DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending and are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 recites the term “BHA (butylated hydroxyl).anisole).” This is apparently a misspelling of “butylated hydroxyanisole.” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 15, last line, the meaning of the term “RTD” is unclear. Abbreviations should be spelled out to remove the opportunity for misinterpretation. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Invention directed to non-statutory subject matter
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-15 are directed to a composition comprising extracts of Magnolia and/or Albizia and/or Psoralea corylifolia. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed extracts are well-known, naturally-occurring compounds, and the claim encompasses extracts that are structurally and functionally identical to naturally occurring claimed extracts of Magnolia, Albizia, and Psoralea corylifolia. Because there is no difference between the claimed and naturally occurring extracts, the claimed extracts or combination of extracts does not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and thus is a “product of nature” exception. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an exception. Because the claims do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception, the claim does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Indefiniteness Rejections
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The phrase "etc." at line 8 renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "etc."), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. The claim also improperly recites a number of sulfite species in the same parenthetical phrase. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The parenthetical term “usually in solution” at line 10 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase “formaldehyde” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 13 improperly recites a series of diols in parentheses in lines 4-7. These recitations are indefinite since it is unclear whether the recitations of “1,2 diols” and 1,3-diols are limited to the parenthetical species. Put another way, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Obviousness Rejections
1) Claims 1-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodds (US 2007/0134168 A1), in view of Praveen (Journal of Pharmacy Research 2011, 4(3), 832-835) and Khatune (Fitoterapia 2004, 228-230), as evidenced by Mar (Journal of Natural Products, Vol. 54, No. 6, pp. 1531-1542 (1991)) and the Fact Sheet for Magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries, downloaded October 29, 2017 from http://www.olaughlinco.com/products/detail/105).
Dodds teaches chewable compositions containing magnolia bark extract for oral care (pg 1, [0002]).
Dodds teaches the magnolia bark extract is obtained as a powder from the bark, reading on the “extract is enriched for one or more lignans” (pg 2, [0020]) since the powder is enriched in the active extract and the insoluble material from the bark is not included in the powder obtained from the extraction process.
Dodds teaches the magnolia bark extract is obtained from O'Laughlin Industries ([0020]). The fact sheet for the magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries teaches that the extract comprises a minimum of 15.9% honokiol and 22.6% magnolol, reading on claims 9 and 15. For claim 14, the fact sheet for the magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries teaches that the extract is from Magnolia officinalis. It is noted that the preferred IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) name for magnolol is 5,5′-di(prop-2-en-1-yl)[1,1′-biphenyl]-2,2′-diol, recited as “5,5'-di-2-propenyl-[1,1'-biphenyl]-2,2'-diol” in the seventh line of claim 15, and the preferred UIPAC name for honokiol is 3′,5-Di(prop-2-en-1-yl)[1,1′-biphenyl]-2,4′-diol, recited as “3’,5- Di-2-propenyl- 2,4'-biphenyldiol” in the tenth line of claim 15
For the limitation of a Magnolia extract in claim 2, Dodds teaches the extract is enriched from magnolia bark.
For claim 3, Dodds teaches Dodds teaches magnolia bark extract is known to have bactericidal and antifungal properties (pg 2, [0019]), reading on a “preservative,” and the composition may be a chewing gum for oral care (pg 2, [0013]).
For claims 4 and 5, Dodds teaches an effective amount of magnolia bark extract in a product is from about 0.001% to about 2.0% (pg 3, [0026]).
For claim 8, Dodds teaches the magnolia bark extract is obtained from O'Laughlin Industries ([0020]). The fact sheet for the magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries teaches that the extract comprises a minimum of 15.9% honokiol and 22.6% magnolol, reading on claims 9 and 15. For claim 14, the fact sheet for the magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries teaches that the extract is from Magnolia officinalis. It is noted that the preferred IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) name for magnolol is 5,5′-Di(prop-2-en-1-yl)[1,1′-biphenyl]-2,2′-diol, recited as “5,5'-Di-2-propenyl-[1,1'-biphenyl]-2,2'-diol” in the seventh line of claim 15, and the preferred UIPAC name for honokiol is 3′,5-Di(prop-2-en-1-yl)[1,1′-biphenyl]-2,4′-diol, recited as “3’,5- Di-2-propenyl- 2,4'-biphenyldiol” in the tenth line of claim 15.
For claim 12, Dodds teaches the composition can comprise clove oil (pg 8, [0081]).
For claim 13, Dodds teaches the composition can comprise propylene glycol (1,2-propanediol; pg 8, [0076]).
For claim 15, Dodds teaches the composition can be in the form of a soft tablet (Abstract).
Dodds does not teach the addition of the antimicrobial extract of Albizia amara or Psoralea corylifolia.
Praveen and Khatune teach the missing elements of Dodds.
Praveen teaches solvent extracts of the leaves of Albizia amara showed significant antimicrobial activity against a number of microorganisms including human bacteria and fungi (Abstract).
For claims 6 and 7, Praveen teaches concentrations of 1 mg/ml are effective for inhibiting a number of microbial organisms (Abstract). Therefore, while Praveen does not teach an amount of extract of Albizia amara in an oral composition of or the ratios of magnolia extract to Albizia extract recited in claim 8, the amounts of magnolia extract and Albizia extract are result-effective variables and, as such, there is a motivation to optimize the amounts. The amount of magnolia extract taught by Dodds and the effectiveness of the extract taught by Praveen would provide one of ordinary skill the motivation to optimize the result effective variable of the amount of the two antimicrobial extracts and a starting point for such optimization. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the change. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” See MPEP 2144.05(III).
Khatune teaches the extract from the seeds of Psoralea corylifolia are used in traditional medicine (pg 228) and are an effective antimicrobial against gram positive and gram negative organisms (pg 229, Conclusion and Table 1).
For claim 10, the combination of Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune teaches the elements of the claim since Dodd teaches the bark extract of magnolia (Abstract), Praveen teaches the leaves of Albizia amara (Abstract), and Khatune teaches the seeds of Psoralea corylifolia (Title), in each case the active agent has been extracted from a plant material, in effect concentrating the active agent.
For claim 11, Dodd teaches the bark extract of magnolia (Abstract), Praveen teaches the leaves of Albizia amara (Abstract), and Khatune teaches the seeds of Psoralea corylifolia (Title).
For claim 14, Dodds teaches the composition comprises bulk sweeteners such as sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, hydrogenated starch hydrolysates, maltitol, erythritol, trehalose, and tagatose (pg 8, [0077]). The limitation of the amount of active ingredients is discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date on the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Dodds since Dodds teaches a composition comprising the antimicrobial extracts of magnolia that may comprise optional antimicrobial elements (pg 8, [0084]), Praveen teaches the antimicrobial extract of Albizia, and Khatune teaches the extract from the seeds of Psoralea corylifolia is an effective antimicrobial against gram positive and gram negative organisms and, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
2) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodds (cited above), in view of Praveen (cited above), Khatune (cited above), and Misra (“N-Demethyl Budmunchiamines From Albizzia Lebbek Seeds,” Phytochemistry, Vol. 39, No. 1, pp. 247-249, 1995), as evidenced by Mar (cited above) and the Fact Sheet for Magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries (cited above).
The teachings of Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune are discussed above.
The combination to Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune does not teach the content of macrocyclic alkaloids in Albizia extract.
Misra teaches the missing element of the combination to Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune.
Misra teaches extraction of dry seeds of Albizzia Lebbek provided 400 grams of an extract. This material was extracted with dilute acetic acid and neutralized with ammonium hydroxide to yield a basic fraction. Misra teaches the basic fraction yielded the following compounds after extensive purification (pgs 247-248, including “Experimental”:
Misra teaches the following amounts of each: cpd 1: 15 mg; cpds 2 and 3: 50 mg; and cpd 4: 200 mg (pg 248, Experimental). As such, the isolated amount of macrocyclic alkaloids is 265 mg, and the percentage of macrocyclic alkaloids is 0.07% (0.265/400 times 100%), within the claimed range. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
3) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodds (cited above), in view of Praveen (cited above), Khatune (cited above), and Li (“Evaluation of the in vitro and in vivo genotoxicity of magnolia bark extract,” Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology 49 (2007) 154–159), as evidenced by Mar (cited above) and the Fact Sheet for Magnolia extract from O’Laughlin Industries (cited above).
The teachings of Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune are discussed above.
The combination to Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune does not teach the content of the diphenol lignans in Magnolia extract.
Li teaches the missing element of the combination to Dodds, Praveen, and Khatune.
Li teaches the two main active compounds in magnolia bark are the neolignans magnolol and honokiol, and these compounds are found at levels ranging from 40-90% in commercially available MBE preparations (pg 154, right column. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based Terminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An e-Terminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
1. Claims 1-8 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,686.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims in the reference application recite a mixture of at least one Albizia extract, a Magnolia extract, and a Psoralea corylifolia seed extract.
2. Claims 1-8 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,529,384.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims in the reference application recite a mixture of at least one Albizia extract, a Magnolia extract, and a Psoralea corylifolia seed extract.
2. Claims 1-8 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,780,173.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims in the reference application recite a mixture of at least one Albizia extract, a Magnolia extract, and a Psoralea corylifolia seed extract.
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612