DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 12/09/2024.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 and 05/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara (US 20240013012 A1), hereinafter Uehara.
Regarding claim 1, discloses a position management system comprising the following limitations:
a first reading apparatus that is capable of reading, from a wireless device, identification information stored in the wireless device (See at least Fig. 1, Item 100, [0049] “The tag reader 100 is a reading apparatus that reads information from the RFID tags.”);
a first wireless device that stores specific first identification information (See at least Fig. 1, Item 20a, [0043] “The position tags 20a, 20b and 20c have specific tag identification information 21a, 21b and 21c embedded in the tags”);
a second wireless device that is attached to the management target which stores second identification information for identifying the management target (See at least Fig. 1, [0045] “There exists an item 30 on the floor 10a. An item tag 40 is attached to the item 30. The item tag 40 has specific tag identification information 41 embedded in the tag”);
at least one memory storing a program (See at least Fig. 2 [0055] “The control unit 101 consists of a memory to store computer programs, and one or more processors (for example, central processing units (CPUs)) to execute the computer programs.”); and
at least one processor that executes the stored instructions, which cause the at least one processor to (See at least Fig. 2 [0055] “The control unit 101 consists of a memory to store computer programs, and one or more processors (for example, central processing units (CPUs)) to execute the computer programs.”):
estimate, when the second identification information is read from the second wireless device by the first reading apparatus, a position of the management target based on a result of reading the second identification information (See at least [0050] “Positions of the item tags 40 are determined based on data received from the tag reader 100 and stored in the database.”), and
detect an abnormality related to the first wireless device based on a result of an attempt by the first reading apparatus to read the first identification information from the first wireless device (See at least Figs. 12A-14, [0110] “in S141, the verification unit 233 identifies one or more tags that have a possibility of being the cause of the mismatch between the two positional relationships.” Uehara discloses identification of mismatches as abnormalities.),
wherein the first wireless device is installed within a reading range of the first reading apparatus (See at least Figs. 1-2, [0055] “the control unit 101 causes the reading unit 106 to perform reading from an RFID tag within a tag reading range,”)
Regarding claim 2, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Uehara additionally discloses
at least one of the first reading apparatus and the first wireless device is installed at a known first point in the real space (See at least [0042] “an RFID tag that is arranged at a specific position of the real space is referred to as a position tag,”).
Regarding claim 3, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Uehara additionally discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to estimate, when the first identification information is read from the first wireless device and the second identification information is read from the second wireless device, a position of the management target based on a result of reading the second identification information and positional coordinates of the first point (See at least [0068] “Tag Position 333 is a data element for storing the position coordinates indicating a device position of each position tag 20 in a real space in association with a tag ID of the position tag 20”, [0094] “The information provision unit 234 can cause the screen of the user terminal 300 to display the latest positions of the items 30 based on the registered positions of the position tags 20”).
Regarding claim 4, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-3. Uehara additionally discloses
the position management system further comprises: a third wireless device installed at a known second point in the real space and storing specific third identification information, wherein the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to estimate, when the third identification information is read from the third wireless device and the second identification information is read from the second wireless device by a movable second reading apparatus, a position of the management target based on a result of reading the second identification information and position information of the second point (See at least [0068] “Tag Position 333 is a data element for storing the position coordinates indicating a device position of each position tag 20 in a real space in association with a tag ID of the position tag 20”, [0094] “The information provision unit 234 can cause the screen of the user terminal 300 to display the latest positions of the items 30 based on the registered positions of the position tags 20” The Examiner notes that Uehara discloses a plurality of position tags, where one may be a third wireless device)
Regarding claim 9, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Uehara additionally discloses
the first wireless device is collocated with the first reading apparatus, and the first reading apparatus and the first wireless device are movable (See at least Fig. 1, [0053] “the tag reader 100 may move within a floor 10 while being mounted on a movable machine” Uehara discloses a movable reading apparatus that is collocated with the first wireless device at the time of reading).
Regarding claim 12, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Uehara additionally discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to notify a user of occurrence of the abnormality upon detecting the abnormality (See at least Fig. 13, [0118] “the verification unit 233 can cause the display […] a message representing a notification of failed verification.”).
Regarding claim 13, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12. Uehara additionally discloses
he stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to provide the user with position information related to a position at which the abnormality has detected on a screen displayed by a display apparatus (See at least Fig. 13, [0118] “the verification unit 233 can cause the display of the user terminal 300 to display a map that shows tag icons indicating the names of the identified position tags 20 at the reading positions or the registered positions of these tags, together with a message representing a notification of failed verification.”).
Regarding claim 14, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Uehara additionally discloses
a server apparatus that includes: a communication unit configured to communicate with the first reading apparatus (See at least Fig. 1, [0050] “The management server 200 is an information processing apparatus that uses a database to manage position information indicating positions of the position tags 20 and the item tags 40 in the real space” See also [0048]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 15, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 16, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara, in view of Song (US 20190286863 A1), hereinafter Song.
Regarding claim 5, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1-4. Uehara further discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that an abnormality related to the first wireless device has occurred when the result of the attempt to read by the first reading apparatus indicates that the first identification information has not been read from the first wireless device by the first reading apparatus for a preset first (See at least [0078] “The verification unit 233 can, for example, determine that the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship in a case where a misalignment of the estimated position in the first positional relationship with respect to the corresponding device position in the second positional relationship falls below a tolerance for any position tag 20 subject to the verification. The tolerance here may be a magnitude enough to absorb an error in tag reading-based position estimation (e.g., several meters).” Uehara discloses a positional tolerance based on time of flight-based ranging (RFID scanning), where verification is not granted if the information is not read within a tolerance range of position (time) measurements.).
Uehara does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0050] “The time of flight, which is the time from transmission of RFID transmit signal 415 until a reflection of RFID transmit signal 415 is received (as the interference signal) at the respective RFID tag, helps to determine the distance of unknown object 452” Song discloses the use of a time length as interchangeable with distance by using RFID measurements for time of flight distance calculations).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the time system disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy over alternative systems (See at least [0066] “The BLE beacon (and any associated object) is less likely to be accurately tracked using only the first inquiry signal transmitted from mobile device 200”).
Regarding claim 6, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1-5. Uehara further discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that an abnormality related to the third wireless device has occurred when a reading result indicating that the third identification information has been read from the third wireless device has not been received from any reading apparatus for a preset second (See at least [0078] “The verification unit 233 can, for example, determine that the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship in a case where a misalignment of the estimated position in the first positional relationship with respect to the corresponding device position in the second positional relationship falls below a tolerance for any position tag 20 subject to the verification. The tolerance here may be a magnitude enough to absorb an error in tag reading-based position estimation (e.g., several meters).” Uehara discloses a positional tolerance based on time of flight-based ranging (RFID scanning), where verification is not granted if the information is not read within a tolerance range of position (time) measurements. See also [0068])
Uehara does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0050] “The time of flight, which is the time from transmission of RFID transmit signal 415 until a reflection of RFID transmit signal 415 is received (as the interference signal) at the respective RFID tag, helps to determine the distance of unknown object 452” Song discloses the use of a time length as interchangeable with distance by using RFID measurements for time of flight distance calculations).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the time system disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy over alternative systems (See at least [0066] “The BLE beacon (and any associated object) is less likely to be accurately tracked using only the first inquiry signal transmitted from mobile device 200”).
Regarding claim 7, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1-6. Uehara further discloses
the second (See at least Figs. 8A-8B, [0080] “In the example of FIG. 8A, reading positions D1, D2, and D3 are the same as the positions illustrated in FIG. 7B. Here, when the reading position D1 of the position tag 20a has been brought to coincide with the registered position, a misalignment of the reading position D2 relative to the registered position of the position tag 20b is smaller than a tolerance dl” Uehara discloses position (time) tolerance differences based on registered positions that vary in distance from reading positions, thereby allowing different time lengths for verification.).
Uehara does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0050] “The time of flight, which is the time from transmission of RFID transmit signal 415 until a reflection of RFID transmit signal 415 is received (as the interference signal) at the respective RFID tag, helps to determine the distance of unknown object 452” Song discloses the use of a time length as interchangeable with distance by using RFID measurements for time of flight distance calculations).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the time system disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy over alternative systems (See at least [0066] “The BLE beacon (and any associated object) is less likely to be accurately tracked using only the first inquiry signal transmitted from mobile device 200”).
Regarding claim 8, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1-6. Uehara further discloses
the first (See at least [0083] “The verification unit 233 may change the value of the tolerance d1 depending on the progress status of verification. For example, the verification unit 233 may set the tolerance d1 at a certain value in a case where none of arrangements for all position tags 20 has been verified, and increase the value of the tolerance dl with an increase in the number of verified position tags 20.”).
Uehara does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0050] “The time of flight, which is the time from transmission of RFID transmit signal 415 until a reflection of RFID transmit signal 415 is received (as the interference signal) at the respective RFID tag, helps to determine the distance of unknown object 452” Song discloses the use of a time length as interchangeable with distance by using RFID measurements for time of flight distance calculations).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the time system disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy over alternative systems (See at least [0066] “The BLE beacon (and any associated object) is less likely to be accurately tracked using only the first inquiry signal transmitted from mobile device 200”).
Regarding claim 10, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Uehara further discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that an abnormality has occurred at the first reading apparatus when no data has been received from the first reading apparatus for a preset third (See at least [0078] “The verification unit 233 can, for example, determine that the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship in a case where a misalignment of the estimated position in the first positional relationship with respect to the corresponding device position in the second positional relationship falls below a tolerance for any position tag 20 subject to the verification. The tolerance here may be a magnitude enough to absorb an error in tag reading-based position estimation (e.g., several meters).” Uehara discloses a positional tolerance based on time of flight-based ranging (RFID scanning), where verification is not granted if the information is not read within a tolerance range of position (time) measurements.).
Uehara does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0050] “The time of flight, which is the time from transmission of RFID transmit signal 415 until a reflection of RFID transmit signal 415 is received (as the interference signal) at the respective RFID tag, helps to determine the distance of unknown object 452” Song discloses the use of a time length as interchangeable with distance by using RFID measurements for time of flight distance calculations).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the time system disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy over alternative systems (See at least [0066] “The BLE beacon (and any associated object) is less likely to be accurately tracked using only the first inquiry signal transmitted from mobile device 200”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara, in view of Yim (US 20210130009 A1), hereinafter Yim.
Regarding claim 11, Uehara, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Uehara does not explicitly disclose the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that an abnormality has occurred at the first reading apparatus when i) the result of the attempt to read by the first reading apparatus indicates that the first identification information has not been read from the first wireless device by the first reading apparatus during a time period and ii) a result of an attempt to read by a second reading apparatus that is different from the first reading apparatus indicates that the first identification information has been read from the first wireless device by the second reading apparatus during the time period. However, Yim, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the stored instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that an abnormality has occurred at the first reading apparatus when i) the result of the attempt to read by the first reading apparatus indicates that the first identification information has not been read from the first wireless device by the first reading apparatus during a time period and ii) a result of an attempt to read by a second reading apparatus that is different from the first reading apparatus indicates that the first identification information has been read from the first wireless device by the second reading apparatus during the time period (See at least [0074] “the baggage may be large and extend outside the area of the disc.”, [0076] “In situation that only the second RFID reader reads the baggage tag, it transmits the information via wireless network to a baggage tracking system” Yim discloses a system where a tag may be out of range of a first reader, but not a second reader at a time of scanning).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position management system disclosed by Uehara with the abnormality system disclosed by Yim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve reading accuracy (See at least [0071] “Block 510 states improving accuracy of reading the tag by reading, with a second RFID reader, the tag located on the baggage when the baggage is placed on the disc of the robotic arm during loading and/or unloading of the baggage.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirano (US 20180067792 A1) - An information processing apparatus includes a receiving unit and a determining unit. The receiving unit receives read information that is read by a reading unit from a storage medium a plurality of number of times. The determining unit determines abnormality in a reading process performed by the reading unit, based on a first result acquired by comparing a time interval of reading the read information with a first threshold, or on a second result acquired by comparing the number of times the reading is performed with a second threshold.
Suzuki (EP 3872680 B1) - Readers acquiring data such as IDs from radio tags such as radio frequency identification (RFID) tags have been provided. Such readers search for channels unused for other devices, among channels allocated to the readers by a system, to prevent crosstalk with other devices. The readers communicate with radio tags with the searched channels.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648