DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8,321,323. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 8,560,431. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Analysis
Claim 1: Ineligible.
STEP 1:
The claim recites a process, as such, is a statutory category of invention (Step 1: YES). See MPEP 2106.03.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1):
The claim is analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception. The claim recites
receiving a number of first indications, in which each first indications indicates a respective first order, in which each first order defines a respective first trade;
querying a plurality of participants regarding the first orders;
after receiving the number of first indications, receiving a second indication of a second order, in which the second order defines a second trade;
constraining a cancellation of the second order for a period of time; querying the plurality of participants regarding the second order; and
allowing the cancellation of the second order after the period of time if an acceptance to enter into the second trade is not identified during the period of time.
These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations via manual human activity (the current claim does not even require a processor or machine to carry out these steps since it simply recites a “method” without a particular hardware structure). That is, the limitations can be performed by organizing human activity or via mental process. Therefore, the claim limitations fall under the abstract idea category of “certain methods of organizing human activity” group in the form of fundamental economic practice and “mental processes” in the form of observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion. (Step 2A1-Yes). See MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c).
STEP 2A (PRONG 2):
Next, the claim is analyzed to determine if it is integrated into a practical application. The claims do not recite any additional elements and so, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to the abstract idea (Step 2A2-No).
STEP 2B:
Next, the claim is analyzed to determine if there are additional claim limitations that individually, or as an ordered combination, ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract ideas (whether claim provides inventive concept). As discussed with respect to Step 2A2 above, the absence of additional claim elements to determine whether the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract ideas renders this Step 2B moot.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, with or without the alternative analysis above, the additional limitations do not amount to a claim as a whole that is significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B- No).
The claim is not patent eligible.
For purposes of Compact Prosecution, Examiner will provide an additional alternative 35 USC § 101 analysis for each of the Step 2A-Prong 2 and Step 2B below with the assumption that the aforementioned steps are performed by a processor and/or other generic computer components.
Alternative STEP 2A (PRONG 2):
In the alternative, even if the “method” is implemented using some computer components such as processors and memories (which is not necessarily implied here), such components are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic computing system performing generic computer functions. These are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea (Step 2A2-No).
Alternative STEP 2B:
In the alternative, as discussed with respect to the alternative Step 2A (prong 2) above, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in alternative Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at alternative Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in alternative Step 2B.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, with or without the alternative analysis above, the additional limitations do not amount to a claim as a whole that is significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B- No). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Gilbert et al. (USPN 7,392,217).
Re claim 1: Gilbert teaches a method comprising:
receiving a number of first indications, in which each first indications indicates a respective first order, in which each first order defines a respective first trade;
querying a plurality of participants regarding the first orders;
after receiving the number of first indications, receiving a second indication of a second order, in which the second order defines a second trade;
constraining a cancellation of the second order for a period of time;
querying the plurality of participants regarding the second order; and
allowing the cancellation of the second order after the period of time if an acceptance to enter into the second trade is not identified during the period of time (Col. 4, lines 27- Col. 5, line 55; figs. 5-6, claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art of record teaches a variety of methods for constraining cancelation of orders. Frasier et al., US 2008/0077523, for example teaches constraining cancelation of all order for an aging period ([0101]).
Waelbroeck US 20110178914 teaches that orders that are matched cannot be canceled in [0077]. However, Lutnick et al., US 2005/0055305 (herein Lutnick) teaches, perhaps the closest form conditional constraining of cancelation to the present claim.
Lutnick describes a guarantee state wherein "the non-priority contraparties to the aggressor's order - i.e., the contraparties that are listed in the book at worse prices (or later times, or both worse prices and later times) than the touch price may be prevented from canceling their respective orders [...]." ([0044])
/OLABODE AKINTOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691