Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pleshachkov et al. (USPN 20190377821A1) in view of Jin (CN109766219A) in further view of Kim et al. (USPN 20150347250A1).
As per claim 9, Pleshachkov et al. discloses a database disaster recovery method, applied to a data processing node in a first database, the first database including at least one data processing node and at least one data protection node, a data protection node of the at least one data protection node and a data processing node of the at least one data processing node being separate from each other (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0007,0093,0094 – first database – first data center; master data node – data processing node; replica data node – data protection node; paragraph 0006 - One embodiment includes a database replication system that comprises a plurality of data nodes, each data node in the plurality of data nodes comprising a processor and a memory. The plurality of data nodes includes a plurality of replica data nodes and a master data node.), and the method comprising:
generating, in response to a database operation, a log corresponding to the database operation; sending the log to other data processing node of the at least one data processing node and the at least one data protection node of the first database for at least one data protection node of the first database to synchronize the log, with each of the at least one data processing node and the at least one data protection node meeting distributed consistency for storage; (Figure 5 and paragraph 0007 - The master data node is configured to send, to the plurality of replica data nodes, a transaction log record that includes an update to data in the master database that has not been committed to the master database. More particularly, according to one embodiment, the master data node may be configured to maintain a master node transaction log in persistent memory, write the transaction log record from master data node volatile memory to the master node transaction log in persistent memory and send the transaction log record to the plurality of replica data nodes after writing the transaction log record to the master node transaction log. The master data node can be configured, for example, to send the transaction log record to each replica data node in a replication group. The replication group may include replica data nodes at different data centers.; paragraph 0093 - FIG. 5 is a diagrammatic representation of one embodiment of a cluster architecture 500 that includes a first data center 501 and a second data center 550. First data center 501 comprises a first cluster including configuration node 502, data node 504a, data node 504b, data node 504c, data node 504d, data node 504e, data node 504f, data node 504 and cluster clients 520 bi-directionally coupled by network 512. Second data center 550 comprises a second cluster comprising configuration node 552, data node 554a, data node 554b, data node 554c, data node 554d and cluster clients 570 bi-directionally coupled by network 562.);
and
in response to the first database experiencing an anomaly of a first type and the data processing node itself experiencing no anomaly, providing a database service based on a log stored in the data protection node (paragraph 0096 - With multiple copies of the same data set on different data nodes in the cluster, the replication group provides a level of fault tolerance against the loss of a single data node. A replication group can provide increased query performance since the system can distribute the queries on the data set over different data nodes of the replication group. – type of fault is data node failure).
Pleshachkov et al. fails to explicitly state in response to the first database experiencing no anomaly, transmitting to a second database, a log saved by the data processing node.
Pleshachkov et al. does discloses in paragraph 0007 - The master data node is configured to send, to the plurality of replica data nodes, a transaction log record that includes an update to data in the master database that has not been committed to the master database. More particularly, according to one embodiment, the master data node may be configured to maintain a master node transaction log in persistent memory, write the transaction log record from master data node volatile memory to the master node transaction log in persistent memory and send the transaction log record to the plurality of replica data nodes after writing the transaction log record to the master node transaction log.
Jin discloses in response to the first database experiencing no anomaly, transmitting to a second database, a log saved by the data processing node in “The embodiment of the present invention is by the deployment transaction reduction apparatus in source database and backup database, to read, analyze With load source database transaction journal information to backup database, while the log text of source database transaction journal information will be recorded Part is written to Shi Caixiang source server in the first storage equipment of source database and the second storage equipment of backup database and returns Success flag is written in matter business log, realizes the same of the journal file of master backup data-base recording source database transaction journal information Step.”.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the backup of a log to a backup database of Jin in the replication of data between databases of Pleshachkov. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the log is transmitted and stored successfully in a backup database.
Pleshachkov et al. and Jin fail to explicitly state asynchronously transmitting to a second database.
Pleshachkov et al. does discloses in paragraph 0007 - The master data node is configured to send, to the plurality of replica data nodes, a transaction log record that includes an update to data in the master database that has not been committed to the master database. More particularly, according to one embodiment, the master data node may be configured to maintain a master node transaction log in persistent memory, write the transaction log record from master data node volatile memory to the master node transaction log in persistent memory and send the transaction log record to the plurality of replica data nodes after writing the transaction log record to the master node transaction log.
Pleshachkov et al. does discloses in paragraph 0007 - The master data node is configured to send, to the plurality of replica data nodes, a transaction log record that includes an update to data in the master database that has not been committed to the master database. More particularly, according to one embodiment, the master data node may be configured to maintain a master node transaction log in persistent memory, write the transaction log record from master data node volatile memory to the master node transaction log in persistent memory and send the transaction log record to the plurality of replica data nodes after writing the transaction log record to the master node transaction log.
Kim et al. discloses asynchronously transmitting to a second database in paragraph 0017 - a log synchronization unit for asynchronously transmitting a log from an active node to a standby node.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include asynchronously transmitting a log to a standby node in a database management system of Jin in the replication of data between databases of Pleshachkov. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the active node asynchronously transmits a log to a standby node so as to be synchronized with the standby node.
As per claim 10, Pleshachkov et al. discloses wherein the data protection node has a separate power supply and a separate communications apparatus from the at least one data processing node (paragraph 0093 - FIG. 5 is a diagrammatic representation of one embodiment of a cluster architecture 500 that includes a first data center 501 and a second data center 550. First data center 501 comprises a first cluster including configuration node 502, data node 504a, data node 504b, data node 504c, data node 504d, data node 504e, data node 504f, data node 504 and cluster clients 520 bi-directionally coupled by network 512. Second data center 550 comprises a second cluster comprising configuration node 552, data node 554a, data node 554b, data node 554c, data node 554d and cluster clients 570 bi-directionally coupled by network 562.- data protection node – replica data node/data node; paragraph 0094 - According to one embodiment, each data node of architecture 500 acts as a separate server that listens for and can accept incoming requests from other components of the cluster architecture. Each data node maintains a data store, such as a database or file system and a transaction log.; paragraph 0006 - One embodiment includes a database replication system that comprises a plurality of data nodes, each data node in the plurality of data nodes comprising a processor and a memory. The plurality of data nodes includes a plurality of replica data nodes and a master data node. – the data nodes has its own power supply and separate communication to communicate).
As per claim 11, Pleshachkov et al. discloses wherein the sending the log for the data protection node of the first database to synchronize the log includes: sending the log to the other data processing node and the at least one data protection node of the first database for storage; receiving a log saving success message returned by one or more of the other data processing node or the at least one data protection node; and determining, based on the log saving success message, whether the log has been synchronized on the data protection node with distributed consistency being met (paragraph 0066 - master data node 104a sends a log proposal 302 containing transaction log records subsequent to the mlastAckLSN to the replica nodes (step 204). In the example of FIG. 3B, master data node 104a sends log proposal 302 containing transaction log records with LSNs 1004-1006 to the replica data nodes.; paragraph 0067 - Each replica data node 104b, 104c, 104d, 104e,104f, 104g that receives the log proposal 302 writes the transaction log records from the log proposal 302 to that node's replica node transaction log 107b, 107c, 107d, 107e, 107f, 107g, respectively (step 206). When the transaction log records from log proposal 302 are successfully written to a replica data node's persistent transaction log, the replica data node 104b, 104c, 104d, 104e, 104f, 104g sends an acknowledgement to master data node 104a (step 208) to indicate that the replica node 104b, 104c, 104d, 104e, 104f, 104g has updated its replica node log 107b, 107c, 107d, 107e, 107f, 107g with the transaction log records from log proposal 302.).
As per claim 14, Pleshachkov et al. discloses wherein for each of the at least one data processing node: in response to determining that the data processing node is a candidate to be elected as a master node, the data processing node is configured to send a first master node election request to other data processing node and the at least one data protection node, and to receive a first master node election message returned by one or more of the other data processing node or the at least one data protection node (paragraph 0086 - The replica data nodes 404b, 404c, 404d, 404e and 404f further exchange the highest LSN in each replica data node's persistently stored replica node transaction log. The replica data nodes are configured to select the data node with the highest LSN as the new master data node. If the highest LSN is shared by two or more of the replica data nodes, the replica data nodes are configured to select the replica data node that created the replica ephemeral data structure 434b, 434c, 434d, 434e, 434f, 434g with the lowest sequence number as the new master data node.); and
in response to determining, based on the first master node election message, that the data processing node is a master node, the data processing node is configured to generate, in response to the received database operation, the log corresponding to the database operation, and send the log to all the other data processing node and all data protection node of the first database (paragraph 0087 - Thus, as illustrated in FIG. 4C, data node 404b becomes the master data node and creates a new master ephemeral data structure 440.; paragraph 0088 - The rLastAckLSN in data node 404b's stored transaction log becomes the new mLastAckLSN. New master data node 404b performs redo of transaction log records from the last checkpoint to mLastAckLSN in master data node 404b's persistently stored transaction log. During redo, master data node 404b sends a log proposal to replica data node 404c, 404d, 404e, 404f, 404g for commit log records. Master data node 404b undoes changes for unfinished transactions (e.g., transactions for which the persistent transaction log of data node 404b does not have a commit log record).).
As per claim 15, Pleshachkov et al. discloses wherein the first database further includes at least one election node, and in response to being incapable of determining a master node based on the first master node election message, the data processing node is configured to send a second master node election request to the other data processing node, the at least one data protection node, and the at least one election node, to receive a second master node election message returned by one or more of the other data processing node, the at least one data protection node, or the at least one election node, and to determine the master node based on the second master node election message (paragraph 0086 - The replica data nodes 404b, 404c, 404d, 404e and 404f further exchange the highest LSN in each replica data node's persistently stored replica node transaction log. The replica data nodes are configured to select the data node with the highest LSN as the new master data node. If the highest LSN is shared by two or more of the replica data nodes, the replica data nodes are configured to select the replica data node that created the replica ephemeral data structure 434b, 434c, 434d, 434e, 434f, 434g with the lowest sequence number as the new master data node. – this process is carried out in order to select a new master which includes if there was a problem in determining the new master).
There is no prior art rejection for claims 12,21 because either no prior art could be found or no reason to combine with prior art found.
The Pleshachkov et al., Jin, and Kim et al. fail to disclose determining weights of the log saving success messages and a sum of the weights compared to a threshold in order to determine that the log has been synchronized. Therefore, there is no prior art rejection for claim 23.
The claims 1-4,6-8,16,17,19,20,22 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon further consideration a reference from the IDS and other references have been used to reject limitations. Please see the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Yolanda L Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113