Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2015/0267872) (hereinafter Huang) in view of Chen (US 2018/0235051).
Claim 1: Huang teaches a lamp for displaying multi-color lighting effects comprising: a light emitting module (2, fig. 1) comprising: a base substrate (21, fig. 1) having a mounting surface (upper surface of 21, fig. 1), a plurality of light emitting elements (23, fig. 1) disposed on the mounting surface of the base substrate (21) with
a central axis (central axis extending through 22, 23, fig. 1) of the light emitting module (2) extending from a center of a circular arrangement normal to the mounting surface (see fig. 1), an elongated support structure (22, fig. 1) extending longitudinally along the central axis of the light emitting module (see fig. 1) from the mounting surface of the base substrate (upper surface of 21, fig. 1), and at least one row of emitting elements (23, fig. 1) distributed along the elongated support structure (22) lengthwise; and a hollow lamp shade (11, fig. 1) fitted over the light emitting module (2) in a manner so as to surround the elongated support structure (22) of the light emitting module about the central axis and with a base opening (base opening of 11, fig. 1) of the hollow lamp shade interfacing the base substrate of the light emitting module (see fig. 2), wherein a rim of the base opening of the hollow lamp shade (bottom rim of 11, fig. 2) defines a boundary encircling the plurality of light emitting elements disposed on the mounting surface of the base substrate (see fig. 2).
However, Huang is silent about a plurality of white-light emitting elements and at least one row of red-green-blue light emitting elements.
Chen teaches a plurality of white-light emitting elements (102, fig. 1) (white LED, see para [0024]) and at least one row of red-green-blue light emitting elements (101, fig. 1) (RGB-LED, see para [0024]).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of light emitting elements of Huang with a plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of light-emitting elements with at least one row of red-green-blue light emitting elements, in order to adjust the color and color temperature of the light for the lamp.
Claim 2: Huang fails to teach each red-green-blue-light emitting element of the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements is individually controllable.
Chen teaches each red-green-blue-light emitting element (361, 362, 363, fig. 5) of the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements (101) is individually controllable (RGB LED unit individually controllable by 43, fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of light emitting elements of Huang with a plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of light-emitting elements with at least one row of red-green-blue light emitting elements where each red-green-blue-light emitting element of the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements is individually controllable, in order to adjust the color and color temperature of the light for the lamp.
Claim 3: Huang teaches each row of the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements is parallel to the central axis of the light emitting module (see fig. 2).
Claim 4: Huang teaches the two or more rows of light emitting elements (23, fig. 2) are angularly spaced evenly from each other with respect to the central axis of the light emitting module (see fig. 2).
However, Huang fails to teach the lamp comprises two or more rows of red-green-blue-light emitting elements distributed circumferentially around the elongated support structure of the light emitting module, and the two or more rows of red-green-blue-light emitting elements are angularly spaced evenly from each other with respect to the central axis of the light emitting module.
Chen teaches the lamp comprises two or more rows of red-green-blue-light emitting elements (four rows of 101, fig. 1) distributed circumferentially around the elongated support structure of the light emitting module (see fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of light emitting elements of Huang with a plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of light-emitting elements with at least one row of red-green-blue light emitting elements where the lamp comprises two or more rows of red-green-blue-light emitting elements distributed circumferentially around the elongated support structure of the light emitting module and the two or more rows of red-green-blue-light emitting elements are angularly spaced evenly from each other with respect to the central axis of the light emitting module, in order to adjust the color and color temperature of the light for the lamp.
Claim 16: Huang fails to teach a controller electrically connected to the plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements to control the plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements for displaying various lighting effects.
Chen teaches a controller (40, fig. 5) (control unit, see para [0035]) electrically connected to the plurality of white-light emitting elements (302, fig. 5) and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements (361, 362, 363, fig. 5) to control the plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements for displaying various lighting effects (different color light, see para [0036]).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a controller electrically connected to the plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements to control the plurality of white-light emitting elements and the at least one row of red-green-blue-light emitting elements for displaying various lighting effects, in order to adjust the color and color temperature of the light for the lamp.
Claim 17: Huang fails to teach the plurality of white-light emitting elements disposed on the mounting surface of the base substrate comprises a first set of white-light emitting elements having a first color temperature range and a second set of white-light emitting elements having a second color temperature range, wherein the first color temperature range is different from the second color temperature range.
Chen teaches the plurality of white-light emitting elements disposed on the mounting surface of the base substrate comprises a first set of white-light emitting elements (50, fig. 16D) having a first color temperature range and a second set of white-light emitting elements (50, fig. 16D) having a second color temperature range, wherein the first color temperature range is different from the second color temperature range (emitting different color temperature, see para [0060]).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first set of white-light emitting elements having a first color temperature range and a second set of white-light emitting elements having a second color temperature range, wherein the first color temperature range is different from the second color temperature range, in order to provide a light distribution having emitting different color temperature.
Claim 18: Huang fails to teach the first set of white-light emitting elements is arranged to form a first ring of white-light emitting elements on the mounting surface of the base substrate and the second set of white-light emitting elements is arranged to form a second ring of white-light emitting elements on the mounting surface of the base substrate, wherein the first ring of white-light emitting elements and the second ring of white-light emitting elements are arranged in a concentric manner.
Chen teaches a first set of white-light emitting elements is arranged to form a first ring of white-light emitting elements (outer ring of 52, fig. 14) on the mounting surface of the base substrate (51, fig. 14) and the second set of white-light emitting elements is arranged to form a second ring of white-light emitting elements (middle ring of 52, fig. 14) on the mounting surface of the base substrate (51), wherein the first ring of white-light emitting elements and the second ring of white-light emitting elements are arranged in a concentric manner (see fig. 14).
Therefore, in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first ring of white-light emitting elements on the mounting surface of the base substrate and a second ring of white-light emitting elements on the mounting surface of the base substrate, wherein the first ring of white-light emitting elements and the second ring of white-light emitting elements are arranged in a concentric manner, in order to provide a light distribution having emitting different color temperature.
Claim 20: Huang teaches the elongated support structure has a uniform cross-section along its length (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2015/0267872) in view of Chen (US 2018/0235051) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Oki (US 2014/0168976).
Claim 5: Huang in view of Chen fails to teach the elongated support structure of the light emitting module comprises a tubular wall structure defining a hollow channel extending longitudinally through the elongated support structure along the central axis of the light emitting module, wherein a distal end of the elongated support structure away from the base substrate comprises a channel-opening for the hollow channel.
Oki teaches the elongated support structure of the light emitting module comprises a tubular wall structure (2, fig. 1) defining a hollow channel (channel of 2, fig. 3) extending longitudinally through the elongated support structure along the central axis of the light emitting module (see fig. 3), wherein a distal end of the elongated support structure away from the base substrate comprises a channel-opening for the hollow channel (bottom opening of 2, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Oki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a tubular wall structure defining a hollow channel extending longitudinally through the elongated support structure along the central axis of the light emitting module, wherein a distal end of the elongated support structure away from the base substrate comprises a channel-opening for the hollow channel., in order to improve the heat dissipation of the lamp.
Claim 12: Huang in view of Chen fails to teach the light emitting module comprises a heat sink attached to an underside surface of the base substrate, the underside surface being opposite the mounting surface of the base substrate.
Oki teaches a light emitting module comprises a heat sink (2, fig. 1) attached to an underside surface of the base substrate (under side of 3, fig. 1), the underside surface being opposite the mounting surface of the base substrate (upper surface of 3, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Oki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heat sink attached to an underside surface of the base substrate, the underside surface being opposite the mounting surface of the base substrate, in order to improve heat dissipation of the light emitting module thereby increasing the lifetime of the lamp.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2015/0267872) in view of Chen (US 2018/0235051) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 7,513,653) (hereinafter Liu).
Claim 13: Huang teaches a base unit (12, 13, fig. 1) coupled to the base substrate (21, fig. 1) of the light emitting module (2), wherein the base unit (12, 13) comprises a base housing (12, fig. 1) to which the base substrate (21) of the light emitting module is coupled.
However, Huang in view of Chen fails to teach the base housing of the base unit comprises at least one ventilation-hole extending through a panel of the base housing from an inner cavity of the base housing to outside the base housing.
Liu teaches a base unit (10, fig. 2) coupled to the base substrate (20, fig. 2) of the light emitting module, wherein the base unit (10) comprises a base housing (14, 16, fig. 2) to which the base substrate (20) of the light emitting module is coupled, wherein the base housing (14, 16) of the base unit comprises at least one ventilation-hole (144, 166, fig. 2) extending through a panel (panel of 162, 142, fig. 2) of the base housing from an inner cavity of the base housing to outside the base housing (see fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least one ventilation-hole extending through a panel of the base housing from an inner cavity of the base housing to outside the base housing, in order to increase the heat dissipation of the lamp thereby improving the lifetime of the lamp.
Claim 14: Huang in view of Chen fails to teach the at least one ventilation-hole is located at a base panel of the base housing.
Liu teaches the at least one ventilation-hole (144, 166, fig. 2) is located at a base panel of the base housing (see fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Liu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least one ventilation-hole is located at a base panel of the base housing, in order to increase the heat dissipation of the lamp thereby improving the lifetime of the lamp.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-11, 15 and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest the elongated support structure of the light emitting module comprises a plurality of fins extending longitudinally along an inner surface of the tubular wall of the elongated support structure and protruding inwards from the inner surface of the tubular wall towards the central axis of the light emitting module with respect to claim(s) 6,
the hollow lamp shade comprises a crown portion abutting the distal end of the elongated support structure, the crown portion being opposite the base opening of the hollow lamp shade, wherein the crown portion of the hollow lamp shade comprise at least one vent hole in fluid communication with the hollow channel of the elongated support structure, wherein an exterior surface of the crown portion of the hollow lamp shade comprises at least one vent line extending radially from the at least one vent hole with respect to claim(s) 10,
a control unit attached to an exterior surface of a crown portion of the hollow lamp shade in a manner such that at least one vent line extends underneath the control unit to a region of the exterior surface of the crown portion of the lamp shade outside the control unit with respect to claim(s) 11,
the base unit comprises a counterweight housed at a bottom of the base housing of the base unit, wherein the base unit comprises a battery pack housed within the base housing of the base unit with respect to claim(s) 15,
the plurality of white-light emitting elements is arranged in a single ring arrangement wherein the first set of white-light emitting elements having the first color temperature range and the second set of white-light emitting elements having the second color temperature range are arranged in an alternating manner along the single ring arrangement with respect to claim(s) 19, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are dependent upon claim(s) 6 and is/are therefore allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deng (US 2008/0055898), Lee (US 2009/0002995), Deese (US 5,806,965), Verdes et al. (US 6,425,678) all disclose a similar lamp.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875