Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0140307 to Brosnan et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0068939 to Lachenbruch.
Claim 1, Brosnan discloses a patient support system comprising a support structure including a base 12 arranged for movement along floor surfaces, an intermediate frame 16 spaced above the base, and a patient support deck 18 coupled to the intermediate frame and defining a patient support surface for supporting a patient; a mattress disposed on the patient support deck [0063]; a temperature device arranged for adjusting a temperature experienced by the patient on the patient support surface [0074][0082][0131]; a user input device 424 configured to provide an input signal; a sensing system configured determine a patient condition and to provide a system input signal indicative of the patient condition [0183]; and a controller (412a,426) disposed in communication with the temperature device and capable of select operation of the temperature device based on the input signal, determine a current patient condition based on the system input signal [0181]. Brosnan is silent to the system comparing the current patient condition to a desired patient condition, and operate the temperature device to at least partially adjust the temperature experienced by the patient on the patient support surface based on the comparison of the current patient condition to the desired patient condition. Lachenbruch disclose a control system capable of comparing a current patient condition to a desired patient condition, and adjust the temperature experienced by the patient on the patient support surface based on the comparison [0008]-[0012];[0026];[0048]; [0049][0051];[0055]-[0059]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the control system disclosed in Lachenbruch with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed adjustment of a temperature of the support surface of Brosnan based upon the information received by the system [Abstract][Lachenbruch].
Claim 2, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device is capable of lowering the temperature experienced by the patient on the patient support surface.
Claim 3, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device of Lachenbruch further includes a cooling circuit operatively attached to the mattress [0046].
Claim 5, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device of Lachenbruch includes a fan capable of directing air across the heat exchanger to lower the temperature of the fluid [0046].
Claim 6, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device is capable of increasing the temperature experienced by the patient on the patient support surface.
Claim 7, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device includes a heating elements operatively attached to the mattress [0046].
Claim 8, Brosnan discloses the patient support system wherein the desired patient condition is further defined as a desired patient temperature; and
wherein the controller is capable of operating the heating elements to generate heat at one or more locations of the mattress in response to determining that a current patient temperature defined by the system input signal is higher than the desired patient temperature [0009]-[0012];[0026];[0035]-[0036].
Claim 9, Brosnan discloses the patient support system wherein the system input signal is a continuous signal provided by the sensing system; and wherein the controller is capable of continuing operation of the temperature device while the system input signal is transmitted to the controller until the desired patient condition is reached [0009]-[0012];[0026];[0047]-[0048].
Claim 10, Bronson discloses the patient support system wherein the current patient condition is further defined as a current patient temperature; and wherein the sensing system includes one or more temperature sensors to provide the system input signal indicative of the current patient temperature [0046][0048];[0053]-[0059].
Claim 11, Bronson discloses the patient support system wherein the one or more temperature sensors are operatively attached to the mattress [0048].
Claim 12, Bronson discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature sensor is capable of sensing the temperature of the patient at multiple locations of the patient [0048].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0140307 to Brosnan et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0068939 to Lachenbruch, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,182,826 to Thomas et al.
Claim 4, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the temperature device of Lachenbruch includes a heat exchanger disposed in fluid communication with the cooling circuit [0046]; a pump defined by a fluid supply blower 14 for directing fluid between the cooling circuit and the heat exchanger wherein the desired patient condition is further defined as a desired patient temperature; and wherein the controller is capable of directing fluid through the cooling circuit and towards the heat exchanger in response to determining that a current patient temperature defined by the system input signal is higher than the desired patient temperature. Brosnan is silent to and a motor coupled to a pump 66 and disposed in electrical communication with the controller. Thomas discloses a motor coupled to a pump 66 and in electrical communication with a controller [Abstract](col. 4 lines 4-9). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the motor in Thomas with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have powered the pump to supply fluid to the patient support of Brosnan.
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0140307 to Brosnan et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0068939 to Lachenbruch, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0263950 to Larson et al.
Claim 13-14, Brosnan discloses the patient support system, but is silent to the temperature sensors including an infrared camera. Larson discloses an infrared camera [0196][0212]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the infrared camera disclosed in Larson with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a temperature sensor capable of measuring skin perfusion, temperatures at discrete locations on the body, and temperature mapping.
Claim 15, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system comprising one or more side rails (36a-d) coupled to the support structure; and wherein the infrared camera of the sensing system is capable of being operatively attached proximate to a patient [0212][Larson], but is silent to attaching the infrared camera to a side rail. Selecting a position for the infrared camera is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a side rail attachment for the infrared camera disclosed in Larson with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative location that is proximate to the patient.
Claim 16, Brosnan discloses the patient support system comprising one or more end boards (20,22) coupled to the support structure, the one or more end boards including one or more of a headboard and a footboard; and wherein the infrared camera of the sensing system is capable of being attached proximate the patient, but is silent to attaching to an end board. Selecting a position to attach the infrared camera is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select an end board attachment for the infrared camera disclosed in Larson with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative location that is proximate to the patient.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0140307 to Brosnan et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0068939 to Lachenbruch, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,335,313 to Douglas.
Claim 17, Brosnan discloses the patient support system, but is silent to an input device having a voice activation interface. Douglas discloses a system having an input device having a voice activation interface including a microphone capable of receiving a voice activation command associated with a bed function or environmental function; and assigning a functionality to the input device based on the voice activation command (col. 2 lines 50-64)(col. 4 lines 47-64). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the input device in Douglas with the patient support system of Brosnan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a means for voice control of the bed and environment.
Claim 18, Brosnan discloses the patient support system wherein the input device 56 comprises a button 62 [0032].
Claim 19, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the user input device is of a first form and is located on a control panel coupled to the support structure; and further comprising an input device of a second form capable of providing a input signal, the input device being located remotely from the control panel [0024][0025][0028][0030][0031];[0066]-[0069]; wherein the system of Douglas discloses an input device having a voice activation interface capable of receiving a voice activation command associated with a bed function or environmental function; and assigning a functionality to the input device based on the voice activation command (col. 2 lines 50-64)(col. 4 lines 47-64).
Claim 20, Brosnan, as modified, discloses the patient support system wherein the user input device comprises a first button or microphone; a second button, or a second sensor; and wherein the sensing system includes a load cell 62 or vital sign monitors such as a heart monitor, a breathing monitor, an optical sensor (claim 3), and a camera [0010][0035][0076];[0060]-[0065].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0119843 to Rodgers et al. discloses patient support system having a plurality of sensors.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Justin C. Mikowski can be reached on (571) 272-8525. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673