DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/15/25 has been entered. Claims 1-10 have been canceled. Claims 11, 20, 23, 25, and 29 have been amended. Claims 11-30 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 9/16/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11, 20, and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the coolant outlet” in line 6 should be --the coolant outlet of the liquid-cooled aftercooler--;
“the coolant inlet” in line 7 should be --the coolant inlet of the liquid cooled aftercooler--.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the coolant outlet” in line 6 should be --the coolant outlet of the liquid-cooled aftercooler--;
“the coolant inlet” in line 7 should be --the coolant inlet of the liquid cooled aftercooler--.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the coolant outlet” in line 6 should be --the coolant outlet of the liquid-cooled aftercooler--;
“the coolant inlet” in line 7 should be --the coolant inlet of the liquid cooled aftercooler--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 17, 20-21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meeusen et al. (U.S. 2018/0258952).
Re claim 11:
Meeusen discloses an at least two-stage compressed air generator (30, two stage compressor - Para 92)(see Fig. 4), comprising:
a liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element A corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling precompressed air (Para 62 - “compressed gas originating from the compressor element 2…” (not described as air but structure of element 2 shown/described inherently capable of compressing air which is a type of gas)) discharged from a first compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first compressor stage; element B corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61)), the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) within the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element E corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling air compressed by a second compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of second compressor stage; element F corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61))(see Modified Fig. 4 above and Para 99), the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) within the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of liquid-cooled subassembly cooler; element I corresponds to an element 21 which is a motor cooler per Para 69 which is liquid cooled as shown and per Para 73)) for absorbing heat from the compressed air generator (30)(see Fig. 4 and Para 73);
wherein at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) or the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) have a plurality of feed inlets (Modified Fig. 4 above - C and element 25 (see Fig. 4 and Para 72)), to which a coolant can be fed from a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of coolant outlet of element I)) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 4 above and Paras 72-73); and
wherein the coolant outlet of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - J) is connected to a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is directly disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) is directly disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above).
Re claim 12:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 11 (as described above), wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is disposed at a point (see Modified Fig. 4 above at element 25 of element A) at which an intermediate temperature of a coolant in the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is within twenty percent (±20%) of an exit temperature of the coolant at the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 4 above (structure is depicted such that element 25 of element A is shown at a point at which an intermediate temperature of a coolant in element A is capable of being within twenty percent (±20%) of an exit temperature of the coolant at element J).
Re claim 17:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 11 (as described above), wherein a distributor unit (Modified Fig. 4 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of distributor unit)) is disposed between the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - J) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I) and the feed inlets of the plurality of feed inlets (Modified Fig. 4 above - C and element 25)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), wherein the distributor unit (Modified Fig. 4 above - M) selectively supplies the plurality of feed inlets (see Modified Fig. 4 above at element 39 and paras 95-96).
Re claim 20:
Meeusen discloses an at least two-stage compressed air generator (30, two stage compressor - Para 92)(see Fig. 4), comprising:
a liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element A corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling precompressed air (Para 62 - “compressed gas originating from the compressor element 2…” (not described as air but structure of element 2 shown/described inherently capable of compressing air which is a type of gas)) discharged from a first compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first compressor stage; element B corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61)), the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) within the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element E corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling air compressed by a second compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of second compressor stage; element F corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61))(see Modified Fig. 4 above and Para 99), the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) within the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of liquid-cooled subassembly cooler; element I corresponds to an element 21 which is a motor cooler per Para 69 which is liquid cooled as shown and per Para 73)) for absorbing heat from the compressed air generator (30)(see Fig. 4 and Para 73);
wherein at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) or the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) have a plurality of feed inlets (Modified Fig. 4 above - C and element 25 (see Fig. 4 and Para 72)), to which a coolant is fed from a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of coolant outlet of element I)) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 4 above and Paras 72-73), and
wherein the coolant outlet of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - J) is connected to at least one of a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) is disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above).
Re claim 21:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 20 (as described above), wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is disposed at a point (see Modified Fig. 4 above at element 25 of element A) at which an intermediate temperature of a coolant in the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is within twenty percent (±20%) of an exit temperature of the coolant at the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 4 above (structure is depicted such that element 25 of element A is shown at a point at which an intermediate temperature of a coolant in element A is capable of being within twenty percent (±20%) of an exit temperature of the coolant at element J).
Re claim 29:
Meeusen discloses an at least two-stage compressed air generator (30, two stage compressor - Para 92)(see Fig. 4), comprising:
a liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element A corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling precompressed air (Para 62 - “compressed gas originating from the compressor element 2…” (not described as air but structure of element 2 shown/described inherently capable of compressing air which is a type of gas)) discharged from a first compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first compressor stage; element B corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61)), the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) within the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of liquid-cooled intercooler; element E corresponds to an element 10 which is a “gas cooler” per Para 61 and which carries coolant as shown at C1 and as described in Para 62 which is liquid per Para 3)) for cooling air compressed by a second compressor stage (Modified Fig. 4 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of second compressor stage; element F corresponds to an element 2 which is a compressor element per Para 61))(see Modified Fig. 4 above and Para 99), the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) including a coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of coolant inlet)) and a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of coolant outlet)), the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) directly coupled to the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) within the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above);
a liquid-cooled subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of liquid-cooled subassembly cooler; element K corresponds to an element 22 which is a compressor element cooler per Para 69 which is liquid cooled as shown and per Para 73)) for absorbing heat from the compressed air generator (30)(see Fig. 4 and Para 73);
wherein a coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element L as a type of coolant outlet of element K)) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - K) is connected to a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - L) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - K) is directly connected to a feed inlet (25, intermediary point - Para 72) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) is disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - C) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - D) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), and wherein the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) is disposed between the coolant inlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - G) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E) and the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - H) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-16, 22, 24-26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meeusen et al. (U.S. 2018/0258952), as applied to claims 11, 20, and 29 above, in view of Holdsworth (U.S. 2007/0074535).
Re claim 13:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 11 (as described above), further comprising a coolant circuit (17, cooling circuit - Para 62).
Meeusen fails to disclose the coolant circuit including a main cooler having a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler, the liquid-cooled aftercooler, or the subassembly cooler, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler or the liquid-cooled aftercooler.
Holdsworth teaches an at least two-stage compressed air generator (10, screw compressor system - Para 12 (see Fig. 2)) comprising a coolant circuit (19, refrigerant circuit - Para 14) including a main cooler (48, condenser - Para 24) having a cold side (see Fig. 2 at line exiting element 48 and leading to element 54) and a hot side (see Fig. 2 at line leading to element 48 from elements 74), the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of a liquid-cooled intercooler (32, intercooler - Para 15), a liquid-cooled aftercooler (38, aftercooler - Para 18), or a subassembly cooler (58, second-stage air dryer heat exchanger - Para 19)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-20), and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler (32) or the liquid-cooled aftercooler (38)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the coolant circuit of Meeusen after that of Holdsworth, thereby including a main cooler with a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen, the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen, or the subassembly cooler of Meeusen, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen or the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen all in the way taught by Holdsworth, for the advantage of being able to dump heat and cool the system (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 15:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 13 (as described above), wherein the main cooler (Holdsworth; 48 (a main cooler as taught by Holdsworth has been included in the system of Meeusen as described above)) is one of a water-air cooler, a water-water cooler, or a combination cooler, which uses water and air optionally as a cooling medium (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 16:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 14 (as described above), wherein the main cooler (Holdsworth; 48 (a main cooler as taught by Holdsworth has been included in the system of Meeusen as described above)) comprises a fan (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 22:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 20 (as described above), further comprising a coolant circuit (17, cooling circuit - Para 62).
Meeusen fails to disclose the coolant circuit including a main cooler having a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler, the liquid-cooled aftercooler, or the subassembly cooler, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler or the liquid-cooled aftercooler.
Holdsworth teaches an at least two-stage compressed air generator (10, screw compressor system - Para 12 (see Fig. 2)) comprising a coolant circuit (19, refrigerant circuit - Para 14) including a main cooler (48, condenser - Para 24) having a cold side (see Fig. 2 at line exiting element 48 and leading to element 54) and a hot side (see Fig. 2 at line leading to element 48 from elements 74), the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of a liquid-cooled intercooler (32, intercooler - Para 15), a liquid-cooled aftercooler (38, aftercooler - Para 18), or a subassembly cooler (58, second-stage air dryer heat exchanger - Para 19)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-20), and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler (32) or the liquid-cooled aftercooler (38)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the coolant circuit of Meeusen after that of Holdsworth, thereby including a main cooler with a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen, the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen, or the subassembly cooler of Meeusen, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen or the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen all in the way taught by Holdsworth, for the advantage of being able to dump heat and cool the system (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 24:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 22 (as described above), wherein the main cooler (Holdsworth; 48 (a main cooler as taught by Holdsworth has been included in the system of Meeusen as described above)) is one of a water-air cooler, a water-water cooler, or a combination cooler, which uses water and air optionally as a cooling medium (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 25:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 22 (as described above), wherein the main cooler (Holdsworth; 48 (a main cooler as taught by Holdsworth has been included in the system of Meeusen as described above)) comprises a fan (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Re claim 26:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 22 (as described above).
Meeusen further discloses wherein a distributor unit (Modified Fig. 4 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of distributor unit)) is disposed between the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - J) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I) and the feed inlets of the plurality of feed inlets (Modified Fig. 4 above - C and element 25)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), wherein the distributor unit (Modified Fig. 4 above - M) selectively supplies the plurality of feed inlets (see Modified Fig. 4 above at element 39 and paras 95-96).
Re claim 28:
Meeusen/Holdsworth teaches the compressed air generator (Meeusen; 30) according to Claim 22 (as described above).
Meeusen further discloses wherein the coolant outlet (Modified Fig. 4 above - J) of the subassembly cooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - I) is connected to the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled intercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and the feed inlet (25) of the liquid-cooled aftercooler (Modified Fig. 4 above - E)(see Modified Fig. 4 above).
Re claim 30:
Meeusen discloses the compressed air generator (30) according to Claim 29 (as described above), further comprising a coolant circuit (17, cooling circuit - Para 62).
Meeusen fails to disclose the coolant circuit including a main cooler having a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler, the liquid-cooled aftercooler, or the subassembly cooler, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler or the liquid-cooled aftercooler.
Holdsworth teaches an at least two-stage compressed air generator (10, screw compressor system - Para 12 (see Fig. 2)) comprising a coolant circuit (19, refrigerant circuit - Para 14) including a main cooler (48, condenser - Para 24) having a cold side (see Fig. 2 at line exiting element 48 and leading to element 54) and a hot side (see Fig. 2 at line leading to element 48 from elements 74), the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of a liquid-cooled intercooler (32, intercooler - Para 15), a liquid-cooled aftercooler (38, aftercooler - Para 18), or a subassembly cooler (58, second-stage air dryer heat exchanger - Para 19)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-20), and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler (32) or the liquid-cooled aftercooler (38)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 15-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the coolant circuit of Meeusen after that of Holdsworth, thereby including a main cooler with a cold side and a hot side, the cold side configured to feed a cooled coolant having a low temperature respectively to at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen, the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen, or the subassembly cooler of Meeusen, and the hot side configured to receive heated coolant delivered by at least one of the liquid-cooled intercooler of Meeusen or the liquid-cooled aftercooler of Meeusen all in the way taught by Holdsworth, for the advantage of being able to dump heat and cool the system (Holdsworth; Para 24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 18-19, 23, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 14, 18-19, 23, and 27 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein a heat exchanger is disposed in the coolant circuit respectively between the coolant outlet of the liquid-cooled intercooler and the hot side of the main cooler, and the coolant outlet of the liquid-cooled aftercooler and the hot side of the main cooler” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 14 and 23.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein at least the liquid-cooled intercooler, the liquid-cooled aftercooler, the subassembly cooler, a heat exchanger, the first compressor stage, the second compressor stage, and an electronic control unit are disposed within a common device housing” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 18-19, and 27.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 1/9/26