DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment dated May 21, 2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are currently amended.
Claims 5-7 are newly added.
Therefore, claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flick (US PG Pub #2005/0046552) in view of Willats et al. (Willats; US PG Pub #2003/0222758).
As to claim 1, Flick teaches an alarm control device comprising one or more processors (Paragraph [0025] teaches an alarm controller as part of a vehicle security system; Paragraph [0002] teaches the controller can also be called a central processor) configured to:
control an alarm device that activates an alarm when a door of a vehicle is unlocked (Paragraph [0035] teaches responding to a door open code from a door pin switch when in an armed mode as an indication of a high security threat);
control the alarm device so as to shift to an activated state when the door is locked using an authenticated key; and
control the alarm device so as to shift to an inactivated state when the door is unlocked using the authenticated key (Paragraphs [0041] and [0044] teach an armed mode change signal may be generated in response to the user pressing a door lock button on a key fob and a disarmed mode signal may be generated responsive to a door unlock button being pressed), but does not explicitly teach wherein:
the alarm device is not caused to issue an alarm when the door is unlocked from an inside of a cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key in a state in which the alarm device is in the activated state and in a state that the authenticated key is in the inside of the cabin of the vehicle.
In the field of vehicle access control systems, Willats teaches wherein:
the alarm device is not caused to issue an alarm when the door is unlocked from an inside of a cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key in a state in which the alarm device is in the activated state and in a state that the authenticated key is in the inside of the cabin of the vehicle (Paragraph [0151] teaches detecting the presence of an authorization device within the vehicle and enabling the authorized user to lock the vehicle doors; Paragraph [0154] teaches to exit the vehicle, the authorized user may pull a sill button to override the locking; Paragraph [0182] teaches two pull override unlocking such that a first actuation of the inside release means results in unlocking and further operation of the inside release means will cause the latch to unlatch). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Flick with the override of Willats because this improves vehicle ease of use, security and safety (Paragraphs [0004] and [0020]).
As to claim 2, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 1, Flick teaches wherein the alarm device is caused to issue the alarm when the door is unlocked from an outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the alarm device is in the activated state (Paragraphs [0009]-[0010] teach the alarm controller, when in an armed mode, may cause an alert indicator to generate an alarm indication responsive to a high security threat level; Paragraph [0035] teaches when armed, a door open code from a door pin switch is a high security threat).
As to claim 5, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 1, Flick does not explicitly teach wherein the alarm device is not caused to issue the alarm when the one or more processors determine that the authenticated key inside the cabin of the vehicle is the authenticated key that was used for shifting the alarm device to the activated state.
In the field of vehicle access control systems, Willats teaches wherein the alarm device is not caused to issue the alarm when the one or more processors determine that the authenticated key inside the cabin of the vehicle is the authenticated key that was used for shifting the alarm device to the activated state (Paragraph [0091] teaches a user actuating ID means or an RKE authorization device to trigger locking; Paragraph [0151] teaches detecting the presence of the authorization device within the vehicle and enabling the authorized user to lock the vehicle doors; Paragraph [0154] teaches to exit the vehicle, the authorized user may pull a sill button to override the locking; Paragraph [0182] teaches two pull override unlocking such that a first actuation of the inside release means results in unlocking and further operation of the inside release means will cause the latch to unlatch; Paragraph [0083] teaches distinguishing between levels of authorisation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Flick with the override of Willats because this improves vehicle ease of use, security and safety (Paragraphs [0004] and [0020]).
As to claim 7, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 1, Flick does not explicitly teach wherein a driver of the vehicle causes the door to be unlocked from the inside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key.
In the field of vehicle access control systems, Willats teaches wherein a driver of the vehicle causes the door to be unlocked from the inside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key (Paragraph [0154] teaches to exit the vehicle, the authorized user may pull a sill button to override the locking; Paragraph [0182] teaches two pull override unlocking such that a first actuation of the inside release means results in unlocking and further operation of the inside release means will cause the latch to unlatch). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Flick with the override of Willats because this improves vehicle ease of use, security and safety (Paragraphs [0004] and [0020]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flick (US PG Pub #2005/0046552) in view of Willats et al. (Willats; US PG Pub #2003/0222758) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dublirer (US Patent #4,262,279).
As to claim 3, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 2, Flick does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more.
In the field of vehicle alarm systems, Dublirer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more (Column 9, Lin 67 – Column 10, Line 11 teaches that if a thief reaches through a car’s opened window and moves a switch to disable in an effort to circumvent the system, the input is treated as though the thief had opened an entry way). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Flick with the teaching of Dublirer such that it is determined that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more because this provides an uncomplicated, economical and reliable alarm system for us in a vehicle to provide protection without the owner performing any acts outside of normal vehicle operation (Column 1, Line 64 – Column 2, Line 7).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flick (US PG Pub #2005/0046552) in view of Willats et al. (Willats; US PG Pub #2003/0222758) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Morosawa et al. (Morosawa; US PG Pub #2021/0370867).
As to claim 4, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 2, Flick does not explicitly teach wherein:
the one or more processors are configured to receive an image that captures surroundings of the vehicle when the door is unlocked; and
the one or more processors are further configured to determine, based on the image, whether the door has been unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key.
In the field of vehicle systems, Morosawa teaches wherein:
the one or more processors are configured to receive an image that captures surroundings of the vehicle when the door is unlocked (Paragraph [0025] teaches cameras for capturing images of the vehicle’s surroundings; Paragraph [0080] teaches recognizing a person outside the vehicle performing unlocking motions); and
the one or more processors are further configured to determine, based on the image, whether the door has been unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key (Paragraphs [0080]-[0081] and [0093]-[0094] teach detecting a person performing unlocking motions in order to open the door of the vehicle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Flick with the image detection of Morosawa because this ensures security of the vehicle while allowing people other than registered vehicle users to smoothly board the vehicle (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flick (US PG Pub #2005/0046552) in view of Willats et al. (Willats; US PG Pub #2003/0222758) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gangumalla et al. (Gangumalla; US PG Pub #2019/0088098).
As to claim 6, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 1, Flick does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more; and
cause the alarm device to issue an alarm after making a determination that the window of the vehicle is opened by the predetermined amount or more.
In the field of security systems, Gangumalla teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more; and
cause the alarm device to issue an alarm after making a determination that the window of the vehicle is opened by the predetermined amount or more (Paragraph [0103] teaches triggering an alarm when a window is opened past a threshold distance that is an opening amount which would not allow a burglar entry). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle security of Flick with the window alert of Gangumalla because this improves the functionality of security systems by monitoring how much a window is open rather than a conventional binary monitoring of whether the window is open or closed (Paragraph [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688