DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communications filed 12/10/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weiss et al, US Publication No. 2023/0091548 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Weiss et al teaches a method for operating a multitrack sound device (Title/Abstract), comprising: receiving, from a user, at a physical white noise control, a white noise volume level; receiving, from the user, at a physical melody sound control, a melody sound volume level;
receiving, from the user, at a physical nature sound control, a nature sound volume level (FIG. 8, Paragraph 105, “The sound selection GUI 800 can present the user with a variety of sound options 802 generated by the one or more speakers 204. For example, the sound options 802 can include a nature sound, a falling rain sound, a static white-noise sound, a bird chirp sound, a wind-blowing sound, an ocean wave sound, a babbling brook sound, a laundry machine sound, one or more pre-recorded tunes (e.g., a pre-recorded lullaby), or a combination thereof.” Paragraph 48, “As shown in FIG. 1B, the device 100 can also include one or more physical switches 106 including an on/off switch 124, volume control switches 126, brightness control switches 128, sound control switches including a play button 130 and one or more track selection buttons 132, a memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 98, “The volume control slider 608 can be used to remotely control a volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202. The processor can instruct the amplifier 510 to adjust the volume level of sounds produced by the speaker 204 in response to a user input applied to the volume control slider 608. As shown in FIG. 1B, the volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202 can also be controlled by a user manually pressing one or more volume control switches 126 on the device 100.” Displays a variety of sound options, selecting and deselecting them. Further teaching separate volume controls.); and outputting, via one or more speakers, a first sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, a default white noise track, a default melody sound track, and a default nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 2, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, selecting, by the user, at the physical white noise control, a supplementary white noise track from a plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks; selecting, by the user, at the physical melody sound control, a supplementary melody sound track from a plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks ; selecting, by the user, at the physical nature sound control, a supplementary nature sound track from a plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks (See above, as well as Paragraph 107, “FIG. 8 also illustrates that the application 602 can provide a download option 808 to download additional sounds or tunes to supplement or update the currently stored sounds or tunes. The additional sounds or tunes can be downloaded via WiFi (that is, received over WiFi from the server 416) or directly from the client device 400 via Bluetooth®. The additional sounds or tunes can be stored in the system memory 501, on a memory card (e.g., a Secure Digital (SD) card) within the memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof. The additional sounds or tunes can also be downloaded into the system memory 501 from a memory card inserted into the memory card slot 134. The sound selection GUI 800 can also be updated such that each new sound or tune has an associated sound selection button 804. The application 602 can also provide a stream option 810 to stream new sounds via WiFi.”); and outputting, via the one or more speakers, a second sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, the supplementary white noise track, the supplementary melody sound track, and the supplementary nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 3, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, wherein a virtual white noise control, a virtual melody sound control, and a virtual nature sound control are accessible via a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 67, “FIG. 4A illustrates that a client device 400 can be in wireless communication directly with the device 100 through a short-range wireless communication protocol 402.”, Paragraph 68, “The client device 400 can be a portable computing device such as a smartphone, a tablet, a laptop, a smartwatch, a personal entertainment device, or a combination thereof. In other variations not shown in FIG. 4A, the client device 400 can be a desktop computer, a workstation, another server, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 95, “FIG. 6 illustrates that a main menu GUI 600 can be rendered by the client device 400 to wirelessly and remotely control the device 100.”, Paragraph 96, “The main menu GUI 600 can be shown on a display 414 of the client device 400 when a user opens up or runs the application 602 on the client device 400. As shown in FIG. 6, the main menu GUI 600 can include an on/off button 604, a settings icon 606, a volume control slider 608,”).
Regarding Claim 4, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches, wherein the plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks, the plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks, and the plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks are expanded, contracted, and arranged by a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100; playing, pausing, or resuming a track or sound stored in the system memory 501 of the sleep training device 100 or streamed by the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 6, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, wherein the multitrack sound device further comprises a timer control which, when activated by the user, allows the user to set a time period after which the multitrack sound device deactivates (Paragraph 108 “FIG. 9 illustrates that the application 602 can render a timer GUI 900. The application 602 can display or render the timer GUI 900 when a user applies a user input to the timer icon 616 (see FIG. 6). The timer GUI 900 can present the user with a countdown time scroll picker 902. After a user selects a desired amount of time by applying a user input to the countdown time scroll picker 902, the timer GUI 900 will display a countdown timer indicating the amount of time remaining. When the amount of time remaining on the countdown timer has elapsed, the device 100 powers off or deactivates.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches, wherein the multitrack sound device further comprises a light source having a light output when activated and which automatically adjusts based on the first sound (Paragraph 104, “FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate that the device 100 can be used or function as a remote controlled nightlight when a user, such as a parent of a child, places the device 100 in a room of the child and runs the application 602 on the client device 400 in order to select a lighting color that soothes the child or relieves the child of fear or anxiety concerning the darkness. As shown in FIG. 1B, a user can also manually turn on the LEDs 206 by manually pressing the on/off switch 124 and adjusting the brightness of the LEDs 206 by pressing the one or more brightness control switches 128.”, Paragraph 108, “In this manner, the device 100 can be used or function as a remote controlled nightlight or noise machine having a timer function.”, displays the ability to control it with a timer, which also controls the noise machine.).
Regarding Claim 8, Weiss et al teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for operating a multitrack sound device (Title/Abstract), the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to: receive, from a user, at a physical white noise control, a white noise volume level; receive, from the user, at a physical melody sound control, a melody sound volume level; receive, from the user, at a physical nature sound control, a nature sound volume level (FIG. 8, Paragraph 105, “The sound selection GUI 800 can present the user with a variety of sound options 802 generated by the one or more speakers 204. For example, the sound options 802 can include a nature sound, a falling rain sound, a static white-noise sound, a bird chirp sound, a wind-blowing sound, an ocean wave sound, a babbling brook sound, a laundry machine sound, one or more pre-recorded tunes (e.g., a pre-recorded lullaby), or a combination thereof.” Paragraph 48, “As shown in FIG. 1B, the device 100 can also include one or more physical switches 106 including an on/off switch 124, volume control switches 126, brightness control switches 128, sound control switches including a play button 130 and one or more track selection buttons 132, a memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 98, “The volume control slider 608 can be used to remotely control a volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202. The processor can instruct the amplifier 510 to adjust the volume level of sounds produced by the speaker 204 in response to a user input applied to the volume control slider 608. As shown in FIG. 1B, the volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202 can also be controlled by a user manually pressing one or more volume control switches 126 on the device 100.” Displays a variety of sound options, selecting and deselecting them. Further teaching separate volume controls.); and output, via one or more speakers, a first sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, a default white noise track, a default melody sound track, and a default nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 9, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: select, by the user, at the physical white noise control, a supplementary white noise track from a plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks; select, by the user, at the physical melody sound control, a supplementary melody sound track from a plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks; select, by the user, at the physical nature sound control, a supplementary nature sound track from a plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks (See above, as well as Paragraph 107, “FIG. 8 also illustrates that the application 602 can provide a download option 808 to download additional sounds or tunes to supplement or update the currently stored sounds or tunes. The additional sounds or tunes can be downloaded via WiFi (that is, received over WiFi from the server 416) or directly from the client device 400 via Bluetooth®. The additional sounds or tunes can be stored in the system memory 501, on a memory card (e.g., a Secure Digital (SD) card) within the memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof. The additional sounds or tunes can also be downloaded into the system memory 501 from a memory card inserted into the memory card slot 134. The sound selection GUI 800 can also be updated such that each new sound or tune has an associated sound selection button 804. The application 602 can also provide a stream option 810 to stream new sounds via WiFi.”); and output, via the one or more speakers, a second sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, the supplementary white noise track, the supplementary melody sound track, and the supplementary nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 10, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 9, and further teaches, wherein the plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks, the plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks, and the plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks are expanded, contracted, and arranged by a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100; playing, pausing, or resuming a track or sound stored in the system memory 501 of the sleep training device 100 or streamed by the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 11, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches, wherein a virtual white noise control, a virtual melody sound control, and a virtual nature sound control are accessible via a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 67, “FIG. 4A illustrates that a client device 400 can be in wireless communication directly with the device 100 through a short-range wireless communication protocol 402.”, Paragraph 68, “The client device 400 can be a portable computing device such as a smartphone, a tablet, a laptop, a smartwatch, a personal entertainment device, or a combination thereof. In other variations not shown in FIG. 4A, the client device 400 can be a desktop computer, a workstation, another server, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 95, “FIG. 6 illustrates that a main menu GUI 600 can be rendered by the client device 400 to wirelessly and remotely control the device 100.”, Paragraph 96, “The main menu GUI 600 can be shown on a display 414 of the client device 400 when a user opens up or runs the application 602 on the client device 400. As shown in FIG. 6, the main menu GUI 600 can include an on/off button 604, a settings icon 606, a volume control slider 608,”).
Regarding Claim 13, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches, wherein the multitrack sound device further comprises a timer control which, when activated, allows the user to set a time period after which the multitrack sound device deactivates (Paragraph 108 “FIG. 9 illustrates that the application 602 can render a timer GUI 900. The application 602 can display or render the timer GUI 900 when a user applies a user input to the timer icon 616 (see FIG. 6). The timer GUI 900 can present the user with a countdown time scroll picker 902. After a user selects a desired amount of time by applying a user input to the countdown time scroll picker 902, the timer GUI 900 will display a countdown timer indicating the amount of time remaining. When the amount of time remaining on the countdown timer has elapsed, the device 100 powers off or deactivates.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches, wherein the multitrack sound device further comprises a light source having a light output when activated and which automatically adjusts based on the first sound (Paragraph 104, “FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate that the device 100 can be used or function as a remote controlled nightlight when a user, such as a parent of a child, places the device 100 in a room of the child and runs the application 602 on the client device 400 in order to select a lighting color that soothes the child or relieves the child of fear or anxiety concerning the darkness. As shown in FIG. 1B, a user can also manually turn on the LEDs 206 by manually pressing the on/off switch 124 and adjusting the brightness of the LEDs 206 by pressing the one or more brightness control switches 128.”, Paragraph 108, “In this manner, the device 100 can be used or function as a remote controlled nightlight or noise machine having a timer function.”, displays the ability to control it with a timer, which also controls the noise machine.).
Regarding Claim 15, Weiss et al teaches a system for operating a multitrack sound device (Title/Abstract) comprising: one or more processors configured to: receive, from a user, at a physical white noise control, a white noise volume level; receive, from the user, at a physical melody sound control, a melody sound volume level; receive, from the user, at a physical nature sound control, a nature sound volume level (FIG. 8, Paragraph 105, “The sound selection GUI 800 can present the user with a variety of sound options 802 generated by the one or more speakers 204. For example, the sound options 802 can include a nature sound, a falling rain sound, a static white-noise sound, a bird chirp sound, a wind-blowing sound, an ocean wave sound, a babbling brook sound, a laundry machine sound, one or more pre-recorded tunes (e.g., a pre-recorded lullaby), or a combination thereof.” Paragraph 48, “As shown in FIG. 1B, the device 100 can also include one or more physical switches 106 including an on/off switch 124, volume control switches 126, brightness control switches 128, sound control switches including a play button 130 and one or more track selection buttons 132, a memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 98, “The volume control slider 608 can be used to remotely control a volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202. The processor can instruct the amplifier 510 to adjust the volume level of sounds produced by the speaker 204 in response to a user input applied to the volume control slider 608. As shown in FIG. 1B, the volume level of sounds generated by the audio component 202 can also be controlled by a user manually pressing one or more volume control switches 126 on the device 100.” Displays a variety of sound options, selecting and deselecting them. Further teaching separate volume controls.); and output, via one or more speakers, a first sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, a default white noise track, a default melody sound track, and a default nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 16, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, by the user, at the physical white noise control, a supplementary white noise track from a plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks; select, by the user, at the physical melody sound control, a supplementary melody sound track from a plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks; select, by the user, at the physical nature sound control, a supplementary nature sound track from a plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks (See above, as well as Paragraph 107, “FIG. 8 also illustrates that the application 602 can provide a download option 808 to download additional sounds or tunes to supplement or update the currently stored sounds or tunes. The additional sounds or tunes can be downloaded via WiFi (that is, received over WiFi from the server 416) or directly from the client device 400 via Bluetooth®. The additional sounds or tunes can be stored in the system memory 501, on a memory card (e.g., a Secure Digital (SD) card) within the memory card slot 134, or a combination thereof. The additional sounds or tunes can also be downloaded into the system memory 501 from a memory card inserted into the memory card slot 134. The sound selection GUI 800 can also be updated such that each new sound or tune has an associated sound selection button 804. The application 602 can also provide a stream option 810 to stream new sounds via WiFi.”); and output, via the one or more speakers, a second sound based on the white noise volume level, the melody sound volume level, the nature sound volume level, the supplementary white noise track, the supplementary melody sound track, and the supplementary nature sound track (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 17, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches, wherein the plurality of pre-stored white noise tracks, the plurality of pre-stored melody sound tracks, and the plurality of pre-stored nature sound tracks are expanded, contracted, and arranged by a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 80, “The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can communicate with a voice-enabled assistance server 432 via the network 417. The voice-enabled assistance device 426 can detect a voice command from a user to have the sleep training device 100 undertake an action. For example, the action can include activating or deactivating the sleep training device 100 (i.e., turning the sleep training device 100 ON or OFF); adjusting a volume level of sounds generated by the one or more speakers 204 of the sleep training device 100; playing, pausing, or resuming a track or sound stored in the system memory 501 of the sleep training device 100 or streamed by the sleep training device 100;”).
Regarding Claim 18, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches, wherein a virtual white noise control, a virtual melody sound control, and a virtual nature sound control are accessible via a wirelessly connected computing device (Paragraph 67, “FIG. 4A illustrates that a client device 400 can be in wireless communication directly with the device 100 through a short-range wireless communication protocol 402.”, Paragraph 68, “The client device 400 can be a portable computing device such as a smartphone, a tablet, a laptop, a smartwatch, a personal entertainment device, or a combination thereof. In other variations not shown in FIG. 4A, the client device 400 can be a desktop computer, a workstation, another server, or a combination thereof.”, Paragraph 95, “FIG. 6 illustrates that a main menu GUI 600 can be rendered by the client device 400 to wirelessly and remotely control the device 100.”, Paragraph 96, “The main menu GUI 600 can be shown on a display 414 of the client device 400 when a user opens up or runs the application 602 on the client device 400. As shown in FIG. 6, the main menu GUI 600 can include an on/off button 604, a settings icon 606, a volume control slider 608,”).
Regarding Claim 20, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches, wherein the multitrack sound device further comprises a timer control which, when activated, allows the user to set a time period after which the multitrack sound device deactivates (Paragraph 108 “FIG. 9 illustrates that the application 602 can render a timer GUI 900. The application 602 can display or render the timer GUI 900 when a user applies a user input to the timer icon 616 (see FIG. 6). The timer GUI 900 can present the user with a countdown time scroll picker 902. After a user selects a desired amount of time by applying a user input to the countdown time scroll picker 902, the timer GUI 900 will display a countdown timer indicating the amount of time remaining. When the amount of time remaining on the countdown timer has elapsed, the device 100 powers off or deactivates.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al, US Publication No. 2023/0091548 A1, in view of Norell et al, US Publication No. 2018/0359557 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob, where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate reducing a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increasing a respective volume, and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track.
However, Norell et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob (Paragraph 38, “A first rotatable knob 100A has a first rotational axis A1 (see FIG. 3C) extending in a first axial direction. The first rotatable knob 100A is rotatable around this first rotational axis A1 to control a first function. As an example, the first function may be a volume function. “, Paragraph 41, “A second rotatable knob 110B is also provided at the user interface arrangement 100. The second rotatable knob 110B has a second rotational axis A2 (see FIG. 3C) that extends in a second axial direction. The second rotatable knob 110B is rotatable around the second rotational axis A2 to control a third function.”. While in a different embodiment, displays the usage of multiple volume knobs that can be individually programmed to control different functions, including volume. In combination with the previously mentioned prior art, the knobs as described would be capable of controlling the volume of the different audio signals.), where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate reducing a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increasing a respective volume (Paragraph 24, “By providing a user interface arrangement comprising a rotatable knob as defined hereinabove it is made possible to control multiple functions with only one component. This contributes to a solution for controlling various functions of a multimedia playback system (e.g., a home music system) that is both intuitive and easy-to-use. For example, in one advantageous embodiment the provision of one rotatable knob allows for controlling a volume function as well as a playback mode selection function”), and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track (Paragraph 49, “In some embodiments, the displacement of the second rotatable knob 110B may have different functionality depending on which option of the ten selectable options that has been selected. For example… Once activated/connected, short press plays or pauses the current audio. Double press to skip audio song. Triple press to play previous song.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of individual volume knobs controlling multiple functions, rotating to control volume, and pressing to change an audio track, as taught by Norell et al, with the system as taught by Weiss et al. The motivation being that volume knobs are previously well known in the art, and including multiple to allow for individual signal control would further allow the user to customize the sound signals being output, for optimal sound performance.
Regarding Claim 12, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 8, but does not further teach, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob, where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate lowering a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increase a respective volume, and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track.
However, Norell et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob (Paragraph 38, “A first rotatable knob 100A has a first rotational axis A1 (see FIG. 3C) extending in a first axial direction. The first rotatable knob 100A is rotatable around this first rotational axis A1 to control a first function. As an example, the first function may be a volume function. “, Paragraph 41, “A second rotatable knob 110B is also provided at the user interface arrangement 100. The second rotatable knob 110B has a second rotational axis A2 (see FIG. 3C) that extends in a second axial direction. The second rotatable knob 110B is rotatable around the second rotational axis A2 to control a third function.”. While in a different embodiment, displays the usage of multiple volume knobs that can be individually programmed to control different functions, including volume. In combination with the previously mentioned prior art, the knobs as described would be capable of controlling the volume of the different audio signals.), where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate lowering a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increase a respective volume (Paragraph 24, “By providing a user interface arrangement comprising a rotatable knob as defined hereinabove it is made possible to control multiple functions with only one component. This contributes to a solution for controlling various functions of a multimedia playback system (e.g., a home music system) that is both intuitive and easy-to-use. For example, in one advantageous embodiment the provision of one rotatable knob allows for controlling a volume function as well as a playback mode selection function”), and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track (Paragraph 49, “In some embodiments, the displacement of the second rotatable knob 110B may have different functionality depending on which option of the ten selectable options that has been selected. For example… Once activated/connected, short press plays or pauses the current audio. Double press to skip audio song. Triple press to play previous song.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of individual volume knobs controlling multiple functions, rotating to control volume, and pressing to change an audio track, as taught by Norell et al, with the system as taught by Weiss et al. The motivation being that volume knobs are previously well known in the art, and including multiple to allow for individual signal control would further allow the user to customize the sound signals being output, for optimal sound performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Weiss et al teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but does not further teach, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob, where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate lowering a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increasing a respective volume, and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track.
However, Norell et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the physical white noise control, the physical melody sound control, and the physical nature sound control are each a knob (Paragraph 38, “A first rotatable knob 100A has a first rotational axis A1 (see FIG. 3C) extending in a first axial direction. The first rotatable knob 100A is rotatable around this first rotational axis A1 to control a first function. As an example, the first function may be a volume function. “, Paragraph 41, “A second rotatable knob 110B is also provided at the user interface arrangement 100. The second rotatable knob 110B has a second rotational axis A2 (see FIG. 3C) that extends in a second axial direction. The second rotatable knob 110B is rotatable around the second rotational axis A2 to control a third function.”. While in a different embodiment, displays the usage of multiple volume knobs that can be individually programmed to control different functions, including volume. In combination with the previously mentioned prior art, the knobs as described would be capable of controlling the volume of the different audio signals.), where the knob is turned counterclockwise to indicate lowering a respective volume, clockwise to indicate increasing a respective volume (Paragraph 24, “By providing a user interface arrangement comprising a rotatable knob as defined hereinabove it is made possible to control multiple functions with only one component. This contributes to a solution for controlling various functions of a multimedia playback system (e.g., a home music system) that is both intuitive and easy-to-use. For example, in one advantageous embodiment the provision of one rotatable knob allows for controlling a volume function as well as a playback mode selection function”), and pressed to indicate changing a respective audio track (Paragraph 49, “In some embodiments, the displacement of the second rotatable knob 110B may have different functionality depending on which option of the ten selectable options that has been selected. For example… Once activated/connected, short press plays or pauses the current audio. Double press to skip audio song. Triple press to play previous song.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of individual volume knobs controlling multiple functions, rotating to control volume, and pressing to change an audio track, as taught by Norell et al, with the system as taught by Weiss et al. The motivation being that volume knobs are previously well known in the art, and including multiple to allow for individual signal control would further allow the user to customize the sound signals being output, for optimal sound performance.
Conclusion
/DYLAN MAGUIRE NEECE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692