DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 April 2026.
Drawings
The amendment filed 18 February 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: numerous details of Figs. 84-102. For example, the shape and orientation of the machining in Figs. 86-87, shape, location and orientation of the oil galleys in Figs. 89, 90 and the shape and orientation of the bearing in Figs. 91-93. This list is not exhaustive as the specific details are too numerous to list.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “the compression assembly compresses a second portion of the compressed working fluid during the first compression stroke” of claim 3, “the ability to independently configure intake compression to power exhaust ratios during operation of the engine” of claim 9 and “an amount of working fluid compressed during each compression stroke of the engine is greater than an amount of working fluid expanded during each combustion stroke of the engine” of claim 10 are not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. No new matter may be added.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The “compression assembly compresses a second portion of the compressed working fluid during the first compression stroke” of claim 3, “the ability to independently configure intake compression to power exhaust ratios during operation of the engine” of claim 9 and “an amount of working fluid compressed during each compression stroke of the engine is greater than an amount of working fluid expanded during each combustion stroke of the engine” of claim 10 are not disclosed in the application as originally filed and are considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the combustion process" and “the thermal expansion” in lines 8 and 11, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination “the” will be interpreted as “a”.
Additionally, it is unclear what structure is required by the recitations of lines 8-12 of claim 1. Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus whereas the recitations of lines 8-12 recite the steps of a process. For purposes of examination the recitations will be interpreted as intended use that only require a structure capable of the use.
Further, in reference to claim 1, it is unclear how the phrases “a combustion assembly defining a combustion chamber” in line 4 and “the engine defines a channel” in line 6 is to be interpreted. The engine comprises a combustion assembly defining a combustion chamber and at the same time the engine defines a channel in fluid communication with the combustion chamber. The structure required by each of the elements cannot be determined.
In reference to claim 11, a similar issue regarding the use of the term “defining” is found in lines 4-5. For purposes of examination “defining/defines” in claims 1 and 11 will be interpreted as “including/includes”.
Claims 2-10 and 12-17 depend from claims 1 and 11 and are rejected for the same reasons therefrom.
In reference to claim 2 it is unclear what additional structure is required by the claim. Claim 2 is directed to an apparatus whereas but only serves to further describe the process recited in claim 1. For purposes of examination the recitations will be interpreted as intended use that only require a structure capable of the use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-17, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0238337 A1 to Hruschka (Hruschka).
In reference to claim 1, Hruschka discloses an internal combustion engine comprising: a compression assembly (1/1’; Figs. 7-8) that is configured to compress working fluid, thereby creating a compressed working fluid; and a combustion assembly defining a combustion chamber (c*), the combustion assembly being configured to generate power from expansion of the compressed working fluid, wherein the engine defines a channel (A/E, 28, 29; Fig. 9, par. 0048) in fluid communication with the combustion chamber during a combustion process of the combustion assembly, wherein the combustion process comprises ignition of a charge comprising at least a first portion of the compressed working fluid, thereby thermally expanding the first portion of the compressed working fluid, and wherein at least a portion of the thermal expansion of the first portion of the compressed working fluid occurs in the channel.
In reference to claim 2, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 1, wherein the combustion process further comprises burning a fuel of the charge and wherein the channel is in fluid communication with the combustion chamber during at least a portion of the burning of fuel (par. 0048).
In reference to claim 3, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 1, wherein the internal combustion engine is configured to perform a plurality of compression strokes and combustion strokes, a first combustion stroke occurring simultaneously with a first compression stroke, and a second combustion stroke being initiated after initiation of the first combustion stroke, wherein the first portion of the compressed working fluid thermally expands within the combustion chamber during the first combustion stroke, wherein the compression assembly compresses a second portion of the compressed working fluid during the first compression stroke, and wherein the second portion of the compressed working fluid thermally expands within the combustion chamber during the second combustion stroke (see pars. 0039-0048).
In reference to claim 4, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 1, wherein the combustion assembly is configured to receive the compressed working fluid (par. 0048).
In reference to claim 5, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 1, wherein the engine further defines a mixing chamber (b*, 17) configured to circulate the charge, thereby mixing the first portion of the compressed working fluid with a fuel of the charge.
In reference to claim 6, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 5, wherein the channel is in fluid communication with the mixing chamber (pars. 0043, 0048).
In reference to claim 7, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 5, wherein the engine further comprises a means of providing fuel (15) positioned substantially near the mixing chamber so as to create a first fuel to air ratio within the mixing chamber.
In reference to claim 8, Hruschka discloses the engine of claim 7, wherein the engine is configured such that the first fuel to air ratio within the mixing chamber is greater than a second fuel to air ratio within the combustion chamber (the air/fuel ratio is dependent on timing, e.g. the air/fuel ratio will be higher before fuel is supplied to the chamber).
In reference to claim(s) 11-17, under the principles of inherency, the prior art apparatus of Hruschka would necessarily perform the method(s) claimed in its normal and usual operation and thereby meets the limitations of the claim(s).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
13 May 2026