DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0098057 A1 (“Goswami”).
Regarding claim 1, Goswami discloses a method of video processing, comprising: determining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (e.g. see at least encoder, e.g. in Fig. 2, and/or decoder, e.g. in Fig. 3), whether a template based processing is applied to the video unit (e.g. see at least template matching prediction as shown in Fig. 17, paragraphs [0124]-[0129]), wherein the template based processing is based on at least one template in at least one of: a current picture or a reference picture of the video unit (e.g. see at least current template 1706 and/or second template 1704 in Fig. 17, paragraphs [0124]-[0129]), wherein a template cost is determined by comparing at least one of the following between a current template and a reference template: a difference, an error, or a distortion (e.g. see at least searching for the second template 1704 that best matches the current template 1706 based on one or more cost criterion based on a difference between the second template 1704 and the current template 1706, paragraphs [0124]-[0125], which is also discussed in Fig. 22, paragraph [0143]); and performing the conversion based on the determining (e.g. see at least encoder, e.g. in Fig. 2, and/or decoder, e.g. in Fig. 3; thus, the video encoder performs the conversion of the current block into a bitstream based on the template matching prediction and/or the video decoder performs the conversion of bitstream into the current block based on template matching prediction).
Regarding claim 2, Goswami further discloses wherein a template matching or a template refinement is performed based on a template cost, and/or wherein the template based processing comprises one of: an intra block copy (IBC) template matching (TM) merge mode, a TM based IBC advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) candidate refinement, or an adaptive reordering-based motion compensation (ARMC) based IBC mode, and/or wherein in accordance with a determination that the video unit is coded with the template based processing, a reconstruction reordered IBC (RRIBC) is applied to the video unit, or in accordance with a determination that the video unit is coded with the template based processing, the RRIBC is not applied to the video unit, and/or wherein a location of at least a part of the current template relative to a current video unit and a location of at least a part of the reference template relative to a reference video unit are different, and/or wherein the current template is at above and left relative to the current video unit, and the reference template is at above and right relative to the reference video unit, and/or wherein the current template is at above and left relative to the current video unit, and the reference template is at below and left relative to the reference video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or”) (e.g. see at least template matching prediction as shown in Fig. 17 based on one or more cost criterion, paragraphs [0124]-[0129], [0143]).
Regarding claim 3, Goswami further discloses wherein if the template based processing in addition to the ARMC is applied to a prediction list, a second reference template that is different from a first reference template is used, and/or wherein if the RRIBC is applied to the video unit that is coded with the template based processing, a second reference template that is different from a first reference template is used, and/or wherein if the ARMC is applied to the video unit that is a non-RRIBC coded video unit, a second reference template that is different from a first reference template is used, and/or wherein if the template based processing in addition to the ARMC is applied to the prediction list, samples in a reference template of a reference block of the video unit are reordered, and/or wherein if the RRIBC is applied to the video unit that is coded with the template based processing, samples in a reference template of a reference block of the video unit are reordered, and/or wherein if the ARMC is applied to the video unit that is a RRIBC coded video unit, samples in a reference template of a reference block of the video unit are reordered, and/or wherein if the ARMC is applied to the prediction list, samples in a current template of a current block of the video unit are ordered, or wherein if the ARMC is applied to the video unit that is a RRIBC coded video unit, samples in a current template of a current block of the video unit are ordered (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 4, Goswami further discloses wherein a validation check is applied to a reference template of at least one RRIBC coded motion candidate, and/or wherein the second reference template is used to determine a template cost of at least one RRIBC coded video unit, and/or wherein a validation check is applied to a reference template of the at least one RRIBC coded video unit, and/or wherein a reference template of the video unit includes neighboring samples that are at least one of the following sides adjacent to a reference video unit: a right side, a below side, an above side, or a left side, and/or wherein a reference template of the video unit comprises samples within the reference video unit (e.g. see at least current template 1706 and/or second template 1704 in Fig. 17, paragraphs [0124]-[0129]; also see different example of templates in Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 5, Goswami further discloses wherein the validation check is applied to check whether a right part of the reference template is within a valid area, and/or wherein the validation check is applied to check whether a bottom part of the reference template is within a valid area, and/or wherein if a sample of the reference template is outside a valid area, another sample within the valid area is used instead to construct the reference template, and/or wherein if at least one sample of the reference template is outside a valid area, the reference template of the at least one RRIBC coded motion candidate is treated as unavailable, and/or wherein if at least one sample of a right part of the reference template is outside a valid area, at least one sample on rightmost M columns inside a reference block is used instead to construct the reference template, wherein M is equal to a width of the right part of the reference template, or if at least one sample of a bottom part of the reference template is outside a valid area, at least one sample on top N rows inside a reference block is used instead to construct the reference template, wherein N is equal to a height of the bottom part of the reference template, and/or wherein whether to use bottom samples or right samples neighboring to a reference block to construct a reference template of a reference lock is dependent on a flip type of the at least one RRIBC coded video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 6, Goswami further discloses wherein the valid area is predefined by a set of rules related to coding information, and wherein the coding information comprises at least one of: a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) size, a largest coding unit (LCU) size, a tile boundary, a picture boundary, a slice boundary, or a tile row, and/or wherein a valid sample nearest to an invalid sample is used, and/or wherein a valid sample inside a reference block is used, and/or wherein the template based processing is not applied to the prediction list, or wherein the RRIBC is not applied to the video unit that is coded with the template based processing, or wherein the ARMC is not applied to the video unit that is non-RRIBC coded video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 7, Goswami further discloses wherein a validation check is applied to a reference template of the non-RRIBC coded video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 8, Goswami further discloses wherein the validation check is applied to check whether a right part of the reference template is within a valid area, and/or wherein the validation check is applied to check whether a bottom part of the reference template is within a valid area, and/or wherein if a sample of the reference template is outside a valid area, another sample within the valid area is used instead to construct the reference template, and/or wherein if at least one sample of the reference template is outside a valid area, the reference template of the non-RRIBC coded video unit is treated as unavailable, and/or wherein if at least one sample of a right part of the reference template is outside a valid area, at least one sample on rightmost M columns inside a reference block is used instead to construct the reference template, wherein M is equal to a width of the right part of the reference template, and/or wherein if at least one sample of a bottom part of the reference template is outside a valid area, at least one sample on top N rows inside a reference block is used instead to construct the reference template, wherein N is equal to a height of the bottom part of the reference template, and/or wherein if the reference template of the non-RRIBC coded video unit exceeds a valid region, at least one sample within the valid region is used instead to fill the reference template (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 9, Goswami further discloses wherein a valid area is predefined by a set of rules related to coding information, and wherein the coding information comprises at least one of: a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) size, a largest coding unit (LCU) size, a tile boundary, a picture boundary, a slice boundary, or a tile row, and/or wherein a valid sample nearest to an invalid sample is used, and/or wherein a valid sample inside a reference block is used, and/or wherein the ARMC is not applied to the non-RRIBC coded video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 10, Goswami further discloses wherein the first reference template is constructed from at least one of: left samples or above samples neighboring to a reference block, and/or wherein the second reference template is constructed from at least one of bottom samples or right samples neighboring to a reference block, and/or wherein the second reference template is used to determine a template cost of the at least one RRIBC coded motion candidate, and/or wherein whether to use bottom samples or right samples neighboring to a reference block to construct a reference template of a reference lock is dependent on a flip type of the at least one RRIBC coded motion candidate, and/or wherein whether to use a second reference template or a first reference template is dependent on a flip type of a motion candidate, and/or wherein a second template is constructed from above and right samples neighboring to a reference block, and a first template is constructed from above and left samples neighboring to a current block, and/or wherein a second template is constructed from bottom and left samples neighboring to a reference block, and a first template is constructed from above and left samples neighboring to a current block, and/or wherein sample in an above part of the reference template are reordered, and/or wherein samples in a right part of the reference template are reordered, and/or wherein sample in a left part of the reference template are reordered, and/or wherein samples in a bottom part of the reference template are reordered, and/or wherein whether to reorder samples in the reference template is dependent on a flip type of a motion candidate, and/or wherein a horizontal flip processing is applied to samples in an above part of the reference template which is constructed from above samples neighboring to the reference block, and/or wherein a horizontal flip processing is applied to samples in a right part of the reference template which is constructed from right samples neighboring to the reference block, and/or wherein a vertical flip processing is applied to samples in a left part of the reference template which is constructed from left samples neighboring to the reference block, and/or wherein a vertical flip processing is applied to samples in a bottom part of the reference template which is constructed from bottom samples neighboring to the reference block, and/or wherein sample in an above part of the current template are reordered, and/or wherein samples in a left part of the current template are reordered, and/or wherein whether to reorder samples in the current template is dependent on a flip type of a motion candidate, and/or wherein a horizontal flip processing is applied to samples in an above part of the current template which is constructed from above samples neighboring to the current block, and/or wherein a horizontal flip processing is applied to samples in a left part of the current template which is constructed from left samples neighboring to the current block, and/or wherein a vertical flip processing is applied to samples in an above part of the current template which is constructed from above samples neighboring to the current block, and/or wherein a vertical flip processing is applied to samples in a left part of the current template which is constructed from left samples neighboring to the current block, and/or wherein at most one template is reordered, and/or wherein samples in a current template of a current block of the video unit are reordered, and samples in a reference template of a reference block of the video unit are not reordered, and/or wherein samples in a reference template of a reference block of the video unit are reordered, and samples in a current template of a current block of the video unit are not reordered, and/or wherein at least part of samples in the reference template of the video unit that is coded with the template based processing are ordered, and/or wherein at least part of samples in the current template of the video unit that is coded with the template based processing are ordered, and/or wherein at least part of samples in the reference template or at least part of samples in the current template of the video unit that is coded with the template based processing are ordered, and/or wherein samples comprise at least one of: reconstruction samples or prediction samples (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 11, Goswami further discloses wherein the first reference template is used to determine a template cost of a motion candidate that is not coded with the RRIBC (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 12, Goswami further discloses wherein if a width of the right part of the reference template is equal to a predefined number, the horizontal flip processing is not applied, and/or wherein if a height of the bottom part of the reference template is equal to a predefined number, the vertical flip processing is not applied (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 13, Goswami further discloses wherein if a width of the left part of the current template is equal to a predefined number, the horizontal flip processing is not applied (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 14, Goswami further discloses wherein if a height of the above part of the current template is equal to a predefined number, the vertical flip processing is not applied (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 15, Goswami further discloses wherein if a horizontal flip processing is applied, samples in an above part of the reference template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[curW - 1 - x + (y - tempH) * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the above part of the reference template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the above part of the reference template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the above part of the reference template relative such part of the reference template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a horizontal flip processing is applied, samples in a right part of the reference template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[curW + tempW - 1 – x + y * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the right part of the reference template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the right part of the reference template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the right part of the reference template relative such part of the reference template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a vertical flip processing is applied, samples in a bottom part of the reference template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[x + (curH + tempH – 1 - y) * curStride] ], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the bottom part of the reference template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the bottom part of the reference template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the bottom part of the reference template relative such part of the reference template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a vertical flip processing is applied, samples in a left part of the reference template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[x - tempW + (curH - 1 – y] * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the left part of the reference template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the left part of the reference template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the left part of the reference template relative such part of the reference template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 16, Goswami further discloses wherein if a horizontal flip processing is applied, samples in an above part of the current template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[curW - 1 - x + (y - tempH) * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the above part of the current template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the above part of the current template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the above part of the current template relative such part of the current template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a horizontal flip processing is applied, samples in a right part of the current template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[curW + tempW - 1 – x + y * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the right part of the current template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the right part of the current template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the right part of the current template relative such part of the current template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a vertical flip processing is applied, samples in a bottom part of the current template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[x + (curH + tempH – 1 - y) * curStride] ], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the bottom part of the current template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the bottom part of the current template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the bottom part of the current template relative such part of the current template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit, or wherein if a vertical flip processing is applied, samples in a left part of the current template are derived as: temp[x + y * tempW] = cur[x - tempW + (curH - 1 – y] * curStride], and wherein temp represents a sample buffer of the left part of the current template, (tempW, tempH) represents width and height of the left part of the current template, (x,y) represents a location of a top-left sample of the left part of the current template relative such part of the current template, cur represents the sample buffer of the video unit, (curW, curH) represents width and height of the video unit, curStride represents a stride of the sample buffer of the video unit (note: these claim limitations include “and/or” and/or limitations that refer to contingent limitations that are not required to be performed to practice the claimed invention; since its base claim is met, these limitations are also met under BRI).
Regarding claim 17, Goswami further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (e.g. see at least encoder, e.g. in Fig. 2, and/or decoder, e.g. in Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 18-20 the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0205386 A1, Robert et al., Intra block copy with template matching for video encoding and decoding
US 2023/0396805 A1, Le et al., Template matching prediction for versatile video coding
US 2021/0250580 A1, Chen et al., Method and apparatus of enhanced intra block copying mode, for video coding
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619