DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 10, 2022 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiao et al. (US 2022/0264370, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Qiao”).
Regarding claim 1, Qiao teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor, an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network (FIG. 17 – UE sends (R)AN registration request including UMACI. [0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message);
identifying, by the processing system, a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network ([0200] In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. “[S]elect an AMF” indicates an AMF is selected from multiple AMFs. For example, “list of AMF 155(s)” is discussed in [0040]. See also FIG. 8 for selection of an AMF including new AMF different from old AMF);
generating, by the processing system, a first record ([0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. [0200] - In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container) that includes an identifier of the user equipment ([0198] - The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information, registration type, UE identity(e.g. SUCI/5G-GUTI/PEI)), at least one quality class indicator ([0198] The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information. [0199] - The UE multiple access capability information may indicate that UE supports multiple access. The UE multiple access capability information may comprise at least one of: a UE multiple access packet data unit (MA-PDU) capability indication; or a UE access traffic steering switch and splitting (ATSSS) capability indication), and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator ([0198] – The registration request message may comprise… requested NSSAI. [0096]- requested NSSAI may indicate the network slice selection assistance information. [0156] - In order for the RAN to select a proper resource for supporting network slicing in the RAN, RAN may be aware of the Network Slices used by the UE); and
transmitting, by the processing system, the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators ([0200] - the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container).
Regarding claim 2, Qiao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first record further includes an identification of the first mobile network operator ([0198] - The registration request message may comprise at least one of: … selected PLMN ID).
Regarding claim 3, Qiao teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: storing the first record ([0198] - UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. [0199] - the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container. It is understood, the registration request message and/or UE policy container. It is understood, information including the registration request message and UE policy container must be stored in memory before being sent to AMF).
Regarding claim 5, Qiao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the processing system comprises at least one of: a baseband unit of the radio access network; a central unit of the radio access network ([0160] - the access network may comprise at least one base station (e.g. gNB)); or a distributed unit of the radio access network.
Regarding claim 19, Qiao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor (FIG. 3 – base station includes processor 344 and instructions 348), cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network (FIG. 17 – UE sends (R)AN registration request including UMACI. [0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message);
identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network ([0200] In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. “[S]elect an AMF” indicates an AMF is selected from multiple AMFs. For example, “list of AMF 155(s)” is discussed in [0040]. See also FIG. 8 for selection of an AMF including new AMF different from old AMF);
generating a first record ([0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. [0200] - In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container) that includes an identifier of the user equipment ([0198] - The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information, registration type, UE identity(e.g. SUCI/5G-GUTI/PEI)), at least one quality class indicator ([0198] The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information. [0199] - The UE multiple access capability information may indicate that UE supports multiple access. The UE multiple access capability information may comprise at least one of: a UE multiple access packet data unit (MA-PDU) capability indication; or a UE access traffic steering switch and splitting (ATSSS) capability indication), and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator ([0198] – The registration request message may comprise… requested NSSAI. [0096]- requested NSSAI may indicate the network slice selection assistance information. [0156] - In order for the RAN to select a proper resource for supporting network slicing in the RAN, RAN may be aware of the Network Slices used by the UE);;
and transmitting the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators ([0200] - the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container).
Regarding claim 20, Qiao teaches an apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in a radio access network, cause the processing system to perform operations (FIG. 3 – base station includes processor 344 and instructions 348), the operations comprising:
obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network (FIG. 17 – UE sends (R)AN registration request including UMACI. [0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message);
identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network ([0200] In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. “[S]elect an AMF” indicates an AMF is selected from multiple AMFs. For example, “list of AMF 155(s)” is discussed in [0040]. See also FIG. 8 for selection of an AMF including new AMF different from old AMF);
generating a first record ([0198] - a UE may send an AN message to a base station (e.g. (R)AN). The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. [0200] - In response to the AN message received, the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container) that includes an identifier of the user equipment ([0198] - The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information, registration type, UE identity(e.g. SUCI/5G-GUTI/PEI)), at least one quality class indicator ([0198] The registration request message may comprise at least one of: UE multiple access capability information. [0199] - The UE multiple access capability information may indicate that UE supports multiple access. The UE multiple access capability information may comprise at least one of: a UE multiple access packet data unit (MA-PDU) capability indication; or a UE access traffic steering switch and splitting (ATSSS) capability indication), and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator ([0198] – The registration request message may comprise… requested NSSAI. [0096]- requested NSSAI may indicate the network slice selection assistance information. [0156] - In order for the RAN to select a proper resource for supporting network slicing in the RAN, RAN may be aware of the Network Slices used by the UE); and
transmitting the first record to at least one of the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators ([0200] - the (R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message. The N2 message may comprise N2 parameters, the registration request message and/or UE policy container).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0105915, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 4, Qiao teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators
Zhang teaches wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators ([0060] - The access node 301 will then in 310 retrieve the requested information, e.g. by requesting it from candidate target core networks. In S33 the requested information is transmitted to the UE 303 which may then in 311 select a target core network based on the requested information. The requested information may e.g. comprise different types of subscriptions associated with different types of services offered by the candidate target core networks, or different QoS levels offered by the candidate target core networks.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators, as taught by Zhang in Qiao’s invention to allow a RAN using unlicensed frequency band to be built by other parties than LTE operators and can provide coverage for any PLMN network deployed by an operator.
Regarding claim 18, Qiao teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the radio access network is operated by: the first mobile network operator; a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network
Zhang teaches wherein the radio access network is operated by: the first mobile network operator; a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network ([0016] - standalone LTE RAN using unlicensed frequency band can be built by other parties than LTE operators and can provide coverage for any PLMN network deployed by an operator)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators, as taught by Zhang in Qiao’s invention to allow anyone to deploy such a network and not only LTE operators.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0039101, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Wang”)
Regarding claim 6, Qiao teaches claim 1 but fails to teach obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction.
However, Wang teaches obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction ([0071] - the server may determine the number of BWPs of at least one base station according to the BWP class; determine the bandwidth of the corresponding at least one BWP according to the traffic amount of BWP to be allocated of the at least one base station; determine the frequency location of the BWP according to at least one of the BWP class to be allocated, the information of the neighboring cell between base stations and the traffic amount corresponding to the BWP class to be allocated; and determine the power of the BWP according to at least one of the BWP class to be allocated, the information of the neighboring cell relation between base stations, and the channel information of the UE served by the base station, in which the specific method for determining the configuration information of the BWP will be described in detail below. [0074] the server may finally deliver the configuration information of the BWP to each base station, and each base station configures each BWP based on the respective configuration information)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction, as taught by Wang in Qiao’s invention to allow improve network throughput and reduce energy consumption (abstract).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Qiao in view of Wang teaches claim 6 but fails to teach wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: activating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints; or deactivating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints (claim 7)
wherein the at least one class of user endpoints comprises user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator (claim 8)
However, Wang teaches wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: activating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints; or deactivating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints ([0071] - the server may determine the number of BWPs of at least one base station according to the BWP class; determine the bandwidth of the corresponding at least one BWP according to the traffic amount of BWP to be allocated of the at least one base station; determine the frequency location of the BWP according to at least one of the BWP class to be allocated, the information of the neighboring cell between base stations and the traffic amount corresponding to the BWP class to be allocated; and determine the power of the BWP according to at least one of the BWP class to be allocated, the information of the neighboring cell relation between base stations, and the channel information of the UE served by the base station, in which the specific method for determining the configuration information of the BWP will be described in detail below. [0074] the server may finally deliver the configuration information of the BWP to each base station, and each base station configures each BWP based on the respective configuration information).
wherein the at least one class of user endpoints comprises user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator (0153] For example, all classes are sorted according to the priority of the service and the UE capability. Wherein, the service priority is uRLLC>eMBB>mMTC.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction, as taught by Wang in Qiao’s invention to allow improve network throughput and reduce energy consumption (abstract).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Kweon et al. (US 2018/0109945, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Kweon”).
Regarding claim 13, Qiao in view of Wang teaches claim 1 but fails to teach further comprising: establishing a default bearer between the user equipment and the first cellular core network, in response to the identifying of the first cellular core network.
Kweon teaches establishing a default bearer between the user equipment and the first cellular core network, in response to the identifying of the first cellular core network ([0071] - the user equipment configures an MME and a default bearer on the basis of the received information. Then, in step 429, the user equipment performs a sponsored data connectivity service through the configured default bearer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature establishing a default bearer between the user equipment and the first cellular core network, in response to the identifying of the first cellular core network, as taught by Kweon in Qiao’s invention to ensures that the user data is transmitted with the required QoS to improve user experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of LAI et al. (US 20220046530, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Lai”)
Regarding claim 14, Qiao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plurality of core networks includes: {at least one private core network}; and at least one public core network ([0053] - PLMN).
Qiao does not teach private core network.
However, the Examiner submits that the concept of a private core network is well known in the art. For example Lai teaches non-public network or private network ([0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature private core network, as taught by Lai in Qiao’s invention to allow high quality-of-service and security requirements.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Thantharate et al. (US 2023/0026417, cited by IDS filed March 10, 2025, “Thantharate”)
Regarding claim 15, Qiao in view of Wang teaches claim 1 but fails to teach 15 wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network.
However, Thantharate teaches wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network ([0023] - The registration request comprises an S-NSSAI for a slice type and Information Elements (IEs) that comprise UE capabilities. For example, the slice type may comprise an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) type, a Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) type,… the UE capabilities may comprise PLMN IDs, a 5G Stand Alone (SA) capability, a 5G non-SA (NSA) capability, a Long Term Evolution (LTE) capability, device type, handover requirements, bandwidth capabilities).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network, as taught by Thantharate in Qiao’s invention to allow services to be selected to satisfy user’s requirement.
Regarding claim 16, Qiao in view of Wang teaches claim 1 but fails to teach 15 wherein the first record further includes at least one spectrum band utilized by the user equipment.
However, Thantharate teaches wherein the first record further includes at least one spectrum band utilized by the user equipment ([0023] - The registration request comprises an S-NSSAI for a slice type and Information Elements (IEs) that comprise UE capabilities. For example, the slice type may comprise an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) type, a Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) type,… the UE capabilities may comprise … band capabilities).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network, as taught by Thantharate in Qiao’s invention to allow services to be selected to satisfy user’s requirement.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0380128, “Park”).
Regarding claim 17, Qiao teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the radio access network is operated by the first mobile network operator.
It should be noted Qiao teaches “(R)AN may select an AMF and send to the AMF a N2 message” indicating that (R)AN is capable to communicate with different AMFs. Further, Park teaches a gNB being shared by PLMN1 and PLMN2. The gNB communicates with AMF in 5G core network of PLMN1 and AMF in 5G core of PLMN2 ([0245]). Since an AMF belonging to a PLMN sharing the gNB, both AMF and gNB are operated by the PLMN. Thus Park teaches wherein the radio access network is operated by the first mobile network operator.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the radio access network is operated by the first mobile network operator, as taught by Park in Qiao to allow operators to share wireless networks thereby saving cost.
Regarding claim 18, Qiao teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the radio access network is operated by: a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network.
However, Qiao teaches wherein the radio access network is operated by: a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network ([0245] - a base station may be shared by multiple network operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs). When a base station is shared by multiple operators, protocol layers of the base station (e.g. Physical, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, SDAP) are shared by multiple operators sharing the base station).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the radio access network is operated by: a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network, as taught by Park in Qiao to allow operators to share wireless networks thereby saving cost.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of patent US 12,167,287
Application 18/974,698
Patent 12,167,287
Note:
1. A method comprising: obtaining, by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor, an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying, by the processing system, a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating, by the processing system, a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; and transmitting, by the processing system, the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators.
1. A method comprising: obtaining, by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor, an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying, by the processing system, a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating, by the processing system, a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; transmitting, by the processing system, the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators;
The same (anticipated).
generating, by the processing system, at least one aggregate record from the first record and at least one additional record, wherein the at least one aggregate record comprises at least a second radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by a plurality of user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator; and transmitting, by the processing system, the at least one aggregate record to the second cellular core network of the second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators, wherein the second mobile network operator controls the radio access network
Additional limitations.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first record further includes an identification of the first mobile network operator.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first record further includes an identification of the first mobile network operator.
The same (anticipated).
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing the first record.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing the first record.
The same (anticipated).
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the first record is stored in a first record set of the radio access network, wherein the first record set is for the first mobile network operator, wherein the processing system maintains a plurality of record sets, and wherein each of the plurality of record sets is associated with a different one of the plurality of mobile network operators.
The same (anticipated).
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the processing system comprises at least one of: a baseband unit of the radio access network; a central unit of the radio access network; or a distributed unit of the radio access network.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the processing system comprises at least one of: a baseband unit of the radio access network; a central unit of the radio access network; or a distributed unit of the radio access network.
The same (anticipated).
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining at least one instruction from the first mobile network operator or the second mobile network operator for reconfiguring at least one aspect of the radio access network; and reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network in response to the at least one instruction.
The same (anticipated).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: activating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints; or deactivating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: activating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints; or deactivating a spectrum band for at least one class of user endpoints.
The same (anticipated).
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the at least one class of user endpoints comprises user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the at least one class of user endpoints comprises user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator.
The same (anticipated).
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises assigning the at least one class of user endpoints a different utilization priority for the spectrum band as compared to other classes of user endpoints associated with other mobile network operators of the plurality of network operators.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises assigning the at least one class of user endpoints a different utilization priority for the spectrum band as compared to other classes of user endpoints associated with other mobile network operators of the plurality of network operators.
The same (anticipated).
10. The method of claim 6, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: changing a primary spectrum band that is assigned to at least one class of user endpoints or to at least one quality class indicator for the at least one class of user endpoints from a first spectrum band to a second spectrum band.
10. The method of claim 6, wherein the reconfiguring the at least one aspect of the radio access network comprises: changing a primary spectrum band that is assigned to at least one class of user endpoints or to at least one quality class indicator for the at least one class of user endpoints from a first spectrum band to a second spectrum band.
The same (anticipated).
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the first spectrum band is a spectrum band that is prioritized for use by the at least one class of user endpoints over other spectrum bands available for use by the radio access network.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the first spectrum band is a spectrum band that is prioritized for use by the at least one class of user endpoints over other spectrum bands available for use by the radio access network.
The same (anticipated).
12. The method of claim 10, wherein the primary spectrum band is changed for the at least one quality class indicator for the at least one class of user endpoints when a threshold utilization of the first spectrum band is reached or exceeded.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein the primary spectrum band is changed for the at least one quality class indicator for the at least one class of user endpoints when a threshold utilization of the first spectrum band is reached or exceeded.
The same (anticipated).
13. The method of claim 1, further comprising: establishing a default bearer between the user equipment and the first cellular core network, in response to the identifying of the first cellular core network.
13. The method of claim 1, further comprising: establishing a default bearer between the user equipment and the first cellular core network, in response to the identifying of the first cellular core network.
The same (anticipated).
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of core networks includes: at least one private core network; and at least one public core network.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of core networks includes: at least one private core network; and at least one public core network.
The same (anticipated).
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one radio access network resource utilization metric comprises at least one of: a duration of time of one or more calls of the user equipment via the radio access network; a volume of data transferred for the user equipment via the radio access network; or a bandwidth utilized by user equipment via the radio access network.
The same (anticipated).
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the first record further includes at least one spectrum band utilized by the user equipment.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the first record further includes at least one spectrum band utilized by the user equipment.
The same (anticipated).
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the radio access network is operated by the first mobile network operator.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the radio access network is operated by: the first mobile network operator;
the second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network.
The same (anticipated).
Additional.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the radio access network is operated by:
a second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the radio access network is operated by:
the first mobile network operator;
the second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators; or an entity that does not operate a cellular core network.
The same (anticipated).
Additional
The same (anticipated).
19. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; and transmitting the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system of a radio access network including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; transmitting the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators;
generating at least one aggregate record from the first record and at least one additional record, wherein the at least one aggregate record comprises at least a second radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by a plurality of user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator; and transmitting the at least one aggregate record to the second cellular core network of the second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators, wherein the second mobile network operator controls the radio access network.
The same (anticipated).
Additional.
20. An apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in a radio access network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; and transmitting the first record to at least one of the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators.
19. An apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in a radio access network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: obtaining an attach request from a user equipment to the radio access network; identifying a first cellular core network of a first mobile network operator associated with the user equipment from among a plurality of cellular core networks of a plurality of mobile network operators in communication with the radio access network; generating a first record that includes an identifier of the user equipment, at least one quality class indicator, and at least one radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by the user equipment associated with the at least one quality class indicator; transmitting the first record to at least one of: the first cellular core network of the first mobile network operator or a second cellular core network of a second mobile network operator of the plurality of network operators;
generating at least one aggregate record from the first record and at least one additional record, wherein the at least one aggregate record comprises at least a second radio access network resource utilization metric for a utilization of the radio access network by a plurality of user endpoints associated with the first mobile network operator; and transmitting the at least one aggregate record to the second cellular core network of the second mobile network operator of the plurality of mobile network operators, wherein the second mobile network operator controls the radio access network.
The same (anticipated).
Additional.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the double patenting issue has been resolved.
Claim 11 and 12 are being objected as being dependent upon objected claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0, 559 pages, 2021 - Section 6.3.5 discusses AMF discovery and selection by performed by 5G-AN.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642