CTNF 18/974,275 CTNF 86457 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Maerz et al. (DE102008050017, “Maerz”) . Re claim 1, Maerz an electric drive device, comprising: one shaft extending in a prescribed axial direction (fig 2, [0036] & [0049], says 205a & 205b can be one shaft; note: employing fig 2 w/ controllers of fig 4 for rejection); a first rotary electric machine 202a and a second rotary electric machine 202b each arranged coaxially with the shaft and connected to the shaft (fig 2, [0026] & [0036]); a first controller electrically connected to the first rotary electric machine 202a and configured to control driving of the first rotary electric machine (fig 2, [0028], two controllers for two machine located in 100); and a second controller electrically connected to the second rotary electric machine 202b and configured to control driving of the second rotary electric machine (fig 2, [0028], two controllers for two machine located in 100), wherein the first rotary electric machine 202a and the second rotary electric machine 202a are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the shaft (fig 2), and the first controller and the second controller are arranged between the first rotary electric machine and the second rotary electric machine (fig 2, [0028] & [0035]). Re claim 2 , Maerz disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a casing 310 that defines a controller storage space between the first rotary electric machine 220a and the second rotary electric machine 220b (figs 2 & 4, [0051]), the controller storage space being a space for accommodating the first controller and the second controller (figs 2 & 4, [0043]); and two electric connectors 311a, 311b provided on an outer circumferential surface of the casing and connected to the first controller and the second controller (fig 4, [0046]). Re claim 4 , Maerz disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the first controller and the second controller are arranged to be rotationally symmetric about a center of the controller storage space (fig 4, [0041] & [0043-0045], each side of 100 in the axial direction includes circuit board 317, power semiconductors 315 & current sensors 314; as 317, 315 & 314 of one side/controller is rotated around the rotational axis it matches the shape of the 2 nd controller on the axial other side) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maerz in view of Delbosc et al. (FR3122045, “Delbosc”, using US20240195317 for translation) . Re claim 3 , Maerz disclose claim 2 as discussed above, but is silent with respect to the first controller is arranged in a first space of the controller storage space, the first space having a fan shape centered on the shaft, the second controller is arranged in a second space of the controller storage space, the second space being arranged separately from the first space and having a fan shape centered on the shaft, and a position of the first controller in the axial direction of the shaft and a position of the second controller in the axial direction thereof overlap with each other. Delbosc discloses the first controller 3a is arranged in a first space of the controller storage space 30a (figs 2-3 & 5, [0070]), the first space having a fan shape centered on the shaft 100 (figs 1 & 5), the second controller 3b is arranged in a second space of the controller storage space 30b (figs 2-4, [0070]), the second space 30b being arranged separately from the first space and having a fan shape centered on the shaft 100 (figs 3-5, [0070-0071]), and a position of the first controller in the axial direction of the shaft and a position of the second controller in the axial direction thereof overlap with each other (figs 3-5, 30a & 30b are at the same axial location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second controllers of Maerz so the first controller is arranged in a first space of the controller storage space, the first space having a fan shape centered on the shaft, the second controller is arranged in a second space of the controller storage space, the second space being arranged separately from the first space and having a fan shape centered on the shaft, and a position of the first controller in the axial direction of the shaft and a position of the second controller in the axial direction thereof overlap with each other, as disclosed by Delbosc, in order to avoid propagation of a fault between the two controllers, as taught by Delbosc ([0073]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maerz in view of Suzuki et al. (WO2024154415, “Suzuki”, using machine translation) . Re claim 5 , Maerz disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the casing 310 includes a cylindrical casing body (fig 4, [0041]). Maerz is silent with respect to a first wall and a second wall provided on both end surfaces of the casing body in the axial direction, and the first wall has a first opening at a position corresponding to the first controller, and the second wall has a second opening at a position corresponding to the second controller. Suzuki discloses the casing 90 includes a cylindrical casing body 91, 92 (fig 2, [0031] & [0033-0034]), a first wall 93 and a second wall 93 provided on both end surfaces of the casing body 91, 92 in the axial direction (fig 2, [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the casing of Maerz so a first wall and a second wall provided on both end surfaces of the casing body in the axial direction, and the first wall has a first opening at a position corresponding to the first controller, as disclosed by Suzuki, in order to prevent dirt or debris from entering the first and second controllers from the first and second motors, as demonstrated by Suzuki. It is pointed out that Maerz in view of Suzuki discloses the first wall has a first opening at a position corresponding to the first controller, and the second wall has a second opening at a position corresponding to the second controller, since: Maerz discloses the first controller is connected to the first electric machine and the second controller is connected to the second electric machine and thereby require an electrical connection between the two; and Suzuki discloses first and second walls, resulting in respective first and second openings in respective first and second walls, where the opening at least correspond to positions of the controller terminals connected to the electrical machines. Re claim 6 , Maerz in view of Suzuki disclose claim 5 as discussed above. Maerz further disclose the first controller and the second controller each include: a power module 315 including a switching element (fig 4, [0043]); and a smoothing capacitor 316 configured to smooth electric power supplied from a power supply to the power module 315 (fig 4, [0048], 316 connect to incoming dc source; uses 316 for both controllers therefore both power modules include a smoothing capacitor), and the power module 315 is attached to the casing body 310; and an outer surface of a portion of the casing body 310 corresponds to the power module 315 (fig 4). Maerz discloses claim 6 except for a cooling fin is provided at least on the outer surface of the portion of the casing body corresponding to the power module. Suzuki discloses a cooling fin 99 is provided at least on an outer surface of a portion 91 of the casing body (fig 2, [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the outer surface of the casing body of Maerz in view of Suzuki to include a cooling fin provided on the outer surface of the portion of the casing body, as disclosed by Suzuki, in order to provide heat transfer structure to outside air for cooling, as demonstrated by Suzuki (fig 2). It is pointed out that Maerz in view of Suzuki disclose the cooling fin is provided at least on the outer surface of the portion of the casing body corresponding to the power module, since: Maerz discloses the power module 315 is provided at a position corresponding to a portion of the outer surface of the casing body (fig 4); Suzuki disclose cooling fins extending in the axial direction of the casing body (fig 2); and it is well known in the art that power module produce high heat so providing cooling fins at locations corresponding to the power module would be obvious to one in the art. Re claim 7 , Maerz in view of Suzuki disclose claim 6 as discussed above and further discloses the smoothing capacitor is attached to the first wall or the second wall arranged on a side opposite to the corresponding first rotary electric machine or the corresponding second rotary electric machine (Maerz, fig 4, shows 316 extends the axial length of the first and second controllers & Suzuki discloses the first and second walls, resulting in the capacitor extending the axial length of the first and second controllers & thereby contacting both the first and second walls). Re claim 9 , Maerz in view of Suzuki disclose claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses the smoothing capacitor 135 is arranged on an inside of the corresponding power module 315 in a radial direction of the casing body (fig 4) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maerz in view of Suzuki and in further view of Soma et al. (US20140202781, “Soma”) . Re claim 8 , Maerz in view of Suzuki disclose claim 7 as discussed but are silent with respect to the smoothing capacitor is arranged on the side opposite to the corresponding first rotary electric machine or the corresponding second rotary electric machine with the corresponding power module interposed therebetween. Soma discloses the smoothing capacitor 2 is arranged on the side opposite to the rotary electric machine 11 with the corresponding power module 1 interposed therebetween (figs 1-4, [0037-0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the smoothing capacitor of Maerz in view of Suzuki so the smoothing capacitor is arranged on the side opposite to the corresponding first rotary electric machine or the corresponding second rotary electric machine with the corresponding power module interposed therebetween, as disclosed by Soma for an electric machine and power module, in order to provide an electric component positioning for different electric drive applications. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC JOHNSON whose telephone number is (571)270-5715. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:30-5pm EST. Chretien (US20170274992) reads on at least claim 1 (figs 1a & 3a, one electric machine includes 18/19 & 14, controller 13; has two controllers 13 between two electric machines as seen in fig 1a). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached on (571)270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/974,275 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834