Priority
Upon review of the Specification, Applicant only has written description support as of only the parent case 18/094,186 filed 1/6/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a1)(a2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0128902 to Brown.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 8
Brown discloses a system for generating a virtual reality environment, comprising:
a mocap suit (Fig. 13A 120) including a plurality of sensors ([0158 sensors) for generating at least one mocap suit output responsive to movement of an individual within the mocap suit within the virtual reality environment ([0158]);
at least one virtual reality player headset (Fig.13A helmet 116) for generating at least one virtual reality headset output responsive to actions of a player within the virtual reality environment ([0158]);
a virtual reality controller for receiving the at least one mocap suit output and the
at least one virtual reality headset output (computing device [0160]) and generating the virtual reality environment for display in the at least one virtual reality player headset ([0170, 0174] display of football field, viewable on helmets and tablet); and
wherein the virtual reality controller selectively generates an avatar associated with
the mocap suit responsive to the at least one mocap suit output ([0170] a highlighted player is shown on the AR interface of the coach 1404 wearing helmet 116), the avatar being selectively
inserted into the virtual reality world responsive to a first input and selectively removed from the
virtual reality environment responsive to a second input ([0170] the coach selects a player through the AR interface, [0174] coach taps on an icon representing a player 1608, Fig. 16A, the coach also has the ability to individually ghost team-members and offensive players which is construed as removing the avatar [0281] and users have the ability to remove an item of information from what is presented on the display [0255], both of which are understood to apply to ghosting or removing avatars as well).
In Reference to Claims 2 and 9
Brown discloses motion capture software implemented within the virtual reality controller for generating the avatar associated with the mocap suit responsive to the at least one mocap suit output (Fig. 2A CPU 204 [0112] uses any number of software technologies [0113], see mocap suit records body movement data [0108], the coach may tap on an icon or a representation of a particular player [0122]).
In Reference to Claims 3 and 10
Brown discloses a virtual reality hub about a network (Fig. 1 214) connected to
receive the at least one mocap suit output and the at least one virtual reality headset output (Fig. 1 120, 116) and transmitting the at least one mocap suit output and the at least one virtual reality headset output to the virtual reality controller (Fig. 1 to CPU 204).
In Reference to Claims 4 and 11
Brown discloses a head mounted camera for capturing facial expressions and converting the facial expressions to the at least one mocap suit output responsive to the facial expressions of the individual (see imaging element 3434-1 [0218], selfie [0218], see also gaze information sent to the mocap suit [0214, 0222]).
In Reference to Claims 5 and 12
Brown discloses an inertial measurement unit for tracking the individual’s movement using accelerometers, gyroscopes and magnetometers ([0096]).
In Reference to Claims 6 and 13
Brown discloses an actuator associated with the mocap suit for selectively generating the first input for inserting the avatar into the virtual reality world and the second input for removing the avatar from the virtual reality world (Brown discloses an interface and menu of Fig. 32 of which the selections are actuators, see mocap suit transfers data [0109] and responsive to data shard between components of the system [0111])).
In Reference to Claims 7 and 14
Brown discloses a controller tablet 1600 ([0173]) associated with the virtual reality
controller for selectively generating the first input for inserting the avatar into the virtual reality
world and the second input for removing the avatar from the virtual reality world.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is in the Notice of References Cited.
7. Examiner interviews may be available depending on the stage of prosecution and provided via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/PAUL A D'AGOSTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715