DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Novotny et al.
For claim 1, Novotny et al. (8998253) disclose a work vehicle, comprising:
an occupant space (150, FIG.1) configured to accommodate an occupant;
an arch-shaped frame (49, FIG.1) extending over the occupant space and comprising:
a lateral frame portion (not numbered, FIGS.1 and 2) extending laterally relative to a body of the work vehicle;
a left vertical frame portion extending downward from a left end portion of the lateral frame portion; and
a right vertical frame portion extending downward from a right end portion of the lateral frame portion;
a front seat (152,158) in the occupant space;
a back seat (164) in the occupant space and backward of the front seat relative to the body; and
a handrail (not numbered but seen in FIG.2) usable by an occupant on the back seat and comprising:
a first section extending laterally relative to the body;
a second section extending forward from a left end portion of the first section; and
a third section extending forward from a right end portion of the first section,
wherein the second section is coupled to the left vertical frame portion, and
wherein the third section is coupled to the right vertical frame portion.
For claim 3, the first section has an upper end below an upper end of the front seat.
For claim 4, the handrail is made of metal (implicit).
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hokes et al.
For claim 1, Hokes et al. (11267384) disclose a work vehicle, comprising:
an occupant space (FIG.1) configured to accommodate an occupant;
an arch-shaped frame (36,42, FIG.1) extending over the occupant space and comprising:
a lateral frame portion (36) extending laterally relative to a body of the work vehicle;
a left vertical frame portion (42) extending downward from a left end portion of the lateral frame portion; and
a right vertical frame portion (42) extending downward from a right end portion of the lateral frame portion;
a front seat (22) in the occupant space;
a back seat (23) in the occupant space and backward of the front seat relative to the body; and
a handrail (61,80) usable by an occupant on the back seat and comprising:
a first section (64) extending laterally relative to the body;
a second section (71) extending forward from a left end portion of the first section; and
a third section (76) extending forward from a right end portion of the first section,
wherein the second section is coupled to the left vertical frame portion, and
wherein the third section is coupled to the right vertical frame portion.
For claim 3, the first section has an upper end below an upper end of the front seat.
For claim 4, the handrail is made of metal (Col 4, lines 60-62; Col 10, lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny et al. or Hokes et al. in view of Kathol et al. and the well known prior art.
For claim 5, Novotny et al. and Hokes et al. are silent as to a drink holder attached to the first section.
Kathol et al. (2024/0025326) teach the use and desirability of providing drink holders to occupants in rear seats (FIG.4).
In addition, the examiner takes official notice that well known prior art is replete with examples of drink holders attached to horizontal bars. Johnson et al. (2019/0086027) teaches a drink holder (below, LEFT) attached to a horizontal bar (as seen in FIGS. 11-12). Gu (12279709) additionally teaches a drink holder (below, RIGHT) attached to a horizontal bar (FIG.4).
Alternatively, McConnell et al. (6390427) provides the same, as seen in FIG.1.
Additional cited references of the prior art including Lynch (5752687)(FIG.3) and Trautman et al. (6942131)(FIG.1) provide the same.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided at the center section of the handrail of either of Novotny et al. or Hokes et al. a drink holder as taught by Kathol et al. capable of being attached to the center section as taught by the well known prior art in order to allow occupants seated in the rear seats to secure beverages when not in use.
Applicant may seasonally challenge, for the official record in this application, this and any other statement of judicial notice in a timely manner in response to this office action. Please specify the exact statement to be challenged. Applicant is reminded, with respect to the specific challenge put forth, of the duty of disclosure under Rule 56 to disclose material which is pertinent to patentability including claim rejections challenged by applicant. Examiner has proactively set forth instant and unquestionable evidence with the references discussed above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny et al. or Hokes et al. in view of Barecki (3323835).
For claim 2, neither Novotny et al. nor Hokes et al. further provides a coupler extending from the handrail to the front seat and coupling the handrail to the front seat, a feature known from Barecki as seen in FIGS. 2 and 4 where a centrally located coupler is provided.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a coupler as taught by Barecki for use with the handrail of either Novotny et al. or Hokes et al. in order to provide an additional point of securement for the handrail to the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B