Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR-102013610 B, 2019, (note the Google translated version attached with the Korean version), hereinafter KR1021013610
Per independent claim 1, KR1021013610 patent discloses a display apparatus, comprising:
a display, configured to present an image and/or a user interface; and at least one processor, configured to execute computer instructions to cause the display apparatus (FIG.1 and Paragraph 124)to:
display a page from a browser application in the display apparatus on the display, and in response to a favorite operation for a target webpage in the browser application, determine a webpage loading mode in the display apparatus (Para 124, “The display unit 403 displays the data (broadcast content and / or web page content) received from the connected website server through a web browser.”; in Abstract, as the reference describes changing DNS settings (loading mode) based on the selected application (favorite operation).);
obtain icon information of the target webpage based on the webpage loading mode in the display apparatus (Para 136, “The controller 402 accesses a website server (Youtube server) corresponding to the received Internet Protocol (IP) address according to the request, receives the website content from the website server (Youtube server), and The received web site content is displayed on the display unit 403 through a web browser (S15).”);
and based on a selection operation for the icon information of the target webpage, present the target webpage on the display (Para 129, “First, the controller 402 may be configured to an application program icon (eg, a YouTube icon) selected by the user from among application program icons (eg, icons linked to the application programs) displayed on the display unit 403. Select the linked application (S11). For example, the controller 402 may be configured to touch a specific icon among application program icons (for example, icons linked to the application programs) displayed on the display unit 403 by a user or by a remote controller or a mouse. When selected, launches the application linked to that particular icon.”);
wherein the webpage loading mode in the display apparatus comprises a first loading mode and a second loading mode, and a webpage loading speed when the display apparatus is in the first loading mode is less than a webpage loading speed when the display apparatus is in the second loading mode (Par 125, “The first DNS may be a public DNS having a load balancing function, and the second DNS may be a round robin Internet service provider (ISP) DNS. For example, rather than using ISPs that only operate simple round-robin DNS (second DNS), you can use public DNS (first DNS) with Network Load Balancing. This reduces the buffering, making it easy and fast to receive and serve web page content from that server (e.g., Youtube servers). In other words, if you use the "Youtube DNS" in the US in Korea, other sites and apps (3D World, Naver, etc.) will be slow, but if you change the DNS automatically according to the type of application (App), Watching the video is desired. Therefore, if you connect to YouTube IP registered in Google DNS, you can load much faster than watching videos by accessing YouTube IP registered in other DNS.”);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to: based on that the webpage loading mode is the first loading mode and a domain name of the target webpage is a first-level domain name, search a preset icon corresponding to the target webpage in a preset icon library to obtain the icon information of the target webpage (Par 133, “For example, the DNS filter 402-1 (or the controller 402) may be a user among the icons 5-1, 5-2, and 5-3 linked to the applications displayed on the display unit 403. The website address is first pre-selected by filtering a string contained in the DNS query name field corresponding to the website address of the application icon (e.g., YouTube icon) 5-3 selected by. Set website address (e.g. www.youtube.com) (overseas server) or second preset website address (e.g. www.naver.com, www.daum.com, etc.) (domestic server) Determining the type of the selected application program by detecting the. That is, the DNS filter 402-1 (or the control unit 402) determines whether the web site of the application program icon selected by the user is a web site in which a server exists in Korea or a web site exists in a foreign country.”); and
based on that the domain name of the target webpage is not the first-level domain name, obtain homepage screenshot information of the target webpage and generate the icon information of the target webpage based on the homepage screenshot information (Par 68, “The tuner unit 210 includes a first tuner that tunes a broadcast channel selected by a user among broadcast signals received through an antenna, and a second tuner that sequentially tunes the entire broadcast channel. The controller 270 extracts an image (eg, a thumbnail image) corresponding to a broadcast program received through each broadcast channel tuned by the second tuner, and extracts EPG data (electronic program) corresponding to each broadcast channel. Guide information), and the extracted image and the EPG data are separated for each broadcasting channel and stored in the storage unit 240. The controller 270 may control the second tuner such that the second tuner periodically tunes each broadcast channel sequentially.” ).
Per dependent claim 3, KR1021013610 patent discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the target webpage comprises a preset webpage pre-configured in the display apparatus, and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to:
based on that the webpage loading mode in the display apparatus is the second loading mode, control the browser application to present icon information of the preset webpage; and based on a selection operation of icon information for the preset webpage, present the preset webpage on the display (Para 121, “As shown in FIG. 3, the information providing apparatus 400 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention may provide a DNS for determining the type (eg, youtube, Naver, Daum, etc.) of an application (APP) selected by a user. (Domain Name Server) filter 402-1; By automatically changing the DNS according to the type of the application APP, the controller 402 may be configured to easily and quickly provide data (eg, web page content) of the corresponding server. The DNS filter 402-1 may be included in or connected to the controller 402.” shows using the preset information to direct the search to use the given DNS to search in the target site for the search and retrieval.).
Per dependent claim 4, KR1021013610 patent discloses the display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to:
search a preset icon corresponding to the preset webpage in a preset icon library to obtain the icon information of the preset webpage (Para 122 “The website address is based on a first preset website address (e.g. www.youtube.com) … for determining the type of the selected application by detecting whether If the website address is the first preset website address, the first DNS (Youtube DNS) 500 transmits an Internet Protocol (IP) address (for example, 8.8.8.8) corresponding to the website address to the communication unit.”).
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are for method performed by the apparatus of claims 1, 3, 4, respectively, and are similarly rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR1021013610 in view of Chen et al., USPAT Pub 2023/0119195 A1.
Per dependent claim 2, KR1021013610 discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, as explained above and the rejection incorporated herein, but fails to further teach
based on that no preset icon corresponding to the target webpage is found in the preset icon library, obtain the icon information of the target webpage through a target browser. As explained with respect to KR1021013610 above, KR1021013610 maintains the preset icon (e.g., thumbnail of the page content) to the present application sites, e.g., Youtube, where the DNS information for retrieving the content is used for retrieval. However, it fails to obtain the information to retrieve if the preset icon information is not available. For the missing feature, Chen et al. teaches the viewing user can explicitly associate the icon with the target web information to retrieve the information by typing the search terms with the specific target application to target the retrieval (Par 18; 255, see FIGs 8 and 21). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of the application to have incorporated Chen et al.’s teaching into KR1021013610’s invention, since Chen et al. points out that the custom, target searches would have provided faster and efficient searches (Par 255, “quickly found, and thus the efficiency of searching of the search function…”).
Per dependent claim 5, KR1021013610 discloses the display apparatus according to claim 3, as explained with respect to claim 3 and its rejection incorporated here, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to cause the display apparatus to: based on that no preset icon corresponding to the preset webpage is found in the preset icon library, obtain the icon information of the preset webpage through a target browser.
Nevertheless, this feature is taught by Chen et al., as the searches can be made to the specific target website if the preset icon library is designated, but if not, the general internet is searched to provide the information (FIG.21, Para 246). Chen et al. explicitly teaches the pros and cons of this approach at the “efficiency of searching .. is low” but it would seek to find search results by searching different sites). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to have incorporated the Chen et al.’s teaching into KR1021013610, since KR1021013610 also taught that there would be a large quantify of information, e.g., in EPG, and Chen et al.’s technique would have provide the possibility of finding relevant information when the custom DNS information was not provided.
Claim 7 and 10 are for a method performed by the apparatus of claims 2 and 5, respectively, and are similarly rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11025855-B2 2021-06-01 Jeong; Da-hee H04N21/816 1/1
US-20190065048-A1 2019-02-28 LEE; Ji-yeon G06F3/04842 1/1
US-20170192647-A1 2017-07-06 CHAUDHRI; Imran G06F3/04886 1/1
US-8108371-B2 2012-01-31 Dharmarajan; Baskaran G06F16/338 707/705
US-20150163635-A1 2015-06-11 Leppanen; Tapani Antero H04W8/005 455/426.1
US-8566712-B1 2013-10-22 Varian; Hal R. G06F16/58 715/742
US-20260252632-A1 2026-08-27 BAE; Seok-Hyung G06F16/904 1/1
US-20250292451-A1 2025-09-18 QING; Quan G06V10/44 1/1
The examiner can normally be reached Monday- Friday 10AM-6PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, a supervisor, William Bashore can be reached on (571) 272-4088. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178