DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536).
Referring to Claim 1, Wagenaar Cacciola et al teaches a system for therapeutic light treatment, comprising: a light array pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 800); the light array pad having a pad formed of a compressible material (e.g. Figure 8, Element 808 and Paragraph [0070]); the light array pad having a light array encased in the pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 806); the pad having an upper surface and a lower surface extending between a forward edge, a rearward edge, and opposing side edges (e.g. Figure 8); the pad having a plurality of windows formed in the upper surface (e.g. Figure 8, window 222); the light array pad having a plurality of light emitters positioned respectively in the plurality of windows, wherein the plurality of light emitters are organized into a plurality of array segments (e.g. Figure 8, light emitters 806). However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose a plurality of driver circuits, each of the plurality of array segments having a respective one of the plurality of driver circuits configured to selectively provide power to the light emitters of the array segment; one or more temperature sensors configured to provide temperature data for different areas of the light array; a control system; the control system configured to receive the temperature data and direct the respective driver circuits to adjust an intensity of the light emitters in the different areas based on the temperature data. Belkowski teaches that it is known to use a mat with light emitting array with a temperature sensor to detect the temperature of different regions, the temperature data is input into a machine learning model (control system) which is used to modify light intensities for certain regions of the mat (adjust the drive circuit of the particular region) while keeling the intensity the same in other part s of the mat as set forth in Paragraph [0043] to provide reduction in unsafe emission and to improve therapeutic benefits. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al with a plurality of driver circuits, each of the plurality of array segments having a respective one of the plurality of driver circuits configured to selectively provide power to the light emitters of the array segment; one or more temperature sensors configured to provide temperature data for different areas of the light array; a control system; the control system configured to receive the temperature data and direct the respective driver circuits to adjust an intensity of the light emitters in the different areas based on the temperature data as taught by Belkowski, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of reduction in unsafe emission and to improve therapeutic benefits.
Referring to Claim 7, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pad is formed of a silicon material (e.g. Paragraph [0070] discloses exit window 222 is at least 90% of the area of the light transmitting element 212 that is brought in contact with the skin 224 of the treated person, the light transmitting element 212 is manufactured of a flexible light transmitting material, for example silicone and light source 806).
Referring to Claims 11, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum and a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum (e.g. Paragraph [0069] discloses light from the LEDs is not limited to visible light or light of a single primary color and includes infrared); wherein the second spectrum is different from the first spectrum (e.g. Paragraph [0069]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536), as applied above, and further in view of Zhao et al (US Publication 2021/0031053).
Referring to Claim 2, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, except wherein the plurality of windows are recessed openings having an inverted pyramidal shape. Zhao et al teaches that it is known to use recessed openings having an inverted pyramidal shape as set forth in Figures 1b-2 and Paragraph [0040] to provide control over the exit area enabling optimization of treatment area. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with plurality of windows are recessed openings having an inverted pyramidal shape as taught by Zhao et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of control over the exit area enabling optimization of treatment area.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536), as applied above, and further in view of Ribeiro et al (US Publication 2018/0056087).
Referring to Claim 3, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, except wherein the plurality of windows are recessed openings having a cone shape. Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use the plurality of windows are recessed openings having a cone shape as set forth in Figures 1 and 4 to provide improved efficiency and therapy by prevents light from diffusing in a direction away from the treatment area. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the plurality of windows are recessed openings having a cone shape as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved efficiency and therapy by prevents light from diffusing in a direction away from the treatment area.
Referring to Claim 4, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the claimed invention, except wherein the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows.
Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows as set forth in Figures 1 and 4 and Paragraph [0037] to provide the treatment area receiving maximum exposure to the light. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of the treatment area receiving maximum exposure to the light.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536), as applied above, and further in view of Medendorp, Jr. et al (US Publication 2017/0028215).
Referring to Claim 9, Wagenaar Cacciola et al teaches the claimed invention, except wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board.
Medendorp, Jr. et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board as set forth in Figure 38, flexible PCB 410 to provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board as taught by Medendorp, Jr. et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient).
Referring to Claim 10, Wagenaar Cacciola et al teaches the claimed invention, However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support to the plurality of array segments.
Medendorp, Jr. et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support the plurality of array segments as set forth in Figure 38, flexible PCB 410 and standoffs 425 to provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient) and to support the PCB inside a housing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support to the plurality of array segments as taught by Medendorp, Jr. et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient) and to support the PCB inside a housing.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536), as applied above, and further in view of Ribeiro et al (US Publication 2018/0056087) and evidenced by Chaverri (US Publication 2024/0299765).
Referring to Claims 12, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of light emitters include light from the LEDs is not limited to visible light or light of a single primary color and includes infrared. However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a third spectrum; wherein the first spectrum, the second spectrum and the third spectrum are mutually exclusive.
Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use a healing device with LED’s that are capable of tuning light wavelengths to a plurality of different wavelengths or by using single wavelength emission LEDS (e.g. Paragraph [0048]); Paragraph [0047] discloses a wavelength between 580 nm to 700 nm and infrared between 800 nm and 1400 nm to provide maximum healing effects. The examiner notes Chaverri as evidence for the light device maximizing red light, NIR and IR (e.g. Paragraphs [0033] and [0068]) to address a specific therapeutic goal, such as improving sleep quality, enhancing muscle recovery after exercise or resistance training, increasing alertness or focus, etc. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a third spectrum; wherein the first spectrum, the second spectrum and the third spectrum are mutually exclusive as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of maximum healing effects.
Referring to Claim 13, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, except wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a red spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a near infrared spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in an infrared spectrum. Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use a healing device with LED’s that are capable of tuning light wavelengths to a plurality of different wavelengths or by using single wavelength emission LEDS (e.g. Paragraph [0048]); Paragraph [0047] discloses a wavelength between 580 nm to 700 nm and infrared between 800 nm and 1400 nm to provide maximum healing effects. The examiner notes Chaverri is evidenced for the light device maximizing red light, NIR and IR (e.g. Paragraphs [0033] and [0068]) to address a specific therapeutic goal, such as improving sleep quality, enhancing muscle recovery after exercise or resistance training, increasing alertness or focus, etc. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a red spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a near infrared spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in an infrared spectrum as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of maximum healing effects.
Referring to Claim 14, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, except wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 630 nm spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 940 nm spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 950 nm spectrum.
Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use a healing device with LED’s that are capable of tuning light wavelengths to a plurality of different wavelengths or by using single wavelength emission LEDS (e.g. Paragraph [0048]); Paragraph [0047] discloses a wavelength between 580 nm to 700 nm and infrared between 800 nm and 1400 nm to provide maximum healing effects. The examiner notes Chaverri as evidence for the light device maximizing red light, NIR and IR (e.g. Paragraphs [0033] and [0068]) to address a specific therapeutic goal, such as improving sleep quality, enhancing muscle recovery after exercise or resistance training, increasing alertness or focus, etc. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 630 nm spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 940 nm spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 950 nm spectrum as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of maximum healing effects.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Ribeiro et al with a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 630 nm spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 940 nm spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a 950 nm spectrum, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233] and/or since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ (Please see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536), as applied above, and further in view of Dobrinsky et al (US Publication 2016/0114186).
Referring to Claim 15, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski teaches the system of claim 1, except wherein the control system is configured to adjust spectra, waveforms and/or patterns of the plurality of light emitters. Dobrinsky et al teaches that it is known to use the control system is configured to adjust spectra, waveforms and/or patterns of the plurality of light emitters as set forth in Paragraph [0049] to provide the setting of treatment parameters that would optimize healing of the patient and/or provides for improved versatility by adjusting for various medical treatments. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the control system is configured to adjust spectra, waveforms and/or patterns of the plurality of light emitters as taught by Dobrinsky et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of setting of treatment parameters that would optimize healing of the patient and/or provides for improved versatility by adjusting for various medical treatments.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536) and Williams et al (US Publication 2019/0335551).
Referring to Claim 16, Wagenaar Cacciola et al teaches a system for therapeutic light treatment, comprising: a light array pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 800); the light array pad having a pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 808 and Paragraph [0070]); the light array pad having a light array (e.g. Figure 8, Element 806); wherein the light array is encased in the pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 806); wherein the pad is formed of a compressible material and has a plurality of windows (e.g. Paragraph [0070]); wherein the light array has a plurality of light emitters positioned respectively in the plurality of windows (e.g. Figure 8, window 222). However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose a control system; the control system having an onboard control circuit electronically connected to the light array and configured to control operation of the plurality of light emitters; the control system having an external control circuit communicatively connected to the onboard control circuit and configured to communicate control commands directing operation of the plurality of light emitters; wherein the onboard control circuit is configured to authenticate the control commands received from the external control circuit before controlling the plurality of light emitters according to the control commands. Belkowski teaches that it is known to use a mat with a control unit (processor) (e.g. Paragraphs [0066] and [0076]) to control the operation of the light emitters (e.g. Paragraph [0043]; the control system comprises a communication interface for communicating with other computers (e.g. Figure 7, Element 760 and Paragraph [0077]) to provide a reduction in unsafe emission and to improve therapeutic benefits. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with a control system; the control system having an onboard control circuit electronically connected to the light array and configured to control operation of the plurality of light emitters; the control system having an external control circuit communicatively connected to the onboard control circuit and configured to communicate control commands directing operation of the plurality of light emitters as taught by Belkowski, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of reduction in unsafe emission and to improve therapeutic benefits.
Williams et al teaches that it is known to use control circuit is configured to authenticate the control commands received from the external control circuit before controlling according to the control commands as set forth in Paragraph [0525] teaches WiFi connectivity which requires sharing of a secret key authenticate data transfer to provide insuring reliable and secure communication and reductions in attacks on the device (e.g. Paragraphs [0312] and [0589]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with control circuit is configured to authenticate the control commands received from the external control circuit before controlling according to the control command as taught by Williams et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of insuring reliable and secure communication and reductions in attacks on the device.
Referring to Claim 20, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum and a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum (e.g. Paragraph [0069] discloses light from the LEDs is not limited to visible light or light of a single primary color and includes infrared); wherein the second spectrum is different from the first spectrum (e.g. Paragraph [0069]).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536) and Williams et al (US Publication 2019/0335551), as applied above, and further in view of Medendorp, Jr. et al (US Publication 2017/0028215).
Referring to Claim 17, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the claimed invention, wherein the flexible light array pad includes a flexible pad (e.g. Figure 8, Element 800) and a flexible light array positioned within the flexible pad (e.g. Paragraph [0070] light transmitting element 808 is made of a flexible material, such as silicone and light array sources 806). However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the flexible light array has the plurality of light emitters organized into a plurality of array segments.
Medendorp, Jr. et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the flexible light array has the plurality of light emitters organized into a plurality of array segments as set forth in Figure 38 to provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with wherein the flexible light array has the plurality of light emitters organized into a plurality of array segments as taught by Medendorp, Jr. et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient).
Referring to Claim 18, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the claimed invention, except wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board.
Medendorp, Jr. et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board as set forth in Figure 38, flexible PCB 410 to provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with wherein the plurality of array segments are formed of on a single circuit board as taught by Medendorp, Jr. et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient).
Referring to Claim 19, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the claimed invention, However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support to the plurality of array segments.
Medendorp, Jr. et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support to the plurality of array segments as set forth in Figure 38, flexible PCB 410 and standoffs 425 to provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient) and to support the PCB inside a housing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with wherein the plurality of array segments are formed on a single circuit board; wherein the light array includes a plurality of rigid support members configured to provide support to the plurality of array segments as taught by Medendorp, Jr. et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide arrangement of the light for therapy to the shape of the patient’s body (e.g. the scalp of a patient) and to support the PCB inside a housing.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536) and Williams et al (US Publication 2019/0335551), as applied above, and further in view of Ribeiro et al (US Publication 2018/0056087) and evidenced by Chaverri (US Publication 2024/0299765).
Referring to Claim 21, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of light emitters include light from the LEDs is not limited to visible light or light of a single primary color and includes infrared. However, Wagenaar Cacciola et al does not explicitly disclose a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a third spectrum; wherein the first spectrum, the second spectrum and the third spectrum are mutually exclusive.
Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use a healing device with LED’s that are capable of tuning light wavelengths to a plurality of different wavelengths or by using single wavelength emission LEDS (e.g. Paragraph [0048]); Paragraph [0047] discloses a wavelength between 580 nm to 700 nm and infrared between 800 nm and 1400 nm to provide maximum healing effects. The examiner notes Chaverri as evidence for the light device maximizing red light, NIR and IR (e.g. Paragraphs [0033] and [0068]) to address a specific therapeutic goal, such as improving sleep quality, enhancing muscle recovery after exercise or resistance training, increasing alertness or focus, etc. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with a first set of light emitters configured to emit light in a first spectrum, a second set of light emitters configured to emit light in a second spectrum, and a third set of light emitters configured to emit light in a third spectrum; wherein the first spectrum, the second spectrum and the third spectrum are mutually exclusive as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of maximum healing effects.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536) and Williams et al (US Publication 2019/0335551), as applied above, and further in view of Ribeiro et al (US Publication 2018/0056087).
Referring to Claim 22, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the claimed invention, except wherein the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows.
Ribeiro et al teaches that it is known to use the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows as set forth in Figures 1 and 4 and Paragraph [0037] to provide the treatment area receiving maximum exposure to the light. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the plurality of windows are recessed openings having angled reflective surfaces configured to direct light out from the plurality of windows as taught by Ribeiro et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of the treatment area receiving maximum exposure to the light.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagenaar Cacciola et al (US Publication 2013/0144364) in view of Belkowski (US Publication 2024/0033536) and Williams et al (US Publication 2019/0335551), as applied above, and further in view of Doan (US Patent 12,437,047).
Referring to Claim 23, Wagenaar Cacciola et al in view of Belkowski and Williams et al teaches the system of claim 16, except wherein the onboard control circuit requires the external control circuit to periodically communicate an authentication token to permit continued operation of the plurality of light emitters.
Doan et al teaches that it is known to use the onboard control circuit requires the external control circuit to periodically communicate an authentication token to permit continued operation of the plurality of light emitters as set forth in Figure 20 and Column 40 lines 60 -Column 41 line 24) to provide insuring reliable and secure communication and reductions in attacks on the device or misuse caused by someone who did not properly log out of a session. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wagenaar Cacciola et al, with the onboard control circuit requires the external control circuit to periodically communicate an authentication token to permit continued operation of the plurality of light emitters as taught by Doan et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of insuring reliable and secure communication and reductions in attacks on the device or misuse caused by someone who did not properly log out of a session.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US Publication 2016/0279437) discloses an LED pad contained inside a silicon case.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796