DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the piston” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no earlier recitation of the limitation. MPEP 2173.05(e). For compact prosecution, the limitation has been examined as if it read --a piston--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (KR-20220034744-A - translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a fusion tip of a heat fusion machine (a plastic boss heat welding automatic assembly apparatus), the fusion tip comprising: a base tip (external body 132) including a pinhole formed vertically in a center (channel formed within external body 132) and a tip head contacting the boss or rib during heat fusion (tip 134); and a fusion pin positioned in the pinhole and configured to move up and down separately from the base tip (fusion tool 131) (Fig 7 and ¶0029-0041).
Regarding claim 9, Jo teaches a heat fusion machine (a plastic boss heat welding automatic assembly apparatus) comprising: a fusion tip (131, 132, 134, collectively); and a moving member (driving unit 120), wherein the fusion tip includes: a base tip (external body 132) including a pinhole formed vertically in a center (channel formed within external body 132) and a tip head contacting the boss or rib during heat fusion (tip 134); and a fusion pin positioned in the pinhole and configured to move up and down separately from the base tip (fusion tool 131), and wherein the moving member is connected to the fusion pin and configured to move the fusion pin up and down (Fig 7 and ¶0029-0041).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 9, Jo teaches a machine wherein the moving member (120) includes a motor (122) and a driving shaft (see shaft in Fig 3) connected to the fusion pin, and the motor rotates the driving shaft to move the fusion pin up and down (Fig 3, 7 and ¶0029-0041).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 9, Jo teaches a machine wherein the moving member (120) includes an actuator (124) connected to the fusion pin, and the actuator moves the piston to move the fusion pin up and down.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo (KR-20220034744-A - translation provided).
Regarding claim 2-5, as applied to claim 1, Jo does not explicitly disclose wherein the fusion pin includes a body portion and an auxiliary pin, and the auxiliary pin has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the body portion and is disposed toward the boss or rib; wherein the auxiliary pin includes a first auxiliary pin having a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the body portion and a second auxiliary pin having a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the first auxiliary pin, and the first auxiliary pin and the second auxiliary pin are arranged toward the boss or rib; wherein the auxiliary pin protrudes toward the boss or rib to be fixed; nor wherein the auxiliary pin is embedded in the body portion and is configured to protrude toward the boss or rib during heat fusion.
However, Jo teaches that the shape and size of the fusion tip can be varied according to the characteristics of the assembly part (¶0076).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Jo such that the fusion pin includes a body portion and an auxiliary pin, and the auxiliary pin has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the body portion and is disposed toward the boss or rib; wherein the auxiliary pin includes a first auxiliary pin having a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the body portion and a second auxiliary pin having a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the first auxiliary pin, and the first auxiliary pin and the second auxiliary pin are arranged toward the boss or rib; wherein the auxiliary pin protrudes toward the boss or rib to be fixed; nor wherein the auxiliary pin is embedded in the body portion and is configured to protrude toward the boss or rib during heat fusion, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1, Jo teaches a fusion tip wherein the fusion pin includes a pin head (head of welding tool 131, see Fig 7) contacting the boss or rib,
Jo does not explicitly disclose wherein the pin head includes an intagliated portion recessed into the interior of the fusion pin.
However, Jo teaches that the shape and size of the fusion tip can be varied according to the characteristics of the assembly part (¶0076).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Jo such that the pin head includes an intagliated portion recessed into the interior of the fusion pin, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, Jo teaches a fusion tip wherein the fusion pin includes a pin head (head of welding tool 131, see Fig 7) contacting the boss or rib,
Jo does not specify wherein the pin head includes a coating layer on a surface contacting the boss or rib.
However, Jo further teaches that it is desirable that the fusion tip be coated with Teflon in order to be well separated from the molten plastic (¶0076).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fusion tip disclosed in Jo by applying the known technique of using a Teflon coating in order to be well separated from the molten plastic disclosed in Jo to the head of the welding tool disclosed in Jo with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo (KR-20220034744-A - translation provided), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Grandclement (US-4175590-A).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Jo does not teach a fusion tip further comprising: an elastic body connected to the fusion pin, wherein the elastic body is configured to be compressed during heat fusion so that the fusion pin is accommodated in the pinhole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, welding pistons, Grandclement teaches an elastic body (compression spring 7) connected to the fusion pin, wherein the elastic body is configured to be compressed during heat fusion so that the fusion pin is accommodated in the pinhole (Fig 1 and col 2, ln 59 to col 4, ln 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fusion tip disclosed in Jo by applying the known technique of an elastic body (compression spring 7) connected to the fusion pin, wherein the elastic body is configured to be compressed during heat fusion so that the fusion pin is accommodated in the pinhole disclosed in Grandclement to the fusion tip disclosed in Jo with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KR101209031B1 - a stacking welding device for a plastic product, and to assemble the assembling holes of the joining member into a plurality of protrusions protruding at a predetermined interval on one surface of the plastic product, and then the bottom welding portion bottom surface of the stacking welding device connected to the piston rod of the cylinder stacking for welding and joining the plastic product (abstract).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743