DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,5,6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shatters teaches a computer-implemented payload monitoring system(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights such as, a weight of an inbound empty machine, a weight of the outbound loaded machine, a weight of the delivered payload, and/or the hauled weight. ) comprising: at least one hardware processor(Shatters, paragraph 17, the weighing system 16 is in communication with a processor); and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor(Shatters, paragraph 17, the processor 26 may be in communication with the memory…the processor 26 may be configured to execute instructions and provide one or more outputs based on the user inputs), cause the computer-implemented payload monitoring system:
receive first payload data from a first payload measurement system of a first machine measuring a first amount of material being loaded into a transport vehicle(Shatters’ first set of machines transfer payload to a second set of machines that can be used to transport payload. Shatters, paragraph 15, The payload scale 18 may be configured to measure a load on the corresponding machines among the first set of machines 12. In an embodiment, each of the first set of machines 12 may be equipped with the payload scale 18. Further, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14. Shatters, paragraph 13, second set of machines 14 may receive the payload and carry the payload to a customer site);
receive second payload data from a second payload measurement system of a second machine measuring a second amount of material being loaded into the transport vehicle(Shatters discloses multiple machines 12a and 12b transfer payload to a transport vehicle from the second set of machine (14a). Shatters, paragraph 20, during a trip ‘A’, the machine 14a from the second set of machines 14 may carry a payload received from the machine 12a from the first set of machines 12. Similarly, the machine 14a may carry the payload received from the machine 12b during a trip ‘B’. Shatters, paragraph 15, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14 );
While Shatters teaches about determining payload data from different machines, it fails to disclose a system to determine a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the first and second payload data;
determine an identity of the first machine and an identify of the second machine based on at least one of manual operator input, Global Positioning System (GPS) data, or proximity detection between the first machine, the second machine, and the transport vehicle;
compare the total accumulated weight to a predetermined weight limit;
generate an alert when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit; and
send at least one of the alert or the identity of the first machine and the second machine to a computer device, determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on the identity of the first machine, the identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Grambihler, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about systems and methods for controlling a discharge rate of a hauling machine, discloses a system to determine an identity of the first machine and an identify of the second machine based on at least one of manual operator input, Global Positioning System (GPS) data, or proximity detection between the first machine, the second machine, and the transport vehicle( Grambihler, paragraph 67,the other sensor(s) 312 include cameras, lidar, distance sensors, motion sensors, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302, such as based on a unique identifier associated therewith. Grambihler, paragraph 103, the processor receives sensor data from a sensor associated with at least one of a first machine or a second machine. The sensor may include one or more location sensors, proximity sensors, a near-field communication sensors, Bluetooth sensors, range sensors, or the like);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters with Grambihler to detect the identity of a work machine by determining its distance to a transport vehicle using distance sensor. By using sensors to determine the identity of work machines, it is possible for the transport vehicle to distinguish and connect with the correct machine, and receive the correct payload data. Furthermore, different sensors have different advantage for different working condition such as areas with dust, high humidity, or areas with low light.
While the combination of Shatters and Grambihler discloses identifying and monitoring payload in a transport vehicle from plurality of work machine, it specifically fails to disclose a system to determine a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the first and second payload data;
compare the total accumulated weight to a predetermined weight limit;
generate an alert when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit; and
send at least one of the alert or the identity of the first machine and the second machine to a computer device, determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on the identity of the first machine, the identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Laugwitz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about monitoring of mass material milled off by a ground milling machine, discloses a system to determine a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the first and second payload data( Laugwitz discloses determining an overall milled mass transferred to the transport vehicle from milling machine. Calculating total weight when a second machine is added would be the summation of weight data using Laugwitz teaching. Furthermore, Laugwitz’s continuous measurement of load transferred to the transport vehicle indicates a real time measurement of the payload. Laugwitz, paragraph 52, The more accurate, continuous measurements enable a loading of the transport vehicles up to their maximum capacity and prevent overloading, whereby the cost-effectiveness of the milling work is enhanced. Laugwitz, paragraph 6, On the one hand, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles, and on the other hand simple indication of the mass of the overall milled material during a working operation of the ground milling machine should be enabled);
compare the total accumulated weight to a predetermined weight limit(Laugwitz, paragraph 13, it is particularly preferred that the comparison is affected automatically and performed by the control device, for example. In order to relieve the operator of the ground milling machine during operation from monitoring the transport vehicle as far as possible, it is therefore further preferred that a loading monitoring function is provided by means of which, for example, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value);
generate an alert when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit(Laugwitz, paragraph 13, The loading monitoring function may also comprise an indication function, for example, when reaching predetermined threshold values, in particular, for example, “90% of the maximum loading mass reached,” etc. An indication to the operator of the ground milling machine may be affected optically, acoustically and/or haptically ); and
send at least one of the alert or the identity of the first machine and the second machine to a computer device(Laugwitz, paragraph 13, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output. Laugwitz, paragraph 21, it is preferred that the control device comprises a warning device configured to output optic and/or acoustic warning signals ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters and Grambihler with Laugwitz to determine the combined weight of a mass load, compare payload data with a predetermined weight threshold, and generating an alert when payload data reaches or exceeds a predetermined threshold. By determining and comparing payload data when payload has reaches or exceeded a threshold value, it is possible to save time and energy for an operator by automating payload transfer task. The automated payload transfer allows the operator to perform other tasks rather than monitoring the transfer of payload. Additionally, an alert system helps remind the operator when a payload is about to reach its limit, giving him/her enough time to take a proper action.
The combination of Shatters, Grambihler, and Laugwitz specifically fails to disclose a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on the identity of the first machine, the identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Fan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an automatic warehouse system, discloses a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on the identity of the first machine, the identity of the second machine(Fan discloses an unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) using code sets to identify plurality of automatic sorting shelves, which are similar to the first and second machines. After identification, the unmanned vehicle determines the schedule(sequence) of pickup and transport of goods(payload) based on the codes and position of the automatic sorting shelves, which is similar to the loading sequence. Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle. Fan, paragraph 62, unmanned vehicle obtaining the goods-taking code set and the goods-receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with each goods-taking code in the goods-taking code set. Fan, paragraph 87, the unmanned vehicle according to the to-be-executed fetching code to query the receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with the to-be-executed fetching code, and then running to the receiving area. Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle; ), and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle(Fan further discloses the scheduling of pickup for the unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) based on its carrying capacity. Fan, paragraph 78, the goods picking dispatching module distributes all the goods fetching codes to the unmanned vehicle according to the total volume and the total weight of the goods to be occupied and the total weight and the bearing capacity of the unmanned vehicle to generate the transportation task related to the serial number of the unmanned vehicle in the transportation task base; the transportation task comprises an unmanned vehicle is distributed all the delivery code and each commodity code associated with the source automatic sorting shelf position information. Fan, paragraph 79, the sum of the total volume of the goods to be taken out associated with all the goods taking code assigned to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the volume upper limit of the unmanned vehicle; the sum of the total gravity of the goods to be output associated with all the goods taking code distributed to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the load upper limit of the unmanned vehicle ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Grambihler, and Laugwitz with Fan to sequentially load good to unmanned vehicle (transport vehicle) based on the code(identity) of the automatic sorting shelves(machines) and unmanned vehicle’s bearing capacity. By scheduling the loading sequence based on the identity of the machines, it is possible to route the unmanned vehicle to shelves with the shortest distance increasing load transport and time efficiency. (Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the first machine comprises a cold planer(Laugwitz, paragraph 33, a road cold milling machine ) and the second machine comprises at least one of a wheel loader, an excavator, an earthmover, a tractor, a compact track loader or a skid steer(Shatters’ first set of machines include plurality of machines that transfer load to a machine(14a ) in the second set, which can be used to transfer payload. The first set of machines include trucks and wheel loaders. Shatters, paragraph 12, the first set of machines 12 may be trucks, wheel loaders and so on).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to automatically reduce material transfer rates when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit(Laugwitz discloses the slowing down of milling machine when predetermined/maximum mass is reached which implies the transport rate will decrease. Laugwitz, paragraph 13, a loading monitoring function is provided by means of which, for example, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output and/or the ground milling machine is influenced, for example, slowed down or even stopped. ).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein at least one of the first or second payload data is received using at least one of wireless machine-to-machine communication(Laugwitz, paragraph 12, For example, the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or another predetermined threshold value can be input to the control device by an operator via an input device. As an alternative, particularly a wireless information transfer from the transport vehicle to the ground milling machine may be provided as well. Laugwitz, paragraph 49, all of the components named in FIG. 5 are connected to the calculation device 39 via signal connections. The signal connections may be wireless or wire-based connections ), cellular network communication, or server communication.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the predetermined weight limit is based on at least one of a road weight restriction or a transport vehicle specification(Laugwitz discloses comparing transferred payload with a maximum loading mass of a transport vehicle which corresponds to the vehicle specification indicating its weight limit. Laugwitz, paragraph 12, It is therefore advantageous if it is possible to clearly determine the mass of milled material transferred by the ground milling machine to the transport vehicle during operation. It is therefore preferred that the currently determined loaded mass of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine is compared to a maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or a predetermined threshold value during the loading process ).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Grathwol (US 20180297788 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the first payload measurement system comprises:
a conveyor belt(Laugwitz, paragraph 3, The loosened milled material is conveyed onto a transport vehicle by a conveyor device, which typically comprises a discharge belt);
force sensors configured to measure material weight on the conveyor belt(Laugwitz, paragraph 11, the portion of the tensile force required for holding the discharge belt per se is to be subtracted from the overall measured tensile force in order to obtain the tensile force required to hold the milled material located on the discharge belt. In other words, the weight of the discharge belt without milled material is to be subtracted from the weight of the discharge belt including the milled material as determined via the tensile force, in order to determine the weight (and thus the mass) of the milled material located on the discharge belt); and speed sensors configured to measure conveyor belt speed(Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt).
While the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Fan, and Laugwitz teaches about a drive motor that drives the crawler tracks and the milling drum of a milling machine(cold planer), it specifically fails to disclose a hydraulic motor configured to drive the conveyor belt.
However, Grathwol, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a system for monitoring the operating time of a conveyor belt of a working machine, discloses a system with a hydraulic motor configured to drive the conveyor belt (Grathwol, paragraph 55, Paving machine 21 also includes hydraulic drive systems comprising hydraulic pumps and hydraulic motors that are in fluid communication with the hydraulic pumps which are provided to drive left conveyor 50, right conveyor 51 );
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Grambihler, Fan, and Laugwitz with Grathwol to incorporate a hydraulic motor driven conveyor belt for a milling machine. By incorporating a hydraulic motor to operate the conveyor belt, it is possible to produce higher power than an electric motor to transfer heavy payload to the transfer vehicle. Furthermore, hydraulic motor operated the conveyor belt can perform in harsh conditions such as dusty and wet environment.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Marsolek (US-20170167089-A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented payload monitoring system of claim 1(Shatters, paragraph 2, the weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Grambihler, paragraph 67, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle).
While the combination of Shatters, Grambihler, Fan, and Laugwitz discloses the identifying and monitoring payload data in a transport vehicle from plurality of work machine, it specifically fails to disclose a system wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to: store a tare weight for the transport vehicle; and determine a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and the predetermined weight limit.
However, Marsolek, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a control system for coordinating milling and paving machines, discloses a system wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to: store a tare weight for the transport vehicle; and determine a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and the predetermined weight limit(Marsolek discloses a haul truck which corresponds to a transport vehicle. Marsolek teaches determining fill level of a haul truck which indicates its remaining capacity. Furthermore, it discloses the total weight and weight limit of the transport vehicle( haul truck). Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W or volume V of the milled material in conjunction with known features of haul truck 16 (e.g., geometry, volumetric capacity, shape, tare weight, weight limit, etc.) ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Grambihler, Fan, and Laugwitz with Marsolek to determine and store tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck). By determining and storing tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck), it is possible to monitor whether the transport vehicle has reached its maximum capacity, preventing an overloading of payload. Overloaded transport vehicle cause spillage of material, slowing down, and increases the chance of an accident. Furthermore, filling the transport vehicle to an optimal range conserves fuel and energy.
Claims 8,10,11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A).
Regarding claim 8, Shatters teaches a computer-implemented method for monitoring payload across multiple machines(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights such as, a weight of an inbound empty machine, a weight of the outbound loaded machine, a weight of the delivered payload, and/or the hauled weight),
receiving payload data from a first machine and a second machine that are loading material into the transport vehicle(Shatters discloses multiple machines 12a and 12b transfer payload to a transport vehicle from the second set of machine (14a). Shatters, paragraph 20, during a trip ‘A’, the machine 14a from the second set of machines 14 may carry a payload received from the machine 12a from the first set of machines 12. Similarly, the machine 14a may carry the payload received from the machine 12b during a trip ‘B’. Shatters, paragraph 15, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14)
While Shatters teaches about determining payload data from different machines, it fails to disclose a system comprising: receiving information from a payload measurement system of a cold planer,
wherein the information comprises a material weight on a conveyor belt of the cold planer and a speed of the conveyor belt;
determining a mass flow rate of material being transferred by the cold planer to a transport vehicle based on the material weight and the speed;
determining a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the mass flow rate and the payload data; and
sending an alert to a computer device when the total accumulated weight approaches a predetermined weight limit to prevent overloading the transport vehicle; determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Laugwitz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about monitoring of mass material milled off by a ground milling machine, discloses a system comprising:
receiving information from a payload measurement system of a cold planer(Laugwitz, paragraph 33, a road cold milling machine of the central rotor type. Laugwitz, paragraph 2, monitoring the mass of the material milled off by a ground milling machine),
wherein the information comprises a material weight on a conveyor belt of the cold planer(Laugwitz, paragraph 11, the weight of the discharge belt without milled material is to be subtracted from the weight of the discharge belt including the milled material as determined via the tensile force, in order to determine the weight (and thus the mass) of the milled material located on the discharge belt) and a speed of the conveyor belt(Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt);
determining a mass flow rate of material being transferred by the cold planer to a transport vehicle based on the material weight and the speed(Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt);
determining a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the mass flow rate and the payload data(Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles, and on the other hand simple indication of the mass of the overall milled material during a working operation of the ground milling machine should be enabled. Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt); and
sending an alert to a computer device when the total accumulated weight approaches a predetermined weight limit to prevent overloading the transport vehicle(Laugwitz, paragraph 13, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output.….The loading monitoring function may also comprise an indication function, for example, when reaching predetermined threshold values, in particular, for example, “90% of the maximum loading mass reached,” etc. An indication to the operator of the ground milling machine may be affected optically, acoustically and/or haptically).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters with Laugwitz to determine the combined weight of a mass load, compare payload data with a predetermined weight threshold, and generating an alert when payload data reaches or exceeds a predetermined threshold. By determining and comparing payload data when payload has reaches or exceeded a threshold value, it is possible to save time and energy for an operator by automating payload transfer task. The automated payload transfer allows the operator to perform other tasks rather than monitoring the transfer of payload. Additionally, an alert system helps remind the operator when a payload is about to reach its limit, giving him/her enough time to take a proper action.
The combination of Shatters and Laugwitz specifically fails to disclose a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Fan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an automatic warehouse system, discloses a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine(Fan discloses an unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) using code sets to identify plurality of automatic sorting shelves, which are similar to the first and second machines. After identification, the unmanned vehicle determines the schedule(sequence) of pickup and transport of goods(payload) based on the codes and position of the automatic sorting shelves, which is similar to the loading sequence. Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle. Fan, paragraph 62, unmanned vehicle obtaining the goods-taking code set and the goods-receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with each goods-taking code in the goods-taking code set. Fan, paragraph 87, the unmanned vehicle according to the to-be-executed fetching code to query the receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with the to-be-executed fetching code, and then running to the receiving area. Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle), and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle(Fan further discloses the scheduling of pickup for the unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) based on its carrying capacity. Fan, paragraph 78, the goods picking dispatching module distributes all the goods fetching codes to the unmanned vehicle according to the total volume and the total weight of the goods to be occupied and the total weight and the bearing capacity of the unmanned vehicle to generate the transportation task related to the serial number of the unmanned vehicle in the transportation task base; the transportation task comprises an unmanned vehicle is distributed all the delivery code and each commodity code associated with the source automatic sorting shelf position information. Fan, paragraph 79, the sum of the total volume of the goods to be taken out associated with all the goods taking code assigned to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the volume upper limit of the unmanned vehicle; the sum of the total gravity of the goods to be output associated with all the goods taking code distributed to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the load upper limit of the unmanned vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters and Laugwitz with Fan to sequentially load good to unmanned vehicle (transport vehicle) based on the code(identity) of the automatic sorting shelves(machines) and unmanned vehicle’s bearing capacity. By scheduling the loading sequence based on the identity of the machines, it is possible to route the unmanned vehicle to shelves with the shortest distance increasing load transport and time efficiency. (Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the alert comprises at least one of a visual indicator, an audible warning, or a signal transmitted to the transport vehicle(Laugwitz, paragraph 21, it is preferred that the control device comprises a warning device configured to output optic and/or acoustic warning signals. The warning device may be a speaker, a display, illumination equipment, for example, an LED, or a combination thereof, for example).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), comprising: tracking multiple transport vehicles filled over a period of time(Shatters, paragraph 15, The payload scale 18 may be configured to measure a load on the corresponding machines among the first set of machines 12. In an embodiment, each of the first set of machines 12 may be equipped with the payload scale 18. Further, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14); and recording fill levels for each transport vehicle(Laugwitz discloses a transport vehicle reaching a loading capacity of specific value which corresponds to a fill level. Similarly, it possible to determine fill level of multiple vehicles using Laugwitz teaching. Laugwitz, paragraph 13,monitor the loading of the milled material to the transport vehicle in detail. The loading monitoring function may also comprise an indication function, for example, when reaching predetermined threshold values, in particular, for example, “90% of the maximum loading mass reached,” etc.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), comprising: automatically reducing material transfer rates when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit(Laugwitz discloses the slowing down of milling machine when predetermined/maximum mass is reached which implies the transport rate will decrease. Laugwitz, paragraph 13, a loading monitoring function is provided by means of which, for example, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output and/or the ground milling machine is influenced, for example, slowed down or even stopped.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle),
While the combination of Shatters and Laugwitz teaches about determining payload data from different machines, it fails to disclose a system comprising determining an identity of the cold planer, the identity of the first machine, and the identity of the second machine using at least one of a visual identification system, wireless machine-to-machine communication, cellular network communication, Global Positioning System (GPS) data, or short range wireless communication.
However, Grambihler, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about systems and methods for controlling a discharge rate of a hauling machine, discloses a system comprising determining an identity of the cold planer, the identity of the first machine, and the identity of the second machine using at least one of a visual identification system, wireless machine-to-machine communication, cellular network communication, Global Positioning System (GPS) data, or short range wireless communication (Grambihler discloses identifying different hauling machines using sensors , but it does not specifically disclose determining the identity of a cold planer. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identity of cold planer using the sensors of Grambihler. Grambihler, paragraph 67,the other sensor(s) 312 include cameras, lidar, distance sensors, motion sensors, Bluetooth devices, and/or other sensor(s) 312 configured to sense a presence of the machine 302 and/or identify the machine 302, such as based on a unique identifier associated therewith. Grambihler, paragraph 103, the processor receives sensor data from a sensor associated with at least one of a first machine or a second machine. The sensor may include one or more location sensors, proximity sensors, a near-field communication sensors, Bluetooth sensors, range sensors, or the like ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan with Grambihler to detect the identity of a work machine by determining its distance to a transport vehicle using distance sensor. By using sensors to determine the identity of work machines, it is possible for the transport vehicle to distinguish and connect with the correct machine, and receive the correct payload data. Furthermore, different sensors have different advantage for different working condition such as areas with dust, high humidity, or areas with low light.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Marsolek (US 20170167089 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle),
While the combination of Shatters and Laugwitz discloses the identifying and monitoring payload data in a transport vehicle from plurality of work machine, it specifically fails to disclose a system comprising: storing a tare weight for the transport vehicle; determining a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and the predetermined weight limit.
However, Marsolek, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a control system for coordinating milling and paving machines, discloses a system comprising: storing a tare weight for the transport vehicle; determining a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and the predetermined weight limit(Marsolek discloses a haul truck which corresponds to a transport vehicle. Marsolek teaches determining fill level of a haul truck which indicates its remaining capacity. Furthermore, it discloses the total weight and weight limit of the transport vehicle( haul truck). Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W or volume V of the milled material in conjunction with known features of haul truck 16 (e.g., geometry, volumetric capacity, shape, tare weight, weight limit, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Laugwitz, Fan with Marsolek to determine and store tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck). By determining and storing tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck), it is possible to monitor whether the transport vehicle has reached its maximum capacity, preventing an overloading of payload. Overloaded transport vehicle cause spillage of material, slowing down, and increases the chance of an accident. Furthermore, filling the transport vehicle to an optimal range conserves fuel and energy.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Janardhan (US 20090139119 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Fan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), comprising: determining an accuracy level of the payload measurement system(Shatters’ determination of error in mass measurement indicates its accuracy level determination based on the measured load data. Shatters, paragraph 21, the processor 26 may compare the readings from the payload scales 18, 20 to determine an error associated therewith. As described above, the payload scale 18 is configured to provide a first reading, indicative of a load on a corresponding first set of machines 1. Shatters, paragraph 24, there may be non-zero error or difference between the readings for the respective trips due to various reasons. Further, the scales 18 on each of the machines 12a, 12b may have error coefficients F1, F2 respectively );
While Shatters and Laugwitz teaches about determining payload data from different machines, it fails to disclose a system for applying a corresponding accuracy tolerance to the information from the payload measurement system based on the accuracy level, wherein the total accumulated weight is determined using the accuracy tolerance
However, Janardhan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about payload calculation discloses a system for applying a corresponding accuracy tolerance to the information from the payload measurement system based on the accuracy level, wherein the total accumulated weight is determined using the accuracy tolerance(Janardhan , paragraph 41, Processing device 48 may then check the calculated payload mass against a map to determine if the calculated payload mass is within a predefined acceptable range (step 150). The acceptable range may define, for example, the feasible range of masses movable by work implement 18 in a particular period of time. If the calculated payload mass is not within the predefined acceptable range, processing device 48 may re-calculate the payload mass (return to step 130)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Laugwitz, Fan with Janardhan to apply accuracy tolerance( acceptable range) in measured mass, and re-calculating the payload measurement based on the acceptable range. By determining the measured payload data is within acceptable range, it is possible to filter out erroneous reading when it’s not within acceptable range. When an inaccurate reading is determined, recalculation of the mass/payload data is performed improving the accuracy of the weight monitoring system.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shatters (US 20160238436 A1) in view of Grambihler (US 20210325899 A1) in further view of Laugwitz (US 20160177521 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 112389916 A) in further view of Marsolek (US-20170167089-A1).
Regarding claim 15, Shatters teaches at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a computer system(Shatters, paragraph 17, the processor 26 may be in communication with the memory…the processor 26 may be configured to execute instructions and provide one or more outputs based on the user inputs), cause the computer system to: receive first payload data from a first payload measurement system of a first machine measuring an amount of material being loaded into the transport vehicle(Shatters’ first set of machines transfer payload to a second set of machines that can be used to transport payload. Shatters, paragraph 15, The payload scale 18 may be configured to measure a load on the corresponding machines among the first set of machines 12. In an embodiment, each of the first set of machines 12 may be equipped with the payload scale 18. Further, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14. Shatters, paragraph 13, second set of machines 14 may receive the payload and carry the payload to a customer site); receive second payload data from a second payload measurement system of a second machine(Shatters discloses multiple machines 12a and 12b transfer payload to a transport vehicle from the second set of machine (14a). Shatters, paragraph 20, during a trip ‘A’, the machine 14a from the second set of machines 14 may carry a payload received from the machine 12a from the first set of machines 12. Similarly, the machine 14a may carry the payload received from the machine 12b during a trip ‘B’. Shatters, paragraph 15, the weighing system 16 may include a payload scale 20 that is configured to provide a reading indicative of a load on the corresponding machines among the second set of machines 14).
While Shatters teaches about determining payload data from different machines, it fails to disclose a system to determine a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the first and second payload data; determine a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and a predetermined weight limit; generate an alert when the remaining capacity amount approaches a threshold amount; determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Laugwitz, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about monitoring of mass material milled off by a ground milling machine, discloses a system to determine a total accumulated weight for the transport vehicle in real-time based on the first and second payload data(Laugwitz discloses determining an overall milled mass transferred to the transport vehicle from milling machine. Calculating total weight when a second machine is added would be the summation of weight data using Laugwitz teaching. Furthermore, Laugwitz’s continuous measurement of load transferred to the transport vehicle indicates a real time measurement of the payload. Laugwitz, paragraph 52, The more accurate, continuous measurements enable a loading of the transport vehicles up to their maximum capacity and prevent overloading, whereby the cost-effectiveness of the milling work is enhanced. Laugwitz, paragraph 6, On the one hand, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles, and on the other hand simple indication of the mass of the overall milled material during a working operation of the ground milling machine should be enabled); generate an alert when the remaining capacity amount approaches a threshold amount(Laugwitz, paragraph 13, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output. Laugwitz, paragraph 21, it is preferred that the control device comprises a warning device configured to output optic and/or acoustic warning signals…The loading monitoring function may also comprise an indication function, for example, when reaching predetermined threshold values, in particular, for example, “90% of the maximum loading mass reached,” etc. An indication to the operator of the ground milling machine may be affected optically, acoustically and/or haptically).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters with Laugwitz to determine the combined weight of a mass load, compare payload data with a predetermined weight threshold, and generating an alert when payload data reaches or exceeds a predetermined threshold. By determining and comparing payload data when payload has reaches or exceeded a threshold value, it is possible to save time and energy for an operator by automating payload transfer task. The automated payload transfer allows the operator to perform other tasks rather than monitoring the transfer of payload. Additionally, an alert system helps remind the operator when a payload is about to reach its limit, giving him/her enough time to take a proper action.
The combination of Shatters and Laugwitz specifically fails to disclose a system to store a tare weight for a transport vehicle, determine a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and a predetermined weight limit.
However, Marsolek, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a control system for coordinating milling and paving machines, discloses a system to store a tare weight for a transport vehicle, determine a remaining capacity amount based on the tare weight, the total accumulated weight, and a predetermined weight limit(Marsolek discloses a haul truck which corresponds to a transport vehicle. Marsolek teaches determining fill level of a haul truck which indicates its remaining capacity. Furthermore, it discloses the total weight and weight limit of the transport vehicle( haul truck). Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W or volume V of the milled material in conjunction with known features of haul truck 16 (e.g., geometry, volumetric capacity, shape, tare weight, weight limit, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters and Laugwitz with Marsolek to determine and store tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck). By determining and storing tare weight, fill level, and weight limit of a transport vehicle(haul truck), it is possible to monitor whether the transport vehicle has reached its maximum capacity, preventing an overloading of payload. Overloaded transport vehicle cause spillage of material, slowing down, and increases the chance of an accident. Furthermore, filling the transport vehicle to an optimal range conserves fuel and energy.
The combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Marsolek specifically fails to disclose a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle.
However, Fan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an automatic warehouse system, discloses a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on an identity of the first machine, an identity of the second machine(Fan discloses an unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) using code sets to identify plurality of automatic sorting shelves, which are similar to the first and second machines. After identification, the unmanned vehicle determines the schedule(sequence) of pickup and transport of goods(payload) based on the codes and position of the automatic sorting shelves, which is similar to the loading sequence. Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle. Fan, paragraph 62, unmanned vehicle obtaining the goods-taking code set and the goods-receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with each goods-taking code in the goods-taking code set. Fan, paragraph 87, the unmanned vehicle according to the to-be-executed fetching code to query the receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf associated with the to-be-executed fetching code, and then running to the receiving area. Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle), and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle(Fan further discloses the scheduling of pickup for the unmanned vehicle(transport vehicle) based on its carrying capacity. Fan, paragraph 78, the goods picking dispatching module distributes all the goods fetching codes to the unmanned vehicle according to the total volume and the total weight of the goods to be occupied and the total weight and the bearing capacity of the unmanned vehicle to generate the transportation task related to the serial number of the unmanned vehicle in the transportation task base; the transportation task comprises an unmanned vehicle is distributed all the delivery code and each commodity code associated with the source automatic sorting shelf position information. Fan, paragraph 79, the sum of the total volume of the goods to be taken out associated with all the goods taking code assigned to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the volume upper limit of the unmanned vehicle; the sum of the total gravity of the goods to be output associated with all the goods taking code distributed to one unmanned vehicle does not exceed the load upper limit of the unmanned vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shatters, Laugwitz, and Marsolek with Fan to sequentially load good to unmanned vehicle (transport vehicle) based on the code(identity) of the automatic sorting shelves(machines) and unmanned vehicle’s bearing capacity. By scheduling the loading sequence based on the identity of the machines, it is possible to route the unmanned vehicle to shelves with the shortest distance increasing load transport and time efficiency. (Fan, paragraph 97, the unmanned vehicle sends the goods receiving area position of the source automatic sorting shelf to the warehouse management server so that the warehouse management server establishes the shortest driving route and sends the driving route to the unmanned vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, Marsolek, and Fan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the first machine is a cold planer(Laugwitz, paragraph 33, a road cold milling machine), wherein the first payload data comprises material weight on a conveyor belt of the cold planer(Laugwitz, paragraph 11, the weight of the discharge belt without milled material is to be subtracted from the weight of the discharge belt including the milled material as determined via the tensile force, in order to determine the weight (and thus the mass) of the milled material located on the discharge belt) and a speed of the conveyor belt(Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt), and wherein the instructions cause the computer system to: determine a mass flow rate of material being transferred by the cold planer to the transport vehicle based on the material weight and the speed of the conveyor belt(Laugwitz, paragraph 9, calculating a mass flow of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine from the measured tensile force, a conveying length and a conveying speed of the discharge belt).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, Marsolek, and Fan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the instructions cause the computer system to automatically reduce material transfer rates when the total accumulated weight approaches the predetermined weight limit(Laugwitz discloses the slowing down of milling machine when predetermined/maximum mass is reached which implies the transport rate will decrease. Laugwitz, paragraph 13, a loading monitoring function is provided by means of which, for example, when reaching the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or the predetermined threshold value, an optic and/or acoustic warning signal is output and/or the ground milling machine is influenced, for example, slowed down or even stopped.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, Marsolek, and Fan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein at least one of the first or second payload data is received using at least one of wireless machine-to-machine communication(Laugwitz, paragraph 12, For example, the maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or another predetermined threshold value can be input to the control device by an operator via an input device. As an alternative, particularly a wireless information transfer from the transport vehicle to the ground milling machine may be provided as well. Laugwitz, paragraph 49, all of the components named in FIG. 5 are connected to the calculation device 39 via signal connections. The signal connections may be wireless or wire-based connections), cellular network communication, or server communication.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, Marsolek, and Fan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the predetermined weight limit is based on at least one of a road weight restriction or a transport vehicle specification(Laugwitz discloses comparing transferred payload with a maximum loading mass of a transport vehicle which corresponds to the vehicle specification indicating its weight limit. Laugwitz, paragraph 12, It is therefore advantageous if it is possible to clearly determine the mass of milled material transferred by the ground milling machine to the transport vehicle during operation. It is therefore preferred that the currently determined loaded mass of the milled material removed by the ground milling machine is compared to a maximum loading mass of the transport vehicle and/or a predetermined threshold value during the loading process ).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shatters, Laugwitz, Marsolek, and Fan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15(Shatters, paragraph 2, The weighing system may include multiple payload scales that are used to measure various weights; Laugwitz, paragraph 6, it should be possible to continuously determine the mass of the milled material in order to be able to monitor the filling of the transport vehicles; Marsolek, paragraph 25, Controller 44 may be configured to determine the fill level Σ of haul truck 16 based on the mass flow rate fit, volume flow rate {dot over (V)}, and/or the total weight W; Fan, paragraph 10, the unmanned vehicle sequentially enters the receiving area of the source automated sorting shelf. Each time the vehicle enters the receiving area of a source automated sorting shelf, it displays an associated pickup code to the source automated sorting shelf so that the source automated sorting shelf performs a sorting task pre-associated with the pickup code to output the goods on the order to the unmanned vehicle), wherein the instructions cause the computer system to: determine a predicted load amount currently being transferred to the transport vehicle(Laugwitz discloses the mass of milled material on a belt, which is the payload being transferred to a transport vehicle. Laugwitz, paragraph 8, the rough values determined by means of the method according to the present invention are sufficient for achieving a sufficiently accurate determination of the mass of the milled material transported away in practice); and include the predicted load amount in the total accumulated weight determination(Laugwitz further discloses, based on the load(load on the belt) transported per time, determining the final/ total weight of the load. Laugwitz, paragraph 8, Specifically, a time component shall also be taken into consideration in the present method in order to be able to use a mass flow measured in [mass/time unit] in the final result, for example, for determining the milling work performed).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Bhavsar(US 20180335335 A1) discloses a harvesting system which includes a first crop transport vehicle including a weight sensor that can receive crops from a first and second crop unloading machines.
Bartsch(US 20180179732 A1) discloses a system to determine a loading sequence for the transport vehicle based on the identity of the first machine, the identity of the second machine, and a remaining capacity of the transport vehicle(While Bartsch discloses a loading sequence between a hauling and loading machine, it further discloses multiple hauling(transport vehicle) and loading machine maybe operated at a jobsite. A person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been able to modify Bartsch’s teaching to determine loading sequence for the transport vehicle and multiple work machines. Bartsch, paragraph 49, the payload optimization system 84 may identify the hauling and loading machine 24, 26 present at the jobsite 20 and ready to start a new loading sequence. In one non-limiting example, the payload optimization system 84 may use an identification signal or other such identifier sent from the hauling and loading machine 24, 26 and received by the loading system controller 78 to identify each machine. Once the hauling and loading machine 24, 26 are identified, then in a next block 110 the payload capacity of the hauling machine 24 and the loading capacity of the loading machine 26 may be determined. Bartsch, paragraph 21, while a single hauling machine 24 and a single loading machine 26 is shown, it will be understood that multiple hauling, loading and other such machines and equipment may be operating around the jobsite 20 ).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665