CTNF 18/974,484 CTNF 87263 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1 – 14 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Notification of invoking - 35 USC § 112(f) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. Claims 1 – 12 are invoking 112(f) interpretation for reciting limitations such as “a communication unit” “a power reception unit” “a control unit” “a detection unit “a charging unit”, has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “communicates, receives, performs, displays, detects, determines” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-19 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification paragraphs 27,28,33-42 for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation. Thus, the above invoking 112(f) terms “a communication unit” “a power reception unit” “a control unit” “a detection unit “a charging unit” will be interpreted according to the structure definition provided in paragraphs 27,28,33-42. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications , 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 – 4 and 9-14 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn US 20140103862 A1. Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses an electronic apparatus [Figs. 2-4] comprising: a first power reception port [power port 204] ; a second power reception port [power port 202] ; and at least one processor that causes the electronic apparatus to function as: a communication unit that, when a first power supply apparatus is connected to the first power reception port, communicates with the first power supply apparatus, and when a second power supply apparatus is connected to the second power reception port, communicates with the second power supply apparatus [0020: Charging device 100 includes a first charging port 202 and a second charging port 204. According to one exemplary embodiment, first charging port 202 may comprise a USB charging port and second charging port 204 may include a DC charging port] [0021-0022] [0028-0030] ; a power reception unit that receives power supplied from the first power supply apparatus via the first power reception port and receives power supplied from the second power supply apparatus via the second power reception port [0020: Charging device 100 includes a first charging port 202 and a second charging port 204. According to one exemplary embodiment, first charging port 202 may comprise a USB charging port and second charging port 204 may include a DC charging port] [0021-0022] [0028-0030] ; and a control unit that performs control to, when the power reception unit receives power from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port and does not receive power from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port, stop power reception from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port and start power reception from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port in response to receiving an instruction from a user to select the second power reception port [0029: a user may switch from a DC power source (i.e., coupled to charging port 204) to a USB power source (i.e., coupled to charging port 202). In this example, the DC power source may supply a voltage of substantially 10 volts on a node E and the USB power source may supply a voltage of substantially 5 volts on node D. Therefore, prior to decoupling the DC power source from charging port 204, node A may have a voltage of substantially 10 volts. Upon decoupling a DC power source from charging port 204 and coupling a USB power source to charging port 202, a voltage at node A is compared to a voltage at node D. So long as a voltage at node A is above a threshold (e.g., so long as the voltage at node A is greater than the voltage at node D), charging port 202 is electrically isolated from node A] [0020-0022] [0028-0030] . Regarding claim 2, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when power suppliable by the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port is smaller than a predetermined power, the control unit performs control not to stop power reception from the first power supply apparatus and not to start power reception from the second power supply apparatus according to the instruction [0017, 0028-0030: threshold]. Regarding claim 3, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein when power suppliable by the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port is smaller than the predetermined power, the control unit notifies a user that change of a power reception port cannot be made [0017, 0028-0030: threshold]. Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when power suppliable by the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port is smaller than power suppliable by the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port, the control unit makes a notification for inquiring a user whether or not to change to the second power reception port in response to the instruction, and stops the power reception from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port and starts the power reception from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port in response to receiving an instruction to change from the user [0020-0022, 0028-0030: change power supply based on instruction from the user]. Regarding claim 9, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit decides power to be requested from the first power supply apparatus according to a communication with the first power supply apparatus by the communication unit, requests a power supply from the first power supply apparatus via the communication unit, decides power to be requested from the second power supply apparatus according to a communication with the second power supply apparatus by the communication unit, and requests a power supply from the second power supply apparatus via the communication unit [0020-0022, 0028-0030: switching to second power supply]. Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the electronic apparatus can operate using power from a battery connected to the electronic apparatus [0020-0022. 0028-0030: DC power source]. Regarding claim 11, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor further causes the electronic apparatus to function as: a charging unit that charges the battery with the power received by the power reception unit [0020-0022] [0028-0030]. Regarding claim 12, Ahn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first power reception port and the second power reception port respectively includes interface conforming to a USB Type-C standard, and the electronic apparatus is an apparatus conforming to a universal serial bus (USB) power delivery (PD) standard [0020-0022] [0028-0030]. Regarding claim 13, this claim is directed to a method claim for performing the steps in the apparatus claim as set forth in claim 1. Thus, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 14, this claim is directed to a non-transitory claim for performing the steps in the apparatus claim as set forth in claim 1. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn US 20140103862 A1 and in view of Yong US 20200184921 A1 . Regarding claim 5, Ahn does not disclose wherein the control unit displays a first icon indicating the first power reception port and a second icon indicating the second power reception port, and performs control to display each of the first icon and the second icon by any display mode including a first display mode indicating that power is being received from a power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port or the second power reception port, a second display mode indicating that power is receivable although power is not being received from the power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port or the second power reception port, and a third display mode indicating that power cannot be received via the first power reception port or the second power reception port. Yong discloses the control unit displays a first icon indicating the first power reception port and a second icon indicating the second power reception port, and performs control to display each of the first icon and the second icon by any display mode including a first display mode indicating that power is being received from a power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port or the second power reception port, a second display mode indicating that power is receivable although power is not being received from the power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port or the second power reception port, and a third display mode indicating that power cannot be received via the first power reception port or the second power reception port [0026-0029: the options 1, 2, and 3, are separately programmable with a menu supported by the operating system driver and presented at the display]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn and Yong together because they both directed to charge the device using different ports. Yong’s disclosing of presenting the user options via a display to indicate charging the capability of charging ports would allow Ahn to increase user convenient by allowing the user to selectively charge the device based on the port selection and identify which power port cannot provide the charging power. Regarding claim 6, Yong discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor further causes the electronic apparatus to function as: a detection unit that detects a touch operation on the first icon or the second icon; wherein the control unit determines that the instruction has been received when the detection unit detects a touch operation on the second icon displayed in the second display mode [0026-0029: the options 1, 2, and 3, are separately programmable with a menu supported by the operating system driver and presented at the display] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn US 20140103862 A1 and in view of Yong US 20200184921 A1 and in further view of Ricci (US Publication US 20170136894 A1 . Regarding claim 7, Ahn and Yong do not disclose wherein the control unit determines whether or not power can be received from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the first power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the first power supply apparatus and displays the first icon in the third display mode when power cannot be received from the first power supply apparatus, and determines whether or not power can be received from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the second power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the second power supply apparatus and displays the second icon in the third display mode when power cannot be received from the second power supply apparatus. Ricci discloses wherein the control unit determines whether or not power can be received from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the first power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the first power supply apparatus and displays the first icon in the third display mode when power cannot be received from the first power supply apparatus, and determines whether or not power can be received from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the second power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the second power supply apparatus and displays the second icon in the third display mode when power cannot be received from the second power supply apparatus [0171: display of available power sources based on the determined charge requirement and power source capabilities] [0170-0171][0233]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn, Yong and Ricci together because they directed to charge the device using different ports. Ricci’s disclosing displaying the capability of the available power sources would allow Ahn in view of Yong to increase user convenient by providing the user the indication which charging port(s) is/are available to charge the device. Regarding claim 8, Ricci discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the control unit determines whether or not power can be received from the first power supply apparatus connected to the first power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the first power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the first power supply apparatus and displays the first icon in the second display mode when power can be received from the first power supply apparatus but power is not being received from the first power supply apparatus, and determines whether or not power can be received from the second power supply apparatus connected to the second power reception port based on information about power supply capability of the second power supply apparatus received by the communication unit from the first power supply apparatus and displays the second icon in the second display mode when power can be received from the second power supply apparatus but power is not being received from the second power supply apparatus [0171: display of available power sources based on the determined charge requirement and power source capabilities] [0170-0171][0233]. Conclusion Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner (see MPEP § 2123). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHIL K NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3356. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30 a.m - 5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jaweed Abbaszadeh can be reached at (571)270-1640. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHIL K NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 2 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 3 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 4 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 5 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 6 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 7 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 8 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 9 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 10 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 11 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/974,484 Page 12 Art Unit: 2176