Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8-20-26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 8-20-26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the sample inflow unit 160 of the embodiment is provided at one side of the sample circulation unit 110 to face the sample inflow unit 120” should read “the sample outflow unit 160...” on page 10 line 13.
“the sample introduction unit 120” should read “the sample inflow unit 120” on page 8 line 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other part on the outer surface" in line 6-7 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 refers to “an outer surface of the sample circulation unit”, however, claim 1 from which claim 4 depends also refers to “an outer surface of the sample circulation unit”. It is unclear if these are the same surfaces or difference surfaces.
Claims 5-6 are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH10216507 (JP’507) (machine translation provided used for citation).
Regarding claim 1, JP’507 teaches a non-degradable substance degradation device using an ultrasound (an ultrasonic chemical reactor, para. 1), comprising:
a sample inflow unit into which a sample containing a non-degradable substance is introduced (fluid is circulated through radiator 3, see below annotated figure 1 and 4, para. 4-7);
a sample circulation unit having a circulation space connected to communicate with the sample inflow unit, and in which the sample moved through the sample inflow unit is circulated (see annotated figure 4 below, para. 4-7); and
an ultrasound vibration unit surrounding at least a part of the sample circulation unit to be spaced apart from an outer surface of the sample circulation unit (vibration is transmitted to the cylindrical radiator 3 from the transducer 1 through the ring 2, para. 4-5, see fig. 1 and 3, therefore the transduced is spaced apart from the cylindrical radiator by ring 2), and
generating an ultrasound and providing the ultrasound to the sample circulated in the sample circulation unit to degrade the non-degradable substance of the sample (a strong sound field by acoustic waves focused into the liquid of the cylindrical radiator 3, to cavitation due to ultrasonic waves formed in the liquid, it is possible to promote chemical reactions, para. 5. JP’507 does not explicitly state that the device is used to degrade a non, however, it is noted that the applicant claimed configuration of “the device" recites the intended use of the apparatus. And a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The device of JP’507 is a device that can focus acoustic waves focus into a liquid for initiating chemical changes in the liquid and therefore would be capable of breaking chemical bonds for degrading a substance of the liquid, claim 1 does not recite any particular operating frequency or specific chemical compounds being treated. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have known that the structural limitations of the device taught by JP’507 and the device claimed would have been the same and since the claim is directed towards an apparatus, the apparatus is independent of the intended use. As a result the device of JP’507 would have been at least as effective as degrading non-degradable substrate as the device claimed).
Regarding claim 2, JP’507 teaches the device of claim 1. JP’507 further teaches a sample outflow unit provided at one side of the sample circulation unit to face the sample inflow unit, and flowing out the sample containing the non-degradable substance degraded by the ultrasound vibration unit in the sample circulation unit (see annotated figure 1 above, the cylindrical radiator 3 out flows the liquid to be circulated).
Regarding claim 3, JP’507 teaches the device of claim 2. JP’507 further teaches a cooling unit which is provided to penetrate centers of the sample inflow unit, the sample circulation unit, and the sample outflow unit, and in which a cooling substance for the sample circulated in the sample circulation unit along a movement path formed therein (The metal pipe 4 for the cooling or heating fluid into the cylindrical radiator 3, para. 6, see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’507 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato Masanori et al. JP 2000084404 (JP’404) (machine translation used for citation).
Regarding claim 4, JP’507 teaches the device of claim 1.
JP’507 does not teach wherein the ultrasound vibration unit includes a first vibration member having a cross section with a hollow semicircular shape, and provided to be spaced apart from a part of an outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and a second vibration member having the cross section with the hollow semicircular shape to face the first vibration member, and provided to be spaced apart from the other part on the outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and forming a hollow circular cross section jointly with the first vibration member.
JP’404 teaches to concentrate a sound wave upon a center of a cylindrical (abstract). In the cylindrical sonoreactor according to the present embodiment having the above-described structure, sound waves are focused on the liquid to be treated sealed in the cylindrical container 13 by the arc-shaped piezoelectric ceramics 14 and 15 inside the cylindrical container 13. Therefore, a strong sound field can be formed, the control of the sound field can be easily handled while being a focusing type, and the reaction of the liquid to be treated through the quartz glass 16 or 17 mounted on one surface of the cylindrical container 13 can be achieved (page 3, see fig. 1-2 and 4). The shape of the ceramics 14 and 15 read on a cross section with a hollow semicircular shape, and provided to be spaced apart from a part of an outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and a second vibration member having the cross section with the hollow semicircular shape to face the first vibration member, and provided to be spaced apart from the other part on the outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and forming a hollow circular cross section jointly with the first vibration member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of JP’507 to include wherein the ultrasound vibration unit includes a first vibration member having a cross section with a hollow semicircular shape, and provided to be spaced apart from a part of an outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and a second vibration member having the cross section with the hollow semicircular shape to face the first vibration member, and provided to be spaced apart from the other part on the outer surface of the sample circulation unit, and forming a hollow circular cross section jointly with the first vibration member because JP’404 teaches a strong sound field can be formed the control of the sound field can be easily handled while being a focusing type, and the reaction of the liquid to be treated can be achieved and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (B).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of JP’507 teaches the device of claim 4. The modified device of JP’507 further teaches wherein the first vibration member and the second vibration member are provided as piezoelectric ceramics (JP’404 teaches arc-shaped piezoelectric ceramics 14 and 15, page 3, see fig. 1-2 and 4).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’507 in view of JP’404 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Meegoda et al. US 2023/0264983 (US’983).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of JP’507 teaches the device of claim 4.
The modified device of JP’507 does not teach wherein a frequency range of the ultrasound irradiated into the sample circulation unit by the ultrasound vibration unit is 350 to 700 kHz.
US’983 teaches a treatment method and system using high-frequency ultrasound for treating a waste stream containing per- and polyfluoroalkyl substance (PFAS) is disclosed (abstract). The plate transducers 130 can operate at a frequency to emit ultrasonic waves 136 into the interior volume 112 of the chamber 110 generally along an x-axis. As an example, the frequency at which the plate transducers 130 can operate can be on the order of hundreds of kilohertz (e.g., approximately 100 kHz to approximately 1.2 MHz). In exemplary embodiments, the frequency can be approximately in a range of about 200 kHz to about 1.1 MHz (para. 51). Therefore, US’983 teaches operable ranges for inducing chemical changes in a liquid by ultrasonic waves overlaps the claimed range. US’983 further teaches the frequency of ultrasound plays an important role in sonolytic technology. It directly affects the effective cavitation events per unit time, bubble size, the degree of heat generated upon collapse, the movement of gases and volatile species toward the bubble cavity, and the movement of active radical species from the cavity. Generally, the sonochemical yield or the maximum reaction rate induced by acoustic cavitation is obtained between 200 and 1000 kHz. Low-frequency ultrasound has less symmetrical bubble implosion, fewer bubble events, more violent collapse, and bigger resonant bubble size. With an increase in frequency, the number of effective cavitation bubbles, the diffusion of gases and volatile compounds into bubbles increases. However, with a rise in the frequency, the size of the collapsing bubbles, the heat generated upon collapse, and the duration of the collapse decrease (para. 17). Therefore, US’983 further teaches that the frequency directly affects the effective cavitation events per unit time, bubble size, the degree of heat generated upon collapse, the movement of gases and volatile species toward the bubble cavity, and the movement of active radical species from the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of JP’507 to include wherein a frequency range of the ultrasound irradiated into the sample circulation unit by the ultrasound vibration unit is 350 to 700 kHz because US’983 teaches US’983 teaches overlapping ranges for operable ranges for inducing chemical changes in a liquid by ultrasonic waves for directly affecting the effective cavitation events per unit time, bubble size, the degree of heat generated upon collapse, the movement of gases and volatile species toward the bubble cavity, and the movement of active radical species from the cavity, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’507 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jameson US 2003/0098364 (US’364).
Regarding claim 7-8, JP’507 teaches the device of claim 1.
JP’507 does not teach wherein inclination parts are provided at both end portions forming the circulation space of the sample circulation unit, which face a diagonal direction to concentrate a disturbed negative pressure when the sample is circulated on a center, with regard to claim 7 and wherein an inclination angle of the inclination part is 10 to 80 degrees, with regard to claim 8.
US’364 teaches an apparatus for controllably focusing ultrasonic acoustical energy to a desired position within a liquid stream by manipulation of the shape of a wave generator used to propagate acoustic energy as well as by the selection of the shape of a chamber within which the acoustic energy is applied to the liquid (abstract). FIGS. 4 through 7 depict possible embodiments of the chamber 142. Each of these FIGS. further depict the tip 150 of the ultrasonic acoustical wave generator. Acoustical energy symbolized by force lines 162 is depicted emanating from the tip 150. As shown, acoustical energy is reflected at a complementary angle off of reflective surfaces 164 which in this case are formed by the side walls of the chamber 142 (para. 44). Dependent at least in part upon the configuration of the reflective surfaces 164 and the angle of incidence θI at which the acoustical energy impacts the reflective surfaces 164, the energy can be focused to a desired point or region in the liquid stream. Looking to FIGS. 4 and 5, it is seen that reflective surfaces 164 when disposed in linear relation to the tip 150 will concentrate the energy into a central region within the chamber 142 forming a focal line 166 coincident with the axis 115 of the exit orifice 112. FIGS. 6 and 7, depict chambers 142 having curvilinear reflective surfaces 164 capable of concentrating the energy into a more focused area or point 168 coincident with the axis 115 of the exit orifice 112 (para. 45-48, see fig. 4-9). The exit orifice terminated within the tip at a chamber 142 having a diameter of 0.125 inch (about 3.2 mm) and conical frustum tapered walls 144 which joined the chamber with the exit orifice 112. The tapered walls 144 were at an angle of 30° from the vertical (para. 59). Therefore, US’364 teaches providing an angled surface, for example 30° of a liquid chamber for focusing the ultrasonic waves for treating the liquid with the ultrasonic waves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP’507 to include wherein inclination parts are provided at both end portions forming the circulation space of the sample circulation unit, which face a diagonal direction to concentrate a disturbed negative pressure when the sample is circulated on a center, with regard to claim 7 and wherein an inclination angle of the inclination part is 10 to 80 degrees, with regard to claim 8 because US’364 teaches providing an angled surface, for example 30° of a liquid chamber for focusing the ultrasonic waves for treating the liquid with the ultrasonic waves and known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2141 III (F).
Conclusion
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713