DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07/29/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 8 and 14 have been amended and claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 101, are withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the statutory of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C.
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2021/0083883), in view of Walker (US 5,828,751) and further in view of Grichnik (US 2010/0050025).
Regarding claim 1, Dittmann discloses a method, comprising:
determining a physical measurement of the electronic device (Dittmann par. 0030; The proposed concept can ensure that IoT devices or sensors of such devices are calibrated and deliver reliable measurement values. Additionally, with the mentioned advantage. See also par. 0036);
comparing the determined physical measurement to a predefined range for the physical measurement of the electronic device (Dittmann par. 0052; An example system 200 for sensor calibration, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The system 200 can be related to a cold chain of, e.g., transported food, drugs, organs to be transplanted or, comparable temperature sensitive goods. For each case, it can be that the temperature of the transported goods can stay within a predefined value range and/or not going beyond a threshold temperature value); and
generating a digital certificate, wherein the digital certificate comprises the determined physical measurement, and to verify whether the electronic device is authentic (Dittmann abstract, 0004, 0030 and par. 0040; The method includes calibrating the sensor, generating a digital certificate, signing, by the sensor, a measurement value with its private key of a public/private key pair, and sending, by the sensor, the signed measurement value such that the sensor is identifiable via its public key and the related generated digital certificate. Additionally, with the mentioned advantage, it can also be ensured that a backend system can rely on the identity of the sensor. This can be achieved by the digital certificate with which the sensor can sign its measurement values. According to some embodiments, the method can also include receiving the sent signed measurement value by a backend system and verifying the identity of the sensor via the signature and the certified authority system. For this, the backend system can communicate with the trusted certifying system being in charge of certifying the authority system. This way, a double check can be performed in terms of the identity of the sensor, as well as the integrity of the measured transmitted data);
Dittmann teaches, generating a digital certificate, wherein the digital certificate comprises the determined physical measurement to be extracted from the digital certificate to verify whether the electronic device is authentic (Dittmann abstract and 0040). However, Dittmann does not explicitly disclose operating an electronic device under a set of conditions; wherein the physical measurement corresponds to operation of the electronic device under the set of conditions; wherein the determined physical measurement is to be extracted from the digital certificate and responsive to the determined physical measurement being within the predefined range generating a digital certificate.
However, in an analogous art, Walker teaches operating an electronic device under a set of conditions, wherein the physical measurement corresponds to operation of the electronic device under the set of conditions (Walker abstract and claim 166; The invention relates to methods and apparatuses for acquiring a physical measurement, and for creating a cryptographic certification of that measurement, such that its value and time can be verified by a party that was not necessarily present at the measurement. The certified measurement may also include corroborative information for associating the actual physical measurement process with the certified measurement. Such corroborative information may reflect the internal or external state of the measurement certification device. To receive a measurement signal representative of a physical parameter from the sensor, the representation of the time from the time generator, and a corroborative datum indicative of an operating condition of the device from the signal generator, said computing device producing a request for a certifiable measurement according to a predetermined schedule, to form an augmented measurement including the measurement signal. See col. 4; lines 15-24, col. 8; lines 22-33 and claim 167);
wherein the determined physical measurement is to be extracted from the digital certificate (Walker abstract and col.5; lines 49-65; A recipient of the certified measurement can determine its authenticity and/or integrity by performing cryptographic operations on the cleartext and/or ciphertext parts of the certified measurement. For example, in the case of a hashed measurement, the recipient can verify the measurement by recomputing the hash and comparing it with the received hash (the ciphertext part of the certified measurement). The hash could even be a keyed operation to provide greater security. Or, if the measurement was encrypted with the device private key, the recipient can use the corresponding device public key to decrypt and verify the measurement. The public key could either be obtained from a public database or distributed using digital certificates within the certified measurement. Alternatively, instead of public/private key pairs, the measurement certification device could use a symmetric key--either alone or in combination with public key cryptography).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann with the method and system of Walker, operating an electronic device under a set of conditions, wherein the physical measurement corresponds to operation of the electronic device under the set of conditions to provide users with a means for acquiring a physical measurement, and for creating a cryptographic certification of that measurement, such that its value and time can be verified by a party (Walker abstract).
Dittmann and Walker teach, generating a digital certificate, wherein the digital certificate comprises the determined physical measurement to be extracted from the digital certificate to verify whether the electronic device is authentic (Dittmann abstract and 0040) and the physical measurement corresponds to operation of the electronic device under the set of conditions (Walker abstract and claim 166). However, Dittmann and Walker do not explicitly disclose responsive to the determined physical measurement being within the predefined range generating a digital certificate.
However, in an analogous art, Grichnik teaches responsive to the determined physical measurement being within the predefined range generating a digital certificate (Grichnik par. 0149; Processor 202 may generate a calibration certificate for virtual sensor network 130 and/or corresponding calibration certificates for individual virtual sensor models 304 based on the documented measurement data, the performance information, the model data, and the measurement ranges and uncertainty data. See also par. 0137 and 0144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann and Walker with the method and system of Grichnik, wherein responsive to the determined physical measurement being within the predefined range generating a digital certificate to provide users with a means for creating one or more calibration certificates of the virtual sensor network including a plurality of virtual sensors (Grichnik abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the method of claim 1,
Dittmann further discloses wherein: the method further comprises generating, based on the determined physical measurement, a cryptographic key pair comprising a public key and a corresponding private key; and the digital certificate further comprises the public key (Dittmann abstract, 0004, 0030 and par. 0040; The method includes calibrating the sensor, generating a digital certificate, signing, by the sensor, a measurement value with its private key of a public/private key pair, and sending, by the sensor).
Regarding claim 3, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the method of claim 2,
Dittmann further discloses further comprising signing the digital certificate using the private key (Dittmann abstract and par. 0004; The method includes calibrating the sensor, generating a digital certificate, signing, by the sensor, a measurement value with its private key of a public/private key pair, and sending, by the sensor, the signed measurement value such that the sensor is identifiable via its public key and the related generated digital certificate).
Regarding claim 4, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the method of claim 1,
Dittmann further discloses wherein generating the digital certificate comprises a root of trust generating the digital certificate (Dittmann par. 0023; The term, “digital certificate,” can denote a code proving ownership of a certain identity. The certificate can include information about a specific key, information about the related identity of its owner (often called the subject), and a digital signature of an entity that has verified the certificate's content (often called the issuer). If a signature is valid, and the software examining the certificate trusts the issuer, then this software can use that key to communicate securely with the certificate's subject).
Regarding claim 7, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the method of claim 1,
Dittmann further discloses wherein: the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises a clock parameter of the electronic device; and determining the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises: sending data to the electronic device, and measuring a response time of the electronic device (Dittmann par. 0063; The neural network computational model (i.e., virtual sensor model 334) may be trained by using selected data records. The neural network computational model may be evaluated by predetermined criteria to determine whether the training is completed. The criteria may include desired ranges of accuracy, time, and/or number of training iterations).
Regarding claim 8; claim 8 is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 1. Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the system of claim 8,
Dittmann further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a temperature measurement from a temperature sensor; and adjusting the determined physical measurement based on the temperature measurement (Dittmann par. 0050; The sensor can include also another component: a sensory element. The sensory component can be used to measure raw data for temperature, humidity, an actual position (e.g., by a GPS [global positioning system], rotation, tilt, concentration of chemical or biochemical compositions). Other measurement options include also status information (binary), resistance, capacitance, distance, speed, acceleration and many more. The here proposed method and the related system is not limited to a specific type of measurement value).
Regarding claim 14, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the system of claim 8,
Dittmann further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a humidity measurement from a temperature sensor; and adjusting the determined physical measurement based on the humidity measurement (Dittmann par. 0050; The sensor can include also another component: a sensory element. The sensory component can be used to measure raw data for temperature, humidity, an actual position (e.g., by a GPS [global positioning system], rotation, tilt, concentration of chemical or biochemical compositions). Other measurement options include also status information (binary), resistance, capacitance, distance, speed, acceleration and many more. The here proposed method and the related system is not limited to a specific type of measurement value).
Claims 5-6 and 9-12 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2021/0083883), in view of Walker (US 5,828,751), in view of Grichnik (US 2010/0050025) and further in view of Hampel (US 2015/0260786).
Regarding claim 5, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the method of claim 1,
Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik failed to disclose but Hampel discloses wherein: the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises a power consumption of the electronic device; and determining the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises: setting a supply voltage of the electronic device to a predetermined value, and measuring the power consumption of the electronic device during execution of one or more electronic device operations (Hampel par. 0031 and 0033; In addition to the above described techniques which obtain power profile measurements by measuring voltages drops created by non-zero on-chip impedances, other techniques for power profile measurement can similarly be utilized. FIG. 4 schematically illustrates an example integrated circuit 100 operating in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. the voltage measurement units 120 may be employed to determine quiescent voltages at the corresponding nodes (functional units 110) representing steady-state voltages when no input signals are applied to the functional units. The quiescent point power profile may then be utilized for determining a differential power profile of the example integrated circuit 100, in response to the integrated circuit's performing a certain challenge function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises a power consumption of the electronic device; and determining the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises: setting a supply voltage of the electronic device to a predetermined value, and measuring the power consumption of the electronic device during execution of one or more electronic device operations to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Dittmann, Walker, Grichnik and Hampel disclose the method of claim 5,
Hampel further discloses wherein the one or more electronic device operations comprise at least one of: reading data from the electronic device; writing data to the electronic device; or deleting data from the electronic device (Hampel par. 0035; The power profile of the example integrated circuit 100 may be measured by the authenticating circuit in response to applying a certain challenge function to the functional units 110. The challenge function may comprise a plurality of operations to be performed by the functional units 110. In an illustrative example, the challenge function may comprise a plurality of memory read/write operations utilizing one or more pre-defined data patterns and one or more pre-defined address patterns, such as loading memory locations with certain data and then accessing the memory in a certain sequence that is related to the settings and locations of the voltage measurement circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises a power consumption of the electronic device; and determining the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises: setting a supply voltage of the electronic device to a predetermined value, and measuring the power consumption of the electronic device during execution of one or more electronic device operations to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the system of claim 8,
Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik failed to disclose but Hampel discloses wherein the electronic device comprises an integrated circuit (Hampel par. 0016; Examples of integrated circuits that may be authenticated using the methods described herein include, but are not limited to, memory devices (e.g., SRAM memory), devices implementing the functionality of external buses (e.g., an I.sup.2C bus), devices performing digital computation (e.g., cryptographic engines, or microprocessors executing a sequence of instructions) and other devices. See also par. 0003 and 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the electronic device comprises an integrated circuit to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik disclose the system of claim 8,
Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik failed to disclose but Hampel discloses wherein: a printed circuit board includes the electronic device; and the printed circuit board further includes a microcontroller in data communication with the electronic device (Hampel par. 0016; Examples of integrated circuits that may be authenticated using the methods described herein include, but are not limited to, memory devices (e.g., SRAM memory), devices implementing the functionality of external buses (e.g., an I.sup.2C bus), devices performing digital computation (e.g., cryptographic engines, or microprocessors executing a sequence of instructions) and other devices. See also par. 0003 and 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the electronic device comprises an integrated circuit to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Dittmann, Walker, Grichnik and Hampel disclose the system of claim 10,
Hampel further discloses wherein the microcontroller comprises the memory device and the processing device (Hampel par. 0016; Examples of integrated circuits that may be authenticated using the methods described herein include, but are not limited to, memory devices (e.g., SRAM memory), devices implementing the functionality of external buses (e.g., an I.sup.2C bus), devices performing digital computation (e.g., cryptographic engines, or microprocessors executing a sequence of instructions) and other devices. See also par. 00038 and 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the electronic device comprises an integrated circuit to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Dittmann, Walker, Grichnik and Hampel disclose the system of claim 10,
Hampel further discloses wherein the processing device performs the operations during each boot process of the microcontroller (Hampel par. 0016; Examples of integrated circuits that may be authenticated using the methods described herein include, but are not limited to, memory devices (e.g., SRAM memory), devices implementing the functionality of external buses (e.g., an I.sup.2C bus), devices performing digital computation (e.g., cryptographic engines, or microprocessors executing a sequence of instructions) and other devices. See also par. 00038 and 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Dittmann, Walker and Grichnik with the method and system of Hampel, wherein the electronic device comprises an integrated circuit to provide users with a means for authenticating integrated circuits comprising a plurality of voltage measurement units (Hampel abstract).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2021/0083883) and in view of Grichnik (US 2010/0050025).
Regarding claim 15; Dittmann discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations, comprising:
determining a first plurality of physical measurements of a printed circuit board, wherein each physical measurement of the first plurality of physical measurements corresponds to one of a plurality of electronic devices of the printed circuit board (Dittmann par. 0030 and 0081; the proposed concept can ensure that IoT devices or sensors of such devices are calibrated and deliver reliable measurement values. Additionally, with the mentioned advantage. Computer readable program instructions for carrying out operations of the present disclosure may be assembler instructions, instruction-set-architecture (ISA) instructions, machine instructions, machine dependent instructions, microcode, firmware instructions, state-setting data, configuration data for integrated circuitry. See also par. 0036);
obtaining a digital certificate corresponding to the printed circuit board, wherein the digital certificate comprises a second plurality of physical measurements (Dittmann abstract, 0004, 0030 and par. 0040; The method includes calibrating the sensor, generating a digital certificate, signing, by the sensor, a measurement value with its private key of a public/private key pair, and sending, by the sensor, the signed measurement value such that the sensor is identifiable via its public key and the related generated digital certificate. Additionally, with the mentioned advantage, it can also be ensured that a backend system can rely on the identity of the sensor. This can be achieved by the digital certificate with which the sensor can sign its measurement values. According to some embodiments, the method can also include receiving the sent signed measurement value by a backend system and verifying the identity of the sensor via the signature and the certified authority system. For this, the backend system can communicate with the trusted certifying system being in charge of certifying the authority system. This way, a double check can be performed in terms of the identity of the sensor, as well as the integrity of the measured transmitted data);
comparing the first plurality of physical measurements to a plurality of predefined ranges based on the second plurality of physical measurements (Dittmann par. 0052; An example system 200 for sensor calibration, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The system 200 can be related to a cold chain of, e.g., transported food, drugs, organs to be transplanted or, comparable temperature sensitive goods. For each case, it can be that the temperature of the transported goods can stay within a predefined value range and/or not going beyond a threshold temperature value).
Dittmann teaches, generating a digital certificate, wherein the digital certificate comprises the determined physical measurement to be extracted from the digital certificate to verify whether the electronic device is authentic (Dittmann abstract and 0040). However, Dittmann does not explicitly disclose responsive to each physical measurement of the first plurality of physical measurements being within the predefined range that corresponds to the physical measurement, authenticating the printed circuit board.
However, in an analogous art, Grichnik teaches responsive to each physical measurement of the first plurality of physical measurements being within the predefined range that corresponds to the physical measurement, authenticating the printed circuit board (Grichnik par. 0149; Processor 202 may generate a calibration certificate for virtual sensor network 130 and/or corresponding calibration certificates for individual virtual sensor models 304 based on the documented measurement data, the performance information, the model data, and the measurement ranges and uncertainty data. See also par. 0033, 0137 and 0144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Grichnik with the method and system of Grichnik, wherein responsive to each physical measurement of the first plurality of physical measurements being within the predefined range that corresponds to the physical measurement, authenticating the printed circuit board to provide users with a means for creating one or more calibration certificates of the virtual sensor network including a plurality of virtual sensors (Grichnik abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Dittmann and Grichnik disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Dittmann further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: deriving a cryptographic key from the first plurality of measurements; verifying the cryptographic key using a public key extracted from the digital certificate (Dittmann 0049; Sending, 108, by the sensor, the signed measurement value such that the sensor is identifiable—in particular by a third party/backend system—via its public key and the related generated digital certificate. Thereby, the digital certificate may not be sent together with a measurement value. It can also be retrieved from the certified authority or from another trusted system. Also, signing and sending a measurement value(s) can be delayed until a certain number of measurement values have been collected by the sensor).
Regarding claim 17, Dittmann and Grichnik disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Dittmann further discloses wherein the operations further comprise, responsive to the digital certificate including a creation date older than a predetermined length of time, adjusting one or more of the plurality of predefined ranges (Dittmann par. 0052; An example system 200 for sensor calibration, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The system 200 can be related to a cold chain of, e.g., transported food, drugs, organs to be transplanted or, comparable temperature sensitive goods. For each case, it can be that the temperature of the transported goods can stay within a predefined value range and/or not going beyond a threshold temperature value).
Regarding claim 18, Dittmann and Grichnik disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Dittmann further discloses wherein: an electronic device of the plurality of electronic devices comprises a nonvolatile memory that includes a software image; the digital certificate further comprises a first digest of the software image; and comparing the first plurality of physical measurements to the plurality of predefined ranges comprises generating a second digest of the software image and comparing the first digest to the second digest (Dittmann 0028; Each block can contain a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data. A blockchain can build a basis for a hyper-ledger system).
Regarding claim 19, Dittmann and Grichnik disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Grichnik further discloses wherein authenticating the printed circuit board indicates that none of the plurality of electronic devices have been modified since the digital certificate was generated (Grichnik par. 0110; For a hyperbolic type activation function or a sigmoidal type activation function, processor 202 may also calculate the output range of the activation function from the input range as modified by the limited output scope of the hyperbolic function or sigmoidal function. Further, for an exponential type activation function, processor 202 may calculate a maximum output value and a minimum output value based on the input range and the function map of the exponential activation function. Processor 202 may also use on interpolation operation to obtain linear approximation output values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Grichnik with the method and system of Grichnik, wherein responsive to the determined physical measurement being within the predefined range generating a digital certificate to provide users with a means for creating one or more calibration certificates of the virtual sensor network including a plurality of virtual sensors (Grichnik abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Dittmann and Grichnik disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Dittmann further discloses wherein: the physical measurement of one of the plurality of electronic devices comprises an accuracy of the electronic device; and determining the physical measurement of the electronic device comprises: writing a block of data to the electronic device; reading the block of data from the electronic device; and determining whether the written block of data matches the read block of data (Dittmann par. 0042 and 0045; According to some embodiments, the backend system can be a node of a blockchain system. However, the backend system may not be limited to block chain systems. Also centralized backend systems can be used. However, the use of the proposed method and related system in the context of blockchains can become a standard implementation over time if traceable and documented measurement values can be used at a later point in time. A detailed description of the figures will be given. All instructions in the figures are schematic. Firstly, a block diagram of some embodiments of an example computer-implemented method for certified sensor readings from a sensor is given. Afterwards, further embodiments, as well as embodiments of the sensor for certified sensor readings, will be described).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANCHIT K SARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495