames as having a front part (11) and a rear part (16) which are arranged to either side of the middle part to which the cross member (23) is attached. Figs. 1 and 4 illustrates the ends of the cross member as rising vertically at the attachment arms (25) and paragraph 131 describes the attachment arms (25) as located at the ends of the cross member (23). Paragraph 17 describes the sub-frame arranged below the side frame as supporting a suspension component.)
a lateral pair of subframes (left and right extension arms 24; Fig. 1, 2, 4) that extend in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body from a front part of the vehicle body and that have rear parts coupled (couple with bolt 26; Fig. 4, paragraph 132) to lateral end parts of the suspension cross member;
a lateral pair of linkage frames (link stay 30; Fig. 4) that extend in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and that link the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member and rear parts of the lateral pair of front side frames. (connection with crossmember and side frames at bolt 31 with a secondary attachment to the side frame at horizontal bolt 39 at the rear of the link stay; Fig 7, paragraph 148)
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (left and right extension arms 24) comprises a first coupling part (Fig. 4) coupled to a front part of corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23),
the first coupling parts are fixed to the suspension cross member through fastening via brackets. (Paragraph 132 and Fig. 4 describe the extension arms 24 as fixed on a front side of the sub-frame (crossmember 23) with a plurality of bolts (26). The arrangement of bolts over the flat surface shown in Fig. 4 constitutes a bracket.)
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses;
wherein at least one of the pair of subframes includes a middle part with a bead (bending points 27: Fig. 4) in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body. (Paragraph 133 describe these bending points as starting points for deformation resulting from a collision load.)
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses
A vehicle comprising the vehicle front body structure according to claim 1. (Watanabe describes a subframe for use as a vehicle front body structure. Paragraph 12, fig. 1)
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe discloses;
A vehicle body structure comprising:
a lateral pair of front side frames (front side frames 11; Fig. 1, 2, Paragraph 119) that extend in a longitudinal direction of a vehicle body;
a suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23; Fig. 1, 2, 4) that extends in a vehicle-widthwise direction of the vehicle body below the lateral pair of front side frames and that have lateral end parts (attachment arms 25) coupled to an area of the lateral pair of front side frames respectively, the suspension cross member comprises a lateral end part rising upward; (Paragraph 120 and fig. 1 illustrate the side frames and the coupled cross member (23). Figs. 1 and 4 illustrates the ends of the cross member as rising vertically at the attachment arms (25) and paragraph 131 describes the attachment arms (25) as located at the ends of the cross member (23). Paragraph 17 describes the sub-frame arranged below the side frame as supporting a suspension component.)
a lateral pair of subframes (left and right extension arms 24; Fig. 1, 2, 4) that extend in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body from a front part of the vehicle body and that have rear parts coupled (couple with bolt 26; Fig. 4, paragraph 132) to lateral end parts of the suspension cross member;
a lateral pair of linkage frames (link stay 30; Fig. 4) that extend in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body and that link the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member and rear parts of the lateral pair of front side frames. (connection with crossmember and side frames at bolt 31 with a secondary attachment to the side frame at horizontal bolt 39 at the rear of the link stay; Fig 7, paragraph 148)
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe discloses;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (left and right extension arms 24) comprises a first coupling part (Fig. 4) coupled to a front part of corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23),
the first coupling parts are fixed to the suspension cross member through fastening via brackets. (Paragraph 132 and Fig. 4 describe the extension arms 24 as fixed on a front side of the sub-frame (crossmember 23) with a plurality of bolts (26). The arrangement of bolts over the flat surface shown in Fig. 4 constitutes a bracket.)
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe discloses;
wherein at least one of the pair of subframes includes a middle part with a bead (bending points 27: Fig. 4) in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body. (Paragraph 133 describe these bending points as starting points for deformation resulting from a collision load.)
Regarding claim 20, and under the presumption that claim 20 should depend from claim 11, Watanabe discloses
A vehicle comprising the vehicle front body structure according to claim 11. (Watanabe describes a subframe for use as a vehicle front body structure. Paragraph 12, fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2015/0061272 A1)in view or Kuroda (JP 2001/310755 A).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses;
second coupling parts (Fig. 4) are coupled to the suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23; Fig. 1, 4) through joint fastening with a constituent of the linkage frames (link stay 30; Fig. 4 of Watanbe). (Fig. 4 demonstrates to, rearward coupling points on the crossmember which are fastened to the link stays with bolts 31.)
Watanabe does not disclose that each of the lateral pair of subframes comprises a second coupling part coupled to a rear part of a corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross members. However, Kuroda teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (subframe 30; Fig. 1) comprises a second coupling part (supporting parts 23, 24; Fig. 1, paragraph 19) coupled to a rear part of corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member (cross member 20)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include a second coupling part of the lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member as taught by Kuroda, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle subframe with cross member attachments. As disclosed by Kuroda, it is well known for a vehicle subframe with cross member attachments to include a second coupling part of a lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include a second coupling part of the lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member as taught by Kuroda, as such a modification would create inflection points in order to create desirable deformation characteristics for the vehicle subframe. (Abstract, Kuroda).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe discloses;
second coupling parts (Fig. 4) are coupled to the suspension cross member (crossmember main body 23; Fig. 1, 4) through joint fastening with a constituent of the linkage frames (link stay 30; Fig. 4 of Watanbe). (Fig. 4 demonstrates to, rearward coupling points on the crossmember which are fastened to the link stays with bolts 31.)
Watanabe does not disclose that each of the lateral pair of subframes comprises a second coupling part coupled to a rear part of a corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross members. However, Kuroda teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (subframe 30; Fig. 1) comprises a second coupling part (supporting parts 23, 24; Fig. 1, paragraph 19) coupled to a rear part of corresponding one of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member (cross member 20)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include a second coupling part of the lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member as taught by Kuroda, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle subframe with cross member attachments. As disclosed by Kuroda, it is well known for a vehicle subframe with cross member attachments to include a second coupling part of a lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include a second coupling part of the lateral pair of subframes that is coupled to a rear part of the lateral end parts of the suspension cross member as taught by Kuroda, as such a modification would create inflection points in order to create desirable deformation characteristics for the vehicle subframe. (Abstract, Kuroda).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 8, 9, 15, 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2015/0061272 A1)in view of Kakuchi (DE 19703951 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses a suspension cross member, does not disclose side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member. However, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of front side frames (side frames 7; fig. 1) is configured to have a lower rigidity in areas on a front (area 7d; fig. 1) and rear sides (area 7e) with respect to a coupling area (area 7c) with the suspension cross member than that in the coupling area. (Paragraph 38 of Kakuchi describes notches (32) located in the side frames, which reduce the strength of the side frame with regards to longitudinal forces. These notches are concentrated to the front of the side frames. Paragraph 52 describes the coupling area of the side frame as reinforced by the connecting frame (16) while the rear section of the side frame (7e) ins not reinforced. The modification of Watanabe under the teaching of Kakuchi, would place the cross member of Watanabe in the in the area of the connecting frame of Kakuchi at the suspension mounting point.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle frames. As disclosed by Kakuchi, it is well known for a vehicle frame to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as such a modification would provide the ability to absorb the impact energy through the plastic deformation of the front part of the vehicle body. (Paragraph 53 of Kakuchi).
Regarding claim 6, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein the areas on the front (area 7d) and rear sides (area 7e) with respect to the coupling area (area 7c) with the suspension cross member on each of the lateral pair of front side frames (side frames 7) are respectively configured as buckling areas for an impact load. (Paragraphs 52-53 describe the front and rear portions of the side frame as buckling areas for absorbing crash impact load.)
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe discloses a lateral pair of subframes is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body from a front part of the vehicle body, but does not disclose that the subframes extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member. However, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (longerons 12; fig. 1) is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body over an area ranging from a front part of the vehicle body to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member (crossmember 14). (Fig. 1 illustrates the lateral subframes as extending from the front of the vehicle to a mounting point (17), rearward of the crossmember (14).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include lateral subframes which extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle subframes. As disclosed by Kakuchi, it is well known for lateral vehicle subframes to extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include lateral subframes extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as such a modification would control the distribution of crash forces.
Regarding claim 9, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (longerons 12; fig. 1) is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body over an area ranging from a front part of the vehicle body to adjacent to the rear end of the suspension cross member (crossmember 14). (Fig. 1 illustrates the lateral subframes as extending from the front of the vehicle to a mounting point (17), rearward of the crossmember (14).
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe discloses a suspension cross member, does not disclose side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member. However, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of front side frames (side frames 7; fig. 1) is configured to have a lower rigidity in areas on a front (area 7d; fig. 1) and rear sides (area 7e) with respect to a coupling area (area 7c) with the suspension cross member than that in the coupling area. (Paragraph 38 of Kakuchi describes notches (32) located in the side frames, which reduce the strength of the side frame with regards to longitudinal forces. These notches are concentrated to the front of the side frames. Paragraph 52 describes the coupling area of the side frame as reinforced by the connecting frame (16) while the rear section of the side frame (7e) ins not reinforced. The modification of Watanabe under the teaching of Kakuchi, would place the cross member of Watanabe in the in the area of the connecting frame of Kakuchi at the suspension mounting point.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle frames. As disclosed by Kakuchi, it is well known for a vehicle frame to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include side frames configured to have a lower rigidity to the front and rear of the coupling area for the cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as such a modification would provide the ability to absorb the impact energy through the plastic deformation of the front part of the vehicle body. (Paragraph 53 of Kakuchi).
Regarding claim 16, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein the areas on the front (area 7d) and rear sides (area 7e) with respect to the coupling area (area 7c) with the suspension cross member on each of the lateral pair of front side frames (side frames 7) are respectively configured as buckling areas for an impact load. (Paragraphs 52-53 describe the front and rear portions of the side frame as buckling areas for absorbing crash impact load.)
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe discloses a lateral pair of subframes is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body from a front part of the vehicle body, but does not disclose that the subframes extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member. However, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (longerons 12; fig. 1) is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body over an area ranging from a front part of the vehicle body to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member (crossmember 14). (Fig. 1 illustrates the lateral subframes as extending from the front of the vehicle to a mounting point (17), rearward of the crossmember (14).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include lateral subframes which extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle subframes. As disclosed by Kakuchi, it is well known for lateral vehicle subframes to extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include lateral subframes extend to a vicinity of the rear end of the suspension cross member as taught by Kakuchi, as such a modification would control the distribution of crash forces.
Regarding claim 19, Kakuchi teaches;
wherein each of the lateral pair of subframes (longerons 12; fig. 1) is configured to have a length such that each of the lateral pair of subframes extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body over an area ranging from a front part of the vehicle body to adjacent to the rear end of the suspension cross member (crossmember 14). (Fig. 1 illustrates the lateral subframes as extending from the front of the vehicle to a mounting point (17), rearward of the crossmember (14).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2015/0061272 A1)in view of Kakuchi (DE 19703951 A1) and further in view of Okamoto (US 2021/0024137 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe in view of Kakuchi disclose the limitations of the above claims 1 and 5, specifically a pair of coupling parts that couple a respective one of the lateral pair of subframes to the suspension cross member but does not disclose a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts. However, Okamoto teaches;
wherein on the upper side with respect to each of the lateral pair of subframes (subframe 30; fig. 2, paragraph 47), a leg (see fig. 2) is coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube (spacer 43) of each of a pair of coupling parts that couple a respective one of the lateral pair of subframes to the suspension cross member. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47 describe the coupling of the subframe to the side frame of the vehicle front structure through a bolted fastening utilizing a spacer. Fig. 2 illustrates this spacer as supported in a vertical orientation by two supporting arms with are coupled to the spacer halfway along its length. With the modification of Watanabe under the teaching of Okamoto, the bolted connection would connect the subframe to the cross member.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts as taught by Okamoto, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle front frame structures. As disclosed by Okamoto, it is well known for vehicle front frame structures to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts as taught by Okamoto, as such a modification would provide the ability to strength the bolted connection.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe in view of Kakuchi disclose the limitations of the above claims 11 and 15, specifically a pair of coupling parts that couple a respective one of the lateral pair of subframes to the suspension cross member but does not disclose a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts. However, Okamoto teaches;
wherein on the upper side with respect to each of the lateral pair of subframes (subframe 30; fig. 2, paragraph 47), a leg (see fig. 2) is coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube (spacer 43) of each of a pair of coupling parts that couple a respective one of the lateral pair of subframes to the suspension cross member. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47 describe the coupling of the subframe to the side frame of the vehicle front structure through a bolted fastening utilizing a spacer. Fig. 2 illustrates this spacer as supported in a vertical orientation by two supporting arms with are coupled to the spacer halfway along its length. With the modification of Watanabe under the teaching of Okamoto, the bolted connection would connect the subframe to the cross member.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Watanabe to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts as taught by Okamoto, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle front frame structures. As disclosed by Okamoto, it is well known for vehicle front frame structures to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe to include a leg coupled to a position halfway on a bolt-insertion tube of each of a pair of coupling parts as taught by Okamoto, as such a modification would provide the ability to strength the bolted connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to clarify the location of the coupling of the cross member to the side frames and that the cross member comprises lateral end parts which rise upwards. Applicant has argued that Watanabe does not disclose a cross member with end parts which rise upwards, is coupled to the middle parts of the side frames, or that the subframe is part of a suspension mount.
However, reference Watanabe, in Figs. 1 and 4, illustrates the ends of the cross member as rising vertically at the attachment arms (25). Additionally, Watanabe, paragraph 120 and fig. 1, illustrates the side frames as having a front part (11) and a rear part (16) which are arranged to either side of the middle part to which the cross member (23) is coupled. Finally, Watanabe paragraph 17, describes the sub-frame, which is arranged below the side frame, as supporting a suspension component.
Claims 5-20 have been newly added by the amendment of 9/16/2025 and have been rejected as described above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614