DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0267867 A1) hereinafter referenced as Lee in view of Dye et al. (US 2019/0342507 A1) hereinafter referenced as Dye further in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0248725 A1) hereinafter referenced as Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses A method for interface display, comprising:
displaying a captured-image region (1310; figs. 14-21) and a material display region (1401-1406; figs. 14-21) on a first interface in response to a first operation (Pressing effect menu button 1302; [0063]), wherein an association relationship exists between the captured-image region and at least one of a size or a display position of the material display region (The position of the effect menu overlaps with the captured image region. This is an “association relationship” as broadly claimed.); and
displaying a first image (Image of car; fig. 14) in the captured-image region,
displaying, in the material display region, at least one material identifier (Plurality of filter previews; figs. 14-21) corresponding to at least one capturing material (Filter effect),
displaying a capturing control (1303; figs. 14-21) on the first interface, wherein an image content in the first image comprises a framing content of a capturing function corresponding to the first interface (The image is an image being captured by the image sensor which can be captured when camera button 1303 is pressed; [0063]); and
capturing based on a first capturing material corresponding to a first material identifier, in response to the capturing control being triggered, wherein the first material identifier is selected (Filter icons are selected and when the camera button 1303 is pressed after selecting the filter icons, an image is capture with the selected filters; [0074]; figs. 14-21).
However, Lee, fails to explicitly disclose a function region displaying different capturing options in a single row switching to a material display region wherein the material identifiers are arranged in a single-row. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Dye.
In a similar field of endeavor, Dye discloses
wherein displaying the captured-image region and the material display region on the first interface in response to the first operation comprises:
switching a capturing interface (fig. 6C) to the first interface (fig. 6E) in response to an interface switching operation (pressing 622; [0228]-[0229]), and displaying the captured-image region (620-1; fig. 6E) and the material display region (624; fig. 6E) on the first interface (fig. 6E);
wherein the capturing interface comprises a function region (Region including SLO-MO, VIDEO, PHOTO, PORTRAIT, and SQUARE in fig. 6C) displaying different capturing options which are arranged in a single-row, and the function region is switched to the material display region in response to the first operation, wherein the at least one material identifier is arranged in a single-row in the material display region (fig. 6E; [0228]-[0229]).
Lee teaches displaying a single capture option in a single row in a capturing interface and then when a user presses the single capture option, displaying a plurality of filter effects in its place in a single row. Dye teaches displaying a plurality of capture options in a single row in a capturing interface and then when a user presses an input, displaying a plurality of effect options in its place in a single row. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the single capture option of Lee with a plurality of capture options as in Dye to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to generate different types of content using the filters.
However, Lee and Dye, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose a second control for saving the capturing material in a first region comprising the captured-image region. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kang.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kang discloses wherein the captured-image region (1040; fig. 10B) is comprised in a first region (The region including the through image 1040 and the save filter button 1043; fig. 10B), the first region further comprises a control display region (Region including the delete and save filter buttons; fig. 10B), wherein the control display region comprises a second control (Save filter button 1043; fig. 10B) associated with the capturing material, wherein the second control is for saving the capturing material.
The combination teaches displaying a through image along with a single row of potential filters wherein a user may store a filter as a favorite (Lee; [0049]). The combination is silent on where the control for saving the filter is located. Kang teaches providing a control for saving a filter in the same region as the through image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed location of the save filter button with a position in a region including the through image to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to save the filter while viewing what the filter looks like as disclosed in Kang (fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 2, Lee, Dye, and Kang, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein the capturing control (1303) is displayed in at least one of the following regions: the captured-image region (figs. 14-21) or the material display region.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses An electronic device (fig. 1), comprising:
at least one processor (112; fig. 1); and
a storage apparatus (111; fig. 1), configured to store at least one program,
wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor ([0023]) to:
display a captured-image region (1310; figs. 14-21) and a material display region (1401-1406; figs. 14-21) on a first interface in response to a first operation (Pressing effect menu button 1302; [0063]), wherein an association relationship exists between the captured-image region and at least one of a size or a display position of the material display region (The position of the effect menu overlaps with the captured image region. This is an “association relationship” as broadly claimed.); and
display a first image (Image of car; fig. 14) in the captured-image region, and displaying, in the material display region, at least one material identifier (Plurality of filter previews; figs. 14-21) corresponding to at least one capturing material (Filter effect), and displaying a capturing control (1303; figs. 14-21) on the first interface, wherein an image content in the first image comprises a framing content of a capturing function corresponding to the first interface (The image is an image being captured by the image sensor which can be captured when camera button 1303 is pressed; [0063]); and
capture based on a first capturing material corresponding to a first material identifier, in response to the capturing control being triggered, wherein the first material identifier is selected (Filter icons are selected and when the camera button 1303 is pressed after selecting the filter icons, an image is capture with the selected filters; [0074]; figs. 14-21).
However, Lee, fails to explicitly disclose a function region displaying different capturing options in a single row switching to a material display region wherein the material identifiers are arranged in a single-row. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Dye.
In a similar field of endeavor, Dye discloses
wherein the processor causing the device to display the captured-image region and the material display region on the first interface in response to the first operation further causes the device to:
switch a capturing interface (fig. 6C) to the first interface (fig. 6E) in response to an interface switching operation (pressing 622; [0228]-[0229]), and displaying the captured-image region (620-1; fig. 6E) and the material display region (624; fig. 6E) on the first interface (fig. 6E);
wherein the capturing interface comprises a function region (Region including SLO-MO, VIDEO, PHOTO, PORTRAIT, and SQUARE in fig. 6C) displaying different capturing options which are arranged in a single-row, and the function region is switched to the material display region in response to the first operation, wherein the at least one material identifier is arranged in a single-row in the material display region (fig. 6E; [0228]-[0229]).
Lee teaches displaying a single capture option in a single row in a capturing interface and then when a user presses the single capture option, displaying a plurality of filter effects in its place in a single row. Dye teaches displaying a plurality of capture options in a single row in a capturing interface and then when a user presses an input, displaying a plurality of effect options in its place in a single row. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the single capture option of Lee with a plurality of capture options as in Dye to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to generate different types of content using the filters.
However, Lee and Dye, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose a second control for saving the capturing material in a first region comprising the captured-image region. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kang.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kang discloses wherein the captured-image region (1040; fig. 10B) is comprised in a first region (The region including the through image 1040 and the save filter button 1043; fig. 10B), the first region further comprises a control display region (Region including the delete and save filter buttons; fig. 10B), wherein the control display region comprises a second control (Save filter button 1043; fig. 10B) associated with the capturing material, wherein the second control is for saving the capturing material.
The combination teaches displaying a through image along with a single row of potential filters wherein a user may store a filter as a favorite (Lee; [0049]). The combination is silent on where the control for saving the filter is located. Kang teaches providing a control for saving a filter in the same region as the through image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed location of the save filter button with a position in a region including the through image to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to save the filter while viewing what the filter looks like as disclosed in Kang (fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 20, it recites similar limitations to claim 19 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 19).
Claim(s) 4-8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Dye further in view of Kang further in view of Kunishige et al. (US 2012/0307103 A1) hereinafter referenced as Kunishige.
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Dye, and Kang, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), Lee discloses wherein a second image (Image of car shown in fig. 13) corresponding to the capturing function is displayed on the capturing interface (fig. 13); a size of the first image is [the same as] a size of the second image; and a size ratio of the first image is consistent with a size ratio of the second image (figs. 13-21).
However, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose that the size of the first image is less than a size of the second image. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kunishige.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kunishige discloses a size of the first image is less than a size of the second image ([0180]; The size of the live view image is reduced when the effect menu is displayed; fig. 14); and a size ratio of the first image is consistent with a size ratio of the second image (The live view image is the same as the full screen live view image (W100; fig. 8) but reduced in size; [0180]).
The combination teaches displaying a first live view image where no effect menu is displayed and a second live view image where an effect menu is displayed wherein the effect menu is superimposed on the live view image. Kunishige teaches reducing the size of the live view image when an effect menu is displayed instead of superimposing the effect menu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the superimposition method of the combination with the reduction in size of the live view image in Kunishige to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to see the entire image in the effect as shown in Kunishige (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4).
In addition, Kunishige discloses an association relationship exists between a size of the target region and a size of the material display region (As shown in fig. 14, the size of the live view image (target region) and the effect menu are made to both fit in the screen 21. This is an “association relationship”.).
The combination teaches displaying a first live view image where no effect menu is displayed and a second live view image where an effect menu is displayed wherein the effect menu is superimposed on the live view image. Kunishige teaches reducing the size of the live view image when an effect menu is displayed instead of superimposing the effect menu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the superimposition method of the combination with the reduction in size of the live view image in Kunishige to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to see the entire image in the effect as shown in Kunishige (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein a first control (1303; figs. 14-21) is displayed in the control display region; and the first control comprises at least one of a capturing setting control, a material associated control, or the capturing control (1303).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, Dye, Kang and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition, Lee discloses wherein the material associated control (capture button 1303; figs. 14-21) comprises at least one of the following; a material attribute related control or a material-based interaction control (The capture button is used to capture an image having the selected effect which reads on a “material-based interaction” as broadly claimed.)
Regarding claim 8, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein a currently displayed first control (1303) in the control display region is associated with the first capturing material (The capturing button 1303 triggers capture of an image with the selected material and therefore is “associated with” the target capturing material as broadly claimed.).
Regarding claim 17, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein in response to the first material identifier in a selected state existing in the at least one material identifier, the first image comprises an image obtained after the first capturing material is applied to a captured content (Figs. 15-16; [0067]-[0069]; When a filter is selected, the image is shown with the selected filter on the display.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Dye further in view of Kang further in view of Kunishige further in view of Cragg et al. (US 2020/0344411 A1) hereinafter referenced as Cragg.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein at least one of a type, a number, or a style of the currently displayed first control (1303; figs. 14-21) in the control display region is associated with the first capturing material (The type of control (capturing button) is “associated with” the target capturing material because capture button is used to capture an image having the selected effect.).
In addition, Cragg discloses wherein at least one of a type, a number, or a style of the currently displayed target control in the control display region is associated with the first capturing material (The type of slider changes according to the selected filter. Specifically, the slider 904 adjusts a parameter for the selected filter; [0070]; fig. 9).
The combination teaches providing a filter menu on a preview screen for an imaging device. Cragg teaches providing a filter menu on a preview screen for an imaging device wherein when a filter is selected an additional slider is provided to adjust a parameter for the selected filter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the combination by applying the technique of providing a slider based on the selected filter to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to more finely tune the filter effect on the image to be captured.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Dye further in view of Kang further in view of Kunishige further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 18, Lee, Dye, Kang, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Lee discloses, further comprising:
in response to a triggering operation for the capturing control, performing capturing based on the first capturing material corresponding to the first material identifier (Filter icons are selected and when the camera button 1303 is pressed after selecting the filter icons, an image is capture with the selected filters; [0074]; figs. 14-21).
However, Lee, fails to explicitly disclose the association relationship comprises the captured-image region or the material display region do not have an intersection. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kunishige.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kunishige discloses wherein the association relationship exists between the captured-image region and at least one of the size or display position of the material display region comprises: the captured-image region (W100) or the material display region (W101-W104) do not have an intersection (fig. 14).
The combination teaches displaying a first live view image where no filter menu is displayed and a second live view image where an effect menu is displayed wherein the effect menu is superimposed on the live view image. Kunishige teaches reducing the size of the live view image when an effect menu is displayed instead of superimposing the effect menu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the superimposition method of the combination with the reduction in size of the live view image in Kunishige to achieve the predictable result of allowing the user to see the entire image in the effect as shown in Kunishige (fig. 14).
However, Lee, Dye, Kang, and Kunishige, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose determining work to be posted according to a capturing result. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this, as taught by AAPA.
The combination teaches capturing an image with a filter effect. AAPA teaches an interface for allowing a user to select desired images for posting to another source such as social media is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to improve the combination by applying the technique of providing an interface for a user to select captured images that the user desires to be posted to another source to achieve the predictable result of sharing the images with other people.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asakura et al. (US 2012/0163659 A1) teaches a control item to select a special effect for storing (fig. 27; [0220]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 8/11/2026