DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2012/0176570 hereinafter Yamazaki) in view of Li, Yao et al. (CN 116841073 hereinafter Li).
Referring to claim 1, Yamazaki discloses a double-sided display device ([0109]; FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B are each a cross-sectional view of a display device in accordance with one embodiment of the disclosed invention. FIG. 5A illustrates a display mode in which images are displayed on both surfaces (double-sided display mode)), comprising a liquid crystal display panel (Fig. 2A-2C; 108) ([0059]; The second display portion 108 corresponding to the second display portion 18 in FIG. 1 has a light-scattering liquid crystal layer which conducts white display (bright display) utilizing light scattered by liquid crystal grains. For example, a polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) or a polymer network liquid crystal (PNLC) is used for such a light-scattering liquid crystal.) and an organic light-emitting display panel (Fig. 2A-2C; 104) ([0049]; The first display portion 104, corresponding to the first display portion 14 in FIG. 1, includes a plurality of pixels, in each of which at least one dual-emission type light-emitting, element is formed. As a light-emitting element, an element using electroluminescence can be used, and there are an organic electroluminescent (EL) element and an inorganic EL element which are classified based on their light-emitting materials.) that are arranged opposite to each other (Fig.1-5; the first display portion 104 is opposite to the second display portion 108),
wherein the organic light-emitting display panel comprises an organic light-emitting
layer ([0049]; The first display portion 104, corresponding to the first display portion 14 in FIG. 1, includes a plurality of pixels, in each of which at least one dual-emission type light-emitting, element is formed.), wherein there is arranged a light diffusion structure ([0046]; First, the structure of the display device illustrated in FIG. 2A to FIG. 2C is described. The display device illustrated in FIG. 2A to FIG. 2C includes a first support having a light-transmitting property 100, the first display portion 104 having dual-emission type light-emitting elements provided in the first support 100, a second support having a light-transmitting property 102 provided opposite to the first support 100, the second display portion 108 having a light-scattering liquid crystal layer and being provided over the second support 102 so as to be opposite to the first display portion 104. Thus, light-scattering reads on “diffusion structure”),
wherein there is arranged a light shielding layer (Fig. 5A-5B; 110) between the light diffusion structure and each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel ([0110]; The MEMS structure portion 106a has the shutter 110 that includes the light-blocking layer 110a provided with the opening portion 110c and the movable light-blocking layer 110b capable of blocking light passing through the opening portion 110c, and the MEMS driving element portion 106b has a transistor for driving the shutter 110. The first display portion 104 includes a plurality of first pixels, while the second display portion 208 includes a plurality of second pixels. At least parts of the first pixels and the second pixels are superposed with the opening portion 110c of the light-blocking layer 110a. A space between the first support 100 and the second support 102 is sealed with the sealant 112.),
wherein the light shielding layer has a width less than a width of an opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel ([0110]; The MEMS structure portion 106a has the shutter 110 that includes the light-blocking layer 110a provided with the opening portion 110c and the movable light-blocking layer 110b capable of blocking light passing through the opening portion 110c, and the MEMS driving element portion 106b has a transistor for driving the shutter 110. The first display portion 104 includes a plurality of first pixels, while the second display portion 208 includes a plurality of second pixels. At least parts of the first pixels and the second pixels are superposed with the opening portion 110c of the light-blocking layer 110a. A space between the first support 100 and the second support 102 is sealed with the sealant 112. Thus, the opening 106b has a width less than the opening layers of the first pixels and second pixels, Fig. 5A-5B.);
wherein the organic light-emitting layer is operative to emit light in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being opposite directions (Fig. 5A-an image seen on the first support 100 side is only an image of the first display portion 104, and an image seen on the second support 102 side is only an image of the second display portion 208. Thus, the light from the images are emitted in the up and down directions); wherein the light in the first direction is partially shielded by the light shielding layer ([0110]; The MEMS structure portion 106a has the shutter 110 that includes the light-blocking layer 110a provided with the opening portion 110c and the movable light-blocking layer 110b capable of blocking light passing through the opening portion 110c, and the MEMS driving element portion 106b has a transistor for driving the shutter 110. The first display portion 104 includes a plurality of first pixels, while the second display portion 208 includes a plurality of second pixels. At least parts of the first pixels and the second pixels are superposed with the opening portion 110c of the light-blocking layer 110a.), and
is partially operative to pass through the light diffusion structure (i.e. light-scattering property) to reach the opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel to realize display of the liquid crystal display panel ([0112]; The second display portion 208 in this embodiment is different from the second display portion 108 in Embodiment 1, and in this embodiment, the second display portion 208 includes a plurality of pixels formed in such a way that one of light-transmitting conductive films formed on the top and bottom surfaces of the liquid crystal layer having a light-scattering property is divided to form pixel electrodes…. and [0114]; The display mode illustrated in FIG. 5A is a double-side display mode in which an image of the first display portion 104 can be seen on the first support 100 side, and an image of the second display portion 208 can be seen on the second support 102 side. In the display mode, the movable light-blocking layer 110b of the shutter 110 is superposed with the opening portion 110c of the light-blocking layer 110a, and thus light from the first support 100 side and light from the second support 102 side are both blocked by the shutter 110. Therefore, an image seen on the first support 100 side is only an image of the first display portion 104, and an image seen on the second support 102 side is only an image of the second display portion 208. In other words, in the display mode illustrated in FIG. 5A, different images can be displayed on the opposite surfaces of one display device. Thus, the light-scattering is implemented by a light diffusion process.),
wherein the light in the second direction is operative to display a front side image on a display surface of the organic light-emitting display panel ([0049]; The first display portion 104, corresponding to the first display portion 14 in FIG. 1, includes a plurality of pixels, in each of which at least one dual-emission type light-emitting, element is formed. As a light-emitting element, an element using electroluminescence can be used, and there are an organic electroluminescent (EL) element and an inorganic EL element which are classified based on their light-emitting materials….and Fig. 5a; Thus, the light emitting in down direction toward the first display portion 104).
However, Yamazaki does not specifically disclose wherein there is arranged a light diffusion structure between each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel and a respective pixel of the liquid crystal display panel.
In an analogous art, Li discloses wherein there is arranged a light diffusion structure between each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel (Li- Fig. 5; second panel OLED 120) and a respective pixel of the liquid crystal display panel (Fig. 5; LCD 110) (Li- see attachment highlighted section; because the light emitted by the organic light emitting layer 114 has scattering condition, the light guide plate 130 is set to collect the light emitted by the organic light emitting layer 114, so as to improve the light utilization rate, It is beneficial to improve the brightness of the display picture of the second panel 120, thereby improving the display effect, and avoiding the poor display of the LCD panel caused by the backlight of the light emitting layer of the OLED panel as the LCD panel…. and Fig. 5 shows that the scattering 114 (diffusion structure) is between pixel layers 111 and 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Li to the system of Yamazaki in order to realize the single-double-face display of the display device.
Referring to claim 4, Yamazaki discloses further comprising a first reflection layer, which is arranged between the light shielding layer and the light diffusion structure, and arranged on and cover a surface of the light shielding layer facing towards the liquid crystal display panel (Fig. 2A-2C, [0085]; Note that in this specification and the like, the term "black display" means display made by pixels in non-light-emission state in a state that the shutters 110 superposed with the pixels are closed. Thus, the black display does not mean that no light is emitted from the pixels. For example, there is a case where when a reflective film such as a metal film is used for the movable light-blocking layer 110b of the shutter 110, light reflected on the movable light-blocking layer 110b is slightly emitted from a pixel, and this case is included in the black display. Thus, the metal film is between the scattering property 108 “diffusion structure” and light-blocking layer 110b of the shutter 110 “light shielding layer”).
Referring to claim 11, Yamazaki discloses wherein there is disposed a glass substrate on a surface of the liquid crystal display panel facing away from the organic light-emitting display panel and there is further disposed another glass substrate on a surface of the organic light-emitting display panel facing away from the liquid crystal display panel ([0048]; The first support 100 and the second support 102 can each be a substrate having a light-transmitting property. For example, a glass substrate, a ceramic substrate, or the like can be used. In addition, the first support 100 and the second support 102 can each be a substrate having a light-transmitting property and flexibility, e.g., a plastic substrate. As the plastic substrate, a fiberglass-reinforced plastics (FRP) plate, a polyvinyl fluoride (PVF) film, a polyester film, or an acrylic resin film can be used. In addition, a sheet with a structure in which an aluminum foil is sandwiched between PVF films or polyester films can be used.).
Referring to claim 13, Yamazaki as modified by Li discloses wherein the organic light-emitting display panel comprises a color film arranged on a side of the organic light-emitting layer facing away from the liquid crystal display panel, wherein the color film comprises a plurality of color filters and a black matrix arranged between different color filters (Li- see attachment highlighted section; Further, the first substrate 111 and the fourth substrate 122 are color filter substrates, and the first substrate 111 and the fourth substrate 122 are provided with color resistors (such as RGB) and a black matrix of different colors, so as to form a filter layer; the second substrate 112 and the third substrate 121 are array substrates, the array substrate is provided with a driving array, the driving array receives the driving signal to control the scanning line or data line in the display panel to input scanning signal or data signal and so on to charge the pixel, so that the pixel is displayed, generally, In view of the front and back display, if it is affected by natural light, part of the front light may pass through the first panel 110 to reach the display surface of the second panel 120, so as to affect the display effect of the display surface of the second panel 120, The color resistance on the first substrate 111 is staggered with the color resistance on the fourth substrate 122, avoiding that the whole display device 100 is transparent on a straight line, so that the ambient light has been absorbed by the black matrix when it does not reach the display surface on the other side, Therefore, the brightness of some areas and the brightness of other areas are not uniform caused by the ambient light on the front and back sides.).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 5-10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 2, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the light diffusion structure comprises a light guide plate and a diffusion sheet, wherein the light guide plate is disposed between the diffusion sheet and the liquid crystal display panel;
wherein the light guide plate has a width that is greater than a width of the
opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel and less than or equal to
a width of the diffusion sheet.”.
Referring to claims 3, 5-10 and 12 are objected upon dependent on the claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 14-19 are allowed since certain key features of the claimed invention are not taught or fairly suggested by prior art.
Referring to claim 14, the prior art of record, however, does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A double-sided display device, comprising a liquid crystal display panel and an organic light-emitting display panel arranged opposite to each other, wherein the organic light-emitting display panel comprises an organic light-emitting layer, wherein there is arranged a light diffusion structure between each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel and a respective pixel of the liquid crystal display panel, wherein there is arranged a light shielding layer between the light diffusion structure and each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel, wherein the light shielding layer has a width less than a width of an opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel;
wherein the organic light-emitting layer is operative to emit light in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being opposite directions; wherein the light in the first direction is partially shielded by the light shielding layer, and is partially operative to pass through the light diffusion structure to reach the opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel to realize display of the liquid crystal display panel, wherein the light in the second direction is operative to display a front side image on a display surface of the
organic light-emitting display panel;
wherein there is further arranged an electrochromic layer between the diffusion sheet and the organic light-emitting display panel, wherein the electrochromic layer and the light shielding layer are arranged in a same layer, and wherein there is arranged a transparent glass substrate between the electrochromic layer and the diffusion sheet;
wherein a sum of widths of the electrochromic layer and the light shielding layer corresponding to each pixel of the liquid crystal panel is equal to a width of an opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel;
wherein there is further disposed a black matrix in a pixel area of the pixels
of the liquid crystal display panel;
wherein the opening area is formed between the black matrix;
wherein a sum of a width of the black matrix and a width of the pixel opening area is equal to a width of the organic light-emitting layer corresponding to each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel.”.
Referring to claim 15, the prior art of record, however, does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A driving method for a double-sided display device wherein the double-sided display device comprises a liquid crystal display panel and an organic light-emitting display panel that are arranged opposite to each other, wherein the organic light-emitting display panel comprises an organic light-emitting layer, wherein there is arranged a light diffusion structure between each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel and a respective pixel of the liquid crystal display panel, wherein there is arranged a light shielding layer between the light diffusion structure and each pixel of the organic light-emitting display panel, wherein the light shielding layer has a width less than a width of an opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel;
wherein the organic light-emitting layer is operative to emit light in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being opposite directions;
wherein the light in the first direction is partially shielded by the light shielding layer, and is partially operative to pass through the light diffusion structure to reach the opening area of each pixel of the liquid crystal display panel to realize display of the liquid crystal display panel, wherein the light in the second direction is operative to display a front side image on a display surface of the organic light-emitting display panel;
wherein the driving method comprises:
inputting a driving signal of the organic light-emitting display panel, and controlling the organic light-emitting layer in the organic light-emitting display panel to emit light in the first direction and the second direction;
obtaining and using a brightness of the light emitted by the organic light-emitting layer in the first direction after being diffused by the light diffusion structure as a backlight brightness of the liquid crystal display panel; and
generating a driving signal of the liquid crystal display panel based on the backlight brightness and signal source data of the liquid crystal display panel;
where the first direction and the second direction are opposite directions, the light from the first direction is used to display a back side image on a display surface of the liquid crystal display panel, and the light in the second direction is used to display the front side image on the display surface of the organic light-emitting display panel.”.
Referring to claims 16-19 are allowable based upon dependent on independent claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki (US 2005/0052383 A1) discloses a double-sided liquid crystal display device.
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624