DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a fastening member.” It is unclear if this is intended to differ from the “fastening component” previously recited.
Claim 11 is deemed indefinite because it is dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mason et al. (US Patent Number 10040377).
Regarding claim 1, Mason discloses a rotary top rod (112) mounted on a safety seat, comprising: a top rod body rotatably mounted on the safety seat and comprising: two rotating arms (120) respectively disposed on both sides of the safety seat; and a mounting rod (at least portions of 122) connected to a bending part of each of the rotating arms (at an upper portion and/or at least indirectly); and a locking assembly comprising: a locking component (including 132); and a fastening component (including 136, 138 for instance); wherein one of the locking component and the fastening component is mounted on the mounting rod (132 is mounted on 122), the other one of the locking component and the fastening component is mounted on the safety seat (see figures), the locking component is engaged with the fastening component to fasten the top rod body to a predetermined position (this is the general manner of operation).
Regarding claim 2, Mason further discloses when the top rod body is disposed at the predetermined position, an end of the top rod body extends to an outer side of the safety seat to form a blocking portion protruding out of the safety seat (see Figures 1 and 4; while the top rod body would appear to extend beyond the seat longitudinally, it at least extends beyond vertically and would form a portion as recited).
Regarding claim 3, Mason further discloses the top rod body further comprises: a rotation portion (at 120A) mounted on the safety seat, wherein the two rotating arms are connected to the rotation portion; and a blocking transverse arm (118) connected to an end of each of the two rotating arms.
Regarding claim 4, Mason further discloses the blocking portion is formed by the blocking transverse arm and the ends of the two rotating arms (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 6, Mason further discloses the end of each of the rotating arms is inclined upward to form the bending part (see figures), and two ends of the mounting rod are respectively connected to the bending part of each of the rotating arms (at least indirectly).
Regarding claim 7, Mason further discloses the locking component comprises a clamping part (of 132) and an elastic part (140), the clamping part is movably mounted on the top rod body or the safety seat and is engaged with the fastening component, the elastic part provides an elastic force for the clamping part to engage the clamping part with the fastening component in a locked position (this is the general arrangement; see the first full paragraph of column 5).
Regarding claim 8, Mason further discloses the fastening component is a fastening groove (at least 138), and the locking component comprises a hook to be engaged with the fastening groove for a snap connection (this is the general arrangement as the fastening could function as such).
Regarding claim 9, Mason further discloses the top rod body is detachably mounted on the safety seat (at least via the fastening arrangement).
Regarding claim 10, Mason further discloses a rotary top rod according to claim 1, and the safety seat is provided with a fastening member (136 for instance) matched with the locking component for a snap connection (this is the general arrangement as the fastening could function as such).
Regarding claim 11, Mason further discloses the safety seat comprises a seat body (104) and a base (102), the seat body is mounted on the base, and the rotary top rod is rotatably mounted on the base (see figures).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mason.
Regarding claim 5, Mason discloses an arrangement as explained above and further discloses the mounting rod is disposed in parallel with the blocking transverse arm (at least in part based on how the rod is defined), and the locking component or the fastening component is mounted at a middle or a side of the mounting rod (see figures). While Mason is thus viewed as disclosing the claimed arrangement, the parallel arrangement may not be clear. However, changes in shape and arrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the mounting rod parallel with the blocking transverse arm based on normal variation to improve function and safety for various users.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12208712 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11584266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide the components arranged as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636