DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-14, filed 07/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied reference and newly found prior art reference(s) as detailed below.
Regarding applicants arguments to the double patenting rejection, applicant states “However, the rejection does not provide a limitation-by-limitation analysis explaining why the pending claims are not patentably distinct, nor does it identify any particular construction under which the distinct claim language in the pending claims allegedly lacks patentable significance”. Every limitation of Claims 1, 10 and 19 of the instant application are present in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. When comparing the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 19 of the instant application to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112 it is clear that the limitations are not patentably distinct from each other. The same analysis applies for claims 4 and 13 of the instant application with respect to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112 and claims 5 and 14 of the instant application with respect to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112 and claims 6 and 15 of the instant application with respect to claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112 and claims 7 and 16 of the instant application with respect to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112 and claims 9 and 18 of the instant application with respect to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, the argument with respect to the "wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame" is rendered moot as examiner now relies upon Karlsen to teach wherein the plurality of acoustic sources (individual energy sources 80) are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame (frame 85) (See Paragraphs 16, 18, 20, Figs.1,3 of Karlsen). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame in order to have precise stabilization of the acoustic phase center and beam pattern, which would directly prevent data degradation caused by sensor movement.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, the argument with respect to the " the linear array arranged perpendicular to the movement direction of the vessel" " and “at least one streamer attached to the rigid frame” is rendered moot as examiner now relies upon Allen and Curto respectively to teach the limitations.
Further regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “Karlsen does not provide a reasoned basis for modifying Barber to include the claimed plurality of floatation devices.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that Karlsen does not provide a reasoned basis for modifying Barber to include the claimed plurality of floatation devices, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case both Barber and Karlsen are directed to marine geophysical/seismic surveying and exploration and one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Barber to incorporate the mentioned features of Karlsen in order to allow for more complex towing arrangements without restricting positioning of the spreader lines thus providing critical advantages for both operational efficiency and data quality.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 1, 10 and 19 is present in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 4 and 13 is present in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 5 and 14 is present in claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 6 and 15 is present in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 7 and 16 is present in claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation as written and claimed in the instant application claims 9 and 18 is present in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12248112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber (US 5469404 A) in view of Karlsen (US 20140153361 A1), Allen (US 4234938 A) and Curto (US 5408947 A).
Regarding claim 1, Barber teaches a marine survey system comprising: a rigid frame (10) configured to be towed by one or more cables (C, L-1 and L-2) behind a vessel (V) in a movement direction. (Abstract, Col.5, lines 7-21, Col.4, lines 44-60, Fig.1)
Barber also teaches a plurality of acoustic sources (12), each acoustic source configured to emit an acoustic wave through a body of water and reflect off a surface (acoustic wave reflections from the subsurface formations) for mapping thereof, wherein the plurality of acoustic sources (12) are affixed to the rigid frame (Figs.1, 4-5), and the plurality of acoustic sources are configured in a linear array (grouping or clustering individual air guns in near proximity to form an array or subarray), the linear array arranged with respect to the movement direction of the vessel (Fig.5). (Col.4, lines 11-21, Col.3, lines 46-58, Col.7, line 63-Col.8, line 9, Figs.1-5)
Barber also teaches at least one streamer (H) attached to the float (F), the at least one streamer including a plurality of acoustic receivers (hydrophones) towed in a line behind the vessel, wherein the plurality of acoustic receivers are linearly arranged parallel to the movement direction of the vessel. (Col.4, line 54-Col.5, line 6, Fig.1)
Barber does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame and the linear array arranged perpendicular to the movement direction of the vessel and at least one streamer attached to the frame and a plurality of floatation devices configured to keep the plurality of acoustic sources at a source depth below a surface of the body of water.
Karlsen teaches teach wherein the plurality of acoustic sources (80) are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame (85) and the acoustic sources (80) are arranged in a linear array (25) and the linear array is arranged with respect to a movement direction (Fig.1) of the marine vessel (10). (Paragraphs 16, 18, 20, Figs.1,3)
Karlsen also teaches a plurality of floatation devices (90) configured to keep the plurality of acoustic sources at a source depth below a surface of the body of water. (Paragraphs 16, 18, 20-22, Figs.1,3)
Allen teaches the linear array (linear horizontal array) is arranged perpendicular to a movement direction (Figs.2-5) of the marine vessel (11). (Col.2, lines 46-53, Figs.2-5)
Curto teaches at least one streamer (26) attached to the frame (44). (Figs.1, 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are rigidly affixed to the rigid frame and the acoustic sources are arranged in a linear array and the linear array is arranged with respect to a movement direction of the marine vessel and a plurality of floatation devices configured to keep the plurality of acoustic sources at a source depth below a surface of the body of water as taught by Karlsen in order to allow for more complex towing arrangements without restricting positioning of the spreader lines thus providing critical advantages for both operational efficiency and data quality and further modify Barber to incorporate the linear array is arranged perpendicular to a movement direction of the marine vessel as taught by Allen in order to improve near-offset coverage and have denser spatial sampling and resolution and further modify Barber to incorporate at least one streamer attached to the frame as taught by Curto in order to increase the lateral offset and for wider tow configurations which allows more data to be received across the field of movement.
Regarding claim 2, Barber does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are arranged between the at least one streamer and at least a second streamer.
Karlsen teaches wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are arranged between the at least one streamer and at least a second streamer. (Paragraphs 15-16, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are arranged between the at least one streamer and at least a second streamer as taught by Karlsen in order to allow for more complex towing arrangements without restricting positioning of the spreader lines.
Regarding claim 3, Barber does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one streamer is one of two inner streamers are attached to the rigid frame and at least two outer streamers are towed directly by the vessel without attachment to the rigid frame.
Karlsen teaches wherein the at least one streamer is one of two inner streamers and at least two outer streamers are towed directly by the vessel without attachment to the rigid frame. (Paragraphs 16-20, Fig.1 “35, 25, 45, 60, 55”)
Curto teaches wherein the at least one streamer is one of two inner streamers are attached to the rigid frame. (Figs.1, 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the at least one streamer is one of two inner streamers and at least two outer streamers are towed directly by the vessel without attachment to the rigid frame as taught by Karlsen in order to maintain lateral separation of the energy sources and for additional connection points or other devices that may be positioned on the source cable without restricting positioning of the spreader lines as the open collar should be able to move over these types of devices on the source cable and further modify Barber to incorporate wherein the at least one streamer is one of two inner streamers are attached to the rigid frame as taught by Curto in order to increase the lateral offset and for wider tow configurations which allows more data to be received across the field of movement.
Regarding claim 4, Barber teaches wherein the plurality of acoustic receivers are arranged at a receiver-to-receiver distance. Barber discloses the claimed invention except for a receiver-to-receiver distance of less than four meters. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate a receiver-to-receiver distance of less than four meters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Barber teaches wherein each acoustic source of the plurality of acoustic sources includes a respective array of acoustic transducers, wherein the acoustic transducers of the respective array are configured to fire in unison to collectively emit separately detectable respective acoustic waves. (Col.2, line 67-Col.3, line 2, Col.3, lines 46-58, Col.4, line 54-Col.5, line 6, Fig.1)
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 11. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 10 and 19, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 2. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 11, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 2.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, the claims disclose substantially the same limitations, as claim 3. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 12 and 20, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claims 12 and 20 are rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 4. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 13, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 5. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 14, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 5.
Claim 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber in view of Karlsen, Allen, Curto and Harold (US 20040000446 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Barber does not explicitly teach one or more positioning units attached to the rigid frame with a known relative position with respect to the plurality of acoustic sources.
Harold teaches one or more positioning units (12) attached to the rigid frame (102) with a known relative position with respect to the plurality of acoustic sources (120, 100). (graph 35, Fig.4, “112, 100, 102, 120”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate one or more positioning units attached to the rigid frame with a known relative position with respect to the plurality of acoustic sources as taught by Harold in order to determine the location of seismic signal source and thus the speed and heading of seismic signal source can be determined with conventional algorithms.
Regarding claim 15, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 6. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 15, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 6.
Claim 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber in view of Karlsen, Allen, Curto and Miu (CN 103823252 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 7, Barber teaches to transmit data between the rigid frame and the vessel (Col.7, line 63-Col.8, line 10) but does not explicitly teach wherein the rigid frame includes a wireless transmitter.
Miu teaches wherein the rigid frame includes a wireless transmitter (22). (Paragraph 7, Claim 1, Fig.1, “22”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the rigid frame includes a wireless transmitter as taught by Miu in order to position and scale the area in the surrounding environment and transmit data.
Regarding claim 16, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 7. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 16, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 7.
Claim 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber in view of Karlsen, Allen, Curto and Eriksen (US 20170219731 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Barber does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are kept fixated by the rigid frame at a source-to-source distance less than four meters in a transverse direction perpendicular to the movement direction of the vessel.
Eriksen teaches wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are kept fixated by the rigid frame at a source-to-source distance less than four meters in a transverse direction perpendicular to the movement direction of the vessel. (Paragraphs 11, 7)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the plurality of acoustic sources are kept fixated by the rigid frame at a source-to-source distance less than four meters in a transverse direction perpendicular to the movement direction of the vessel as taught by Eriksen in order to have a full three-dimensional overview of the subsurface structure and have the ability to view the data not only as vertical sections (cross sections) along or parallel to the acquisition path but also vertical sections perpendicular to the acquisition path and in any other direction.
Regarding claim 17, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 8. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 17, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 8.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber in view of Karlsen, Allen, Curto and Kuvshinov (US 9921321 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Barber teaches wherein the source-to-source distance is more than a meter. (Col.6, lines 32-67, Fig.4-6, d1-d4)
Barber does not explicitly teach wherein the source-to-source distance is more than two meters.
Kuvshinov teaches wherein the source-to-source distance is more than two meters. (Col.5, lines 1-9, Col.11, lines 57-59, Claim 9, Figs.14-17)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Barber to incorporate wherein the source-to-source distance is more than two meters as taught by Kuvshinov in order for the sources to be placed at the same depth and emit seismic pulses with consecutive time intervals that follow a pattern.
Regarding claim 18, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 9. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 18, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 9.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645