DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,835,647 (Cattle).
Claims 22-24, 27-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,835,647 (Cattle).
Claims 32-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-13, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,835,647 (Cattle).
Claims 45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 21, 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,835,647 (Cattle).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims comprise a broader formulation of the patented invention, which if allowed, would infringe upon the limitations of the patented invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 and 45 recite the limitation "the optimal values" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 22-26, 29, 30, 31 describe method steps being carried out “using responses to the generated radar signals”. The scope of such limitations cannot be ascertained. There is no recitation of what the responses are, nor how they are received. Examiner suggest clarifying that such responses are radar signal reflections received by a receiver of the radar imaging system.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the responses" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation “a reflection from the target area that can be reliably detected or imaged”. The scope of “reliably” cannot be ascertained.
Additional claims are rejected at least for their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Towner (US 6255985).
Claim 21: Towner discloses A method comprising:
identifying operational limits of an imaging operation of a radar imaging system (col 1 lines 60-66, col 4 lines 13-28, col 5 lines 28-51);
determining desired values for radar waveform parameters of the radar imaging system, wherein determining the optimal values is based on operational values associated with the operational limits (col 2 lines 15-18, col 5 lines 28-51, col 6 lines 24-27);
generating radar signals for the radar imaging system to perform the imaging operation, wherein generated radar signals are based on the desired values for the radar waveform parameters (col 3 lines 12-17, col 7 line 35-38)
transmitting the generated radar signals to image a target in a target area (col 3 lines 12-17, col 7 line 35-38, considered implicit in the generation of radar signals using the optimized values)
Examiner’s Note: In the parent application #17/164,330, Applicant amended similar claims to include that the operating parameters were based on detected target characteristics. Examiner supplied the following rejection: Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
Claim 40: Towner discloses the operational limits comprise a maximum range of the radar system (col 2 lines 39-44)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towner (US 6255985) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Smith (US 2017/0254880)
Claim 22: Towner does not specially disclose controlling operation of a host system using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising controlling operation of a host system using responses to the generated radar signals (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 23: Towner does not specially disclose controlling movement of a host system using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising controlling movement of a host system using responses to the generated radar signals. (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 24: Towner does not specially disclose instructing a host system to move relative to the target using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising instructing a host system to move relative to the target using responses to the generated radar signals (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 27: Towner does not specially disclose instructing operation of a vehicle using the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising instructing operation of a vehicle using the generated radar signals (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 28: Towner does not specially disclose instructing operation of a vehicle using the generated radar signals, and wherein the vehicle includes a docking spacecraft, an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV"), an aerial vehicle, an automobile, or some combination thereof.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising instructing operation of a vehicle using the generated radar signals, and wherein the vehicle includes a docking spacecraft, an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV"), an aerial vehicle, an automobile, or some combination thereof (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 29: Towner does not specially disclose providing control instructions for controlling operation of a host using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising providing control instructions for controlling operation of a host using responses to the generated radar signals (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 30: Towner does not specially disclose providing control instructions for instructing of a host to rotate, displace, or some combination thereof, using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising providing control instructions for instructing of a host to rotate, displace, or some combination thereof, using responses to the generated radar signals. (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim 31: Towner does not specially disclose providing control instructions for instructing a host to move toward the target using responses to the generated radar signals.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising providing control instructions for instructing a host to move toward the target using responses to the generated radar signals. (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Claim(s) 25, 26, 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towner (US 6255985) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Haykin (US 2011/0084871)
Claim 25: Towner does not specifically disclose instructing a ground-based host system to perform drone detection, control drone countermeasures, or some combination thereof, using responses to the generated radar signals.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089), and further comprising instructing a ground-based host system to perform drone detection, control drone countermeasures, or some combination thereof, using responses to the generated radar signals. (para 0139, 0140 employing an ATC radar for aircraft tracking of which drones are common embodiments of aircraft)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to accurately monitor maneuvering aircraft (Haykin para 0139)
Claim 26: Towner does not specifically disclose controlling operations of a surveillance tower in detecting objects using the responses to the generated radar signals.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089), and further comprising controlling operations of a surveillance tower in detecting objects using the responses to the generated radar signals (para 0139, 0140 employing an ATC radar for aircraft tracking)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to accurately monitor maneuvering aircraft (Haykin para 0139)
Claim 32: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits are defined from characteristics of the target.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it
comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to optimize transmitter operation for a particular target's characteristics (Haykin para 0002-0016)
Claim 33: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits are defined from physical properties of the target.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it
comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to optimize transmitter operation for a particular target's characteristics (Haykin para 0002-0016)
Claim 34: Towner does not specifically disclose operational limits are defined from position of the target relative to the radar imaging system.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it
comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to optimize transmitter operation for a particular target's characteristics (Haykin para 0002-0016)
Claim 35: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits are defined from velocity of the target relative to the radar imaging system.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked including velocity (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it
comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to optimize transmitter operation for a particular target's characteristics (Haykin para 0002-0016)
Claim 36: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits are defined from a range related to the target.
Haykin (US 2011/0084871) discloses a system and method for adaptive tracking of targets in which the invention continuously updates operating parameters of the radar system based on determined target state of a target being tracked including range (abstract, para 0020-0022, 0061, 0062, 0089).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it
comprised the above limitations, as taught by Haykin, in order to optimize transmitter operation for a particular target's characteristics (Haykin para 0002-0016)
Claim(s) 37-39, 41-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towner (US 6255985) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Corretja (US 2017/0307734)
Claim 37: Towner does not specifically disclose operational limits are defined from a radar cross-section related to the target.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a minimum radar cross-section of the radar system (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 38: Towner does not specifically disclose operational limits are defined from a reflectivity of the target.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a minimum radar cross-section of the radar system (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 39: Towner does not specifically disclose operational limits are defined from absorption properties of the target.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a minimum radar cross-section of the radar system (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 41: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits comprise a maximum unambiguous velocity of the radar imaging system relative to the target.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a maximum unambiguous velocity of the radar imaging system relative to the target. (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 42: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits comprise a minimum radar cross-section of the radar imaging system.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a minimum radar cross-section of the radar system (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 43: Towner does not specifically disclose the operational limits comprise a minimum range resolution of the radar imaging system.
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of the radar system comprise a minimum range resolution of the radar imaging system. (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim 44: Towner does not specifically disclose discloses the operational limits comprise a minimum intensity of a reflection from the target area that can be reliably detected or imaged
Corretja discloses a waveform optimization method for radar target detection in a
vehicular application (abstract, fig 1-3, para 0011) wherein the first operational limits of
the radar system comprise a minimum intensity of a reflection from the target area that
can be reliably detected or imaged (para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the
above limitations, as taught by Corretja, in order to optimize range resolution for target
detection (Corretja para 0077-0078, 0088, 0095-0100)
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towner (US 6255985) in view of Smith (US 2017/0254880)
Claim 45: Towner discloses A method comprising:
identifying operational limits of an imaging operation of a radar imaging system (col 1 lines 60-66, col 4 lines 13-28, col 5 lines 28-51);
determining desired values for radar waveform parameters of the radar imaging system, wherein determining the optimal values is based on operational values associated with the operational limits (col 2 lines 15-18, col 5 lines 28-51, col 6 lines 24-27);
generating radar signals for the radar imaging system to perform the imaging operation, wherein generated radar signals are based on the desired values for the radar waveform parameters (col 3 lines 12-17, col 7 line 35-38)
transmitting the generated radar signals to image a target in a target area (col 3 lines 12-17, col 7 line 35-38, considered implicit in the generation of radar signals using the optimized values)
Towner does not specifically disclose providing instructions to operate a vehicle relative to the target using the generated radar signals and operating the vehicle relative to the target using the instructions.
Smith discloses a vehicular control system in which range settings of a plurality of radars are adjusted based on contextual information of an environment in which the vehicle is operating (para 0019) further comprising providing instructions to operate a vehicle relative to the target using the generated radar signals and operating the vehicle relative to the target using the instructions (para 0020)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Smith, in order to control a vehicle for anti-collision purposes when a target is detected (Smith para 0020)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648