CTNF 18/975,324 CTNF 85999 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanabe et al. (US 2008/0159774 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tanabe. With reference to claim 1, Tanabe teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: a main body including a first main body contact point and a second main body contact point (Fig. 11, 42(a), 43(a)); a cartridge including a photosensitive drum (Fig. 11, 33), a development roller (Fig. 11, 34), a first cartridge contact point including a first surface contacting the first main body contact point from above (Fig. 8, 38, at least part of 38 is above 43(a)) and a second cartridge contact point including a second surface contacting the second main body contact point from above (Fig. 8, 37, at least part of 37 is above 42(a)); and a tray (Fig. 11, 29) to which the cartridge is attachable and , by moving toward an attachment direction intersecting with a direction of a rotation axis line of the photosensitive drum in a state in which the cartridge is attached to the tray, configured to cause the cartridge to move from a first position at which the cartridge is positioned outside the main body to a second position at which the cartridge is attached to the main body (Fig. 6), wherein the second surface (Fig. 8, 37) is disposed on a downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction and is positioned higher than the first surface (Fig. 8, 38) . With reference to claim 2, Tanabe further teaches a door configured to be in an opened state and in a closed state, wherein, in the opened state, the door is disposed to be positioned lower than the tray and allows the tray to move from the first position to the second position (Fig. 6, 3). With reference to claim 3, Tanabe further teaches the development roller is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction (Fig. 9, 34). With reference to claim 4, Tanabe further teaches the development roller is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction (Fig. 9, 34). With reference to claim 8, Tanabe further teaches the main body includes a third main body contact point (Fig. 11, 43(a)), wherein the cartridge comprises a third cartridge contact point including a third surface contacting the third main body contact point from above, and wherein the third surface is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction and is positioned higher than the first surface (Fig. 8, 36, at least part of 36 is above part of 43(a)) With reference to claim 9, Tanabe further teaches the main body includes a third main body contact point (Fig. 11, 43(a)), wherein the cartridge comprises a third cartridge contact point including a third surface contacting the third main body contact point from above, and wherein the third surface is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction and is positioned higher than the first surface (Fig. 8, 36, at least part of 36 is above part of 43(a)) With reference to claim 12, Tanabe further teaches he third cartridge contact point electrically connects to the development roller (¶0084). With reference to claim 13, Tanabe further teaches he third cartridge contact point electrically connects to the development roller (¶0084). With reference to claim 15, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is, in the attachment direction, disposed on a downstream side of the second surface (Fig. 8, 36). With reference to claim 16, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is, in the attachment direction, disposed on a downstream side of the second surface (Fig. 8, 36). With reference to claim 18, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is positioned higher than the second surface (Fig. 8, 36). With reference to claim 19, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is positioned higher than the second surface (Fig. 8, 36) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7, 10, 11, 14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hazama et al. (US 5,752,134), hereinafter referred to as Hazama . With reference to claim 5, Tanabe teaches all that is required as explained above, and further teaches the cartridge includes a first housing configured to support the development roller (Fig. 10, 6), a second housing configured to support the photosensitive drum (Fig. 10, 31). However is silent with regards to a spring. Hazama teaches an extension spring, wherein one end of the extension spring connects to the first housing, and wherein the other end of the extension spring connects to the second housing (Fig. 2, 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hazama with the apparatus of Tanabe so as to ensure good contact of the developing roller and photosensitive drum. With reference to claim 6, Tanabe teaches all that is required as explained above, and further teaches the cartridge includes a first housing configured to support the development roller (Fig. 10, 6), a second housing configured to support the photosensitive drum (Fig. 10, 31). However is silent with regards to a spring. Hazama teaches an extension spring, wherein one end of the extension spring connects to the first housing, and wherein the other end of the extension spring connects to the second housing (Fig. 2, 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hazama with the apparatus of Tanabe so as to ensure good contact of the developing roller and photosensitive drum. With reference to claim 7, Tanabe teaches all that is required as explained above, and further teaches the cartridge includes a first housing configured to support the development roller (Fig. 10, 6), a second housing configured to support the photosensitive drum (Fig. 10, 31). However is silent with regards to a spring. Hazama teaches an extension spring, wherein one end of the extension spring connects to the first housing, and wherein the other end of the extension spring connects to the second housing (Fig. 2, 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hazama with the apparatus of Tanabe so as to ensure good contact of the developing roller and photosensitive drum. With reference to claim 10, Tanabe further teaches the main body includes a third main body contact point (Fig. 11, 43(a)), wherein the cartridge comprises a third cartridge contact point including a third surface contacting the third main body contact point from above, and wherein the third surface is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction and is positioned higher than the first surface (Fig. 8, 36, at least part of 36 is above part of 43(a)). With reference to claim 11, Tanabe further teaches the main body includes a third main body contact point (Fig. 11, 43(a)), wherein the cartridge comprises a third cartridge contact point including a third surface contacting the third main body contact point from above, and wherein the third surface is disposed on the downstream side of the first surface in the attachment direction and is positioned higher than the first surface (Fig. 8, 36, at least part of 36 is above part of 43(a)). With reference to claim 14, Tanabe further teaches he third cartridge contact point electrically connects to the development roller (¶0084). With reference to claim 17, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is, in the attachment direction, disposed on the downstream of the second surface (Fig. 8, 36). With reference to claim 20, Tanabe further teaches the third surface is positioned higher than the second surface (Fig. 8, 36) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishii et al (US 2008/0212993 A1) teaches developing frame terminals on the outer surface of the developing frame. Fujiwara et al (US 2016/0252874 A1) teaches a first and second contact portion. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GREGORY H CURRAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7505. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached at (571) 272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GREGORY H CURRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/975,324 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852