DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0247805; hereinafter Min).
With reference to claims 1 and 21, Min discloses an information processing apparatus (101) comprising:
a memory (130) configured to store a program of an application (see paragraphs 76-77; Figs. 1); and
a processor (120) configured to perform control of arranging and displaying windows of the running application in a screen area of a display by executing the program of the application stored in the memory (see paragraphs 74, 76-77; Figs. 1), wherein the processor (120) is configured to:
perform a display control process of arranging the windows by splitting the screen area (911) of the display into a plurality of display areas, the plurality of display areas including at least three display areas (see paragraphs 100-103; Figs. 2A-2K, 7, 9, 36-37), and
in the display control process,
when arranging a first window of the windows (En) in a first display area of the plurality of display areas (521), arrange thumbnail images in a second display area (522) of the plurality of display areas different from the first display area (521), wherein the second display area (522) is selected based on a predetermined directional relationship from the first display area (see paragraphs 206, 335-336; Figs. 7, 9, 12), and
when any of the windows is already arranged in the second display area, preferentially displays the thumbnail images on the arranged window (in teaching providing a visual view (1211) in first arear (1221) and providing function areas being positioned in the second area when other elements are already arranged; see paragraphs 206, 249-251; Figs. 9, 12, 22-24, 27, 29).
With reference to claim 5, Min discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,wherein in the display control process, when the windows are arranged by splitting the screen area of the display into two upper and lower display areas, the processor arranges the thumbnail images in a lower second display area of the two split display areas when arranging the first window in an upper first display area, and arranges the thumbnail images in the first display area when arranging the first window in the second display area (see paragraphs 198-199, 249, 265-267; Figs. 2, 7, 16).
With reference to claim 6, Min discloses the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses, wherein in the display control process, when the windows (En) are arranged by splitting the screen area of the display in tow two left and right display area (in teaching housing structure having a horizontal/vertical folding axis; see paragraph 202), the processor arranges the thumbnail images (elements) in a right second display area of the two spit display areas when arranging the first window in a left first display area, and arranges the thumbnail images in the first display area when arranging the first window in the second display area (in teaching providing specific functions of an application including an execution screen and/or a UI/UX displayed on the orientation of the device; see paragraphs 202-203, 207, 215, 198-199, 265-267).
With reference to claims 7-10, Min discloses the information
processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses the
wherein in the display control process, when the windows are arranged by
splitting the screen area of the display into three display areas (see
paragraph 74), by splitting the screen area into upper and lower display areas that are further splitting the either the upper or lower display areas into further display areas for arranging windows as recited in teaching providing specific functions of an application including an execution screen and/or a UI/UX displayed on the orientation of the device; see paragraphs 202-203, 207, 215, 198-199, 265-267).
With reference to claims 11-14, Min discloses the information
processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses the
wherein in the display control process, when the windows are arranged by
splitting the screen area of the display into three display areas (see
paragraph 74), by splitting the screen area into upper and lower display areas that are further splitting the either the upper or lower display areas into further display areas for arranging windows (in teaching providing specific functions of an application including an execution screen and/or a UI/UX displayed on the orientation of the device; see paragraphs 198-199, 202-203, 207, 215, 265-267).
With reference to claims 15-16, Min discloses the information
processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses the
wherein in the display control process, when the windows are arranged by
splitting the screen area of the display into four upper, lower, left and right display areas (see paragraphs 103, 124), the processor arranges the thumbnail images in a right upper second display area of the four split display aeras when arranging the first window in the left upper first display area, arranges the thumbnail images in a right lower third display area when arranging the first window in the second display area, arranges the thumbnail images in a left lower fourth display area when arranging the first window in the third display area, and arranges the thumbnail images in the first display area when arranging the first window in the fourth display area, and the processor arranges the thumbnail images in a display area of the three split (in teaching providing a plurality of execution screens and/or UIs associated with the rotating states of the electronic device; see paragraphs 203, 263-264; Figs. 2, 7, 16).
With reference to claims 17-20, Shim discloses the information
processing apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses the
wherein in the display control process, when the windows are arranged by
splitting the screen area of the display into three display areas in a left-right direction (see paragraph 103, 124), and the processor arranges the thumbnail images in a central second display area of the three split display areas when arranging the first window in a left first display area, arranges the thumbnail images in a right third display area when arranging the first window in the second display area and arranges the thumbnail images in the first display area when arranging the first window in the third display area (in teaching providing a plurality of execution screens and/or UIs associated with the rotating states of the electronic device; see paragraphs 203, 263-264; Figs. 2, 7, 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US
Patent Publication No. 2014/0351724; hereinafter Kim).
With reference to claims 3 and 4, Min discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, however fails to disclose the clockwise or counterclockwise order as recited.
Kim discloses a method of arranging visual items (thumbnails) on a screen of an electronic device (see abstract, paragraph 20), wherein the certain arrangement order is an order in a clockwise or counterclockwise order (see paragraphs 29-30, 49-50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of an arrangement order similar to that which is taught by Kim to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Min to thereby provide arrangements to be switched based on the bisections of the screen (see Kim; paragraph 29).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered
pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YAO et al. (USPub 2012/0084717) discloses a window
management method for window rendering managing at least two
windows (see paragraphs 69-113; Figs. 1-5, 15).
HWANG et al. (USPub 2014/0089833) discloses a method of executing an application in a touch device which includes displaying an execution screen split into a plurality of windows (see paragraphs 69-80; Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625