DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 8/14/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Based on prior art search and applicant argument, the restriction of 7/24/2026 is withdrawn. All claims 1-20 are considered in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhan et al (US 20160276616).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhan teaches a display device (abstract; figs. 1-6) comprising
a display panel that has a display area in which a plurality of pixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction and is configured to allow a mirror image of an image viewed in plan view from one side of the display area to be viewed from another side (fig. 1, 1, 3/31, 2, 4/41; figs. 5-6, 1, 3/31, 2, 4/41, 7; ¶[0023], line 1-9, a display panel, which includes a first display surface 1, a second display surface 2, and a plurality of pixel units (not shown) arranged in an array form between the first display surface 1 and the second display surface 2. The display panel further includes a first shielding layer 3 that shields a portion of the first display surface 1, and a second shielding layer 4 that shields a portion of the second display surface 2),
wherein at least a partial area of the display area comprises:
a plurality of first areas each of which is visible from the one side and has a surface on the other side configured to be shielded from light (fig. 1, 1, 3/31; fig. 2, 3/31); and
a plurality of second areas each of which is visible from the other side and has a surface on the one side configured to be shielded from light (fig. 1, 2, 4/41; fig. 3, 4/41);
(¶[0026], line 1-20, the two display surfaces (e.g., the first display surface 1 and the second display surface 2) of the display panel are provided with the first shielding layer 3 and the second shielding layer 4 having patterns complementary to each other, and the first shielding units 31 of the first shielding layer 3 and the second shielding units 4 of the second shielding layer 4 are arranged in a staggered manner in both the row direction and the column direction, so as to shield the first display surface 1 and the second display surface 2 of the display panel in a dot-like manner. As a result, it is able for the first display surface 1 and the second display surface 2 of the display panel to display an identical image or different images, thereby to obtain a thin display panel with the double-sided display function….).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first areas and the second areas are alternately arranged in the first direction (figs. 2-3, 3/31, 4/41).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first areas and the second areas are alternately arranged in the second direction (figs. 2-3, 3/31, 4/41).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first areas and the second areas are alternately arranged in the first direction, and the first areas and the second areas are alternately arranged in the second direction (figs. 2-3, 3/31, 4/41).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the first areas and the second areas each comprise one pixel in the first direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first areas and the second areas each comprise one pixel in the second direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 4, wherein
the first areas and the second areas each comprise one pixel in the first direction, and the first areas and the second areas each comprise one pixel in the second direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the first areas and the second areas each comprise a plurality of pixels in the first direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first areas and the second areas each comprise a plurality of pixels in the second direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhan teaches the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first areas and the second areas each comprise a plurality of pixels in the first direction, and the first areas and the second areas each comprise a plurality of pixels in the second direction (figs. 5-6, 7; ¶[0008], line 1-6, each first shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit, and each second shielding unit corresponds to at least one pixel unit. In this embodiment, one pixel unit or two or more pixel units may serve as a unit that is shielded in a dot-like manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al (US 20160276616) in a view of Zhang et al (US 20240047434).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 5, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 6, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 7, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 11, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 12, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhan discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the display device according to claim 13, wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas.
However, Zhang teaches a double-surface display panel (abstract; figs 1-4), wherein, in plan view, light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the first areas on the other side overlap light-blocking portions on the surfaces of the second areas on the one side in predetermined areas including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (fig. 1, 20, 70, 50/40 and boundary lines of 50/40);
Zhan also teaches wherein including boundary lines between the first areas and the second areas (figs. 5-6, 7, line portions between 7s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Zhan by the double-surface display panel of Zhang for a purpose of a display which to realize double-surface displays with a low thickness of modules and a great flatness (¶[0003], line 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the allowable subject matter: The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
In regard to claims 17-20, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest an display device further comprising:
wherein luminance of the pixels in the first areas adjacent to the second areas is lower than luminance of the pixels in the first areas not adjacent to the second areas, and luminance of the pixels in the second areas adjacent to the first areas is lower than luminance of the pixels in the second areas not adjacent to the first areas.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872