DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on December 10th, 2024.
Claims 1-5 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rau (US 2024/0361975 A1) in view of Nakashima (US 2008/0249780 A1).
As for independent claim 1:
Rau–Nakashima discloses a voice guidance apparatus comprising a controller configured to:
accept a setting for volume to be output in a vehicle for each volume level of a noise that may be detected in the vehicle (0057-0058, Rau disclosed volume control having a series of sequential volume settings, detecting noise levels and adjustment in 0114, 0116);
adjust, upon detecting a noise in the vehicle when outputting the volume to set volume corresponding to a volume level of the detected noise (see adjustment of volume from the detected noise in 0114, 0116 and 0119. Rau discloses detected noise in 0086 and 0087).
Rau does not disclose voice guidance, Nakashima discloses voice guidance in 0024, 0022, 0041, 0050. In the cited sections Nakashima discloses voice guidance in a vehicle and adjusts volume of the voice guidance. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the apparatus of Rau to incorporate the teaching of Nakashima vehicle voice guidance and adjustment of volume, thus provides the driver feedback on the vehicle and adjust volume according to the noise level of the vehicle (Nakashima, 0041, 0042, 0050).
As for dependent claim 2:
Rau–Nakashima discloses the voice guidance apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: accept settings for volume corresponding to two or more volume levels among a plurality of volume levels; and automatically set volume corresponding to a remaining volume level among the plurality of volume levels based on the settings for the volume corresponding to the two or more volume levels (see Nakashima, 0041-0043, 0050).
As for dependent claim 3:
Rau–Nakashima discloses the voice guidance apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to accept a setting for volume corresponding to a specific volume level while playing a noise sample at the specific volume level (see volume level in Nakashima 0042 and Rau, 0061).
As for claim 4:
Rau–Nakashima discloses a vehicle comprising the voice guidance apparatus of claim 1 (Rau, 0044, 0239, discloses volume control operations and infotainment system within a vehicle). Claim 4contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 5:Claim 5 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172