CTNF 18/974,461 CTNF 97084 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-2, 4-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The Independent claims 1, 13 and 19 recite “A Voice-Controlled Haptic Interface (VCHI) for a machine control (MC) system, comprising: one or more memories for storing instructions”; “and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories”,” wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to”: “receive, from a voice recognition system, an indication of a requested MC operation determined based on processing, using speech recognition, one or more voice commands received via one or more microphones”; “and assign, via the MC system to one or more haptic control devices and based on the requested MC operation, one or more functions associated with the MC operation”. The limitations above as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, as this could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. The limitation of " receive ... ", "assign ... ", as drafted covers mental activities. More specifically, a person can receive a voice command from another person regarding some functions of a device, can assign or allocate one or more functions to a device. The above steps, as drafted, is a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. There is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the human mind. Additionally, the mere nominal recitation of a generic computer appliance do not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process. The claim recites the additional limitation of “memory”, “processor”, “voice controlled haptic interface”, “microphone”, “haptic control device” for performing the method. All those are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. This is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Claims 1, 13, 19 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as this is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 2, 14, 20 recite “wherein the requested MC operation corresponds to a menu option in the MC system for modifying a parameter value of a setting in the MC system, wherein the one or more functions are associated with using the one or more haptic control devices to modify the parameter value”, where modifying any parameter from menu and assigning the modified parameter to any device is an evaluation, observation and could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as claims 2, 14, 20 do not recite any additional limitations. The claims as drafted, are not patent eligible. Claims 4, 16 recite “wherein the MC system includes the one or more microphones, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to provide the voice recognition system to process, using speech recognition, the one or more voice commands received via the one or more microphones”, to recognize voice received from microphone could be performed in the human mind. The claims include additional element “ microphone” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims 4, 16 as drafted, are not patent eligible. Claim 5 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival”, where determining the direction of sound or voice commands and selecting any function based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 5 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 6 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival”, where determining the direction of sound or voice commands and selecting a privilege level such as certain direction or person based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 6 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 7 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions”, where determining the direction of sound or voice commands and selecting one or more haptic control devices based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 7 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 8 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands”, where determining certain person as speaking based on the biometric voice identification, (such as different speaker has different style tone) and selecting one or more function based on the identity of the person could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 8 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 9 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands”, where determining certain person as speaking based on the biometric voice identification, (such as different speaker has different style, tone) and selecting a privilege level such as certain direction or person based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 9 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 10 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions”, where determining certain person as speaking based on the biometric voice identification, (such as different speaker has different style, tone) and selecting one or more function based on the identity of the person could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 10 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 11 recites “wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to translate the one or more voice commands from a first language to a second language to determine the requested MC operation”, where translating one language from another could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional element “ processor” which is recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 11 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 12 recites “wherein the VCHI, the MC system, the one or more microphones, and the one or more haptic control devices are coupled to one another within a vehicle, and wherein the MC system supports multiple MC operations related to operating one or more systems of the vehicle”, where to determine that all the control devices, microphones are connected with each other is an observation and could be performed in human mind. The claim includes additional elements “ microphone”, “control device” which are recited in generic way and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim 12 as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 17 recites “further comprising: determining, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival; selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival; or selecting, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions”, where determining the direction of sound or voice commands and selecting any function based on that, selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival and selecting one or more haptic control devices based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as claim 17 does not recite any additional limitations. The claim as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim 18 recites “further comprising: determining, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; or selecting, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions”, where determining certain person as speaking based on the biometric voice identification, (such as different speaker has different style, tone), selecting one or more function based on the identity of the person, selecting a privilege level such as certain direction or person based on that and selecting one or more haptic control devices based on that could be performed in human mind. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as claim 18 does not recite any additional limitations. The claim as drafted, is not patent eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 12 - 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Spiewla et al. ( US 20180357040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Spiewla . Regarding Claim 1, Spiewla teaches a Voice-Controlled Haptic Interface (VCHI) for a machine control (MC) system, comprising: one or more memories for storing instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to ( Spiewla: Para.[0020], Fig. 2 illustrates a system diagram depicting various components in a vehicle infotainment system 200. A processing system 212 processes data from each of the inputs 201. The processing system 212 can be one or more general purpose or specialty processors. Para.[0043], Fig. 6 is a block diagram of a processing system of the vehicle infotainment system, comprising Read Only Memory (ROM) 606 which includes computer executable instructions for initializing the processor 604, while the Random Access Memory (RAM) 608 is the main memory for loading and processing instructions executed by the processor 604) ; receive, from a voice recognition system, an indication of a requested MC operation determined based on processing, using speech recognition, one or more voice commands received via one or more microphones ( Spiewla: Para.[0020],[0021], Fig.2 illustrates a system diagram depicting various components in a vehicle infotainment system 200. The speech recognition system 214 connects to the microphones 202 and receives voice command from a user. A command can be to put a specific application on a specific display. For example, a user could say the wake word followed by the command "put navigation on the center display"( indication of a requested MC operation)) ; and assign, via the MC system to one or more haptic control devices and based on the requested MC operation, one or more functions associated with the MC operation ( Spiewla: Para.[0031],[0036],[0039], Figs.2, 4, At step 402, the system detects a voice command using the plurality of microphones. At step 404, the system determines an object of interest from the voice command. The object of interest can be one or more of the touch sensitive displays or one or more of the physical input controls ( haptic control devices). At step 410, the system determines if the object of interest is a physical control or a display. If the object of interest is a physical control, at step 412 the system performs the requested action, such as assigning a particular function to the physical control. For example, a user can issue a command, such as "Make that knob control the volume." The object of interest processor 224 determines through one or more of the remaining inputs that the user is referring to a particular physical input, such as 122. Then the intent processor 226 determines that the user wants to make physical input control 122 the volume control for the infotainment system.). Claim 13 is a method claim for assigning one or more functions to one or more haptic control units ( Spiewla: Para.[0020], Fig.2 illustrates a system diagram depicting various components in a vehicle infotainment system 200. The system include one or more microphones 202, gesture input sensors 204, head and eye tracking sensors 206, physical input controls 208 and touch sensitive displays 210 ( haptic control units)), performing the steps in system claim 1 above and as such, claim 13 is similar in scope and content to claim 1 and therefore, claim 13 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 1 above. Claim 19 is a computer-readable media claim having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions are executable by one or more processors for assigning one or more functions to one or more haptic control units ( Spiewla: Para.[0020], Fig.2 illustrates a system diagram depicting various components in a vehicle infotainment system 200. The system include one or more microphones 202, gesture input sensors 204, head and eye tracking sensors 206, physical input controls 208 and touch sensitive displays 210 ( haptic control units). Para.[0043], Fig. 6 is a block diagram of a processing system of the vehicle infotainment system, comprising Read Only Memory (ROM) 606 which includes computer executable instructions for initializing the processor 604, while the Random Access Memory (RAM) 608 is the main memory for loading and processing instructions executed by the processor 604) , performing the steps in system claim 1 above and as such, claim 19 is similar in scope and content to claim 1 and therefore, claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 1 above. Regarding Claim 2, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla further teaches, wherein the requested MC operation corresponds to a menu option in the MC system for modifying a parameter value of a setting in the MC system, wherein the one or more functions are associated with using the one or more haptic control devices to modify the parameter value ( Spiewla: Para.[0039], Fig. 4, functions that can be assigned to physical control to perform the requested MC operation include temperature control, volume control, which can be modified ( turned up or down)). Claim 14 is a method claim performing the steps in system claim 2 above and as such, claim 14 is similar in scope and content to claim 2 and therefore, claim 14 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 2 above. Claim 20 is a computer-readable media claim performing the steps in system claim 2 above and as such, claim 20 is similar in scope and content to claim 2 and therefore, claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 2 above. Regarding Claim 3, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 2. Spiewla further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to adjust, via the MC system, content on a display of the one or more haptic control devices to indicate the setting in the MC system ( Spiewla: Para.[0038],[0039], Fig 4, the system displays a visual feedback of the voice command. The visual feedback can be a requested application appearing on the requested display or can be a text label indicating that the system is performing the requested action ). Claim 15 is a method claim performing the steps in system claim 3 above and as such, claim 15 is similar in scope and content to claim 3 and therefore, claim 15 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 3 above. Regarding Claim 4, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla further teaches, wherein the MC system includes the one or more microphones, and wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to provide the voice recognition system to process, using speech recognition, the one or more voice commands received via the one or more microphones ( Spiewla: Para.[0021], Fig. 2, The speech recognition system 214, connected with microphone 202, can listen for a "wake" word or phrase. The wake word or phrase can be a name or phrase, such as "hello car." After the speech recognition system 214 detects the wake word, the system listens for a command from a user. A command can be, for example, to put a specific application on a specific display. For example, a user could say the wake word followed by "put navigation on the center display."). Claim 16 is a method claim performing the steps in system claim 4 above and as such, claim 16 is similar in scope and content to claim 4 and therefore, claim 16 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 4 above. Regarding Claim 12, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla further teaches, wherein the VCHI, the MC system, the one or more microphones, and the one or more haptic control devices are coupled to one another within a vehicle, and wherein the MC system supports multiple MC operations related to operating one or more systems of the vehicle ( Spiewla: Para.[0020], [0026], Fig. 2 illustrates a system diagram depicting various components in a vehicle infotainment system 200, where speech recognition system 214, microphones 202, gesture recognition system 216, head position and gaze direction measurement system 218, physical input control interpreter 220, and touch sensitive display input interpreter 222 connect to an object of interest processor 224, which determines which object a user is interested in based on a combination of one or more of the input systems) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spiewla et al. ( US 20180357040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Spiewla, in view of Coon et al. (US 20090055178 A1), hereinafter referenced as Coon . Regarding Claim 5, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0017], [0018],[0028], Figs. 1, 3, vehicle 10 is shown equipped with a microphone array 22 which receives audible voice commands from one or more passengers on board the vehicle 10 and the received voice commands are processed as inputs to the control system 20. The zone-based control system 20 includes a beamforming routine 80 stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The beamforming routine 80 processes the audible signals received from the microphone array 22 and determines the location of a particular speaker within the vehicle) ; and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival ( Coon: Para.[0018], Fig. 1, based on the location of the person, personalized feature settings can be applied to systems and devices to accommodate passengers in each zone, such as temperature settings for HVAC). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 6, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0017], [0018],[0028], Figs. 1, 3, vehicle 10 is shown equipped with a microphone array 22 which receives audible voice commands from one or more passengers on board the vehicle 10 and the received voice commands are processed as inputs to the control system 20. The zone-based control system 20 includes a beamforming routine 80 stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The beamforming routine 80 processes the audible signals received from the microphone array 22 and determines the location of a particular speaker within the vehicle) ; and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival ( Coon: Para.[0016], [0018], Fig. 1, based on the location of the person, personalized feature settings can be applied to systems and devices to accommodate passengers in each zone. The driver 16A may select personalized settings related to the radio/entertainment system, the navigation system, the adjustable seat position, the adjustable steering wheel. The other passengers 16B-16D may also have access to systems and devices that may utilize personalized feature settings). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 7, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and select, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0017], [0018],[0028], Figs. 1, 3, vehicle 10 is shown equipped with a microphone array 22 which receives audible voice commands from one or more passengers on board the vehicle 10 and the received voice commands are processed as inputs to the control system 20. The zone-based control system 20 includes a beamforming routine 80 stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The beamforming routine 80 processes the audible signals received from the microphone array 22 and determines the location of a particular speaker within the vehicle) ; and select, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions ( Coon: Para.[0021], Fig. 1, during a speech recognition cycle, the location and identification of a passenger speaking allows a single recognizer system to be used to control functions in that particular zone of the vehicle 10. For example, given a dual rear seat entertainment system, each user can use the same recognizer system to control his or her system or device without requiring a separate identification of his or her location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 8, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0030], Figs. 1, 3, biometric signatures 90 are stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The biometric signatures may be used to identify signatures assigned to each location within the vehicle which indicate the identity of the person at that location. During system usage, an appropriate microphone beam can be selected for the person speaking based on his or her location in the vehicle as determined by his or her biometric signature); and select the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 9, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0030], Figs. 1, 3, biometric signatures 90 are stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The biometric signatures may be used to identify signatures assigned to each location within the vehicle which indicate the identity of the person at that location. During system usage, an appropriate microphone beam can be selected for the person speaking based on his or her location in the vehicle as determined by his or her biometric signature); and select a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle. Para.[0019], a passenger in the vehicle may be identified by the inputting of the passenger's name which can make use of differentiation for security and personalization. For example, a passenger may announce by name that he is the driver of the vehicle, such that optimized voice models and personalization preferences, etc. may be employed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 10, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and select, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions. However, Coon does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to: determine, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0030], Figs. 1, 3, biometric signatures 90 are stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The biometric signatures may be used to identify signatures assigned to each location within the vehicle which indicate the identity of the person at that location. During system usage, an appropriate microphone beam can be selected for the person speaking based on his or her location in the vehicle as determined by his or her biometric signature); and select, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle. Para.[0021], Fig.1, during a speech recognition cycle, the location and identification of a passenger speaking allows a single recognizer system to be used to control functions in that particular zone of the vehicle 10. For example, a user may speak a voice speed dial, such as "Call Mary Smith." Based on the user's identity as determined by the speaker identification software and assigned to that user's location, the recognizer system will select and call the phone number from the correct user's personalized list). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 17, Spiewla teach the method of claim 13. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, further comprising: determining, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands; and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival; selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival; or selecting, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions. However, Coon does teach the claimed, further comprising: determining, based on performing direction-of-arrival detection or microphone- beamforming on audio signals of the one or more voice commands, a detected direction of arrival of the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0017], [0018],[0028], Figs. 1, 3, vehicle 10 is shown equipped with a microphone array 22 which receives audible voice commands from one or more passengers on board the vehicle 10 and the received voice commands are processed as inputs to the control system 20. The zone-based control system 20 includes a beamforming routine 80 stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The beamforming routine 80 processes the audible signals received from the microphone array 22 and determines the location of a particular speaker within the vehicle) ; and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the detected direction of arrival ( Coon: Para.[0018], Fig. 1, based on the location of the person, personalized feature settings can be applied to systems and devices to accommodate passengers in each zone, such as temperature settings for HVAC); selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the detected direction of arrival ( Coon: Para.[0016], [0018], Fig. 1, based on the location of the person, personalized feature settings can be applied to systems and devices to accommodate passengers in each zone. The driver 16A may select personalized settings related to the radio/entertainment system, the navigation system, the adjustable seat position, the adjustable steering wheel. The other passengers 16B-16D may also have access to systems and devices that may utilize personalized feature settings); or selecting, based on the detected direction of arrival, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions ( Coon: Para.[0021], Fig. 1, during a speech recognition cycle, the location and identification of a passenger speaking allows a single recognizer system to be used to control functions in that particular zone of the vehicle 10. For example, given a dual rear seat entertainment system, each user can use the same recognizer system to control his or her system or device without requiring a separate identification of his or her location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]). Regarding Claim 18, Spiewla teach the method of claim 13. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, further comprising: determining, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands; or selecting, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions. However, Coon does teach the claimed, further comprising: determining, based on performing biometric voice identification, a person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0030], Figs. 1, 3, biometric signatures 90 are stored in memory 30 and executed by microprocessor 26. The biometric signatures may be used to identify signatures assigned to each location within the vehicle which indicate the identity of the person at that location. During system usage, an appropriate microphone beam can be selected for the person speaking based on his or her location in the vehicle as determined by his or her biometric signature); and one or more of: selecting the one or more functions as a direction-specific function based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle); selecting a privilege level for the one or more functions based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle. Para.[0019], a passenger in the vehicle may be identified by the inputting of the passenger's name which can make use of differentiation for security and personalization. For example, a passenger may announce by name that he is the driver of the vehicle, such that optimized voice models and personalization preferences, etc. may be employed); or selecting, based on the person identified as speaking the one or more voice commands, the one or more haptic control devices from multiple haptic control devices for assignment of the one or more functions ( Coon: Para.[0032], Fig. 5, The active mode zone-based control routine 200 processes the identity and location of a user speaking commands in addition to processing the recognized speech commands. Control routine 200 further controls personalization feature settings for one or more features on board the vehicle. Para.[0021], Fig.1, during a speech recognition cycle, the location and identification of a passenger speaking allows a single recognizer system to be used to control functions in that particular zone of the vehicle 10. For example, a user may speak a voice speed dial, such as "Call Mary Smith." Based on the user's identity as determined by the speaker identification software and assigned to that user's location, the recognizer system will select and call the phone number from the correct user's personalized list). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Coon’s teaching of system and method for controlling personalized settings in a vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by using multiple microphones or steerable arrays, multiple users are able to control feature functions on board the vehicle which would enhance user’s experience.(Coon, Para.[0003],[0004]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spiewla et al. ( US 20180357040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Spiewla, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200189501 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim . Regarding Claim 11, Spiewla teach the VCHI of claim 1. Spiewla fails to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to translate the one or more voice commands from a first language to a second language to determine the requested MC operation. However, Kim does teach the claimed, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the VCHI to translate the one or more voice commands from a first language to a second language to determine the requested MC operation ( Kim: Para.[0063], [0066], Fig. 1, an artificial intelligence service performed by the content service provider system server 300 and the smart speaker 400 is roughly divided into 13 basic functions, one of them is foreign language translation, which provides a function for receiving and automatically translating a foreign language into a language used by a user. The artificial intelligence algorithm may provide simultaneous translation when a user talks with a foreigner). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s teaching of a voice recognition function link control system of a vehicle which is configured for mounting a smart speaker used in the home or office in the vehicle , into the system and method of an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system which control numerous functions within a car, taught by Spiewla, because, by utilizing the smart speaker in linkage and artificial intelligence algorithm, with an infotainment system of the vehicle, several functions such as real time translation can be done efficiently .(Kim, Para.[0064]-[0068]). Conclusion Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 20170293361 A1) teaches methods and an electronic device for providing visual and haptic feedback . At least one first touch made to an object displayed on a touch screen is detected. The object is transformed and displayed in response to movement of the first touch. At least one second touch made to the displayed object is detected. Visual feedback is displayed on the touch screen in response to the second touch, and haptic feedback corresponding to a predetermined haptic pattern is output using a vibration motor. Li et al. (CN 114461063 A) teaches a human-computer interaction method based on vehicle-mounted screen, comprising: setting a man-machine interactive vehicle display screen; setting multiple interactive systems; the interactive operation mode of each interactive system is different; the operation mode of each interactive system is displayed in different areas of the vehicular display screen; when the vehicle-mounted collecting device collects the input information of the driver, and transmitting the input information to all the interactive system, determining the corresponding interactive system, in the human-computer interaction process, the corresponding area of the vehicle-mounted display screen display operation guide; The driver performs the corresponding operation according to the displayed operation guide to realize the human-computer interaction. Moussette et al. (US 11735014 B2) teaches a n electronic device which displays a first user interface that includes a plurality of icons of a first type and at least one icon of a second type. While a focus selector is on a first icon of the first type, the device detects movement of a contact in a drag gesture, and, in response, moves the first icon across the display. In accordance with a determination that the first icon moves over one or more other icons of the first type during the drag gesture, the device outputs one or more tactile outputs of a first type. In accordance with a determination that the drag gesture moves the first icon over an icon of the second type at the end of the drag gesture, the device displays a second user interface that corresponds to the icon of the second type and outputs a tactile output of a second type. Michaelis et al. ( US 20120268294 A1) teaches a method for inputting and outputting data for a communication device in a vehicle which includes receiving an abstract input or output method for inputting data into and outputting data out of a communication application arrangement APP from a communication application arrangement APP of the communication device, selecting at least one physical I/O unit depending on at least one type of a requested abstract I/O method, an addressed HMI endpoint user, a vehicle state , a driving state and/or an environmental condition, and outputting data of the abstract I/O method through the selected physical I/O unit and/or receiving input data of the physical I/O unit, and converting the input data into an abstract input method for inputting the abstract input method into the communication application means APP. A human machine interface unit and a communication device including the human machine interface unit for performing the I/O method are also disclosed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NADIRA SULTANA whose telephone number is (571)272-4048. The examiner can normally be reached M-F,7:30 am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paras D. Shah can be reached on (571) 270-1650. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NADIRA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 2 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 3 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 4 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 5 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 6 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 7 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 8 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 9 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 10 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 11 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 12 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 14 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 15 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 16 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 17 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 18 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 19 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 20 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 21 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 22 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 23 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 24 Art Unit: 2653 Application/Control Number: 18/974,461 Page 25 Art Unit: 2653