DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment dated April 28, 2026.
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 2 and 4-5 are as originally filed.
Claim 3 is canceled.
Therefore, claims 1-2 and 4-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites a controller configured to make a procedure for unlocking or opening the door simpler than normal upon determining that the person trapped inside the vehicle is a child. The claimed limitation of “simpler than normal” is a relative phrase. It is not clear how the applicant has possession of this limitation. Does the applicant possess every possible manner, known and not yet known, as to how operation may be “simpler than normal”? Rather, this limitation is an outcome of the previous limitation of presenting information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door since this alone makes the process “simpler” by reducing the need for the person to figure out how to survive or exit the vehicle in a state of potential panic.
For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as being met if the limitation of presenting information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door is met.
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “simpler than normal” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “simpler than normal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Is the door a sliding door, a wing door, an externally rotating door, or other? Does the door automatically open at the touch of a button or does a person have to physically move the door?
What are considered the metes and bounds of “normal” in door lock operation? The claim and specification does not define the interpretation of normal as a baseline for the claim language of “simpler than normal”. Paragraph [0018] of the specification provides one example, but the language in the claim does not define this example. Instead, the claim language is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golov (US PG Pub #2021/0245771) in view of Konchan et al. (Konchan; US PG Pub #2016/0355128) and Zang (US PG Pub #2006/0103516).
As to claim 1, Golov teaches an information presentation apparatus (Paragraph [0010] teaches a device for detecting the presence of beings trapped in vehicles; Paragraph [0097] teaches an apparatus) comprising:
an output interface installed inside a vehicle (Paragraph [0091] teaches a display within a vehicle such as an in-dash screen); and
a controller (Paragraph [0090] teaches one or more processors) configured to:
determine whether a person is trapped inside the vehicle when a door of the vehicle is locked by a locking operation outside the vehicle (Paragraph [0010] teaches detecting the presence of beings trapped in vehicles; Paragraph [0016] teaches detecting a user has locked the doors via a remote key fob, mobile application, or other device; Paragraph [0035] teaches determining whether a passenger is detected or no passengers are detected);
upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, procedures for unlocking and opening the door (Paragraphs [0041]-[0044] teach transmitting an alert and operating one or more vehicle subsystems to assist the detected passengers after detecting a being in the vehicle); and
make a procedure for unlocking or opening the door simpler than normal upon determining that the person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0044] teaches proactively operating one or more vehicle subsystems to assist the detected passenger).
However, Golov does not explicitly teach presenting, upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door via the output interface and that the trapped person is a child.
In the field of vehicle door lock systems, Konchan teaches presenting, upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door via the output interface (Paragraphs [0005] and [0029] teach the vehicle providing an audio and/or visual message providing instructions on how to unlock and/or open the door when an occupant actuates an interior door handle when the door lock system is locked). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the audio/visual instructions of Konchan because this allows the occupant to exit the vehicle (Paragraph [0005]). Golov in view of Konchan does not render obvious that the trapped person is a child.
In the field of vehicle door lock systems, Zang teaches the trapped person is a child (Paragraph [0012] teaches an alarm system that is operational as long as an infant or child is detected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the child detection of Zang because proactively assisting children yields the predictable result of reducing the need for them to take certain steps in order to stay alive.
As to claim 2, depending from the information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Golov teaches the apparatus further comprising a communication interface configured to communicate with a mobile terminal of a driver of the vehicle (Paragraph [0042] teaches transmitting an alert to a driver of the vehicle; Paragraph [0050] teaches a communication subsystem), but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to initiate a call with the driver via the communication interface upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle.
In the field of detecting presence of occupants in vehicles, Zang teaches wherein the controller is configured to initiate a call with the driver via the communication interface upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0024] teaches calling a cell phone of the driver to deliver a message alerting to a child being left behind in the vehicle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the call of Zang because Zang recognizes that calling or sending a text message are means by which a driver can be alerted (Paragraph [0024]) such that each is a simple substitution of the other that yields the predictable result of alerting the driver.
As to claim 4, depending from the information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Golov teaches wherein the controller is configured to output an alarm to outside of the vehicle upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0054] teaches operating the horn or lights of the vehicle to attempt to draw attention to the vehicle).
As to claim 5, Golov teaches a vehicle comprising the information presentation apparatus (Paragraphs [0086]-[0087] teach a vehicular computing system installed entirely within a vehicle), but does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Golov in view of Konchan render obvious the apparatus of claim 1 as seen with respect to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues, on pages 4-6, that Golov does not disclose, teach, or suggest simplifying the physical or procedural steps required by the trapped person in the car such as to unlock or open the door and that the instructions of Konchan is fundamentally different from actively simplifying the procedure itself, and that Zang does not cure these deficiencies.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, with respect to the argument that Golov does not disclose, teach, or suggest simplifying the physical or procedural steps required the trapped person in the car, the claim does not recite that simplifying “the physical or procedural steps” required by the trapped person, as argued. Instead, the claim recites “make a procedure for unlocking or opening the door simpler than normal”. The amended claim limitation recites “a procedure” and does not specifically refer to the procedure that was presented in the prior claim limitation. Therefore, any procedure that simplifies the process of exiting a vehicle reads on the claimed subject matter. Therefore, the actions of Golov to transmit and alert, open windows, and operate an HVAC system, as pointed out in the argument at the top of page 5, are all procedures that make it simpler for the trapped person to exit the vehicle by allowing the person to relax and not panic due to a more comfortable environment as they handle the situation.
With respect to the argument that the instructions of Konchan are fundamentally different from actively simplifying the procedure itself, again, the claim does not refer to the presented procedure, but instead recites making “a procedure” for unlocking or opening the door simpler. Therefore, by providing instructions as taught in Konchan, the procedure is simplified so that the person in the vehicle does not have to figure out how to exit the vehicle, but can instead be guided through that process.
Finally, with respect to the argument that Zang does not cure these deficiencies, this argument is moot in view of the responses above since the combination of Golov in view of Konchan and Zang is proper.
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 remain properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688