DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 March 2025 and 09 February 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4, “a character” should read --the character--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the steering effect” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 11-12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (KR 20130100514, references are made to the translation provided with this office action).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches an exercise apparatus, comprising:
a motor (motor 73);
a cable (guide string 71) coupled to the motor;
an exercise attachment (ski member 20) coupled to the cable, wherein the motor is operable to exert force on the exercise attachment via the cable (Fig. 3. Para. [0052]: “The first tension adjustment motor (73) and the second tension adjustment motor (74) function to adjust the length of the guide string according to the change in distance between the ski member (20) and the first cylinder member (53) and the second cylinder member (54) so that the ski member can always be supported in the air in a taut state.” The motor 73 exerts a force on the guide string 71 and ski member 20 in order to keep it in a taut state.);
a display screen (display 40); and
a controller (control device 60) programmed to:
determine, based on feedback from the motor indicating detected movement of the exercise attachment, an amount of propulsion provided by a user;
simulate, based on a slope of a virtual environment and the amount of propulsion provided by the user, a movement of a character in a skiing setting;
generate a visualization of the virtual environment including the movement of the character; and
cause the display screen to display the visualization (Para. [0061]: “it is also possible to place a tension sensor at the connection part of the first tension adjustment motor (73) and the guide string (71) so that the second cylinder member (54) is automatically adjusted according to the direction, just as a tension sensor is used at the connection part of the second tension adjustment motor (74) and the guide string (72).” Para. [0041]: “when the center of gravity of the ski (20) moves forward, the actuator (50) is controlled to control the support member (10) and the display (40) in conjunction with the increase in speed of the ski member (20). When the speed increases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) displayed on the display (40) is increased to increase the trainee's perceived speed, and when the speed decreases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) is decreased to decrease the trainee's perceived speed.” Para. [0039]: “The control device (60) controls the display (40) according to virtual acceleration and speed based on the inclination of the support member according to the current user's position (linked to the inclination of the actual ski jump). That is, the basic terrain information (61) or landscape information (62) and the control data of the trainer's ski simulator are combined to control the actuator or the display (40). In the state of basic terrain information (61), the speed of the user is increased or decreased by gravity and the slope of the course, etc.”).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to control the motor to exert a force on the cable, the force including a baseline tension and a damping force determined by the controller based on a damping constant and a speed of the cable (Para. [0052]: “The first tension adjustment motor (73) and the second tension adjustment motor (74) function to adjust the length of the guide string according to the change in distance between the ski member (20) and the first cylinder member (53) and the second cylinder member (54) so that the ski member can always be supported in the air in a taut state.” In order for the ski members to be held taut, the motors must provide a baseline tension and a damping force to prevent slack in the cables.).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to control a speaker to provide aural feedback to the user, the aural feedback comprising at least one of sound effects or music (Para. [0043]: “an HMD (45, Head Mounted Display) and a headset (not shown) are installed on the helmet (46) of the above-mentioned trainee, and the landscape information can be provided to the HMD, and the control device (60) wirelessly transmits a display signal and a sound signal to the helmet (46).”)
Regarding claim 5, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to control the motor to provide haptic feedback to the user via the cable and the exercise attachment (Para. [0052]: The motor 73 keeps the guide string 71 in a taut state so that the ski member 20 can be lifted during a jump. The ski member being inclined or declined during a jump provides a physical, haptic feedback to the user that they are in a jump.).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cable is a first cable, the exercise attachment is a first exercise attachment, and the motor is a first motor, wherein the exercise apparatus further comprises a second cable (guide string 72), a second exercise attachment (ski member 20), and a second motor (motor 74), wherein the controller is configured to determine the amount of propulsion based on feedback from both the first motor and the second motor via the first cable and the second cable (Fig. 10 shows a second ski member 20 and a second set of motor 74 and guide string 72. Para. [0061]: The tension sensor at the motor and guide string can detect propulsion and direction of the user.).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual environment comprises any of:
a wilderness course to simulate skiing in an environment comprising trees, rocks, sticks, and animals;
a backcountry course to simulate at least one of skiing in an environment with an avalanche, performing a herringbone climb to ascend a slope, performing a climb to ascend an ice wall, or skiing down a downhill tree course; or
a terrain park course to simulate at least one of skiing in a ski jump course (Para. [0034]: “the control device outputs a background and video to the display that correspond to the location information where the user is virtually located.” Para. [0038]: “the control device (60) implements 16-05-2026 - Page 20 terrain information (61) on the support member (10) and implements landscape information (62) on the display (40).” The ski simulator is for simulating a ski jump which would require a ski jump course.), a giant slalom course, or snowboarding on a snowboarding course.
Regarding claim 12, Kwon teaches a method of simulating a skiing exercise on a skiing simulator, the method comprising:
generating a virtual environment (Para. [0030]: “a display (40) that provides information of the external environment to the user.”);
determining a propulsive effect based on a movement of a first cable and a second cable operably coupled with a first motor and a second motor (Para. [0058]-[0059]: “In particular, a tension sensor (not shown in the drawing) is further provided at the connection portion of the first tension adjustment motor (73) and the guide string (71), and the control device (60) is characterized by changing the height and distance of the first cylinder member (53) and the second cylinder member (54) according to the force measured by the tension sensor. The tension sensor measures which direction the user intends to move the front part of the ski member, and enables the distance between the first cylinder members (53) and the height of the first cylinder members (53) to be automatically adjusted to match this direction. These functions are handled by the control device (60).” Para. [0061]: “it is also possible to place a tension sensor at the connection part of the first tension adjustment motor (73) and the guide string (71) so that the second cylinder member (54) is automatically adjusted according to the direction, just as a tension sensor is used at the connection part of the second tension adjustment motor (74) and the guide string (72).” Para. [0041]: “when the center of gravity of the ski (20) moves forward, the actuator (50) is controlled to control the support member (10) and the display (40) in conjunction with the increase in speed of the ski member (20). When the speed increases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) displayed on the display (40) is increased to increase the trainee's perceived speed, and when the speed decreases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) is decreased to decrease the trainee's perceived speed.”);
simulating movement of a character within the virtual environment based on the propulsive effect; and
operating a display screen of the skiing simulator to visually indicate the movement of the character within the virtual environment (Para. [0039]: “The control device (60) controls the display (40) according to virtual acceleration and speed based on the inclination of the support member according to the current user's position (linked to the inclination of the actual ski jump). That is, the basic terrain information (61) or landscape information (62) and the control data of the trainer's ski simulator are combined to control the actuator or the display (40). In the state of basic terrain information (61), the speed of the user is increased or decreased by gravity and the slope of the course, etc.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
operating the first motor and the second motor to exert a tension on the first cable and the second cable (Para. [0060]: “At this time, the first tension control motor (73) and the second tension control motor (74) must be controlled so that the guide string (71)(72) can always be kept taut.”).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon teaches an exercise apparatus, comprising:
a controller (control device 60) programmed to:
determine, based on feedback from a motor (motor 73) indicating detected movement of an exercise attachment (ski member 20) operably coupled with the motor via a cable (guide string 71), an amount of propulsion provided by a user;
simulate, based on a slope of a virtual environment and the amount of propulsion provided by the user, a movement of a character in a skiing setting;
generate a visualization of a virtual environment including the movement of the character; and
cause a display screen (display 40) to display the visualization (Para. [0061]: “it is also possible to place a tension sensor at the connection part of the first tension adjustment motor (73) and the guide string (71) so that the second cylinder member (54) is automatically adjusted according to the direction, just as a tension sensor is used at the connection part of the second tension adjustment motor (74) and the guide string (72).” Para. [0041]: “when the center of gravity of the ski (20) moves forward, the actuator (50) is controlled to control the support member (10) and the display (40) in conjunction with the increase in speed of the ski member (20). When the speed increases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) displayed on the display (40) is increased to increase the trainee's perceived speed, and when the speed decreases, the movement speed of the scenery information (62) is decreased to decrease the trainee's perceived speed.” Para. [0039]: “The control device (60) controls the display (40) according to virtual acceleration and speed based on the inclination of the support member according to the current user's position (linked to the inclination of the actual ski jump). That is, the basic terrain information (61) or landscape information (62) and the control data of the trainer's ski simulator are combined to control the actuator or the display (40). In the state of basic terrain information (61), the speed of the user is increased or decreased by gravity and the slope of the course, etc.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berme et al. (US 11,052,288, hereinafter Berme).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a force plate (support member 10) disposed in a base of the exercise apparatus, the force plate configured to be stood upon by the user (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.), wherein the controller is programmed to:
obtain feedback from the force plate indicating a total load on the force plate and a center of pressure on the force plate (Para. [0040]: The pressure sensors and support member 10 indicate a total load and a center of gravity of the skier in order to determine their speed and acceleration.).
Kwon does not expressly teach wherein the controller is programmed to: determine, based on the center of pressure on the force plate, a direction of travel for the movement of the character; and generate the visualization of the virtual environment including both the movement of the character and the direction of travel for the movement of the character.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Berme teaches an interactive skiing game comprising a force plate (force measurement assembly 102) and a controller, wherein the controller is programmed to: obtain feedback from the force plate indicating a total load on the force plate and a center of pressure on the force plate (Col. 47, lines 5-10: “the one or more numerical values determined from the output signals of the force transducers associated with the force measurement assembly 102 comprise the center of pressure coordinates (x.sub.P, y.sub.P) computed from the ground reaction forces exerted on the force plate assembly 102 by the subject.”), determine, based on the center of pressure on the force plate, a direction of travel for the movement of the character; and generate the visualization of the virtual environment including both the movement of the character and the direction of travel for the movement of the character (Col. 47, lines 5-34: “For example, with reference to the force plate coordinate axes 150, 152 of FIG. 7, when a subject leans to the left on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive), …the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the left (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans to the right on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the right (see e.g., FIG. 27). When a subject leans forward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is increased (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans backward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is decreased (see e.g., FIG. 27).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the programming to determine the direction of travel based on the center of pressure on the force plate, as taught by Berme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “enable a subject … to become effectively immersed in a virtual reality scenario or an interactive game,” as suggested by Berme (Col. 2, lines 49-53).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Churchman et al. (US 2023/0037020, hereinafter Churchman).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a force plate (support member 10) disposed in a base of the exercise apparatus, the force plate configured to be stood upon by the user (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.), wherein the controller is programmed to:
determine, based on feedback from the force plate, an amount of load exerted on the force plate (Para. [0040]: The pressure sensors and support member 10 indicate a total load and a center of gravity of the skier in order to determine their speed and acceleration.).
Kwon does not teach wherein the controller is further programmed to: detect an amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate based on the amount of load decreasing as the force plate is unloaded while the user jumps; determine a jump for the character based on the amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate; and cause the display to display the character performing the jump.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Churchman teaches an exercise device for use with a virtual environment comprising a force plate and a controller programmed to: detect an amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate based on the amount of load decreasing as the force plate is unloaded while the user jumps; determine a jump for the character based on the amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate; and cause the display to display the character performing the jump (Para. [0122]: “the system is configured to simulate jumping by detecting the player being positioned high enough off of the running belt for at least a certain amount of time. The system may identify jumping using one or more pressure sensors… to cause their avatar to jump within the virtual terrain and in order to jump in a particular direction forward as well as upwards.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the programming to determine a jump of a user, as taught by Churchman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a system “configured [to] provide hands free control … such that the user can move through the virtual environment (as it is displayed on a display screen),” as suggested by Churchman (Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a force plate (support member 10) disposed in a base of the exercise apparatus, the force plate configured to be stood upon by the user and configured to measure a total load exerted on the force plate (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.).
Kwon does not teach wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle, the controller programmed to simulate the character jumping over the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle and jumping on a force plate.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Churchman teaches an exercise device for use with a virtual environment comprising a force plate, wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle, the controller programmed to simulate the character jumping over the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle and jumping on a force plate (Para. [0122]: “the system is configured to simulate jumping by detecting the player being positioned high enough off of the running belt for at least a certain amount of time… jumping may enable a player to control movement of their avatar within the virtual environment to traverse over obstacles, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the jumping and obstacles within the virtual environment, as taught by Churchman, with the predicted result of providing a more immersive virtual environment that more closely resembles skiing in an actual environment (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kakizawa et al. (US 2019/0220089, hereinafter Kakizawa).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1.
Kwon does not teach wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle, the controller programmed to simulate an interaction between the character and the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle, wherein the character is limited from jumping over the obstacle.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kakizawa teaches a ski simulator comprising a virtual environment, wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle (rock RK), the controller programmed to simulate an interaction between the character and the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle, wherein the character is limited from jumping over the obstacle (Figs. 22A-22C show wherein the character and the rock RK collide in response to the user steering into the rock RK. The system of Kakizawa limits the user from jumping over the rock RK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual environment of Kwon by including the obstacles of Kakizawa with the predicted result of providing a more realistic setting with obstacles for the user to avoid for a more immersive experience (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Poornachandran et al. (US 2019/0049950, hereinafter Poornachandran).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 1.
Kwon does not teach wherein the virtual environment comprises at least one of: a small animal, the controller programmed to simulate the small animal moving across a path of the character, wherein the controller is further programmed to steer the character around the small animal or jump over the small animal in response to one or more user movements; a pursuing animal or weather phenomenon, the controller programmed to simulate the pursuing animal or weather phenomenon chasing the character as the user moves the exercise attachment to provide the amount of propulsion; or a predatory animal, the controller programmed to prompt the user to elevate the exercise attachment and maintain the exercise attachment at an elevated position in response to the predatory animal being proximate the character, the controller programmed to simulate the predatory animal leaving the character in response to the user maintaining the exercise attachment at the elevated position for a predetermined amount of time.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Poornachandran teaches a mixed reality system for generating a visualization of a virtual environment, wherein the virtual environment comprises at least one of: … a pursuing animal or weather phenomenon, the controller programmed to simulate the pursuing animal or weather phenomenon chasing the character as the user moves (Para. [0040]: “the mixed reality content unit 118 may adjust the mixed reality content 119 to demonstrate a chase scene by an animal, where the chase scene may be adjusted/prolonged so that the passengers can narrowly escape.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual environment of Kwon by including the pursuing animal of Poornachandran with the predicted result of providing a high stakes chase to challenge the user to increase their skiing speed (see MPEP 2141(III)).
The combination of Kwon and Poornachandran would teach wherein the pursuing animal chases the character as the user moves the exercise attachment to provide the amount of propulsion. That is, by including the pursuing animal of Poornachandran in the virtual environment of Kwon, the user would move the exercise attachment to provide propulsion as the animal chases them within the virtual environment.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Churchman (US 2023/0037020).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: a force plate (support member 10) configured to be stood upon by the user (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.).
Kwon does not teach determining a jumping effect based on a total load exerted by the user on a force plate; simulating elevation of the character from a virtual ground surface based on the jumping effect; and operating the display screen of the skiing simulator to visually indicate the elevation of the character within the virtual environment.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Churchman teaches an exercise device for use with a virtual environment comprising a force plate, wherein a method of using the exercise device comprises determining a jumping effect based on a total load exerted by the user on a force plate; simulating elevation of the character from a virtual ground surface based on the jumping effect; and operating the display screen of the simulator to visually indicate the elevation of the character within the virtual environment (Para. [0122]: “the system is configured to simulate jumping by detecting the player being positioned high enough off of the running belt for at least a certain amount of time. The system may identify jumping using one or more pressure sensors… to cause their avatar to jump within the virtual terrain and in order to jump in a particular direction forward as well as upwards.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the programming to determine a jump of a user, as taught by Churchman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a system “configured [to] provide hands free control … such that the user can move through the virtual environment (as it is displayed on a display screen),” as suggested by Churchman (Para. [0037]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Berme (US 11,052,288).
Regarding claim 15, Kwon teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
determining an interaction between the character and at least one feature of the virtual environment based on … the propulsive effect; and
operating the display screen of the skiing simulator to visually indicate the interaction between the character and the at least one feature of the virtual environment (Para. [0032]-[0033]: “The simulator according to the present invention is characterized by operation through mutual interaction. That is, basically, the control device stores data that databases the terrain information (61) of the ski jump and its surroundings. This includes information such as the slope and distance based on the location of the ski jump, as well as information about the surrounding environment. In particular, assuming the user is at the actual starting position of the ski jump, the user's virtual position on the ski jump is calculated based on acceleration and velocity according to the slope of the ski jump over time.” The interaction between the user’s character and user’s virtual position on a ski slope is determined based on the acceleration and velocity of the user on the slope. The at least one feature of the virtual environment is broadly interpreted as the user’s virtual position.).
Kwon does not teach the interaction between the character and at least one feature of the virtual environment being based on a steering effect.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Berme teaches an interactive skiing game wherein an interaction between the character and at least one feature of the virtual environment is based on the steering effect (Col. 47, lines 5-34: When the user leans to the left, their character in the virtual environment is displaced to the left. When the user leans to the right, their character in the virtual environment is displaced to the right. The at least one feature of the virtual environment is broadly interpreted as the user’s virtual position within the virtual environment.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the steering of Berme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “enable a subject … to become effectively immersed in a virtual reality scenario or an interactive game,” as suggested by Berme (Col. 2, lines 49-53).
Regarding claim 16, Kwon teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
a force plate (support member 10) used for detecting a center of gravity for a user, and simulating movement of a character within the virtual environment based on the propulsive effect (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.), wherein the propulsive effect is determined based on both the movement of the first cable and the second cable (Para. [0058]-[0059]: “In particular, a tension sensor (not shown in the drawing) is further provided at the connection portion of the first tension adjustment motor (73) and the guide string (71), and the control device (60) is characterized by changing the height and distance of the first cylinder member (53) and the second cylinder member (54) according to the force measured by the tension sensor. The tension sensor measures which direction the user intends to move the front part of the ski member, and enables the distance between the first cylinder members (53) and the height of the first cylinder members (53) to be automatically adjusted to match this direction. These functions are handled by the control device (60).”).
Kwon does not teach determining a steering effect based on a center of gravity of a user on a force plate of the skiing simulator; and simulating movement of a character within the virtual environment based on the steering effect and the propulsive effect, wherein the propulsive effect is determined based on an orientation of the character relative to a direction of slope of a ground surface of the virtual environment.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Berme teaches a method of using an interactive skiing game comprising determining a steering effect based on a center of gravity of a user on a force plate of the skiing simulator; and simulating movement of a character within the virtual environment based on the steering effect and the propulsive effect, wherein the propulsive effect is determined based on an orientation of the character relative to a direction of slope of a ground surface of the virtual environment (Col. 47, lines 5-34: “For example, with reference to the force plate coordinate axes 150, 152 of FIG. 7, when a subject leans to the left on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive), …the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the left (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans to the right on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the right (see e.g., FIG. 27). When a subject leans forward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is increased (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans backward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is decreased (see e.g., FIG. 27).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the steering effect of Berme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “enable a subject … to become effectively immersed in a virtual reality scenario or an interactive game,” as suggested by Berme (Col. 2, lines 49-53).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Berme (US 11,052,288).
Regarding claim 18, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a force plate (support member 10) disposed in a base of the exercise apparatus, the force plate configured to be stood upon by the user (Figs. 4-5 show the user standing on support member 10. Para. [0040]: “However, it is also possible for the user to increase or decrease the speed and acceleration of the ski by shifting the center of gravity of the ski. To achieve this, a pressure sensor can be installed in the longitudinal direction at the point where the support member (10) and the ski come into contact, and the user's acceleration and speed can be dynamically changed according to the change in the pressure signal value input by the pressure sensor.” The support member 10 having pressure sensors installed makes it a force plate. The Figures show the support member 10 being a plate and the pressure sensors would measure force.), wherein the controller is further programmed to:
obtain feedback from a force plate indicating a total load on the force plate and a center of pressure on the force plate as the user stands on the force plate (Para. [0040]: The pressure sensors and support member 10 indicate a total load and a center of gravity of the skier in order to determine their speed and acceleration.).
Kwon does not teach the controller being further programmed to: determine, based on the center of pressure on the force plate, a direction of travel for the movement of the character; and generate the visualization of the virtual environment including both the movement of the character and the direction of travel for the movement of the character.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Berme teaches an interactive skiing game comprising a force plate (force measurement assembly 102) and a controller, wherein the controller is programmed to: obtain feedback from the force plate indicating a total load on the force plate and a center of pressure on the force plate (Col. 47, lines 5-10: “the one or more numerical values determined from the output signals of the force transducers associated with the force measurement assembly 102 comprise the center of pressure coordinates (x.sub.P, y.sub.P) computed from the ground reaction forces exerted on the force plate assembly 102 by the subject.”), determine, based on the center of pressure on the force plate, a direction of travel for the movement of the character; and generate the visualization of the virtual environment including both the movement of the character and the direction of travel for the movement of the character (Col. 47, lines 5-34: “For example, with reference to the force plate coordinate axes 150, 152 of FIG. 7, when a subject leans to the left on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive), …the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the left (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans to the right on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the x-coordinate x.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is displaced to the right (see e.g., FIG. 27). When a subject leans forward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is positive in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is increased (see e.g., FIG. 27). Conversely, when a subject leans backward on the force measurement assembly 102′ (i.e., when the y-coordinate y.sub.P of the center of pressure is negative in FIG. 7), … the speed of the skier 222 in the interactive skiing game is decreased (see e.g., FIG. 27).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the programming to determine the direction of travel based on the center of pressure on the force plate, as taught by Berme. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “enable a subject … to become effectively immersed in a virtual reality scenario or an interactive game,” as suggested by Berme (Col. 2, lines 49-53).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20130100514) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Churchman (US 2023/0037020).
Regarding claim 19, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller is further programmed to:
determine, based on feedback from a force plate (support member 10 with pressure sensors), an amount of load exerted on the force plate (Para. [0040]: The pressure sensors and support member 10 indicate a total load and a center of gravity of the skier in order to determine their speed and acceleration.).
Kwon does not teach wherein the controller is further programmed to: detect an amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate based on the amount of load decreasing as the force plate is unloaded while the user jumps; determine a jump for the character based on the amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate; and cause the display to display the character performing the jump.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Churchman teaches an exercise device for use with a virtual environment comprising a force plate and a controller programmed to: detect an amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate based on the amount of load decreasing as the force plate is unloaded while the user jumps; determine a jump for the character based on the amount of time that the user jumps from the force plate; and cause the display to display the character performing the jump (Para. [0122]: “the system is configured to simulate jumping by detecting the player being positioned high enough off of the running belt for at least a certain amount of time. The system may identify jumping using one or more pressure sensors… to cause their avatar to jump within the virtual terrain and in order to jump in a particular direction forward as well as upwards.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the programming to determine a jump of a user, as taught by Churchman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a system “configured [to] provide hands free control … such that the user can move through the virtual environment (as it is displayed on a display screen),” as suggested by Churchman (Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Kwon teaches the exercise apparatus of claim 17.
Kwon does not teach wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle, the controller programmed to simulate the character jumping over the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle and jumping on a force plate disposed in a base of the exercise apparatus.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Churchman teaches an exercise device for use with a virtual environment comprising a force plate, wherein the virtual environment comprises an obstacle, the controller programmed to simulate the character jumping over the obstacle in response to the user steering the character into the obstacle and jumping on a force plate (Para. [0122]: “the system is configured to simulate jumping by detecting the player being positioned high enough off of the running belt for at least a certain amount of time… jumping may enable a player to control movement of their avatar within the virtual environment to traverse over obstacles, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise apparatus of Kwon by including the jumping and obstacles within the virtual environment, as taught by Churchman, with the predicted result of providing a more immersive virtual environment that more closely resembles skiing in an actual environment (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Conclusion
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784