DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the initial filing dated December 10, 2024.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubayashi (US PG Pub #2018/0361991) in view of Takagi (US Patent #5,291,365).
As to claim 1, Mitsubayashi teaches an alarm control device that controls an alarm device (Paragraph [0028] teaches a vehicle control system includes an apparatus) that activates an alarm when a door of a vehicle is unlocked (Paragraph [0092] teaches generating an alarm when a door is opened without the use of a smart key), the alarm control device controlling the alarm device so as to shift to an activated state when the door is locked using an authenticated key (Paragraph [0011] teaches confirming existence of a second key in a vehicle in order to disable the second key in response to locking of the vehicle by the first key; Paragraph [0092] teaches entering a caution mode in response to the key performing a lock operation), and so as to shift to an inactivated state when the door is unlocked using the authenticated key (Paragraph [0077] teaches releasing disablement of a disabled key in the vehicle interior when the smart key is used for unlocking the vehicle), wherein the alarm device is caused to stop issuing an alarm when the door is unlocked from an inside of a cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key in a state in which the alarm device is in the activated state and the authenticated key is in the inside of the cabin of the vehicle (Paragraph [0093] teaches using the smart key in the vehicle interior to unlock the door and stop the alarm). However, Mitsubayashi does not explicitly teach the device not caused to issue an alarm when the conditions are met.
In the field of automotive antitheft systems (Column 4, Lines 63-64), Takagi teaches the device not caused to issue an alarm when the conditions are met (Column 5, Lines 9-12 teach the automotive antitheft system performs warning inhibition to prevent the generation of a warning when a vehicle driver is present in a vehicle interior). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mitsubayashi with the teaching of Takagi such that an alarm is not issued when the door is unlocked from an inside of a cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key in a state in which the alarm device is in the activated state and the authenticated key is in the inside of the cabin of the vehicle because this yields the predictable result of reducing the annoyance or disturbance of an alarm when a person and key are both inside the vehicle.
As to claim 2, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 1, Mitsubayashi teaches wherein the alarm device is caused to issue an alarm when the door is unlocked from an outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the alarm device is in the activated state (Paragraph [0092] teaches generating an alarm to guard the vehicle against theft when a vehicle door is opened without using the key when in a caution mode).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubayashi (US PG Pub #2018/0361991) in view of Takagi (US Patent #5,291,365) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dublirer (US Patent #4,262,279).
As to claim 3, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 2, Mitsubayashi does not explicitly teach wherein it is determined that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more.
In the field of vehicle alarm systems, Dublirer teaches wherein it is determined that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more (Column 9, Lin 67 – Column 10, Line 11 teaches that if a thief reaches through a car’s opened window and moves a switch to disable in an effort to circumvent the system, the input is treated as though the thief had opened an entry way). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mitsubayashi with the teaching of Dublirer such that it is determined that the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key when the door is unlocked in a state in which a window of the vehicle is opened by a predetermined amount or more because this provides an uncomplicated, economical and reliable alarm system for us in a vehicle to provide protection without the owner performing any acts outside of normal vehicle operation (Column 1, Line 64 – Column 2, Line 7).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubayashi (US PG Pub #2018/0361991) in view of Takagi (US Patent #5,291,365) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Morosawa et al. (Morosawa; US PG Pub #2021/0370867).
As to claim 4, depending from the alarm control device according to claim 2, Mitsubayashi does not explicitly teach wherein:
an image that captures surroundings of the vehicle is acquired when the door is unlocked; and
it is determined based on the image whether the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key.
In the field of vehicle systems, Morosawa teaches wherein:
an image that captures surroundings of the vehicle is acquired when the door is unlocked (Paragraph [0025] teaches cameras for capturing images of the vehicle’s surroundings; Paragraph [0080] teaches recognizing a person outside the vehicle performing unlocking motions); and
it is determined based on the image whether the door is unlocked from the outside of the cabin of the vehicle without using the authenticated key (Paragraphs [0080]-[0081] and [0093]-[0094] teach detecting a person performing unlocking motions in order to open the door of the vehicle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mitsubayashi with the image detection of Morosawa because this ensures security of the vehicle while allowing people other than registered vehicle users to smoothly board the vehicle (Paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US PG Pub #2023/0242074) teach determining if a latch assembly is in the unlock state and a state where the key is left inside the vehicle in the unlock state (Paragraph [0038]).
Stefanovski et al. (US PG Pub #2013/0154819) teach suppressing an audio or visual indicator may reduce or prevent driver annoyance where the mobile electronic device is usually kept within the interior cabin after key-off (Paragraph [0028]).
Chang (US PG Pub #2006/0087411) teaches monitoring for a forcible opening of a door and photographing outside the car when the opening is detected (Paragraph [0012]).
Lutter et al. (US PG Pub #2003/0212480) teach unlocking vehicle doors when a facial image of a person outside the vehicle matches a profile stored in memory (Paragraph [0070] and claim 32).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688