DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2022/0291757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a network interface; an operation panel including a touch panel (e.g., he mobile terminal 100 and the MFP 110 are connected to a local area network (LAN) 10, and can exchange information with each other. The mobile terminal 100 is connected to the LAN 10 via an access point 120, paragraph 24), and
a controller (e.g., CPU 201, paragraph 27, figure 2) configured to: start providing a mobile input function of the image forming apparatus to a mobile terminal via the network interface in response to receiving access for starting the mobile input function from the mobile terminal via the network interface in a state where the mobile input function is not provided, the mobile input function enabling the image forming apparatus to accept operations from the mobile terminal via the network interface (e.g., The mobile terminal 100 has a virtual network computing (VNC) client function for remotely operating the MFP 110. Specifically, the mobile terminal 100 includes VNC client software compliant with the remote frame buffer (RFB) protocol. The mobile terminal 100 connects to the MFP 110 by using the VNC and displays a screen displayed on the operation panel of the MFP 110 on the mobile terminal 100. The MFP 110 has a VNC server function, and transmits screen information to the mobile terminal 100 operating as a VNC client, in response to the mobile terminal 100 connecting to the MFP 110 by using the VNC, paragraph 25);
after starting to provide the mobile input function, send display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the mobile terminal to display an operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the mobile terminal (e.g., The mobile terminal 100 renders a screen based on the transmitted screen information. A screen on the mobile terminal 100 and a screen on a display unit of the MFP 110 are synchronized with each other, so that both of the screens are changed according to an operation accepted via the rendered screen or by the MFP 110, paragraph 25);
receive operation data from the mobile terminal via the network interface while the mobile input function is being provided, the operation data indicating what kind of operation has been accepted on the operation screen displayed on the mobile terminal (e.g., The operation panel 206 has a touch panel function for detecting a touch operation performed by the user, and displays various screens provided by the OS 350 and the MFP application 300. The user can input a desired operation instruction to the mobile terminal 100 by performing a touch operation on the operation panel 206, paragraph 29);
perform a process according to what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data (e.g., The OS 350 is software for controlling a general operation of the mobile terminal 100. Various applications including the MFP application 300 described below can be installed in the mobile terminal 100. The OS 350 exchanges information with these applications and changes a screen displayed on the operation panel 206 according to instructions received from the applications, paragraph 32);
display a standby screen including a particular operable object on the touch panel when the mobile input function is not provided (e.g., The MFP application 300 is an application installed in the mobile terminal 100. The MFP application 300 can issue a printing instruction and a scanning instruction to the MFP 110. Further, as described above, the MFP application 300 has a function for operating as a VNC client, displaying an operation screen of the MFP 110, and remotely operating the MFP 110, paragraph 33);
when the particular operable object has been operated, switch the standby screen displayed on the touch panel to a local operation screen; and in response to accepting an operation on the local operation screen, perform a process according to what kind of operation has been accepted on the local operation screen (e.g., A configuration of the MFP application 300 will be described further in detail. A screen control unit 301 controls a screen that is displayed on the operation panel 206, via the OS 350. The screen control unit 301 displays a screen of the MFP application 300 on the operation panel 206. Further, the screen control unit 301 accepts an operation instruction input by the user via the operation panel 206, paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses wherein the standby screen includes access information required to start providing the mobile input function, and wherein the controller is further configured to start providing the mobile input function in response to receiving access using the access information from the mobile terminal via the network interface (e.g., Further, the screen control unit 301 accepts an operation instruction input by the user via the operation panel 206. A communication unit 302 controls wireless communication executed by the wireless communication unit 211 via the OS 350, and transmits and receives information to/from an external apparatus, such as the MFP 110, paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to:
start providing the mobile input function in response to receiving, via the network interface, access using a URL required to start providing the mobile input function from a browser incorporated in the mobile terminal; and 26after starting to provide the mobile input function, send, as the display data, web page data to the mobile terminal via the network interface, the web page data causing the browser incorporated in the mobile terminal to display a web page including the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the mobile terminal (e.g., a hardware configuration of the mobile terminal 100 will be described with reference to FIG. 2. While, in the present embodiment, the mobile terminal 100 is an apparatus such as a smartphone or a tablet-type personal computer (PC), the mobile terminal 100 can be an information processing apparatus of another type capable of communicating with the MFP 110, paragraph 26, figure 8A).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: after starting to provide the mobile input function, send the display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the mobile terminal to display the operation screen virtually showing the operation panel with the local operation screen displayed on the touch panel (e.g., In step S610, the screen control unit 301 renders a screen on the operation panel 206 based on the screen data received in step S609. For example, in a case where the keyboard log-in screen 910 is displayed on the DISPLAY 3090, the keyboard log-in screen 860 is displayed on the operation panel 206. Then, the processing proceeds to step S612, paragraphs 67, 69-70); and
in response to receiving, while the mobile input function is being provided, the operation data from the mobile terminal that has received the display data, via the network interface, send new display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface, the new display data causing the mobile terminal to display the operation screen virtually showing the operation panel updated based on an operation indicated by the received operation data (e.g., Processing executed by the MFP 110 in a case where a screen of the MFP 110 is synchronized with a screen of the mobile terminal 100 by using the VNC will be described with reference to FIG. 7. The CPU 3020 loads a control program stored in a memory, such as the ROM 3030, to the RAM 3040, and executes the control program to process each step illustrated in the flowchart in FIG. 7, paragraphs 77, 79).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi discloses connectable with a memory configured to store setting information indicating that the mobile input function is valid (e.g., FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating processing for connecting the mobile terminal 100 to the MFP 110 by using the VNC, executing remote operation, and disconnecting communication using the VNC. The CPU 201 loads a control program stored in a memory, such as the ROM 202, to the RAM 203, and executes the control program to process step illustrated in the flowchart in FIG. 6, paragraph 61),
wherein the controller is further configured to: when the setting information is not stored in the memory, display the local operation screen on the touch panel; and
when the setting information is stored in the memory, perform: displaying the standby screen on the touch panel in the state where the mobile input function is not provided (e.g., In step S601, in a case where a tap executed on the MFP application icon 811 is detected at the home screen 810, the MFP application 300 is activated. In step S602, the MFP application 300 searches for an MFP in response to the screen control unit 301 detecting a tap performed on the device search button 823 displayed on the application home screen (before device selection) 820. In step S603, the MFP application 300 determines whether an MFP is selected on the device search screen 830. In a case where an MFP is selected (YES in step S603), the MFP application 300 shifts the screen to the application home screen (after device selection) 840, and the processing proceeds to step S604, paragraph 62); and
starting to provide the mobile input function to the mobile terminal via the network interface in response to receiving the access for starting the mobile input function from the mobile terminal via the network interface in the state where the mobile input function is not provided (e.g., In step S605, the MFP application 300 transmits a connection request to the MFP selected in step S604 by using a communication compliant with the RFB protocol. Then, in step S606, the MFP application 300 determines whether the connection request is accepted. In a case where the connection request is accepted (YES in step S606), the processing proceeds to step S607. In a case where the connection request is not accepted (NO in step S606), the processing proceeds to step S619. Acceptance or refusal of the connection request is determined based on response data received as a response to the connection request. In step S619, the screen control unit 301 displays a connection refusal error screen 880, and the processing is ended, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses further comprising an external interface, wherein the controller is further configured to store the setting information in the memory after obtaining the setting information via the external interface (e.g., a network interface card (NIC) 3050 transmits and receives data to/from an external device (e.g., mobile terminal 100) or a file server via the LAN 10. A wireless communication module (WLAN) 3400 causes the MFP 110 to connect to an access point or to operate as an access point by operating in an access point mode to directly connect to the mobile terminal 100 through wireless communication. A printer 3200 is a printing unit for electro-photographic printing on a sheet. A printing method is not limited to the electro-photographic method. A scanner 3300 is an image reading unit for reading an image printed on a sheet. In many cases, an auto-document feeder (ADF) (not illustrated) is mounted on the scanner 3300, and thus a plurality of documents can be read automatically. In some cases, the storage device 3110 having a large capacity is also used as a temporary storage area for storing images, paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: while the mobile input function is being provided, display a provision-in-progress screen on the touch panel without displaying the standby screen or the local operation screen, the provision-in-progress screen indicating that the mobile input function is being provided (e.g., the mobile terminal 100 has a virtual network computing (VNC) client function for remotely operating the MFP 110. Specifically, the mobile terminal 100 includes VNC client software compliant with the remote frame buffer (RFB) protocol. The mobile terminal 100 connects to the MFP 110 by using the VNC and displays a screen displayed on the operation panel of the MFP 110 on the mobile terminal 100. The MFP 110 has a VNC server function, and transmits screen information to the mobile terminal 100 operating as a VNC client, in response to the mobile terminal 100 connecting to the MFP 110 by using the VNC, paragraph 25); and
after terminating providing the mobile input function, display the standby screen on the touch panel without requiring any input operations to the operation panel (e.g., The mobile terminal 100 renders a screen based on the transmitted screen information. A screen on the mobile terminal 100 and a screen on a display unit of the MFP 110 are synchronized with each other, so that both of the screens are changed according to an operation accepted via the rendered screen or by the MFP 110, paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to receiving, while the mobile input function is being provided, the operation data from the mobile terminal via the network interface, perform: setting a parameter when the received operation data indicates an operation related to setting of the parameter for image formation by the image forming apparatus; performing image formation when the received operation data indicates the operation related to execution of the image formation by the image forming apparatus: and terminating providing the mobile input function when the received operation data indicates an operation related to an instruction to terminate providing the mobile input function (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) 201 reads a control program stored in a read only memory (ROM) 202 and executes various types of processing for controlling operation of the mobile terminal 100. The ROM 202 stores a control program. A random access memory (RAM) 203 is used as a main memory or a temporary storage area, such as a work area of the CPU 201. For example, an embedded multimedia card (eMMC), a solid state drive (SSD), or a hard disk drive (HDD) is used as a storage 204 for storing various types of data, such as photographs and electronic documents. An operating system (OS) 350 and an MFP application 300 described below are also stored in the storage 204. A real time clock (RTC) 205 measures time, paragraphs 27, 29, 34).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses wherein the operation panel includes the touch panel and a particular button, and wherein the controller is further configured to terminate providing the mobile input function when the particular button is operated while input function is being provided (e.g., the operation panel 206 has a touch panel function for detecting a touch operation performed by the user, and displays various screens provided by the OS 350 and the MFP application 300. The user can input a desired operation instruction to the mobile terminal 100 by performing a touch operation on the operation panel 206, paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: disable input operations to the operation panel other than an input operation to the particular button while the mobile input function is being provided; and terminate providing the mobile input function in response to acceptance of the input operation to the particular button (e.g., a speaker 207 and a microphone 208 are used, for example, in a case where the user makes a phone call to another mobile terminal or a landline phone. A camera 209 executes image capturing according to an image capturing instruction from the user. Images captured by the camera 209 are stored in a predetermined area of the storage 204. A wireless communication unit 211 executes wireless communication, such as a wireless communication using a LAN, paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to terminate providing the mobile input function when the operation data has not been received from the mobile terminal for a particular period of time while the mobile input function is being provided (e.g., based on the received operation information, the MFP 110 changes a screen displayed on the MFP 110 and the screen displayed on the mobile terminal 100. The application storage unit 306 temporarily stores various types of information generated by the MFP application 300. A timer unit 304 measures time, paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: send reception display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface in response to receiving the access for starting the mobile input function from the mobile terminal via the network interface in the state where the mobile input function is not provided, the reception display data causing the mobile terminal to display a start screen configured to accept a start instruction to cause the image forming apparatus to start providing the mobile input function (e.g., The mobile terminal 100 has a virtual network computing (VNC) client function for remotely operating the MFP 110. Specifically, the mobile terminal 100 includes VNC client software compliant with the remote frame buffer (RFB) protocol. The mobile terminal 100 connects to the MFP 110 by using the VNC and displays a screen displayed on the operation panel of the MFP 110 on the mobile terminal 100. The MFP 110 has a VNC server function, and transmits screen information to the mobile terminal 100 operating as a VNC client, in response to the mobile terminal 100 connecting to the MFP 110 by using the VNC. The mobile terminal 100 renders a screen based on the transmitted screen information. A screen on the mobile terminal 100 and a screen on a display unit of the MFP 110 are synchronized with each other, so that both of the screens are changed according to an operation accepted via the rendered screen or by the MFP 110, paragraph 25); and
after sending the reception display data, perform: starting to provide the mobile input function after receiving start instruction data via the network interface from the mobile terminal that has received the reception display data, the start instruction data indicating that the mobile terminal has received the start instruction (e.g., The operation panel 206 has a touch panel function for detecting a touch operation performed by the user, and displays various screens provided by the OS 350 and the MFP application 300. The user can input a desired operation instruction to the mobile terminal 100 by performing a touch operation on the operation panel 206, paragraph 29); and
sending termination display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface when the particular operable object has been operated before receiving the start instruction data, the termination display data causing the mobile terminal to display a termination screen showing termination of the mobile input function (e.g., the OS 350 is software for controlling a general operation of the mobile terminal 100. Various applications including the MFP application 300 described below can be installed in the mobile terminal 100. The OS 350 exchanges information with these applications and changes a screen displayed on the operation panel 206 according to instructions received from the applications, paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses wherein the controller comprises:
a processor; and 3020 CPU, figure 4
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to: 106
start providing the mobile input function to the mobile terminal via the network interface in response to receiving the access for starting the mobile input function from the mobile terminal via the network interface in the state where the mobile input function is not provided (e.g., the mobile terminal 100 has a virtual network computing (VNC) client function for remotely operating the MFP 110. Specifically, the mobile terminal 100 includes VNC client software compliant with the remote frame buffer (RFB) protocol. The mobile terminal 100 connects to the MFP 110 by using the VNC and displays a screen displayed on the operation panel of the MFP 110 on the mobile terminal 100. The MFP 110 has a VNC server function, and transmits screen information to the mobile terminal 100 operating as a VNC client, in response to the mobile terminal 100 connecting to the MFP 110 by using the VNC, paragraph 25);
after starting to provide the mobile input function, send the display data to the mobile terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the mobile terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the mobile terminal (e.g., The mobile terminal 100 renders a screen based on the transmitted screen information. A screen on the mobile terminal 100 and a screen on a display unit of the MFP 110 are synchronized with each other, so that both of the screens are changed according to an operation accepted via the rendered screen or by the MFP 110, paragraph 25);
receive the operation data from the mobile terminal via the network interface while the mobile input function is being provided (e.g., The operation panel 206 has a touch panel function for detecting a touch operation performed by the user, and displays various screens provided by the OS 350 and the MFP application 300. The user can input a desired operation instruction to the mobile terminal 100 by performing a touch operation on the operation panel 206, paragraph 29);
perform a process according to what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data, wherein the controller sets a parameter when the received operation data indicates an operation related to setting of the parameter for image formation by the image forming apparatus, whereas the controller performs image formation when the received operation data indicates an operation related to execution of the image formation by the image forming apparatus (e.g., (e.g., The OS 350 is software for controlling a general operation of the mobile terminal 100. Various applications including the MFP application 300 described below can be installed in the mobile terminal 100. The OS 350 exchanges information with these applications and changes a screen displayed on the operation panel 206 according to instructions received from the applications, paragraph 32);
display the standby screen including the particular operable object on the touch panel when the mobile input function is not provided (e.g., The MFP application 300 is an application installed in the mobile terminal 100. The MFP application 300 can issue a printing instruction and a scanning instruction to the MFP 110. Further, as described above, the MFP application 300 has a function for operating as a VNC client, displaying an operation screen of the MFP 110, and remotely operating the MFP 110, paragraph 33);
when the particular operable object has been operated, switch the standby screen displayed on the touch panel to the local operation screen; and in response to accepting an operation on the local operation screen (e.g., A configuration of the MFP application 300 will be described further in detail. A screen control unit 301 controls a screen that is displayed on the operation panel 206, via the OS 350. The screen control unit 301 displays a screen of the MFP application 300 on the operation panel 206. Further, the screen control unit 301 accepts an operation instruction input by the user via the operation panel 206, paragraph 34),
perform a process according to what kind of operation has been accepted on the local operation screen, wherein the controller sets a parameter when the accepted operation on the local operation screen is an operation related to setting of the parameter for image formation by the image forming apparatus, whereas the controller performs image formation when the accepted operation on the local operation screen is an operation related to execution of the image formation by the image forming apparatus (e.g., The operation panel 206 has a touch panel function for detecting a touch operation performed by the user, and displays various screens provided by the OS 350 and the MFP application 300. The user can input a desired operation instruction to the mobile terminal 100 by performing a touch operation on the operation panel 206, paragraph 29, 32, 33).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with limitations similar to limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is a method implementable on a controller of an image forming apparatus with limitations similar to limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683