DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a surface of the tip-end part” is different from “a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface” of claim 1. It would appear that they are the same surface. The Examiner requests the Applicant to please clarify.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a surface of the tip-end part” is different from “a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface” of claim 1. It would appear that they are the same surface. The Examiner requests the Applicant to please clarify.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a surface of the tip-end part” is different from “a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface” of claim 1. It would appear that they are the same surface. The Examiner requests the Applicant to please clarify.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a surface of the tip-end part” is different from “a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface” of claim 1. It would appear that they are the same surface. The Examiner requests the Applicant to please clarify.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it is unclear if “a tip-end part of the shoulder member” is the same tip-end part of the shoulder from claim 1 or if this is a different tip-end part of the shoulder. For the purpose of examination, they are the same tip-end part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stol et al. (2006/0073151A1) in view of Imamura et al. (2011/0099808A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stol discloses a friction stir welding apparatus, comprising: a pin member 62, 68 formed in a solid cylindrical shape; a shoulder member 44 formed in a hollow cylindrical shape, the pin member being configured to be inserted in the shoulder member (figures 14-15, paragraph 0048-0061); wherein a tip-end part of the shoulder member is formed in a tapered shape the tip-end part of the shoulder member has an inner circumferential surface, an outer circumferential surface, and a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface at a distal end of the shoulder member and the outer circumferential surface of the tip-end part is an inclined surface such that an outer diameter of the tip-end part decreases in a direction toward the distal end of the shoulder member (shown below). Since “part” is not defined, a “part” can be any portion/area of the shoulder. As shown below, the “part” is a cross-sectional area portion of the shoulder that forms a taped part. Therefore, the claim limitation is met by Stol.
Stol does not specifically disclose a rotary actuator configured to rotate the pin member and the shoulder member on an axis along an axial center of the pin member; and a linear actuator configured to linearly move each of the pin member and the shoulder member along the axis. However, Imamura discloses a friction stir welding apparatus that includes both a linear drive and rotary drive for moving the tool (paragraphs 0038, 0054-0055, 0070, figure 1). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have linear and rotational drives/actuators in order to ensure that the tool is rotating a desired speed and the tool is inserted at the correct depth to create the most ideal joint. The drives allow the user precise control over the friction stir welding tool to prevent incorrect/incomplete welds.
The limitation of the apparatus being a friction stir spot welding apparatus that joins a to-be-joined object by softening the object with frictional heat is considered intended use and does not further limit the apparatus. Since Stol discloses using the apparatus for friction stir welding, it is the Examiner’s position that the apparatus can be used for friction stir spot welding of the joins with frictional heat as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Stol discloses that a surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member and a tip-end surface of the pin member are co-planer, when seen horizontally (the cross-sectional surface as shown in figure 15). The horizontal plane is not defined, so it can be from any orientation of the tool. Therefore, when the length of the tool is horizontal (figure 15 turned 90 degrees) the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 3, Stol discloses a surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member projects further than a tip-end surface of the pin member, when seen horizontally (figure 15). The horizontal direction is not clearly defined and can be any orientation of the tool. Therefore, when the length of the tool is vertical (shown in figure 15), the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 5, Stol shows an angle, but does not specifically disclose that wherein the tip-end part of the shoulder member is configured so that an angle formed between a surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member and the outer circumferential surface of the shoulder member is less than 45 degrees, when seen horizontally. However, the current specification only states that it is preferable that the angle is less than 45 degrees. There is no criticality disclosed so it appears that this is a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle for the tip-end part so that the plasticized material is properly moved inwardly toward the base of the pin.
Regarding claim 6, Stol discloses that an inner circumferential surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member is inclined (figure 15, shown above).
Regarding claim 7, Stol discloses that the inner circumferential surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member is inclined (shown above, figure 15), but does not specifically disclose that wherein the tip-end part of the shoulder member is configured so that an angle formed between a surface of the tip-end part of the shoulder member and the inner circumferential surface of the shoulder member is less than 45 degrees, when seen horizontally. However, the current specification only states that it is preferable that the angle is less than 45 degrees. There is no criticality disclosed so it appears that this is a design choice. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to determine the ideal angle for the tip-end part so that the plasticized material is properly moved inwardly toward the base of the pin.
Regarding claim 10, Stol discloses that a tip-end part of the shoulder member is formed so that a radial cross-sectional area of the tip-end part becomes smaller as the tip-end part goes toward a tip end of the shoulder member (figure 15, shown above).
Regarding claim 11, Stol discloses a friction stir welding apparatus, comprising: a pin member 62, 68 formed in a solid cylindrical shape; a shoulder member 44 formed in a hollow cylindrical shape, the pin member being configured to be inserted in the shoulder member (figures 14-15, paragraph 0048-0061), wherein a tip-end part of the shoulder member is formed in a tapered shape; the tip-end part of the shoulder member has an inner circumferential surface, an outer circumferential surface, and a tip surface between the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface at a distal end of the shoulder member; the outer circumferential surface of the tip-end part is an inclined surface such that an outer diameter of the tip-end part decreases in a direction toward the distal end of the shoulder member; the inner circumferential surface of the tip-end part is an inclined surface such that an inner diameter of the tip-end part increases in the direction toward the distal end of the shoulder member (shown below). Since “part” is not defined, a “part” can be any portion/area of the shoulder. As shown below, the “part” is a cross-sectional area portion of the shoulder that forms a taped part. Therefore, the claim limitation is met by Stol.
Stol does not specifically disclose a rotary actuator configured to rotate the pin member and the shoulder member on an axis along an axial center of the pin member; and a linear actuator configured to linearly move each of the pin member and the shoulder member along the axis. However, Imamura discloses a friction stir welding apparatus that includes both a linear drive and rotary drive for moving the tool (paragraphs 0038, 0054-0055, 0070, figure 1). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have linear and rotational drives/actuators in order to ensure that the tool is rotating a desired speed and the tool is inserted at the correct depth to create the most ideal joint. The drives allow the user precise control over the friction stir welding tool to prevent incorrect/incomplete welds.
The limitation of the apparatus being a friction stir spot welding apparatus that joins a to-be-joined object by softening the object with frictional heat is considered intended use and does not further limit the apparatus. Since Stol discloses using the apparatus for friction stir welding, it is the Examiner’s position that the apparatus can be used for friction stir spot welding of the joins with frictional heat as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735