DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated December 10, 2024.
Status of claims
Claims 1 - 21 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The present application was filed on December 10, 2024, and claims the benefits of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/608,378, filed on December 11, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 recite the term:”[…] “preferably” , (line 1) which is equivalent to phrase “such as”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1 and recites: “[…]wherein the hydrophobic polyaromatic organic compound is further defined as an organic compound containing nitrogen”. However, claim 1 recites: “[…]the hydrophobic polyaromatic compound contains at least two aromatic groups connected by a chain containing either a single secondary amine, a single amide, a single pyrazole, a single amino sulfone, or a single amino sulfone group attached to a single amide group”. Thus, claim 1 already recites functional groups (single secondary amine, a single amide, a single pyrazole, a single amino sulfone, or a single amino sulfone group attached to a single amide group) containing nitrogen, thereby making claim 2 an improper dependent claim for failing further limit independent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 8 – 10 and 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Syed Akhtar et al (WO 2023/073513 A1, hereinafter Syed Akhtar).
Instant claims are drawn to a basic pH (between 7 and 12; between 8 and 10.5) hydrotrope pharmaceutical preparation of a hydrophobic polyaromatic compound mixed with meglumine, wherein the meglumine is present in at least a 2:1 molar ratio of meglumine to polyaromatic compound, and wherein the hydrophobic polyaromatic compound contains at least two aromatic groups connected by a chain containing either a single secondary amine, a single amide, a single pyrazole, a single amino sulfone, or a single amino sulfone group attached to a single amide group, such as meloxicam. Said pharmaceutical preparation further comprises a wetting agent (e.g. polyethylene glycol, sucrose esters, sodium lauryl sulfate), suspending agent (e.g. sodium carboxymethylcellulose, guar gum, sodium alginate), viscosity-increasing agent (e.g. guar gum, sodium alginate) and viscosity-reducing agent (e.g. ethanol, isopropyl alcohol, methanol).
Syed Akhtar teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising meloxicam, rizatriptan benzoate, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable basifying agent (meglumine), one or more pharmaceutically acceptable polymer (e.g. polyethylene glycol), one or more pharmaceutically acceptable buffering agent, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable disintegrant (sodium alginate, guar gum, sodium carboxymethylcellulose), one or more pharmaceutically acceptable lubricant (sucrose stearate), surfactant (sodium lauryl sulphate), organic solvent (e.g. isopropyl alcohol, ethanol, methanol) (page 8, 3rd paragraph, page 15, Table 1). Syed Akhtar studies the solubility of meloxicam in water in presence of meglumine, where 20 mg of meloxicam + 25 mg of meglumine added to water, giving a solution with pH = 10.24 or pH =10.15 (page 16, Example 3, Table 3). Converting masses of meloxicam (20 mg) and meglumine (25 mg) into moles gives ~ 0.0569 mmol of meloxicam and ~ 0.128 mmol of meglumine, which constitutes the molar ratio meloxicam:meglumine 1:2.25. The molar ratio taught by Syed Akhtar falls within the claimed range “at least a 2:1 molar ratio of meglumine to meloxicam”. The pH of solution of meloxicam in presence of meglumine taught by Syed Akhtar is also within the instantly claimed ranges. MPEP 2131.03 states: "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
Regarding limitations of claims 13 and 14, reciting “wherein an excess of meglumine beyond the 2:1 molar ratio acts as a buffer”, Syed Akhtar teaches the composition where solution of meloxicam and meglumine in water is present in the molar ratio meloxicam:meglumine 1:2.25. Thus, since prior art teaches the same composition, where the components are present in the same ratio, the excess of one component (meglumine) beyond the 2:1 molar ratio inherently acts as a buffer, because a compound and its properties are inseparable. As noted in MPEP 2112: a reference anticipates a claimed invention if the physical structure is identical, regardless of whether the reference explicitly teaches every inherent property. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Thus, Syed Akhtar discloses the same pharmaceutical composition, wherein the same components are present in the same amounts, and exhibit the same properties such as pH. Therefore, the teachings of prior art anticipate the claimed pharmaceutical preparation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11 and 12, 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed Akhtar et al (WO 2023/073513 A1) in view of Hsu et al (WO 2005/037157 A1, hereinafter Hsu) and PubChem (Amoxicillin | C16H19N3O5S | CID 33613, hereinafter PubChem).
Instant claims are drawn to a basic pH (between 9 and 10) hydrotrope pharmaceutical preparation of a hydrophobic polyaromatic compound (meloxicam) mixed with meglumine, wherein the meglumine is present in at least a 2:1 molar ratio of meglumine to polyaromatic compound, and wherein the hydrophobic polyaromatic compound is present at about 0.01% to 45 % weight per volume, about 0.025% to 40% weight per volume, 0.05% to 33.3% weight per volume. Said pharmaceutical preparation further comprises a preservative (e.g. benzyl alcohol), an antioxidant (e.g. vitamin E) and a pharmaceutical active ingredient, such as amoxicillin, in suspension or solution.
Syed Akhtar teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising meloxicam, rizatriptan benzoate, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable basifying agent (meglumine), and excipients such as one or more of polymers, buffering agents, disintegrants, binders, surfactants, fillers, and lubricants. Syed Akhtar teaches the composition, where the solution of meloxicam and meglumine in water has a molar ratio meloxicam:meglumine 1:2.25 and pH = 10.24 or pH =10.15.
Syed Akhtar does not teach the composition, where the pH is between 9 and 10, or where the composition comprises preservatives, antioxidants or antibiotics (e.g. amoxicillin). Syed Akhtar does not teach the composition where the hydrophobic polyaromatic compound is present at about 0.01% to 45% weight per volume, about 0.025% to 40% weight per volume or 0.05% to 33.3% weight per volume.
However, Hsu teaches a pharmaceutical formulation to be applied to
the body surface and provide transdermal administration of a hydrophilic drug. The formulation comprises:
(a) a therapeutically effective amount of the drug (e.g. meloxicam or diclofenac);
(b) an effective flux-enhancing amount of a basic permeation enhancer composition containing an inorganic hydroxide and a nitrogenous base (e.g. meglumine); and
(c) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier suitable for transdermal drug administration (page 3, [0011]-[0014]). The formulation itself has a pH in the in the range of about 8.0 to about 13.0, preferably about 8.5 to about 11.5, more preferably about 9.5 to about 11.5 (page 9, [0038]). The pH of formulations taught by Hsu, fall within or overlap with the instantly claimed pH. The term “hydrophilic drugs” for transdermal administration is defined by Hsu as drugs that have an apparent aqueous solubility greater than 2.5 mg/ml at a pH of 8.0 when measured at 25°C (page 10. [0040]).
Hsu further teaches a delivery system for transdermally administering a hydrophilic drug, which system is comprising:
at least one drug reservoir containing (i) a therapeutically effective amount of the
hydrophilic drug (e.g. analgesic agents, antiinflammatory agents or antibiotics) and (ii) an effective flux-enhancing amount of a basic permeation enhancer composition containing an inorganic hydroxide and a weaker nitrogenous base (e.g. meglumine). The formulation or drug reservoir may be aqueous (page 13, [0051]). Various additives such as antioxidants (e.g. α-tocopherol) or preservatives (e.g. sodium benzoate) may be included in the topical formulations (page 15, [0060]-[0061]). Hsu studies the in vitro permeation of meloxicam from formulations A, B, C, and D, where the formulation B contains 0.35 g of meloxicam, 0.7 g of hexylene glycol, 0.35 g of meglumine, 0.50 g of glycerin, 0.305 g of DI water and 0.055 g of NaOH (pages 19 – 20, Example 1, Table 1). Calculating the total volume of formulation B taught by Hsu from given masses and known densities of liquid components, the volume of the formulation will be approximately 1.95mL, so calculated % weight per volume of meloxicam in the formulation B will be ~17.9%. The calculated % weight per volume of meloxicam in the formulation B falls within the claimed ranges. MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.).
Regarding limitations of claims 11 and 12, which recite the pharmaceutical preparation further comprising a pharmaceutical active ingredient, such as amoxicillin, in suspension or solution, Hsu teaches formulations, where the formulation is aqueous, where the drug is antibiotic and where the drug delivery system comprises at least one drug reservoir. According to PubChem, amoxicillin is an antibiotic that has a low water solubility. Thus, in aqueous formulations taught by Hsu amoxicillin is present as suspension or solution (depending on concentration).
Thus, since Syed Akhtar teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the same active agents and excipients, taken the same molar ratio and maintaining the same or similar pH value as claimed pharmaceutical preparation, and since Hsu teaches structurally similar formulations comprising the same ingredients, where the % weight/volume concentration of the active agents falls within the claimed ranges and the pH value remains the same, and where Hsu recites some additional excipients or active agents, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the formulations of Syed Akhtar by varying excipients, additional active agents or weight percentages of ingredients while maintaining the critical parameters (molar ratio and pH) to arrive at claimed pharmaceutical preparations. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so to optimize the formulation content and component concentrations without disrupting the core compositions with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed Akhtar et al (WO 2023/073513 A1) in view of Kalra et al (IN201911048645 A, hereinafter Kalra).
Instant claims are drawn to a basic pH hydrotrope pharmaceutical preparation of a hydrophobic polyaromatic compound (meloxicam) mixed with meglumine, wherein the meglumine is present in at least a 2:1 molar ratio of meglumine to polyaromatic compound. Said pharmaceutical preparation further comprises a palatability enhancer.
Syed Akhtar teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising meloxicam, rizatriptan benzoate, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable basifying agent (meglumine), and excipients such as maltodextrin (page 11, 1st paragraph). Syed Akhtar teaches the composition, where the solution of meloxicam and meglumine in water has a molar ratio meloxicam:meglumine 1:2.25 and pH = 10.24 or pH =10.15.
Kalra teaches orally dispersible taste-masked formulations of bitter drugs, wherein the formulation comprises of a ternary complex of the bitter drug, such as meloxicam, meglumine and maltodextrin. Kalra teaches maltodextrin as a palatability enhancing agent (page 20, “Palatability study”).
Thus, since Syed Akhtar teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the same active agents and excipients, taken the same molar ratio and maintaining the same or similar pH value as claimed pharmaceutical preparation, where said pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for oral administration, and since Kalra teaches orally dispersible taste-masked formulations comprising meloxicam, meglumine and maltodextrin , where maltodextrin is added as a palatability enhancer, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the formulations of Syed Akhtar by adding maltodextrin to mask bitter taste of oral formulation of meloxicam to arrive at claimed pharmaceutical preparations with the reasonable expectation of success. Especially since prior art teaches that maltodextrin is effectively masking the bitter taste of similar pharmaceutical formulations.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691