DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Dg in at least Fig. 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In para. [0085], “…1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm…” should read “…1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti2 ≤ 2 μm…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6, 15-16 and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 6 and 19, the limitation “…1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm…” should read “…1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti2 ≤ 2 μm…”.
In claim 15, “…the other internal electrode” is reference but never introduced. This creates a lack of sufficient antecedent basis. One suggested fix is replacing, “…the other internal electrode” with “…the plurality of internal electrodes not including the one of the plurality of internal electrodes”.
In claim 16, “A multilayer electronic component” is introduced and is later referred to as “the component”. This technically creates a lack of sufficient antecedent basis.
In claim 16, “…Zn-based solder disposed at between the internal…” should read “…Zn-based solder disposed between the internal…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first alloy layer", "the second layer", and "the first and second alloy layers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For purposes of examination, claim 18 will be read as
“The multilayer electronic component of claim 17, wherein the solder layer further comprises a central region between the first alloy layer and the second alloy layer, wherein an atomic percentage of Zn of the central region is higher than an atomic percentage of Zn of the first and second alloy layers”
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first alloy layer" and "the second alloy layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For purposes of examination, claim 19 will be read as
“The multilayer electronic component of claim 17, wherein, when an average thickness of the first alloy layer is defined as ti1 and an average thickness of the second alloy layer is defined as ti2, 1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti2 ≤ 2 μm are satisfied.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada et al. US 4607314 A (hereafter referred to as Wada).
Regarding claim 16, Wada discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: an internal electrode disposed in length-width plane of a body of the multiplayer electronic component (14 – Fig. 1 col. 3 lines 19-32 and col. 4 lines 1-7); an external electrode disposed in a width-thickness plane of the body and connected to the internal electrode at width-wise edge of the internal electrode (20 – Fig. 1 col. 4 lines 8-11); and a solder layer comprising a Zn-based solder disposed at between the internal electrode and external electrode (18 – Fig. 1 col. 4 lines 8-11 and col. 9 lines 23-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. US 20190013150 A1 (hereafter referred to as Koo) in view of Hashimoto et al. JP H10154633 A (hereafter referred to as Hashimoto).
Figure 1: Examiner annotated Fig. 3 of Koo showing a groove. The internal electrode 121 is spaced apart from one surface of the body. A first region and a second region of a solder layer are shown.
Regarding claim 1, Koo discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (110 – Fig. 1 para. [0024]) including an internal electrode disposed in a length-width plane (121 – Fig. 2 para. [0030]); a solder layer (131 – Fig. 3 para. [0042]) disposed on an edge of the internal electrode (Fig. 3); and an external electrode disposed on the solder layer (132, 133 – Fig. 3 para. [0042]). Koo fails to disclose a solder layer including a Zn-based solder and wherein the solder layer includes a first alloy layer including Zn-Ni alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the internal electrode, and a second alloy layer including Zn-Cu alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the external electrode.
Hashimoto discloses disclose a solder layer including a Zn-based Ag-Cu-Zn solder (paras. [0028], [0047], [0050] and Table 4). Furthermore, after modification of the solder layer of Koo with Hashimoto, a first alloy layer including Zn-Ni alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the internal electrode, and a second alloy layer including Zn-Cu alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the external electrode will be formed during heat-treatment as the internal electrodes of Koo include Ni, the external electrode contains Cu, and the temperature conditions of Koo would form an alloy as the Zn diffuses (para. [0072] of Koo and paras. [0028], [0049] of Hashimoto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the Ag-Cu-Zn solder of Hashimoto in order to improve connectivity between the internal electrodes and external electrodes of Koo (para. [0063] of Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 2, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein, when a region of the solder layer other than the first and second alloy layers is defined as a central region, an atomic percentage of Zn of the central region is higher than an atomic percentage of Zn of the first and second alloy layers (Since the central region contains a uniform amount of Zn and the alloy portions contain a combination of the Zn and the Cu or Ni, the central region will have a higher concentration of Zn. The Zn concentration is diluted with the additional components forming an alloy with the Zn).
Regarding claim 3, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein an atomic percentage of Zn in the first alloy layer decreases in a direction away from the central region (Since the center region contains a uniform amount of Zn and the alloy portions contain a combination of the Zn and the Cu or Ni, the central portion has a higher concentration of Zn. The largest concertation of Zn in the first alloy layer with be at an interface with the central region (where the Zn is located). Moving away from this interface would result in a decrease of Zn).
Regarding claim 4, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein an atomic percentage of Zn in the second alloy layer decreases in a direction away from the central region (Since the center region contains a uniform amount of Zn and the alloy portions contain a combination of the Zn and the Cu or Ni, the central portion has a higher concentration of Zn. The largest concertation of Zn in the second alloy layer with be at an interface with the central region (where the Zn is located). Moving away from this interface would result in a decrease of Zn).
Regarding claim 5, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the central region includes one or more of Al and Cu (The Ag-Cu-Zn solder of Hashimoto is used to improve connectivity of the external electrodes).
Regarding claim 8, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, further comprising additional internal electrodes (122 – Fig. 2 para. [0030] of Koo) with dielectric layers interposed therebetween (111 – Fig. 2 para. [0030] of Koo), wherein the external electrode includes a base electrode layer (133 – Fig. 3 of Koo) in contact with at least a portion of an end of the dielectric layers (133 – Fig. 2 of Koo is in thermal contact with an end of the dielectric layers) and disposed to cover the solder layer (Fig. 2 of Koo).
Regarding claim 9, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 8, wherein the base electrode layer includes Cu and glass, and the internal electrode includes Ni (para. [0072] of Koo).
Regarding claim 10, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 8, wherein the base electrode layer includes Cu and resin, and the internal electrode includes Ni (para. [0072] of Koo).
Regarding claim 11, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the body includes a groove in which an end of the internal electrode is spaced apart from one surface of the body (groove – present office action Figure 1 (hereafter called POA1) and para. [0035] of Koo), and wherein the solder layer includes a first region disposed in the groove (first region – POA1) and a second region protruding to the one surface of the body (second region – POA1).
Regarding claim 16, Koo discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: an internal electrode disposed in length-width plane of a body of the component (121 – Fig. 2 para. [0030]); an external electrode disposed in a width-thickness plane of the body and connected to the internal electrode at width-wise edge of the internal electrode (132, 133 – Fig. 3 para. [0042]); and a solder layer (131 – Fig. 3 para. [0042]) disposed at between the internal electrode and external electrode (Fig. 3). Koo fails to discloses wherein the solder layer comprises a Zn-based solder.
Hashimoto discloses wherein the solder layer comprises a Zn-based Ag-Cu-Zn solder (paras. [0028], [0047], [0050] and Table 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the Ag-Cu-Zn solder of Hashimoto in order to improve connectivity between the internal electrodes and external electrodes of Koo (para. [0063] of Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 17, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 16, wherein the solder layer comprises a first alloy layer comprising a Zn-Ni alloy at an interface between the internal electrode and the solder layer, and a second alloy layer comprising a Zn-Cu alloy at disposed at an interface between the solder layer and the external electrode (After modification of the solder layer of Koo with Hashimoto, a first alloy layer including Zn-Ni alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the internal electrode, and a second alloy layer including Zn-Cu alloy disposed on an interfacial surface with the external electrode will be formed during heat-treatment since the internal electrodes of Koo include Ni, the external electrodes contain Cu, and the temperature conditions of Koo would form an alloy as the Zn diffuses. See para. [0072] of Koo, and paras. [0028], [0049] of Hashimoto)
Regarding claim 18, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 17, wherein the solder layer further comprises a central region between the first alloy layer and the second alloy layer, wherein an atomic percentage of Zn of the central region is higher than an atomic percentage of Zn of the first and second alloy layers (Since the central region contains a uniform amount of Zn and the alloy portions contain a combination of the Zn and the Cu or Ni, the central region has a higher concentration of Zn. The Zn concentration is diluted with the additional components forming an alloy with the Zn).
Regarding claim 20, Koo as modified by Hashimoto discloses:
The multilayer electronic component of claim 16, further comprising a dielectric layer disposed on the internal electrode (111 – Fig. 2 para. [0030] of Koo), wherein the external electrode includes a base electrode layer in contact with at least a portion of a width-wise edge of the dielectric layer (133 – Fig. 2 of Koo is in thermal contact with an end of the dielectric layers) and disposed to cover the solder layer (Fig. 2 of Koo).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12-15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein, when an average thickness of the first alloy layer is defined as ti1 and an average thickness of the second alloy layer is defined as ti2, 1 μm ≤ ti1 ≤ 2 μm and 1 μm ≤ ti2 ≤ 2 μm are satisfied. A reference has not been found that discloses a thickness of the alloy layer formed. Furthermore, changing the composition an outer electrode layer and the firing temperature/time would affect the thickness of the alloy formed. Therefore, most likely, a single prior art reference would need to read on the limitations.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein, when an average thickness of the external electrode is defined as ta1 and an average thickness of the first alloy layer is defined as ti1, 0.02 ≤ ti1/ta1 ≤ 0.1 is satisfied.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein in a cross-section in the first and second directions of the multilayer electronic component, the second region has a semicircular shape. Claims 13-15 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter as they depend on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20110255209 A1: para. [0053]
US 20120007709 A1: para. [0036]
US 9490055 B2: 18 – Fig. 5 shows roughly semicircular solder attached to end of the internal electrode. The solder is also in a groove
US 20190355518 A1: Fig. 8; alloy formed at boundary between internal electrode and external electrode
JP H03145109 A: 3 – Fig. 1 has Ag-Cu-Zn paste to improve bonding strength and alloy formation between the external electrode and the Ni internal electrodes
JP H02248022 A: 3 – Fig. 1 has Cu-Zn paste to improve bonding strength and alloy formation between the external electrode and the Ni internal electrodes
JP 2000077259 A: para. [0003]
JP 2007073883 A: 15 – Fig. 1 shows a semicircular film disposed on an edge of the internal electrode to increase surface area with the external electrode, improving connection strength
JP H04312908 A: para. [0016]; external electrode in direct contact with internal electrode is a Zn alloy
JP 2009206433 A: 5 – Fig. 1; Zn included in Ag external electrode to improve bonding with internal electrode
JP 2011233452 A: para. [0017]
JP H04312905 A: paras. [0008] and [0013-0016]
JP 6394702 B2: 3 – Fig. 1; para. [0033]
JP 2005217126 A: 2a – Fig. 2 shows dimensions for solder on end of internal electrodes
JP H04116910 A: 2 – Fig. 1 contains Zn
JP 2005109151 A: Zn alloy included in external electrode vibration absorption layer
KR 20210082735 A: External electrode contains Cu and Zn
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847