DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2025 and 07/18/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US PUB 2019/0067806; herein after “Xu”) in view of Zaid et al. (US PUB 2022/0166145; herein after “Zaid”).
Xu and Zaid disclose a substrate including a high temperature dielectric material, and a first array of conductive resonators arranged on the substrate.
Therefore, they are analogous art.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches an optical isolator structure for antenna systems (a conductive resonator having a split ring structure, see FIG. 1A and 2A, para. [0065], for antenna array fabricated on a silicon wafer, see FIG. 8A, para. [0038] and [0051]), the structure comprising: a metal sheet (e.g., conductive resonators include a noble metal, see para. [0069] and [0071], FIGS. 9A-C); a first dielectric layer ((i) a first substrate including a high temperature dielectric material) disposed on a first surface of the metal sheet; a second dielectric layer ((iii) a second substrate including the high temperature dielectric material) disposed on a second surface of the metal sheet opposite the first surface of the metal sheet, the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer being formed from a first dielectric material (see para. [0072]); at least one first dielectric split-ring structure disposed on the first dielectric layer; and at least one second split-ring structure disposed on the second dielectric layer, the at least one first dielectric split-ring structure and the at least one second dielectric split-ring structure being formed from a second dielectric material (see para. [0018], [0019] and [0056]).
Xu fails to teach the second dielectric material having a greater dielectric constant than the first dielectric material.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches the substrate may have a first dielectric constant value, and at least one high dielectric material has a second dielectric constant value that is greater than the first dielectric constant value (para. [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that at least one high dielectric material has a second dielectric constant value that is greater than the first dielectric constant value as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increased dielectric constant of the high dielectric materials may improve isolation and improved isolation between transmitting and receiving antenna elements.
Regarding claim 2, Xu, according to claim 1 further teaches the second dielectric layer extends generally parallel to the first dielectric layer (i.e., the first substrate and the second substrate are arranged substantially parallel to each other; para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu, according to claim 1 further teaches the at least one first dielectric split-ring structure and the at least one second dielectric split-ring structure are square split-rings (i.e., The “ring” may be circular in shape (e.g., FIG. 1A and FIG. 2A), but other shapes, such as square or rectangles, are possible (e.g., FIG. 3A), para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu fails to teach the optical isolator structure is configured to be used in a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) antenna arrangement.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches Multiple Inputs Multiple Outputs (MIMO) is a method for multiplying the capacity of a radio link using multiple transmission and receiving antennas to exploit multipath propagation in which full-duplex antennas may provide efficient and flexible utilization of wireless communication resources (para. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that Multiple Inputs Multiple Outputs (MIMO) for multiplying the capacity of a radio link using multiple transmission and receiving antennas as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the communication networks; and guaranteeing reliable communication.
Regarding claim 5, Xu, according to claim 1 further teaches the metal sheet, the first and second dielectric layers, the at least one first dielectric split-ring structure, and the at least one second split-ring structure form a metamaterial isolator structure (see para. [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu, according to claim 1 further teaches the first dielectric material of the first and second dielectric layers includes a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate material (i.e., FIG. 2D depicts an equivalent circuit (PCB) for the split ring conductive resonator of FIG. 2A, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Xu fails to teach the PCB substrate material has a dielectric constant from about 3.5 and to about 5.5.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches Generally, the high dielectric materials 130 and 140 are made of ceramic or other low-loss dielectric material that has a dielectric constant (ε.sub.r) that is higher than that of the substrate 102, which in the case of a PCB is typically in the range of 2.0 to 4.5 (para. [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that a dielectric constant of a PCB is typically in the range of 2.0 to 4.5 as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the communication networks; and guaranteeing reliable communication.
Regarding claim 8, Xu fails to teach the second dielectric material of the at least one first dielectric split-ring structure and the at least one second split-ring structure has a dielectric constant of approximately 10.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches the substrate 102 may be a thin film substrate having … a multi-dielectric layer substrate (para. [0056]).
Generally, the high dielectric materials 130 and 140 are made of ceramic or other low-loss dielectric material that has a dielectric constant (ε.sub.r) that is higher than that of the substrate 102, which in the case of a PCB is typically in the range of 2.0 to 4.5 … a material having a dielectric constant of 10 or more may be considered as a high dielectric material (para. [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that one or more dielectric layers may have a material having a dielectric constant of 10 or more may be considered as a high dielectric material for as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the communication networks; and guaranteeing reliable communication.
Regarding claim 9, Xu fails to teach the second dielectric material of the at least one first dielectric split-ring structure and the at least one second split-ring structure includes a high dielectric constant printed circuit board (high Dk-PCB) substrate material.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches the substrate 102 may be a thin film substrate having a thickness thinner than, in most cases, around 600 μm, or thinner than around 500 μm, although thicker substrate structures are possible. Typical thin film substrate materials may be flexible printed circuit board materials such as polyimide foils, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) foils, polyethylene foils, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) foils, and liquid crystal polymer (LCP) foils. Further substrate materials include polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and other fluorinated polymers, such as perfluoroalkoxy (PFA) and fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), Cytop® (amorphous fluorocarbon polymer), and HyRelex materials available from Taconic™. In some embodiments the substrates are a multi-dielectric layer substrate (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that the substrate may be a thin film substrate having may be considered as a high dielectric material available from Taconic™ (high Dk-PCB material) as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the communication networks; and guaranteeing reliable communication.
Regarding claim 10, Xu fails to teach the high Dk-PCB substrate material comprises one of Arlon AR1000, Taconic CER-10 and LTCC.
However, in a related field of endeavor Zaid teaches the substrate 102 may be a thin film substrate having a thickness thinner than, in most cases, around 600 μm, or thinner than around 500 μm, although thicker substrate structures are possible. Typical thin film substrate materials may be flexible printed circuit board materials such as polyimide foils, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) foils, polyethylene foils, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) foils, and liquid crystal polymer (LCP) foils. Further substrate materials include polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and other fluorinated polymers, such as perfluoroalkoxy (PFA) and fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), Cytop® (amorphous fluorocarbon polymer), and HyRelex materials available from Taconic™. In some embodiments the substrates are a multi-dielectric layer substrate (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu such that the substrate may be a thin film substrate having may be considered as a high dielectric material available from Taconic™ (Taconic CER-10) as taught by Zaid, for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the communication networks; and guaranteeing reliable communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art Xu et al. (US PUB 2019/0067806) taken either singularly or in a combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in independent claim 11, for example an optical isolator structure for antenna systems, where at least one second split-ring structure disposed on the second dielectric layer, the at least one second dielectric split-ring structure being formed from a fourth dielectric material, the third dielectric material having a greater dielectric constant than the first dielectric material, the fourth dielectric material having a greater dielectric constant than the second dielectric material.
Claims 12-20 depending on allowable base claim 11 are also allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Montoya et al. (US 8849072) teaches “FIG. 1 shows an optical device 10, e.g., an isolator, fabricated on substrate 100 and exploits a nonreciprocal coupling from a dielectric waveguide 200 into a surface plasmon waveguide 400 to achieve large isolation in the reverse direction and low insertion loss in the forward direction. FIG. 2 depicts the optical device 10 in cross sectional view with the ridge width. The two waveguides are designed to share a common cladding 320. The dielectric waveguide 200 includes three dielectric layers referred to as dielectric waveguide cladding 220, dielectric waveguide core 240, and the common cladding 320. The surface plasmon waveguide 400 includes three layers referred to as effective surface plasmon cladding 425, surface plasmon core 440, and the common cladding 320”, column 7, lines 35-48.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
August 31, 2026