Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "two or more mountains " in line 3 of the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daumal (FR Patent FR 2730971 A1).
With regards to Claim 1: Daumal teaches a vehicle steering device, comprising: a steering shaft (9) having a toothed portion having a plurality of mountains and valleys axially formed on an outer circumferential surface of an end portion thereof and circumferentially arranged (ribs on 9), and rotated with a steering wheel (6) to transfer a steering force; an upper column (1) formed in a hollow shape and having the steering shaft coupled to and rotatingly supported on an inner circumferential side thereof; and a shaft fixing member (2) having one side end coupled to the steering shaft and another side end coupled to the upper column to fix the steering shaft (seen in Fig 1).
With regards to Claim 2: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 1 as annotated Fig 1 below, wherein the shaft fixing member (2) includes: a shaft coupling portion (shaft coupling portion) where an end portion of the steering shaft is inserted; a tube coupling portion (tube coupling portion) coupled to an outer circumferential surface of the upper column; and a body portion (body portion) connecting the shaft coupling portion and the tube coupling portion.
Annotated Daumal Fig 1
With regards to Claim 7: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 2, wherein the tube coupling portion (tube coupling portion) includes: an end portion support portion (between 4 and shaft coupling portion) supported on an end portion of the upper column (1); and an outer circumferential surface support portion (between 4 and tube coupling portion) extending from the end portion support portion and supported on an outer circumferential surface of the upper column.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Magnus et al (US Patent Publication US 2018/0238400 A1).
With regards to Claim 1: Magnus et al teaches a vehicle steering device, comprising: a steering shaft (17) having a toothed portion having a plurality of mountains and valleys axially formed on an outer circumferential surface of an end portion thereof and circumferentially arranged (at 18 and 19), and rotated with a steering wheel (6) to transfer a steering force; an upper column (23) formed in a hollow shape and having the steering shaft coupled to and rotatingly supported on an inner circumferential side thereof; and a shaft fixing member (56 and 58) having one side end coupled to the steering shaft and another side end coupled to the upper column to fix the steering shaft (seen in Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daumal (FR Patent FR 2730971 A1).
With regards to Claim 8: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 7, but does not teach the end portion support portion (between 4 and shaft coupling portion) extends with a diameter increased toward an outer circumference of the body portion (body portion of Annotated Fig 1 above) to be larger than a diameter of the upper column (1) and is axially supported on the end portion of the upper column.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the end portion support portion extends with a diameter increased toward an outer circumference of the body portion to be larger than a diameter of the upper column and is axially supported on the end portion of the upper column to streamline the shape of the steering column reduce material costs and be aesthetically pleasing for the vehicle occupants. Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
With regards to Claim 17: Daumal teaches a method for assembling a steering device, comprising: a shaft aligning step of aligning a steering shaft (3) in the steering device; a shaft coupling step of coupling one end portion of a shaft fixing member (2) to an end portion of the steering shaft; and an upper column coupling step of coupling another end portion of the shaft fixing member to the upper column (1) by axially moving the shaft fixing member.
Daumal does not teach aligning the steering shaft to a neutral position
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assembling a steering device disclosed in Daumal with the aligning of components at a neutral position with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have had all the components aligned to allow for easy assembly.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magnus et al (US Patent Publication US 2018/0238400 A1).
With regards to Claim 17: Magnus et al teaches a method for assembling a steering device, comprising: a shaft aligning step of aligning a steering shaft (17) in the steering device; a shaft coupling step of coupling one end portion of a shaft fixing member (56 and 58) to an end portion of the steering shaft; and an upper column coupling step of coupling another end portion of the shaft fixing member to the upper column (23) by axially moving the shaft fixing member.
Magnus et al does not teach aligning the steering shaft to a neutral position
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assembling a steering device disclosed in Magnus et al with the aligning of components at a neutral position with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have had all the components aligned to allow for easy assembly.
Claims 3-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daumal (FR Patent FR 2730971 A1) in view of Ross (EP Patent EP 0860344 A2).
With regards to Claim 3: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 2, but does not teach the mountains and valleys corresponding to the mountains and valleys of the toothed portion (ribs on 9) are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion.
Ross teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (31) with a toothed portion (57) and a shaft fixing member (83) comprising a shaft coupling portion wherein mountains and valleys (89) corresponding to the mountains and valleys of the toothed portion are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the teeth on the shaft coupling portion taught in Ross with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the components in the desired position.
With regards to Claim 4: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 2, but does not teach at least one insertion protrusion inserted to the valley of the toothed portion (ribs on 9) is provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion.
Ross teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (31) with a toothed portion (57) and a shaft fixing member (83) comprising a shaft coupling portion wherein insertion protrusions (89) corresponding to the mountains and valleys of the toothed portion are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion (89).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the insertion protrusions on the shaft coupling portion taught in Ross with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the components in the desired position.
With regards to Claim 5: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 2, wherein a mountain connecting portion circumferentially connecting two or more mountains (ribs on 9) is provided on an outer circumferential surface of an end portion of the steering shaft (9).
Daumal does not teach a pair of insertion protrusions respectively inserted to valleys on two circumferentially opposite sides of the mountain connecting portion are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion.
Ross teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (31) with a toothed portion (57) and a shaft fixing member (83) comprising a shaft coupling portion wherein insertion protrusions (89) corresponding to the mountains and valleys of the toothed portion are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion (89).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the insertion protrusions on the shaft coupling portion taught in Ross with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the components in the desired position.
With regards to Claim 6: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 2, wherein a valley connecting portion circumferentially connecting two or more valleys (valleys between ribs on 9) is provided on an outer circumferential surface of an end portion of the steering shaft (9)
Daumal does not teach an insertion protrusion tightly contacting an inside of the valley connecting portion is provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion.
Ross teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (31) with a toothed portion (57) and a shaft fixing member (83) comprising a shaft coupling portion wherein insertion protrusions (89) corresponding to the mountains and valleys of the toothed portion are provided on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion (89).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the insertion protrusions on the shaft coupling portion taught in Ross with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the components in the desired position.
With regards to Claim 15: The combination of Daumal and Ross teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 5, but does not teach at least one protruding end portion formed to radially protrude is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the shaft coupling portion (Ross 89).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device taught in the combination of Daumal and Ross with the at least one protruding end portion with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed a user to place the shaft coupling portion at the desired location.
With regards to Claim 16: The combination of Daumal, Ross, and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 15, but does not teach the protruding end portion is provided on a radial outer circumferential surface facing the inner circumferential surface where the insertion protrusion (ross 89) is formed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device taught in the combination of Daumal and Ross with the at least one protruding end portion with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed a user to place the shaft coupling portion at the desired location.
Claims 9-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daumal (FR Patent FR 2730971 A1) in view of Tanke et al (US Patent Publication US 2009/0266195 A1).
With regards to Claim 9: Daumal teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 8, wherein the outer circumferential surface support portion is formed to axially extend from an outer circumferential surface of the end portion support portion (between 4 and shaft coupling portion).
Daumal does not teach a support portion and has a support portion provided at the extended end portion to be supported on the outer circumferential surface of the upper column (1).
Tanke et al teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (30), an upper column (22), a support portion (40) wherein the support portion provided at the extended end portion to be supported on the outer circumferential surface of the upper column (seen in Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the support portion taught in Magnus et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the shaft fixing member to the upper column.
With regards to Claim 10: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 9, wherein the support portion (Tanke 40) is formed to radially protrude from an inner surface of an end portion of the outer circumferential surface support portion (via Daumal 2).
With regards to Claim 11: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 10, wherein the upper column (Daumal 1) has a fixing hole (per Tanke Fig 2) penetrating an outer circumferential surface and an inner circumferential surface to have the support portion inserted and fixed.
With regards to Claim 12: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 11, wherein side surfaces of the support portion are vertically connected with a side surface of the outer circumferential surface support portion (via Daumal 2), and wherein an inner surface of the support portion is formed as a convex surface (seen in valleys of teeth per Tanke Fig 2).
The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al does not teach two opposite side surfaces of the support portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have two opposite side surfaces of the support portion to further secure the shaft fixing member. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to Claim 13: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 10, wherein an insertion groove (per Tanke Fig 2) where the support portion (Tanke 40) is inserted and fixed is provided in the outer circumferential surface of the upper column (Daumal 1).
With regards to Claim 14: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the vehicle steering device of claim 13, wherein the side surface of the support portion (Tanke 40) is vertically connected with a side surface of the outer circumferential surface support portion (via Daumal 2), and wherein an inner surface of the support portion is formed as a convex surface (seen in valleys of teeth per Tanke Fig 2).
The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al does not teach two opposite side surfaces of the support portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have two opposite side surfaces of the support portion to further secure the shaft fixing member. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to Claim 18: Daumal teaches the method of claim 17, but does not teach the shaft coupling step axially inserts an insertion protrusion formed on an inner circumferential surface of the shaft fixing member (2) to a mountain connecting portion formed by connecting two or more mountains (ribs on 9) to an end portion of the steering shaft (9).
Tanke et al teaches a steering column comprising a steering shaft (30), an upper column (22), a support portion (40) with an insertion protrusion (teeth on 40) wherein the support portion provided at the extended end portion to be supported on the outer circumferential surface of the upper column (seen in Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device disclosed in Daumal with the support portion taught in Magnus et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the shaft fixing member to the upper column.
With regards to Claim 19: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the upper column coupling step inserts a support portion (Tanke 40) formed to protrude on an outer circumferential surface support portion axially extending from another end portion of the shaft fixing member (Daumal 2) to a fixing hole (seen in Tanke Fig 2) formed in an outer circumferential surface of the upper column (Daumal 1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daumal (FR Patent FR 2730971 A1) in view of Tanke et al (US Patent Publication US 2009/0266195 A1) and in further view of Dubay et al (US Patent Publication US 2009/0056493 A1)
With regards to Claim 20: The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al teaches method of claim 19, further comprising: where two opposite ends of the shaft fixing member (Daumal 2) are coupled to the steering shaft (Daumal 9) and the upper column (Daumal 1), to a body of a vehicle; and separating the shaft fixing member and coupling a steering wheel (Daumal 6) to the steering shaft while the steering device is fixed to the body.
The combination of Daumal and Tanke et al does not teach a mounting bracket.
Dubay et al teaches a steering column assembly (20) with a plurality of shafts (22 and 24) and a mounting bracket (56) to connect the steering column assembly to the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle steering device taught in the combination of Daumal and Tanke with the mounting bracket taught in Dubay et al with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have secured the vehicle steering device to the body of the vehicle.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JOSEPH GANCI/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/PAUL N DICKSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614