Claims 2-5, 7, 18-19, 21-23, 25 cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 8-17, 20, 24, 26-31 pending.
Claims 1, 6, 8-17, 20, 24, 26-31 rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-17, 20, 24, 26-31 rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim, US 2023/0403694 A1.
For claim 1, Kim teaches a method for wireless communication comprising:
receiving, at a secondary node (SN) from a master node (MN) (Kim, [0005], One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize Fig 1A, demonstrates wireless communication for dual connectivity from a MN to SN),
a gap assistance information (Kim, [0666], examiner identifies the reference to the terminal represents the Master Node, describes how the gap assistance information is shared);
generating, at the SN (Kim, [0674], examiner identifies the receiving terminal that receives the signal equivalent to the reference of secondary node, describes the receiving terminal processing before generating the new signal),
gap related configuration based on the received gap assistance information (Kim, [0670], Terminal starts aperiodic gap operation based at least in part on the gap configuration information if the gap configuration information includes the first group of fields and periodic gap operation based at least in part on the gap configuration information if the gap configuration information includes the second group of fields);
and transmitting, from the SN to the MN (examiner identifies the receiving terminal that receives the signal equivalent to the reference of secondary node, describes the receiving terminal processing before generating the new signal; Kim, [0674]),
the gap related configuration (Kim, [0680], RRCReconfiguration message includes one or more gap configuration information).
For claim 6, Kim teaches the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the gap related configuration comprises at least one of a gap pattern configuration (Kim, Fig. 1F and related paragraph [0100], Type1Gap and Type3Gap and Type4Gap and Type6Gap are periodically occurring once they are configured),
a gap identification (ID) information (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the gap identification; Kim, [0126], A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier (or index) and number of per-FR1 gaps), or a gap association information;
and wherein the gap assistance information comprises a period that a user equipment (UE) uses to perform measurements (Kim, [0125], A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier / index and number of per-FR1 gaps and number of per-FR2 gaps and number of per-UE gaps. This IE indicates the number of measurement gaps simultaneously supported by the UE. It is per UE capability. The supported gap combinations are supported by the UE in FR1 and in FR2 and in FDD and in TDD) or operations with a dedicated use case.
For claim 8, Kim teaches the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method of claim 1, wherein the gap assistance information comprises at least one of a requested (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the gap assistance information; Kim, [0004], operation of terminals by applying various gaps according to circumstances is emerging. For example, it is necessary to set a gap for measurement, a gap for MUSIM operation, or a gap for transmission power control so that the operation of the terminal can proceed efficiently) or allowed gap type,
a requested or allowed gap purpose, a requested or allowed gap pattern, a requested or allowed number of gap patterns, a requested or allowed gap combination information, a gap identification (ID) (Kim, [0126] , A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier (or index) and number of per-FR1 gaps ),
a gap ID range (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the gap ID; Kim, [0126], A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier (or index) and number of per-FR1 gaps and number of per-FR2 gaps and number of per-UE gaps. The range of the integer is between 0 and 2 (i.e., the highest value is 2 and the lowest value is 0; the maximum number of simultaneous gaps per FR is 2)), or a gap priority information.
For claim 9, Kim teaches the method of claim 8. Kim further teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the method of claim 8, wherein the requested or allowed gap type comprises at least one of the following:
a concurrent gap (Kim, [0296,0297], One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a “concurrent gap” refers to multiple measurement gap patters configured at the same time , one or two Type3Gap can be configured and used simultaneously as FR1-gap),
a pre-configured gap (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the pre-configured gap; Kim, [0128], One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize “a pre-configured gap” defined as a pre-defined measurement gap pattern and dynamically activate or deactivate, indicates UE supports pre-configuration of MGs in RRC signalling for PRS measurements and the use of DL MAC CE from the gNB to activate/deactivate the preconfigured MG for PRS measurements. This capability is related to DL MAC CE based type7Gap activation),
or a network controlled small gap (NCSG).
For claim 10, Kim teaches the method of claim 8. Kim further teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the method of claim 8, wherein the requested or allowed gap purpose or gap pattern comprises at least one of the following: a per frequency range (FR) 1 gap, a per FR2 gap or a per UE gap (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the gap pattern comprises; Kim, [0125], A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier / index and number of per-FR1 gaps and number of per-FR2 gaps and number of per-UE gaps. This IE indicates the number of measurement gaps simultaneously supported by the UE. It is per UE capability. The supported gap combinations are supported by the UE in FR1 and in FR2 and in FDD and in TDD).
For claim 11, Kim teaches the method of claim 8. Kim further teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the requested or allowed gap combination information comprises at least one of the following: a bit string (Kim, [0192], BWPNeedForGap field includes a BIT STRING. The size of the BIT STRING is equal to the number of DL BWPs configured for the UE in the PCell.) or
a bitmap (One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a bit string or bitmap as control information),
each position in the bit string or the bitmap indicates indicating whether the corresponding gap combination is requested (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the bitmap; Kim, [0193], the leading/leftmost bit (bit 0) corresponds to the DL BWP with lowest index (or BWP 0). The next bit corresponds to the DL BWP with next lowest index (or BWP 1) and so on. Value 1 indicates type2Gap is required for the UE to perform measurement in the corresponding DL BWP. Value 0 indicates type2Gap is not required for the UE to perform measurement in the corresponding DL BWP)
or not[[,]] or indicating at least one gap combination index.
For claim 12, Kim teaches the method of claim 6. Kim further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the gap association information comprises at least one of the following:
one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a measurement object (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the measurement object, based on your own disclosure a measurement object configuration associate a measurement object with a measurement gap; Kim, [0618], RRCReconfiguration message includes a second gap configuration information or one or more third gap configuration information and one or more measurement object configuration information)
or a measurement frequency,
or one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a dedicated use case (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the list of measurement gap; Kim, [0125], A gap combination consists of gap combination identifier / index and number of per-FR1 gaps and number of per-FR2 gaps and number of per-UE gaps. This IE indicates the number of measurement gaps simultaneously supported by the UE. It is per UE capability. The supported gap combinations are supported by the UE in FR1 and in FR2 and in FDD and in TDD).
For claim 13, Kim teaches the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the gap assistance information comprises an indication configured to indicate whether a pre-configured gap is requested
or allowed (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the information comprises an indication; Kim, [0119], SupportType2Gap indicates whether the UE supports Type2Gap (i.e., gap activated and deactivated depending on which BWP is activated; DL BWP dependent gap) ),
or which type of pre-configured gap mechanism is to be used.
For claim 14, Kim teaches the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method for wireless communication of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the SN from the MN,
a gap association information (based on your own disclosure, gap association information comprises at least one of the following: one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a measurement object or a measurement frequency, or one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a dedicated use case; Kim , Fig. 1F and related paragraph [0100], Type1Gap and Type3Gap and Type4Gap and Type6Gap are periodically occurring once they are configured);
and updating, at the SN (Kim, Fig. 2, One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize step 2A-27 in Fig.2 UE as the secondary node making the update based on the prior communications with the GNB which acts as the MN in this scenario), a measurement configuration based on the received gap association information (Kim, [0362], If Type7Gap needs to be updated or to be activated with regards to location measurement, UE moves to step 2A-27).
For claim 15, Kim teaches the method of claim 14. Kim further teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the method of claim 14, wherein the gap association information is for comprises at least one of the following:
a measurement gap being associated with a measurement object (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the list of measurement gap; Kim, [0094], Type4Gap is used for RRM measurement on all FR1 frequencies or on all FR2 frequencies or on all frequencies. UE performs data activity like DL-SCH reception during Type4Gap.)
or a measurement frequency, or a measurement gap being associated with a dedicated use case.
For claim 16, Kim teaches the method of claim 15. Kim further teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the method of claim 15, wherein the gap association information is for a use case comprising at least one of the following: Positioning Reference Siganling (PRS) measurement (Kim, [0098]), Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) operation (Kim, [0096]), Non-Terrestrial Network(NTN) measurement, Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) measurement (Kim, [0177]), Channel State Information Reference Signaling (CSI-RS) measurement (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the CSI-RS; Kim, [0193]),
or E- UTRAN measurement.
For claim 17, Kim teaches the method of claim 14. Kim further teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the method of claim 14, wherein the gap association information comprises one (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the gap ID; Kim, [0505], MG ID field contains measGapId2−1. The measGapId2 is the identifier of the Type7Gap)
or a list of gap ID, each gap ID links with a list of SSB
or CSI-RS frequencies to be associated with a measurement gap (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the list of SSB or CSI-RS; Kim, [0503-0505], Index of an SSB or CSI-RS is the index of an entry in candidateBeamRSSCellList corresponding to the SSB or CSI-RS.),
or each gap ID links with a dedicated use case.
For claim 20, Kim teaches the method of claim [[19]]14, wherein the gap association information is for comprises SN configured frequencies (examiner interprets UE as the secondary node that sends the dedicated scheduling request as part of PUCCH [0489] which leads to the Position Measurement gap in [0506]; Kim, [0497], spatial setting for a PUCCH transmission by a UE),
and the updating comprises that the SN updating updates a measurement object configuration to associate a measurement object with a measurement gap (One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that updating the activation data is similar to updating at SN and Position measurement gap parameter is a measurement object configuration associated with measurement gap; Kim, [0506], A/D field indicates the activation or deactivation of the Positioning Measurement Gap (i.e., Type7Gap). The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation.).
For claim 24, Kim teaches a wireless communication[[s]] apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement a method recited in any of claim[[s]] 1to 23 (One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the apparatus presented implements the claim methods described; Kim, Fig. 4A, [0874], Referring to the diagram, the UE includes a controller 4A-01, a storage unit 4A-02, a transceiver 4A-03, a main processor 4A-04 and I/O unit 4A-05).
For claim 26, Kim teaches the method for wireless communication comprising:
receiving, at a master node (MN) from a secondary node (SN) (examiner interprets the reference of Base station is equivalent to the MN; Kim, [0756], Base station receives a first MAC PDU that includes the L2 request message),
a gap assistance information (based on your disclosure a gap assistance information comprises at least one of a requested or allowed gap type, a requested or allowed gap purpose, a requested or allowed gap pattern, a requested or allowed number of gap patterns, a requested or allowed gap combination information, a gap identification (ID), a gap ID range, or a gap priority information; Kim, [0745], L2 request message includes a measGapId of a gap configuration information);
generating, at the MN, gap related configuration based on the received gap assistance information (examiner interprets the reference to the third identity being used from the L2 request, in L2 response is equivalent to the “based on the received gap assistance information”; Kim, [0757], Base station transmits a second MAC PDU that includes a L2 response message, the L2 response message includes a third identity, the third identity in the L2 request message and the third identity in the L2 response message are same or different);
and transmitting, from the MN to the SN (examiner interprets the reference of Base station is equivalent to the MN; Kim, [0757], Base station transmits a second MAC PDU that includes a L2 response message),
the gap related configuration (Kim, [0758], One or more first gap are applied based at least in part on the third identity received in the L2 response message).
For claim 27, Kim teaches the method of claim 26 wherein the gap assistance information comprises an indication configured to indicate whether a pre-configured gap is requested or allowed,
or which type of pre-configured gap mechanism is to be used (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the type of pre-configured gap mechanism ; One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that measGapConfig and gapConfig2 are configurations that consist gap assistance information, type4Gap and type7Gap are pre-configured gap mechanism that are requested ; Kim, [0524], Type7Gap L3 response message includes a measGapConfig. The measGapConfig may include a gapConfig1 IE to set up type4Gap corresponding to the requested measurement gap requirements. The measGapConfig may include a gapConfig2 IE to set up type7Gap corresponding to the requested measurement gap requirements. In this case, Type2Gap L2 response message can be sent to UE shortly to activate the type7Gap.).
For claim 28, Kim teaches the method of claim 26. Kim further teaches the method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving, at the MN from the SN (examiner identifies the reference to the terminal [0564] represents the Master Node that receives the RRCReconfiguration message; Kim, [0569] ),
a gap association information (based on your own disclosure, gap association information comprises at least one of the following: one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a measurement object or a measurement frequency, or one or a list of measurement gap being associated with a dedicated use case; Kim , Fig. 1F and related paragraph [0100], Type1Gap and Type3Gap and Type4Gap and Type6Gap are periodically occurring once they are configured);
and updating, at the MN, a measurement configuration based on the received gap association information (examiner identifies the reference to “determined based at least in part on a first constant and a first variable” represents t measurement configuration; Kim, [0572], Terminal activates the second gap at a first point of time, the first point of time is determined based at least in part on a first constant and a first variable, and the first variable is a second constant if the SCS of the BWP is 15 kHz or 30 kHz and is a third constant if the SCS of the BWP is 60 kHz or 120 kHz.).
For claim 29, Kim teaches the method of claim 28. Kim further teaches the method of claim 28 wherein the gap association information comprises at least one of a measurement gap being associated with a measurement object (because of the OR condition, examiner chose to address the measurement object; Kim, [0618], The RRCReconfiguration message includes a second gap configuration information or one or more third gap configuration information and one or more measurement object configuration information)
or a measurement frequency, or a measurement gap being associated with a dedicated use case.
For claim 30, Kim teaches the method of claim 28. Kim further teaches the method of claim 28 wherein the gap association information comprises
MN configured frequencies (examiner identifies the reference to base station is equivalent to MN; Kim, [0720], Base station transmits a RRCReconfiguration message, the RRCReconfiguration message includes a first gap configuration information or a second gap configuration information or both, the first gap configuration information includes a musim-GapLength field and a musim-GapRepetitionAndOffset field, the musim-GapLength field indicates the length of the gap), and
the updating comprises that the MN updates a measurement object configuration to associate a measurement object with a measurement gap ( examiner observed the reference of the method interchangeable for both Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) and Time Division Duplex (TDD), as referred in [0065, 0114, 0118, 0123, 0124], SupportType5Gap, SupportType6Gap, MUSIM ; examiner identifies the Base station transmit [0743] and [0748] L2 response equivalent to “updating comprises that the MN updates a measurement object configuration” ;Kim, [0748] The L2 response message includes one or more measGapId of one or more a gap configuration information and the L3 request message includes one or more gap configuration information).
For claim 31, Kim teaches a wireless communication apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory (examiner identifies the reference to “stores data for operation of the main base station, such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information.” equivalent to “processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement a method”; Kim, Fig. 4A, [0884], The storage unit 4B-02 stores data for operation of the main base station, such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information. )
and implement a method recited in claim 26 (examiner identifies the reference to “basic program, an application program” equivalent to “implement a method recited”; Kim, Fig. 4A, [0884], The storage unit 4B-02 stores data for operation of the main base station, such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information).
Conclusion
/R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412