DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita (US 20190025692).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses (Figs. 3-5) an electronic device, comprising: a dimming structure (6) including: a first substrate (40); a second substrate (40) disposed opposite to the first substrate; a liquid crystal layer (45) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate; a first conductive layer (41) disposed between the first substrate and the liquid crystal layer; and a second conductive layer (41) disposed between the second substrate and the liquid crystal layer; and a first anti-reflection film (8) and a second anti-reflection film (8), wherein the dimming structure (6) is disposed between the first anti-reflection film (8) and the second anti-reflection film (8), and each of the first anti-reflection film (8) and the second anti-reflection film (8) has a reflectivity of smaller than 2% (section 0060).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashita discloses (Figs. 3-5) a control unit (12) electrically connected to the dimming structure (sections 0039, 0050, 0068).
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita discloses (Figs. 3-5) the control unit (12) adjusts the transmittance of the dimming structure (sections 0039, 0050, 0068).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita discloses (Figs. 3-5) a liquid crystal type of the dimming structure is ECB (electrically controlled birefringence) (sections 0039, 0050, 0068; “liquid crystal molecules can be controlled through variation of the voltage to be applied”).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita discloses (Figs. 1, 3-5) a light sensing unit (13) disposed on at least one of a first side and a second side of the dimming structure (6, 30a), wherein the first side is opposite to the second side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Wang (US 20140078410).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita does not necessarily disclose the liquid crystal layer includes dichroic dyes.
Wang discloses (section 0043) the liquid crystal layer includes dichroic dyes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the liquid crystal layer to include dichroic dyes to form a transparent and absorbing mode.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20240027811).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses (Figs. 1A-9B) an electronic device, comprising: a light emitting structure (100, 200) including: a first substrate (section 0045; “a substrate (not shown)”; TFT; Figs. 6A-6E); a plurality of data lines disposed on the first substrate (section 0045; “multiple data lines”); a plurality of gate lines disposed on the first substrate (section 0045; “multiple scan lines”); and a light emitting unit disposed on the first substrate (sections 0041, 0045-0046; “a micro light emitting diode display panel”); and a first anti-reflection film (320) and a second anti-reflection film (520), wherein the light emitting structure (100, 200) is disposed between the first anti-reflection film and the second anti-reflection film (Figs. 1B, 3B).
Hsu does not necessarily disclose a plurality of light emitting units.
Hsu discloses a micro light emitting diode display panel (section 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of light emitting units to act as pixels to obtain an image with high brightness and eliminate a need for a backlight.
Regarding claim 8, Hsu does not necessarily disclose the plurality of light emitting units including micro light emitting diodes.
Hsu discloses a micro light emitting diode display panel (section 0045). It would necessarily follow to have a plurality of light emitting units to including micro light emitting diodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of light emitting units including micro light emitting diodes to obtain an image with high brightness and eliminate a need for a backlight.
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses (Figs. 1A-9B) a second substrate (CF, C; Figs. 6A-6E), wherein the plurality of light emitting units are disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871