DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "claim 3" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second printed pattern" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McDonald (USPGPUB 2004/0178210).
Regarding claim 1, McDonald discloses a tissue box, comprising:
a housing (38,40,32);
a printed pattern (40) disposed on an outer surface of the housing (see Figure 2);
a tissue outlet (32,54) disposed on the housing and relative to the printed pattern (see Figures 2-3);
wherein the printed pattern (40) is substantially planar (see paragraph [0017] and Figure 2), one side of the housing is a tissue outlet portion (see the top of “38” in Figure 2), and the tissue outlet (32,54) is defined in the tissue outlet portion (see Figures 2-4);
wherein the tissue outlet (32,54) comprises at least two outlet sections (see Figure 3)extending in the tissue outlet portion, and an included angle is defined between each two adjacent sections of the at least two outlet sections (see the openings formed on either side of the triangular flaps of “32” in Figure 3; the flaps may be configured so that only one flap is raised which would result in two adjacent sections bent at a 60 degree angle), so that a current tissue (36) is bent by the at least two outlet sections when being partially drawn out from the tissue outlet (see Figure 3);
wherein an exposed portion of the current tissue (36) outside the at least two outlet sections freely extends and is unsupported by the housing (see the top of the tissue “36” in Figure 3), and the printed pattern visually cooperates with the exposed portion of the current tissue outside the at least two outlet sections to form a predetermined pattern (the drawing of Figure 3 discloses a predetermined pattern).
Regarding claim 5, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 1, wherein an edge of the tissue outlet (32,54) extends toward an interior of the housing to form a first extension portion (flaps “56” can be configured to be bent inward in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 5, wherein an included angle between an extension direction of the first extension portion and a plane where the tissue outlet portion (see the top of “38” in Figure 2) is located is an acute angle (flaps “56” can be configured to be bent inward in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 5, wherein an inner wall (30) of the tissue outlet is a smooth curved surface (see Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 1, wherein supporting ribs are disposed on an inner side of the tissue outlet portion of the housing (see “30” in Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald (USPGPUB 2004/0178210) as applied to claims 1 and 5-8 above.
Regarding claim 4 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 3, wherein the second printed pattern is a figure, and the tissue outlet enables the exposed portion of the current tissue partially drawn out from the housing to form a skirt or a cape of the figure (see Figure 4). However, McDonald does not disclose a human figure. Nevertheless, such a modification amounts to an ornamental design change in the shape of the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tissue box disclosed by McDonald by including a human figure because a change in ornamental design having no mechanical function is an aesthetic design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding claim 10, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 9. Furthermore, the prior discloses a mounting, i.e. connecting portions (see column 2 lines 20-22 and lines 32-34). However, McDonald does not disclose connecting portions wherein the connecting portions are suction cups. Nevertheless, a modification of mounts to include suction cups amounts to the selection of a well-known material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tissue box disclosed by McDonald by including connecting portions wherein the connecting portions are suction cups because the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 11, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 9. Furthermore, the prior discloses a mounting, i.e. connecting portions (see column 2 lines 20-22 and lines 32-34). However, McDonald does not disclose connecting portions wherein the connecting portions are adhesive pieces. Nevertheless, a modification of mounts to include adhesive pieces amounts to the selection of a well-known material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tissue box disclosed by McDonald by including connecting portions wherein the connecting portions are adhesive pieces because the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald (USPGPUB 2004/0178210) as applied to claims 1 and 5-8 above, and further in view of FARHA (USP 3,233,777).
Regarding claim 9, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 1. However, McDonald does not disclose a tissue box wherein connecting portions are disposed on an outer wall of the housing, and the connecting portions are configured to connect to an external component. FARHA discloses a tissue box wherein connecting portions are disposed on an outer wall of the housing, and the connecting portions are configured to connect to an external component (see Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tissue box disclosed by McDonald by including a tissue box wherein connecting portions are disposed on an outer wall of the housing, and the connecting portions are configured to connect to an external component, as disclosed by FARHA, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a tissue dispenser with a mounting structure (see column 1 lines 55-58).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald (USPGPUB 2004/0178210) as applied to claims 1 and 5-8 above, and further in view of Tran (USPGPUB 2002/0067038).
Regarding claim 19, McDonald discloses the tissue box according to claim 1. However, McDonald does not disclose a tissue box wherein the housing comprises a cover plate and a main body, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the main body. Tran discloses a tissue box wherein the housing comprises a cover plate and a main body, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the main body (see paragraph [0029] and Figures 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tissue box disclosed by McDonald by including a tissue box wherein the housing comprises a cover plate and a main body, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the main body, as disclosed by Tran, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a removable decorative panel (see paragraph [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: dependent claim 12 discloses, “wherein the tissue box further comprises an adjusting piece, a tissue storage cavity is defined between the adjusting piece and inner surfaces of the housing, the housing comprises a protruding component disposed on an inner side wall of the housing, the adjusting piece comprises a clamping portion, the clamping portion is allowed to be clamped in the protruding component, and the clamping portion is movable with respect to the protruding component in a first direction; wherein when the clamping portion moves with respect to the protruding component in the first direction, the adjusting piece moves along with the clamping portion with respect to the housing in the first direction; wherein when the adjusting piece moves with respect to the housing in the first direction, a volume of the tissue storage cavity accordingly increases or decreases” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language of claims 1 and 12, teaches an apparatus that is novel over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
9/16/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655