DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2020/0218922 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 4, 16, and 17, Chen discloses; a medical diagnosis apparatus and associated method of operation (abstract) comprising: a processor (210), wherein the processor acquires subject information of a subject placed on a bed (via image acquisition module, par. [0029, 0132]]), acquires a positioning image based on at least any of an optical image of the subject in a state of being placed on the bed or a scanogram (image of the subject positioning image is acquired as an optical image, par. [0215]), on the basis of the subject information, and projects the acquired positioning image onto the bed or a space above the bed (projection of image on subject, which is located on a table/bed, thus the image is “above the bed”, par. [0029]). With further respect to claim 17, Chen discloses a program to perform the disclosed method (par. [0279-0280]).
With respect to claim 5, Chen discloses a reference image that is generated by cutting out a predetermined reference site from the optical image of the subject (region of interest is entered as a portion of an image corresponding to an ROI of the subject (par. [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
With respect to claim 2, Chen, as applied above does not directly specify projecting the positioning image onto the bed or the space above the bed before and after the subject is placed on the bed. However, such a modification would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to ensure proper positioning, such that the patient or operator is aware of where the patient should be located, and subsequently to provide fine alignment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the processor recognizes a color of clothes worn by the subject and processes the positioning image into a color such that the positioning image is able to be recognized in a case where the positioning image is projected onto the clothes.
With respect to claim 6, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the positioning image is an image obtained by superimposing the reference image on the optical image of the subject or the scanogram image of the subject itself.
With respect to claim 7, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the processor generates the scanogram image of the subject, and generates a scanogram image of only a reference site corresponding to the reference image.
With respect to claim 8, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the processor generates the scanogram image of the subject, and skips the generation of the scanogram image in a case where the positioning image is projected onto the bed or the space above the bed.
With respect to claims 9-13, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest that the processor determines a rate of match between the subject placed on the bed and the positioning image, in addition to all of the other claimed elements.
With respect to claims 14-15, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein in a case where the scanogram image of the subject is used as the positioning image, the processor controls an irradiation dose of X-rays to the subject using dose data of the X-rays in a case of generating the scanogram image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 24 September 2026