DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanism to move” in claim 1, “twisting mechanism” in claim 12, and “keying feature” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 13-14 each provide limitations relating to first and second pluralities of fiber optic connectors, that they are disposed within an adapter, and there is at least one connector port of the adapter between the first and second pluralities of fiber optic connectors. There are no limitations within claims 13-14 that further limit the structure of the cleaner of claim 11. The fiber optic connectors are not part of the cleaner, they are the articles being cleaned. Therefore, the limitations of claims 13-14 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 11. Note, claim 15 depends from claim 14. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakane, US 2015/0362680.
Regarding claim 1, Nakane discloses a cleaner (1, Figures 1, 7-10) for cleaning a plurality of fiber optic connectors (50, Figure 5), each fiber optic connector having fiber optic ferrule (51), comprising: a main body including a mechanism (includes 12, 13, 17, 20) to move at least one cleaner pad (11, 11A) to respective positions adjacent the plurality of fiber optic connectors (Figures 6A-6B); a cleaning cloth movable relative to the plurality of fiber optic connectors (2), wherein the cleaning cloth engages the cleaner pad when the cleaner pad is aligned with one of the end faces and also engages the end face of each of the fiber optic ferrules to clean the fiber optic ferrules upon a single activation of the mechanism (Figures 6A-6B in particular, paragraphs [0065]-[0067]); wherein the plurality of fiber optic connectors are ganged together (there are a plurality of connectors 50 grouped and secured together in Figures 8-9; in addition the fiber optic connectors being ganged together are not a positively recited element of the claimed cleaner and thus are interpreted as the article being worked upon by the cleaner and MPEP 2115 recites: “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”); and wherein the end faces of the plurality of fiber optic ferrules are cleanable in succession one after the other with the single activation of the mechanism the end faces are of being cleaned one after the other (the end faces of the fiber optic ferrules are capable of being cleaned in succession with a single activation of the mechanism, paragraphs [0050]-[0052], [0055]). Regarding claim 2, the mechanism is a cam mechanism to move the at least one cleaner pad upward toward the end faces of the plurality of fiber optic connectors (20 acts as a cam mechanism and is connected through components 12, 13, 17 to connect to at least one cleaner pad 11, 11A, see paragraph [0050]). Regarding claim 3, the cam mechanism includes the at least one cleaner pad moving along a vertical axis (vertical axis is the length dimension and the same direction the cam moves, see Figures). Regarding claim 8, the cam mechanism includes a cam shaft that moves the at least one cleaner pad upward toward the end faces of the plurality of fiber optic connectors (20 is a cam shaft and is connected through components 12, 13, 17 to move the at least one cleaner pad 11, 11A; paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0046]-[0050]). Regarding claim 9, the cleaner is insertable into an adapter having at least one of the plurality of fiber optic connectors disposed therein (53, Figures 5 and 6B).
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 7120050 (see also English translation).
Regarding claim 1, JP 7120050 discloses a cleaner (301, see Figures) for cleaning a plurality of fiber optic connectors (20), each fiber optic connector having fiber optic ferrule (21), comprising: a main body including a mechanism (shutter 12) to move at least one cleaner pad (Figures 1-2, pad 15) to respective positions adjacent the plurality of fiber optic connectors (Figure 2, shutter 12 allows cleaner pad 15 to be positioned adjacent the fiber optic connector); a cleaning cloth movable relative to the plurality of fiber optic connectors (13, 14), wherein the cleaning cloth engages the cleaner pad when the cleaner pad is aligned with one of the end faces and also engages the end face of each of the fiber optic ferrules to clean the fiber optic ferrules upon a single activation of the mechanism (Figures 1-2, see English translation relating to these Figures); wherein the plurality of fiber optic connectors are ganged together (fiber optic connectors at 20 can be ganged together at cable 19; in addition the fiber optic connectors being ganged together are not a positively recited element of the claimed cleaner and thus are interpreted as the article being worked upon by the cleaner and MPEP 2115 recites: “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”); and wherein the end faces of the plurality of fiber optic ferrules are cleanable in succession one after the other with the single activation of the mechanism the end faces are of being cleaned one after the other (the end faces of plural ferrules at 21 can fit within the port at 10, see Figure 3A so that they are cleanable in succession). Regarding claim 10, the plurality of fiber optic connectors are ganged together are insertable into the main body of the cleaner (the fiber optic connectors are capable of being ganged together as mentioned at cable 19, and would be capable of being insertable into the main body of the cleaner at port 10, see Figure 3A where plural connectors can be insertable).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cunningham et al., US 8,959,695.
Regarding claim 11, Cunningham et al. disclose a cleaner for cleaning a plurality of fiber optic connectors, each having a fiber optic ferrule (140, capable of cleaning a plurality of fiber optic connectors, each having a ferrule 18 or 20), the cleaner comprising: a handle (139, Figure 9); two cleaner tips attached to the handle (unlabeled two tips adjacent guides 146 where the cleaning strip is located, see also annotated Figure 8), the cleaner tips having an open space therebetween (at 151, Figure 8); and a cleaning cloth having a first side and a second side (cleaning strip 152; two sides are 160, 162), the cleaning cloth moving from the handle to both of the two cleaner tips and back to the handle (see Figures, particularly the strip path configuration 170 in Figures 13-14), wherein upon activation of the handle (via 148, drive on a supply reel/take up reel), the first side of the cleaning cloth simultaneously cleans a first of the plurality of fiber optic connectors and the second side of the cleaning cloth cleans a second side of the plurality of fiber optic connectors (column 7 lines 44-57). Regarding claim 12, there is a twisting mechanism to twist the cloth between a first of the plurality of fiber optic connectors and a second of the plurality of fiber optic connectors (at turn 176, Figure 13; column 8 lines 5-16; note, the fiber optic connectors are not positively recited elements that are part of the cleaner and are considered the article being worked upon by the cleaner; MPEP 2115 recites: “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”).
[AltContent: textbox (cleaner tips)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches or suggests the invention of claims 4-7 that includes a cam mechanism with at least one cleaner pad being attached to a rotating belt or wherein the cam mechanism is a rotating belt having a button attached to the rotating belt, the button engaging at least one cleaner pad associated with to move the at least one cleaner pad upward toward end faces of the fiber optic connectors. Also none of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches or suggests that the cleaner has at least one keying feature that cooperates with a keying feature on an adapter of a plurality of fiber optic connectors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2003/0221710 to Young and US 9,134,485 to Fujiwara et al. are considered relevant to the applicant’s invention.
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg