DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the initial filing dated December 10, 2024.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golov (US PG Pub #2021/0245771) in view of Konchan et al. (Konchan; US PG Pub #2016/0355128).
As to claim 1, Golov teaches an information presentation apparatus (Paragraph [0010] teaches a device for detecting the presence of beings trapped in vehicles; Paragraph [0097] teaches an apparatus) comprising:
an output interface installed inside a vehicle (Paragraph [0091] teaches a display within a vehicle such as an in-dash screen); and
a controller (Paragraph [0090] teaches one or more processors) configured to:
determine whether a person is trapped inside the vehicle when a door of the vehicle is locked by a locking operation outside the vehicle (Paragraph [0010] teaches detecting the presence of beings trapped in vehicles; Paragraph [0016] teaches detecting a user has locked the doors via a remote key fob, mobile application, or other device; Paragraph [0035] teaches determining whether a passenger is detected or no passengers are detected); and
upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, procedures for unlocking and opening the door (Paragraphs [0041]-[0044] teach transmitting an alert and operating one or more vehicle subsystems to assist the detected passengers after detecting a being in the vehicle).
However, Golov does not explicitly teach presenting, upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door via the output interface.
In the field of vehicle door lock systems, Konchan teaches presenting, upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle, information indicating procedures for unlocking and opening the door via the output interface (Paragraphs [0005] and [0029] teach the vehicle providing an audio and/or visual message providing instructions on how to unlock and/or open the door when an occupant actuates an interior door handle when the door lock system is locked). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the audio/visual instructions of Konchan because this allows the occupant to exit the vehicle (Paragraph [0005]).
As to claim 4, depending from the information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Golov teaches wherein the controller is configured to output an alarm to outside of the vehicle upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0054] teaches operating the horn or lights of the vehicle to attempt to draw attention to the vehicle).
As to claim 5, Golov teaches a vehicle comprising the information presentation apparatus (Paragraphs [0086]-[0087] teach a vehicular computing system installed entirely within a vehicle), but does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Golov in view of Konchan render obvious the apparatus of claim 1 as seen with respect to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golov (US PG Pub #2021/0245771) in view of Konchan et al. (Konchan; US PG Pub #2016/0355128) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zang (US PG Pub #2006/0103516).
As to claim 2, depending from the information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Golov teaches the apparatus further comprising a communication interface configured to communicate with a mobile terminal of a driver of the vehicle (Paragraph [0042] teaches transmitting an alert to a driver of the vehicle; Paragraph [0050] teaches a communication subsystem), but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to initiate a call with the driver via the communication interface upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle.
In the field of detecting presence of occupants in vehicles, Zang teaches wherein the controller is configured to initiate a call with the driver via the communication interface upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0024] teaches calling a cell phone of the driver to deliver a message alerting to a child being left behind in the vehicle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the call of Zang because Zang recognizes that calling or sending a text message are means by which a driver can be alerted (Paragraph [0024]) such that each is a simple substitution of the other that yields the predictable result of alerting the driver.
As to claim 3, depending from the information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Golov teaches wherein the controller is configured to make a procedure for unlocking or opening the door simpler than normal upon determining that a person is trapped inside the vehicle (Paragraph [0044] teaches proactively operating one or more vehicle subsystems to assist the detected passenger), but does not explicitly teach the trapped person is a child.
In the field of vehicle door lock systems, Zang teaches the trapped person is a child (Paragraph [0012] teaches an alarm system that is operational as long as an infant or child is detected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Golov with the child detection of Zang because proactively assisting children yields the predictable result of reducing the need for them to take certain steps in order to stay alive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Payant et al. (US PG Pub #2016/0379466) teach warning a driver that a passenger remains in a passenger seat of the vehicle when the fob was used to lock the doors of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0013]-[0014]).
Folino (US PG Pub #2018/0126872) teaches a sensor detecting the presence of a passenger within the cabin of a vehicle and wirelessly communicating with a mobile application (Paragraph [0028]).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688