DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 27, 29, 36 and 37 are objected to. Claims 21-39 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 8/3/2026, have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 29 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant indicates claims 29 and 38 are amended to overcome the rejection. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 21, 28, 30 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2021/0014681), hereinafter Pang in view of Kumar et al. (US 2019/0058586), hereinafter Kumar.
Applicant refers to Kumar’s cited paragraphs [0019] and [0046] and argues Kumar discloses a device onboarding process begins in response to user command, thus neither Kumar, nor Pang, nor the combination teaches or suggest at least “when the IoT device is activated within range of the IoT network, automatically permitting connection of the IoT device to the IoT network” as required by claim 21. The examiner respectfully disagrees and finds the argument unpersuasive.
Paragraphs [0019] and [0046] of Kumar respectively discloses the following “According to an aspect of the disclosure, embodiments disclosed herein provide a system for automatically onboarding at least one IoT device in proximity to an electronic device in an IoT network using a key source, wherein the at least one IoT device, the key source and the electronic device are configured to determine an encryption key at the electronic device based on a first communication between the key source and the electronic device, determine a decryption key at the at least one IoT device based on a second communication between the key source and the at least one IoT device, wherein at least one portion of the encryption key is symmetric to at least one portion of the decryption key, transmit an auto-onboard configuration encrypted using the encryption key from the electronic device to the at least one IoT device, decrypt the encrypted auto-onboard configuration using the decryption key and onboard the at least one IoT device in the IoT network by automatically configuring the auto-onboard configuration at the at least one IoT device.” “Embodiments disclosed herein provide a method for automatically onboarding IoT devices in an IoT network. The method includes detecting by the electronic device a voice command to automatically onboard at least one IoT device proximal to the electronic device. An encryption or a symmetric key based on the voice command is generated by the electronic device. The auto-onboard configuration is encrypted using the generated encryption or symmetric key and upon encryption, the auto-onboard configuration is further shared by the electronic device to the at least one IoT device to automatically onboard the at least one IoT device in the IoT network.”
The cited paragraphs disclose a system and method performed by an electronic device to automatically onboard an IoT device in proximity to the electronic device in an IoT network. Kumar also discloses the IoT device receives encrypted configuration and decrypts the configuration received from the electronic device. The acts of receiving an encrypted auto-onboard configuration and decrypting the auto-onboard configuration are evidences indicating that the IoT device is activated prior to being automatically onboarded the IoT network. Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, Kumar still teaches the limitations “when an device is activated within range of an network, automatically permitting connection of the IoT device to the network.” And the combination of Pang and Kumar teaches each and every limitation recited in claim 21.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Dependent Claims 22-26, 30-35 and 37
Applicant argues these claims based on the arguments presented to their parent claim(s). Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, therefore, the rejection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 28, 30 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2021/0014681), hereinafter Pang in view of Kumar et al. (US 2019/0058586), hereinafter Kumar.
As for claim 21, Pang teaches a method for creating an IoT network, comprising:
receiving at a computing component associated with an IoT network, configuration data for an IoT device prior to the IoT device being activated (paragraphs [0018] and [0021] describe technique for onboarding a wireless device (see paragraph [0022] for additional information about the wireless device) that has not undergone an onboarding process, e.g. the wireless device has not been initially registered or authorized with a cloud computing platform, and thus may not be configured initially to operate using services of the cloud computing platform. Onboarding the device refers to the process in which a device establishes a connection to a network for the first time; paragraphs [0032] and [0034] describe a user devices scans/captures static and identifying information of a wireless device);
preconfiguring, using the computing component, the IoT device to the IoT network using the configuration data prior to the IoT device attempting to connect to the IoT network (paragraph [0023] describes the user device is used to aid in onboarding the wireless device, the user device includes an onboarding component which performs device onboarding via a connection secured with credentials; Figs. 3, 5 and 6; paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0034]-[0041] describe the user device’s component, application and sensor devices are used to scan/capture static information associated with the wireless device to determine which algorithm(s) the wireless device is configured to use for device onboarding. The captured set of information are used as inputs into the selected algorithm(s) to secure a connection used for device onboarding of the wireless device. The user device’s application initiates and participates in an authentication and/or association procedure with the wireless device’s application, based on the set of credentials. Once the wireless device’s application is successfully authenticated and/or associated, the application can connect to (or access) the cloud platform’s management server to complete configuration for device onboarding);
wherein the IoT device is a device and the IoT network is a network (paragraphs [0021]-[0022] describe the wireless device is representative of various types of devices and the network).
Pang fails to teach
wherein an activate is performed within range of a network;
when an device is activated within range of an network, automatically permitting connection of the IoT device to the network.
Kumar discloses
wherein an activate is performed within range of a network (paragraph [0019] describes a system for automatically onboarding an IoT device in proximity to an electronic device in an IoT network);
when an device is activated within range of an network, automatically permitting connection of the IoT device to the network (paragraph [0046] describes a method for automatically onboarding an IoT device in proximity to an electronic device in an IoT network using a key source. The electronic device transmits an auto-onboard configuration to the IoT device to automatically onboard the IoT network).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumar for onboarding an IoT device automatically. The teachings of Kumar, when implemented in the Pang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to eliminate manual intervention of a user while attempting to onboard a device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumar in the Pang system in order to enable bulk onboarding of IoT devices in the IoT network which eliminates manual intervention (Kumar: paragraph [0045]).
As for claim 28, the combined system of Pang and Kumar teaches the receiving configuration data comprising:
receiving, from a client device remotely located from the IoT network, the configuration data generated in response to the client device scanning an identifier of the IoT device (Pang: Fig. 3 paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0037] describe a user device scans/captures identifying information available to a user of the wireless device, e.g. a MAC address, a serial number, a release number of the wireless device, these identifying information is static information; paragraphs [0041] and [0046] describes the user device and the wireless device employ any authentication/association procedure. Once the wireless device is successfully authenticated, the user device sends an indication of a device authenticated event to the management server);
As for claim 30, Pang teaches a device for managing an IoT network (Fig. 7, paragraph [0054] describes a computing system configured to perform device onboarding), comprising:
a processor and memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, control the device to (Fig. 7, CPU 705; Memory 720; paragraph [0054] describes a CPU and a memory; paragraph [0055] describes the CPU retrieves and executes programming instructions stored in the memory:
receive configuration data for an IoT device prior to the IoT device being activated (paragraphs [0018] and [0021] describe technique for onboarding a wireless device (see paragraph [0022] for additional information about the wireless device) that has not undergone an onboarding process, e.g. the wireless device has not been initially registered or authorized with a cloud computing platform, and thus may not be configured initially to operate using services of the cloud computing platform. Onboarding the device refers to the process in which a device establishes a connection to a network for the first time; paragraphs [0032] and [0034] describe a user devices scans/captures static and identifying information of a wireless device);
preconfigure the IoT device to the IoT network using the configuration data prior to the IoT device attempting to connect to the IoT network (paragraph [0023] describes the user device is used to aid in onboarding the wireless device, the user device includes an onboarding component which performs device onboarding via a connection secured with credentials; Figs. 3, 5 and 6; paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0034]-[0041] describe the user device’s component, application and sensor devices are used to scan/capture static information associated with the wireless device to determine which algorithm(s) the wireless device is configured to use for device onboarding. The captured set of information are used as inputs into the selected algorithm(s) to secure a connection used for device onboarding of the wireless device. The user device’s application initiates and participates in an authentication and/or association procedure with the wireless device’s application, based on the set of credentials. Once the wireless device’s application is successfully authenticated and/or associated, the application can connect to (or access) the cloud platform’s management server to complete configuration for device onboarding);
wherein the IoT device is a device and the IoT network is a network (paragraphs [0021]-[0022] describe the wireless device is representative of various types of devices and the network).
Pang fails to teach
wherein an activate is being performed within range of a network;
wherein, when an device is activated within range of the network, the device is automatically permitted connection to the network.
Kumar discloses
wherein an activate is performed within range of a network (paragraph [0019] describes a system for automatically onboarding an IoT device in proximity to an electronic device in an IoT network);
when an device is activated within range of an network, automatically permitting connection of the IoT device to the network (paragraph [0046] describes a method for automatically onboarding an IoT device in proximity to an electronic device in an IoT network using a key source. The electronic device transmits an auto-onboard configuration to the IoT device to automatically onboard the IoT network).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumar for onboarding an IoT device automatically. The teachings of Kumar, when implemented in the Pang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to eliminate manual intervention of a user while attempting to onboard a device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumar in the Pang system in order to enable bulk onboarding of IoT devices in the IoT network which eliminates manual intervention (Kumar: paragraph [0045]).
As for claim 37, the combined system of Pang and Kumar teaches the receive the configuration data comprising receive, from a client device remotely located from the IoT network, the configuration data generated in response to the client device scanning an identifier of the IoT device (Pang: Fig. 3 paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0037] describe a user device scans/captures identifying information available to a user of the wireless device, e.g. a MAC address, a serial number, a release number of the wireless device, these identifying information is static information; paragraphs [0041] and [0046] describes the user device and the wireless device employ any authentication/association procedure. Once the wireless device is successfully authenticated, the user device sends an indication of a device authenticated event to the management server).
Claims 22, 24, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (US 2021/0014681) in view of Kumar (US 2019/0058586) further in view of Kaplan et al. (US 2023/0025898), hereinafter Kaplan.
As for claim 22, Pang and Kumar fails to teach defining a jurisdiction within an IoT network defining an authorization model including allowed activities performable by a plurality of IoT devices connected to the IoT network.
Kaplan discloses
defining a jurisdiction within an IoT network defining an authorization model including allowed activities performable by a plurality of IoT devices connected to the IoT network (paragraphs [0111]-[0112] describes a Wi-Fi network connects to a cloud service which is utilized for configuration, monitoring, and reporting of the Wi-Fi networks in the homes or other locations; paragraph [0115]-[0121] describe a number of access zones are created to manage access privileges of connecting devices. A table shows the relationship between devices in each access zone. For example, Guest connected device on different passwords may see each other, but they only have permission to see certain devices on the Home access zone controlled by the user. Devices connected to the Internet Only network are completely blocked from anything other than Internet access; paragraphs [0123] and [0127] describe objects models for supporting access zones. These models can be hosted/managed by the cloud-based controller).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kaplan for creating a number of access zones in a Wi-Fi network. The teachings of Kaplan, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to restrict access privileges of connecting devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kaplan in the Pang and Kumar system in order to block illegal traffic at the first opportunity. Otherwise, illegal traffic would have to be carried through the network to a centralized gateway before the traffic would be identified as illegal and dropped (Kaplan: paragraph [0142]).
As for claim 24, the combined system of Pang, Kumar and Kaplan teaches receiving data that grants the IoT device a managerial role in the jurisdiction (Kaplan: paragraphs [0046]-[0047] describe the controlled access includes multiple zones with access privileges, each zone may have a unique SSID; paragraph [0127] describes the cloud-based controller can communicate and initialize the Wi-Fi network upon startup including providing the SSID, keys, and configuration information; paragraphs [0129]-[0130] describe the owner provides the new key and the SSID to a guest user. The guest user device connects to the Wi-Fi network using the new key which determines the access zone of the guest user device; paragraphs [0116]-[0120] describe different access zones and each zone provides the client with respective access privilege, for example client of a Guest access zone can access the Internet, use a printer); and
granting the IoT device the managerial role in the jurisdiction (paragraphs [0116]-[0120] describe a client in each access zone is assigned with respective access privilege).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kaplan for creating a number of access zones in a Wi-Fi network. The teachings of Kaplan, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to restrict access privileges of connecting devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kaplan in the Pang and Kumar system in order to block illegal traffic at the first opportunity. Otherwise, illegal traffic would have to be carried through the network to a centralized gateway before the traffic would be identified as illegal and dropped (Kaplan: paragraph [0142]).
As for claim 31, the combined system of Pang and Kumar teaches the memory further storing data (Pang: paragraph [0055] describes the memory stores application data).
The combined system of Pang and Kumar fails to teach
wherein stored data defining a jurisdiction within the IoT network defining an authorization model including allowed activities performable by a plurality of IoT devices connected to the IoT network.
Kaplan discloses
wherein stored data defining a jurisdiction within the IoT network defining an authorization model including allowed activities performable by a plurality of IoT devices connected to the IoT network (paragraphs [0111]-[0112] describes a Wi-Fi network connects to a cloud service which is utilized for configuration, monitoring, and reporting of the Wi-Fi networks in the homes or other locations; paragraph [0115]-[0121] describe a number of access zones are created to manage access privileges of connecting devices. A table shows the relationship between devices in each access zone. For example, Guest connected device on different passwords may see each other, but they only have permission to see certain devices on the Home access zone controlled by the user. Devices connected to the Internet Only network are completely blocked from anything other than Internet access; paragraphs [0123] and [0127] describe objects models for supporting access zones. These models can be hosted/managed by the cloud-based controller).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kaplan for creating a number of access zones in a Wi-Fi network. The teachings of Kaplan, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to restrict access privileges of connecting devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kaplan in the Pang and Kumar system in order to block illegal traffic at the first opportunity. Otherwise, illegal traffic would have to be carried through the network to a centralized gateway before the traffic would be identified as illegal and dropped (Kaplan: paragraph [0142]).
As for claim 33, the combined system of Pang, Kumar and Kaplan teaches the instructions further causing the device to: receive data that grants the IoT device a managerial role in the jurisdiction (Kaplan: paragraphs [0046]-[0047] describe the controlled access includes multiple zones with access privileges, each zone may have a unique SSID; paragraph [0127] describes the cloud-based controller can communicate and initialize the Wi-Fi network upon startup including providing the SSID, keys, and configuration information; paragraphs [0129]-[0130] describe the owner provides the new key and the SSID to a guest user. The guest user device connects to the Wi-Fi network using the new key which determines the access zone of the guest user device; paragraphs [0116]-[0120] describe different access zones and each zone provides the client with respective access privilege, for example client of a Guest access zone can access the Internet, use a printer); and
grant the IoT device the managerial role in the jurisdiction (paragraphs [0116]-[0120] describe a client in each access zone is assigned with respective access privilege).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kaplan for creating a number of access zones in a Wi-Fi network. The teachings of Kaplan, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to restrict access privileges of connecting devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kaplan in the Pang and Kumar system in order to block illegal traffic at the first opportunity. Otherwise, illegal traffic would have to be carried through the network to a centralized gateway before the traffic would be identified as illegal and dropped (Kaplan: paragraph [0142]).
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (US 2021/0014681) in view of Kumar (US 2019/0058586) further in view of Kaplan (US 2023/0025898) and further in view of Varizani et al. (US 2019/0035242), hereinafter Varizani.
As for claim 23, the combined system of Pang, Kumar and Kaplan fails to teach the preconfiguring the IoT device to the IoT network comprising operation (Pang: paragraphs [0018] and [0021] describe technique for onboarding a wireless device that has not undergone an onboarding process; paragraphs [0049]-[0052] describe the computing device performs operations to generate credentials used to secure a connection for onboarding a wireless device).
The combined system of Pang, Gideon and Kaplan fails to teach
wherein an operation includes adding an IoT device to an authorization model.
Varizani discloses
wherein an operation includes adding an IoT device to an authorization model (paragraph [0069] describes the monitoring device adds the unregistered device to a list of approved devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Varizani for adding an unregistered device to a list of approved devices. The teachings of Varizani, when implemented in the Pang, Kumar and Kaplan system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Varizani in the Pang, Kumar and Kaplan system in order to prevent an unregistered device illegal access of a network.
As for claim 32, the combined system of Pang, Kumar and Kaplan teaches the preconfigure an IoT device to the IoT network comprising operation (Pang: paragraph [0034] describes operations).
The combined system of Pang, Kumar and Kaplan fails to teach wherein an operation includes adding an IoT device to an authorization model.
Varizani discloses
wherein an operation includes adding an IoT device to an authorization model (paragraph [0069] describes the monitoring device adds the unregistered device to a list of approved devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Varizani for adding an unregistered device to a list of approved devices. The teachings of Varizani, when implemented in the Pang, Kumar and Kaplan system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Varizani in the Pang, Kumar and Kaplan system in order to prevent an unregistered device illegal access of a network.
Claims 25 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (US 2021/0014681) in view of Kumar (US 2019/0058586) further in view of Castinado et al. (US 2017/0366422), hereinafter Castinado.
As for claim 25, the combined system of Pang and Kumar fails to teach registering the IoT device, by the computing component, to a manufacturer warranty based on the configuration data.
Castinado discloses
registering an IoT device, by a computing component, to a manufacturer warranty based on configuration data (paragraphs [0030] and [0076]-[0081] describe a process performed by a portal, the process stores preferences and triggers for a smart device, the preferences include a profile of data, the process communicates the required activation and implementation processes for the smart device to third parties, the process continues by identifying functional or material requirements for the smart device. The portal provides warranty registration and services. The portal transmits information necessary to register a warranty with the manufacturer of the product).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Castinado for registering a warranty with the manufacturer of smart devices. The teachings of Castinado, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to develop an automation of traditionally human intensive tasks. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Castinado in the Pang and Kumar system in order to allow for an owner of smart devices to be notified of the warranty status of the devices and initiate service of the devices covered by the warranty (Castinado: paragraph [0030]).
As for claim 34, the combined system of Pang and Kumar fails to teach the instructions further causing the device to register the IoT device to a manufacturer warranty based on the configuration data.
Castinado discloses
instructions further causing the device to register an IoT device to a manufacturer warranty based on configuration data (paragraphs [0030] and [0076]-[0081] describe a process performed by a portal, the process stores preferences and triggers for a smart device, the preferences include a profile of data, the process communicates the required activation and implementation processes for the smart device to third parties, the process continues by identifying functional or material requirements for the smart device. The portal provides warranty registration and services. The portal transmits information necessary to register a warranty with the manufacturer of the product; paragraph [0088] describes program code executed by a processor to perform function).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Castinado for registering a warranty with the manufacturer of smart devices. The teachings of Castinado, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to develop an automation of traditionally human intensive tasks. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Castinado in the Pang and Kumar system in order to allow for an owner of smart devices to be notified of the warranty status of the devices and initiate service of the devices covered by the warranty (Castinado: paragraph [0030]).
Claims 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (US 2021/0014681) in view of Kumar (US 2019/0058586) further in view of Behm et al. (US 2021/0099339), hereinafter Behm further in view of Conant et al. (US 2016/0066183), hereinafter Conant.
As for claim 26, the combined system of Pang and Kumar fails to teach the preconfiguring the IoT device to the IoT network comprising:
determining, based on a comparison between the configuration data and a configuration criteria for the IoT network, whether a compatibility threshold has been satisfied; and
adding, when the compatibility threshold has been satisfied, the IoT device to the IoT network.
Behm discloses
a preconfiguring an IoT device to a IoT network comprising (paragraph [0016]):
determining, based on a comparison between configuration data and a configuration criteria for the IoT network, whether a compatibility has been satisfied (paragraphs [0033]-[0037] describe an onboarding template for an Internet-connectible device (ICD) or an attestor device, the onboarding template is determined based on a template ID supplied by the onboarding request, the template represents a structured document that expresses directives for onboarding of Internet-connectible devices (ICDs), a template describes conditions by which the ICD can identify itself to a system, associates itself with a system group, and receives the configuration necessary to interact with a local network (e.g., using WiFi credentials). A template includes information related to proof and context of identity, account policy, and credentials/configuration. A method determines whether the PCI has been verified against any criteria indicated in the onboarding template, the verification includes checking that the form of the supplied PCI meets the expected form of PCI as expressed in the template. If both the form and content of the PCI are verified, then a device configuration for the ICD using the onboarding template is determined); and
adding, when the compatibility threshold has been satisfied, the IoT device to the IoT network (paragraphs [0036]-[0037] describe if both the form and content of the PCI are verified, then a device configuration for the ICD using the onboarding template is determined, the configuration is sent directly to the device or indirectly via an attestor device. A connection is established between the device and the IoT application. The device uses the provided configuration to contact the IoT application and establish the connection).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Behm for verifying a device’s proof and context of identify against criteria in an onboarding template. The teachings of Behm, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to allow joining of a device to a network. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Behm in the Pang and Kumar system in order to perform onboarding devices that are provided by different manufacturers to a remote system using a template which enables the creation of connections between various types of client devices and remote systems and the configuration of client devices in a simplified and standardized manner (Behm: paragraph [0013]).
The combined system of Pang, Kumar and Behm fails to teach a combability includes threshold.
Conant discloses a combability includes a threshold (paragraph [0155] describes a binding is completed if the matching or comparison of a local environment information of a wireless device with the local information of a computing device is within a predetermined threshold).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conant for creating a predetermined threshold. The teachings of Conant, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar and Behm system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a network device to obtain local network access with private network credentials. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conant in the Pang, Kumar and Behm system in order to verify credentials of a wireless device prior to allow the wireless device to obtain local network access.
As for claim 35, the combined system of Pang and Kumar teaches the instructions further causing the device to perform an operation (Pang: paragraph [0055] describes the CPU executes programming instructions stored in the memory to perform functions).
The combined system of Pang and Kumar fails to teach wherein an operation includes determine, based on a comparison between the configuration data and a configuration criteria for the IoT network, whether a compatibility threshold has been satisfied; and add, when the compatibility threshold has been satisfied, the IoT device to the IoT network.
Behm discloses
wherein an operation includes determine, based on a comparison between the configuration data and a configuration criteria for the IoT network, whether a compatibility threshold has been satisfied (paragraphs [0033]-[0037] describe an onboarding template for an Internet-connectible device (ICD) or an attestor device, the onboarding template is determined based on a template ID supplied by the onboarding request, the template represents a structured document that expresses directives for onboarding of Internet-connectible devices (ICDs), a template describes conditions by which the ICD can identify itself to a system, associates itself with a system group, and receives the configuration necessary to interact with a local network (e.g., using WiFi credentials). A template includes information related to proof and context of identity, account policy, and credentials/configuration. A method determines whether the PCI has been verified against any criteria indicated in the onboarding template, the verification includes checking that the form of the supplied PCI meets the expected form of PCI as expressed in the template. If both the form and content of the PCI are verified, then a device configuration for the ICD using the onboarding template is determined); and
add, when the compatibility threshold has been satisfied, the IoT device to the IoT network (paragraphs [0036]-[0037] describe if both the form and content of the PCI are verified, then a device configuration for the ICD using the onboarding template is determined, the configuration is sent directly to the device or indirectly via an attestor device. A connection is established between the device and the IoT application. The device uses the provided configuration to contact the IoT application and establish the connection).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Behm for verifying a device’s proof and context of identify against criteria in an onboarding template. The teachings of Behm, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to allow joining of a device to a network. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Behm in the Pang and Kumar system in order to perform onboarding devices that are provided by different manufacturers to a remote system using a template which enables the creation of connections between various types of client devices and remote systems and the configuration of client devices in a simplified and standardized manner (Behm: paragraph [0013]).
The combined system of Pang, Kumar and Behm fails to teach a combability includes threshold.
Conant discloses a combability includes a threshold (paragraph [0155] describes a binding is completed if the matching or comparison of a local environment information of a wireless device with the local information of a computing device is within a predetermined threshold).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conant for creating a predetermined threshold. The teachings of Conant, when implemented in the Pang and Kumar and Behm system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a network device to obtain local network access with private network credentials. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conant in the Pang, Kumar and Behm system in order to verify credentials of a wireless device prior to allow the wireless device to obtain local network access.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27, 29, 36 and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claim 27, the claim recited the limitations “The method of claim 26, further comprising:
determining at least one alternative IoT device that is compatible with the IoT network, in response to the compatibility threshold not being satisfied; and
prompting a notification, at a client device, that identifies the at least one alternative IoT device.”
Behm (US 2021/0099339) discloses a service uses a template to verify the identity of the device. The service includes a component for PCI verification which determines the provided PCI meets the expected form of PCI defined in the template. If the form of the PCI fails to satisfy the directives of the template, then the onboarding request is rejected. If the identity verification itself fails, then the onboarding request is rejected (see paragraph [0022]). Behm discusses about a failed verification, however Behm does not disclose determining one alternative IoT device that is compatible with the IoT network as claimed.
Claim 29 recites limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 27
Claim 36 recites similar limitations “The device of claim 35, the instructions further causing the device to: determine at least one alternative IoT device that is compatible with the IoT network, in response to the compatibility threshold not being satisfied; and prompt a notification, at a client device, that identifies the at least one alternative IoT device.”
Claim 38 recites similar limitations.
Prior art fails to teach the limitations recited in claims 27, 29, 36 and 38. Therefore, the claims are objected to allow.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hiller (US 2019/0116087) teaches configuration for IoT device setup
Story, JR. (US 2014/0165165) teaches device credentialing for network access
Conant et al. (US 2016/0066183) teach securing credential distribution.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/G. C. Neurauter, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459