Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33, 34, 35, 36, 42, 46, 47, 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leonhardt (US 20200317312, hereinafter referred to as Leo).
For claim 33, Leo teaches: A computer-implemented method for performing a sequence of behaviors by a robot ([0021], disclosing a processor performing operations of controlling remote operation vehicle ROV and its arm), the sequence of behaviors including a first behavior and a second behavior ([0014], disclosing tool of ROV can grasp and hold objects, a multitude of different tools that can be used with an ROV, including torque tools, cutters and other tools. A tool interchange 20 mounts at the end of the manipulator arm 16, between the manipulator arm 16 and the tool 18, becoming the interface between the arm 16 and the tool 18. The tool interchange 20 enables the ROV 10 to change out tools), the method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system of the robot, first information associated with the first behavior and second information associated with the second behavior ([0024-0030], disclosing identifying position, orientation and distance of tool holder is determined using a camera. Receiving camera image is receiving information and first behavior is to approach tool holder and second behavior is to dock arm of ROV to tool holder. Information for both behaviors is received through image);
determining, by the computing system, based on the first information, the second information, and a model of at least a portion of the robot, a sequence of behaviors that includes the first behavior and the second behavior ([0024-0030], disclosing determining a path for arm of ROV to approach tool holder and dock the arm to tool holder i.e., determining a sequence of behaviors. In calculating the nominal path, the system operates a kinematic model of the manipulator arm and uses this model to calculate the movement of the joints necessary to move the tool into proximity of the opening in the tool holder and to dock with the tool holder), wherein the sequence of behaviors includes motion information for one or more joints and/or links of the robot included in the at least a portion of the robot ([0024], disclosing In calculating the nominal path, the system operates a kinematic model of the manipulator arm and uses this model to calculate the movement of the joints necessary to move the tool into proximity of the opening in the tool holder and to dock with the tool holder);
And controlling, by the computing system, movement of the robot based on the motion information for the one or more joints and/or links of the robot to perform the sequence of behaviors ([0025], disclosing system implements movement of the manipulator arm along the nominal path by signaling the actuators at the joints of the manipulator arm to move according to the determined nominal path).
Computing system of claim 46 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 33, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 34, Leo teaches: The method of claim 33, wherein receiving first information associated with the first behavior and second information associated with the second behavior comprises receiving the first information and the second information from a perception system of the robot ([0026], disclosing operation 506 can be implemented using images (still or video) from the camera).
Claim 47 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 34, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 35, Leo teaches: The method of claim 33, wherein determining a sequence of behaviors comprises blending a connection between the first behavior and the second behavior ([0024], disclosing In calculating the nominal path, the system operates a kinematic model of the manipulator arm and uses this model to calculate the movement of the joints necessary to move the tool into proximity of the opening in the tool holder and to dock with the tool holder. Moving to opening of the tool holder and docking with the tool holder are two behaviors and they are necessarily blended).
Claim 48 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 35, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 36, Leo teaches: The method of claim 35, wherein determining a sequence of behaviors further comprises populating a queue of behaviors including the first behavior and the second behavior using a planner ([0024-0030], disclosing determining a path for arm of ROV to approach tool holder and dock the arm to tool holder. As tool holder needs to follow a path to approach prior to docking, a queue is populated).
Claim 49 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 36, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 42, Leo teaches: The method of claim 33, wherein the motion information includes position information and/or torque information for each of the one or more joints and/or links of the robot ([0024], disclosing In calculating the nominal path, the system operates a kinematic model of the manipulator arm and uses this model to calculate the movement of the joints necessary to move the tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo in view of Graichen (US 20200086486).
For claim 37, Leo teaches: The method of claim 35,
Leo does not teach: wherein the computing system includes a model predictive controller configured to output the motion information for the one or more joints and/or links of the robot, and blending a connection between the first behavior and the second behavior comprises configuring a cost structure of the model predictive controller to promote smooth changes in momentum and/or force of the one or more joints and/or links of the robot.
Griachen teaches of model predictive controller to output motion information for the one or more joints and/or links of the robot configuring a cost structure of the model predictive controller to promote smooth changes in momentum and/or force of the one or more joints and/or links of the robot ([0022-0024], disclosing motion planning using model predictive control to allow a smooth and natural motion of a robot or its manipulator. And a cost function that weights a deviation of the manipulator from the target path and a deviation of a current path parameter from a target parameter specified by the target path)
Leo and Graichen are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., robot control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Leo to wherein the computing system includes a model predictive controller configured to output the motion information for the one or more joints and/or links of the robot, and blending a connection between the first behavior and the second behavior comprises configuring a cost structure of the model predictive controller to promote smooth changes in momentum and/or force ([0029], disclosing force control over path) of the one or more joints and/or links of the robot as taught by Graichen to allow smooth motion of robot.
Claim 50 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 37, hence is similarly rejected.
Claims 38, 39, 41, 51 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo in view of Thomaz (US 20200070343).
For claim 38, teaches: The method of claim 33,
Leo does not teach: wherein the robot is a humanoid robot.
Thomaz teaches wherein the robot is a humanoid robot (abstract, disclosing a robotic apparatus having manipulating components. [0065], disclosing robot is a humanoid robot)
Leo and Thomaz are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., robots with manipulators. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Leo to wherein the robot is a humanoid robot as taught by Thomaz as a design choice to cater to different applications.
Claim 51 recites limitation similar in scope to claim 38, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 39, Leo teaches: The method of claim 33, wherein determining a sequence of behaviors comprises: determining a first
Although Leo teaches of first speed and second speed, Leo does not disclose speeds to be part of their respective trajectories.
Thomaz teaches generating trajectory for arm of robot ([0016], disclosing generating manipulating arm i.e., arm of robot)
Thomaz and Leo are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., robot manipulators. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Leo to determining a first trajectory to achieve the first behavior; determining a second trajectory to achieve the second behavior; and concatenating the first trajectory and the second trajectory as taught by Thomaz to accurately plan and execute path of arm.
Claim 52 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 39, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 43, Leo teaches: The method of claim 33, wherein the motion information includes as
Leo does not teach the motion information include the above as a function of time.
Thomaz teaches of motion information as a function of time ([0068-0070], disclosing generating a trajectory. Trajectory is motion information as a function of time. [0008-0010], disclosing a robot with a manipulating arm)
Leo and Thomaz are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., motion planning for robot. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Leo to wherein the motion information includes as a function of time, a magnitude, and a direction of a force to apply to each respective joint and/or link as taught by Thomaz improve motion planning and execution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40, 41, 44 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Egi (US 20220075333) teaches of generating trajectory for a robot using predictive model control. See [0047].
/ARSLAN AZHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3656