Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12/9/2024 and 7/29/2025 have been considered.
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/974,321 filed on 12/9/2024 is presented for examination by the Examiner.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference character S14 is not shown in any of the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iida et al. (US 2023/0288617, hereinafter, “Iida”).
Regarding claim 1, Iida discloses a lens assembly 300 comprising:
a reflective optical member 303 (Fig. 2, [0025]);
an image sensor 305 configured to receive or detect at least a portion of light transmitted through the reflective optical member 402 (Fig. 2, 3, [0026], [0044]);
at least three lenses L1, L2, L3 disposed sequentially along a direction of an optical axis of the lens assembly between the reflective optical member and the image sensor (Fig. 3, [0024]); and
a tunable lens VL between the at least three lenses L1, L2, L3 and the image sensor 305, the tunable lens being configured to have a variable refractive power or curvature (Fig. 3, [0028], [0036], lens VL is liquid lens);
wherein the reflective optical member is configured to reflect light incident in a direction intersecting the optical axis (Fig. 2, [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: 1.8<=EFL/L1F1<=4.2 (EFL=23.3, L1F1=8.53 (for surfaces 2, 3 in Table 1), thus, EFL/L1F1=2.73),
where EFL is an effective focal length of the lens assembly, and L1F1 is a focal length of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses.
Regarding claim 5, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein
wherein the lens assembly satisfies: -0.2<=L1S1/L1S2<=0.5 (L1S1=5.302, L1S2=-33.148, Table I, thus, L1S1/L1S2=-0.159),
where L1S1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses, and L1S2 is a radius of curvature of an image sensor-side surface of the first lens.
Regarding claim 6, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 5, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: 1.8<=EFL/L1F1<=4.2 (EFL=23.3, L1F1=8.53 (for surfaces 2, 3 in Table 1), thus, EFL/L1F1=2.73),
where EFL is an effective focal length of the lens assembly, and L1F1 is a focal length of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses.
Regarding claim 11, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the tunable lens VL faces a lens L3 closest to the image sensor 305 among the at least three lenses (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 11, further comprising an infrared cut filter IR between the tunable lens VL and the image sensor 305, wherein the infrared cut filter faces the tunable lens and the image sensor (Fig. 2, 3, [0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida.
Regarding claim 13, Iida discloses an electronic device/camera module comprising:
a housing BS of a camera module (Fig. 2, [0026], [0029]);
a lens assembly 304 configured to receive at least a portion of light 301 incident on a first surface of the housing or a second surface of the housing opposite to the first surface (Fig. 2), the lens assembly comprising:
a reflective optical member 303 (Fig. 2, [0051]);
an image sensor 305 configured to receive or detect at least a portion of light transmitted through the reflective optical member 303 (Fig. 2, 3, [0026], [0044]);
at least three lenses L1, L2, L3 disposed sequentially along a direction of an optical axis of the lens assembly between the reflective optical member 303 and the image sensor 305 (Fig. 3, [0024]); and
a tunable lens VL between the at least three lenses L1, L2, L3 and the image sensor 305, the tunable lens being configured to have a variable refractive power or curvature (Fig. 3, [0028], [0036], lens VL is liquid lens);
wherein the reflective optical member is configured to reflect light incident in a direction intersecting the optical axis (Fig. 2, [0030]).
Iida does not disclose the electronic device comprising a display on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the camera module is provided with a display, for informing the user about the various functions of the camera module.
Regarding claim 14, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 13,
further comprising at least one processor configured to adjust a focus by changing the refractive power of the tunable lens or curvature of the tunable lens ([0112], [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 15, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, further comprising at least one processor configured to adjust a focus by adjusting a thickness of the tunable lens on the optical axis ([0112], [0117]-[0118], change in the curvature changes the thickness of the liquid lens).
Regarding claim 17, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: 1.8<=EFL/L1F1<=4.2 (EFL=23.3, L1F1=8.53 (for surfaces 2, 3 in Table 1), thus, EFL/L1F1=2.73),
where EFL is an effective focal length of the lens assembly, and L1F1 is a focal length of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses.
Regarding claim 19, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: -0.2<=L1S1/L1S2<=0.5 (L1S1=5.302, L1S2=-33.148, Table I, thus, L1S1/L1S2=-0.159),
where L1S1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses, and L1S2 is a radius of curvature of an image sensor-side surface of the first lens.
Regarding claim 20, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: 1.8<=EFL/L1F1<=4.2 (EFL=23.3, L1F1=8.53 (for surfaces 2, 3 in Table 1), thus, EFL/L1F1=2.73).
Claims 2, 4, 7-8, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Xu et al. (CN113219623A, hereinafter, “Xu”).
Regarding claim 2, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 1.
Iida does not disclose the reflective optical member is further configured to rotate around the optical axis.
Xu discloses (reference numbers of figures refer to the original, reference numbers of the specification refer to the English translation) an optical system comprising a reflecting member 10, a lens module 20 and an imager sensor 201 (Fig. 3, [0058]). In one embodiment, the reflecting member 10 may rotate around the optical axis Z (Fig. 3, [0064]).
Both Iida and Xu disclose optical lens systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the reflecting member 303 rotates around the optical axis, as taught by Xu, for preventing deleterious effects due to shaking ([0064] in Xu).
Regarding claim 4, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 3.
Iida does not disclose the reflective optical member is further configured to rotate around the optical axis.
Xu discloses an optical system comprising a reflecting member 10, a lens module 20 and an imager sensor 201 (Fig. 3, [0058]). In one embodiment, the reflecting member 10 may rotate around the optical axis Z (Fig. 3, [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the reflecting member 303 rotates around the optical axis, as taught by Xu, for preventing deleterious effects due to shaking ([0064] in Xu).
Regarding claim 7, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 5.
Iida does not disclose the reflective optical member is further configured to rotate around the optical axis.
Xu discloses an optical system comprising a reflecting member 10, a lens module 20 and an imager sensor 201 (Fig. 3, [0058]). In one embodiment, the reflecting member 10 may rotate around the optical axis Z (Fig. 3, [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the reflecting member 303 rotates around the optical axis, as taught by Xu, for preventing deleterious effects due to shaking ([0064] in Xu).
Regarding claim 8, Iida/Xu discloses the lens assembly according to claim 7, wherein
the lens assembly satisfies: 1.8<=EFL/L1F1<=4.2 (EFL=23.3, L1F1=8.53 (for surfaces 2, 3 in Table 1 of Iida), thus, EFL/L1F1=2.73),
where EFL is an effective focal length of the lens assembly, and L1F1 is a focal length of a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses.
Regarding claim 16, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 13,
Iida does not disclose wherein the reflective optical member is further configured to
rotate around the optical axis.
Xu discloses an optical system comprising a reflecting member 10, a lens module 20 and an imager sensor 201 (Fig. 3, [0058]). In one embodiment, the reflecting member 10 may rotate around the optical axis Z (Fig. 3, [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the reflecting member 303 rotates around the optical axis, as taught by Xu, for preventing deleterious effects due to shaking ([0064] in Xu).
Regarding claim 18, Iida discloses the electronic device according to claim 17.
Iida does not disclose the reflective optical member is further configured to rotate around the optical axis.
Xu discloses an optical system comprising a reflecting member 10, a lens module 20 and an imager sensor 201 (Fig. 3, [0058]). In one embodiment, the reflecting member 10 may rotate around the optical axis Z (Fig. 3, [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the reflecting member 303 rotates around the optical axis, as taught by Xu, for preventing deleterious effects due to shaking ([0064] in Xu).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0276473, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 9, Iida discloses the lens assembly according to claim 1.
Iida does not disclose wherein a first lens closest to the reflective optical member among the at least three lenses includes a glass material.
Chen discloses a telephoto imaging system (Abstract). In one embodiment, the imaging system includes three fixed focal length lenses 11-13 and a tunable lens assembly 14 (Fig. 1, [0053]-[0054]). Che also discloses that each lens of the group 11-13 (and thus, the first one 11) may be formed of glass ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Iida so that the first lens L1 is made of glass, as taught by Che, for meeting actual needs ([0083] in Che).
Regarding claim 10, Iida/Chen discloses the lens assembly according to claim 9, wherein
a refractive index of the first lens is greater than or equal to 1.48 and less than or equal to 1.56 (n1=1.544, Table I of Iida).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephone Allen, can be reached on 571-272-2434. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872